The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


uddeIM Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

uddeIM allows users of your community to send Private Messages to each other (note that uddeIM is not a webmail component nor an email client). uddeIM wants to be simple and easy-to-use but it offers all the features you need in a Private Messaging System (PMS).

uddeIM is available in 34 languages. It integrates seamless with Community Builder, Joomlaboard, AlphaUserPoints, Fireboard, Kunena, JomSocial, Joo!CM, Agora, and Ninjaboard.

uddeIM runs on Joomla 1.0, 1.5 native, 1.5 legacy, 1.6, 1.7, 2.5, 3.0, 3.1, 3.2, and 3.3.

The list of features is endless and includes features like:
* Public Frontend,
* File attachments,
* Local-, Global-, Restricted Distribution Lists,
* General- and System-Messages,
* RSS Message Feed,
* Autocomplete Names,
* Popup and Email Notifications,
* Message Control Center,
* Autoforwarding,
* Autoresponder,
* Message encryption and obfuscating,
* Message Archive,
* Multiple Recipients,
* Message forwarding,
* phpBB codes,
* Static- and Animated Smileys,
* Flooding protection,
* Captcha Protection (incl. reCAPTCHA support),
* CSRF-protection,
* 3 Modules, 2 Plugins, 4 CB Plugins.

All features are configurable.
Importing messages from most other PMS components is possible.

On the project homepage you will find screenshots from the backend interface which shows all options and features.

There is a comprehensive FAQ available that covers lots of issues with uddeIM on about 100 pages. You find the most current version of the FAQ on Joomlacode.org:
http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/com_uddeim/scmsvn/?action=browse&path=%2Ftrunk%2FREADME%2FFAQ.pdf&view=log
(choose "Links to HEAD:" -> Download)
or in the README folder in the uddeIM package.

You can follow development progress on Google+
http://plus.google.com/u/0/b/117839921924782901705/

Please do not forget to vote and to write a review. Thanks!

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2008-03-07
Reviews: 10
Flawless install, easy post install, and performs as advertised.
2008-02-12
Reviews: 3
I try many other PMS Components, but this one is the Best.
The developer working on this great component every day, so you can be sure that if you find a bug it will be fix soon.

Wish list:
1. Ability to send kind of "kiss"/"Poke" to other member.
2. Ability to send an already made "message"/"image"/"card" to other member (it will be function like sending postcard).
2008-02-03
Reviews: 6
Best PMS component that I've come across. It works!
2008-01-29
Reviews: 1
This module is a great addition to any website, easy to install and use, everyone who uses it loves it, integrates well with other components.

I like the integration with Community builder, and the way you can push all notifications through the CB login module (with a upgrade to CB file, so remember to apply again if you upgrade, or use the module that comes with uddeIM).

I have added some more functionality to one of joomla core modules for anyone wanting this, I have modded the Who's online module that comes with joomla to work with uddeIM, when displaying a list of users in the module (only works when showing usernames obviously), you can click on the name of the user to instantly PM them with their name automatically filled in.

A user asked if it would be possible so she wouldn't have to go to here private message page and hunt for the username if the person was already online. Works a treat and very handy too.

smiffy6969
2008-01-14
Reviews: 1
This is the best private messaging component I have tried so far, and I can say I've tried quite a few if not all of them.

Integrates perfectly with CB and Fireboard (all I need) and the templates and CSS have been easy to customize to perfectly suit and match the colours and the layout of my site.

Only one little annoying thing I wasn't able to change, because I didn't know where, namely the included received message in the reply input text area, which in my opinion takes too much room in the input area so many users get quickly confused by it at first.
IMO it would be much better if the quoted message would appear deeper in the text area leaving at least 4-5 empty rows for a reply message to be typed in.

Else it's a perfect PMS solution.
2008-01-11
Reviews: 1
I don't use community builder and I don't necessarily want everyone to be able to see the whole user list. It would be great to be able to restrict who can see the user list.

That's really the only issue I have found with the product.
Owner's reply

In the upcoming uddeIM 1.1 this feature will be implemented.

2008-01-06
Reviews: 4
I have tried Primzilla, Jim. Both of which worked on my local system, but not on the live site.
Downloaded this, & after testing on the test site, time to bite the bullet & from outset, this worked like a treat, no editing of any php files needed.
Well done to all involved.
2007-11-17
Reviews: 13
So it seems to work as mentioned and integrates well. There is no subject line which is odd, but I suppose it distinguishes it from an email and makes it quicker to use.
2007-11-16
Reviews: 2
With the followings features, I can say that this extension delivers a satisfactory PMS:
* Option to notify the user about new PM
* Option to see list of user
* Option to pm person from his/her CB profile
* and may others

Further improvement might be done if:
* The message (to be sent) box is wider
* Shorter period to send the "forget me not" message e.g 7 days or even everyday
* captcha
Owner's reply

In the upcoming uddeIM 1.1 release captcha spam protection will be implemented.

2007-10-11
Reviews: 3
We have been using this component for a while with good reviews from members. This new upgrade really helped us out with the email of pm side because before it could not be set as default. members will be able to choose their own PM settings.

One gripe I have with it is the fact that now it is community builder based. Before I used to have a module that was for sites with out and it notified members when they were on the site if they did not want to be contacted by email. I accidentally deleted that module now it can not be replaced.

I hope the developers look at those sites who wish not to use the community builder system.

Thanks for this great PM system
Owner's reply

The next version will include "uddeIM Notify" which is for sites who do not use CB.

Page 6 of 6