The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


AJAX Shoutbox Popular ComponentModule

This Joomla module adds live chat functionality to your Joomla site. Your visitors can chat with each other right in your website without refreshing their browsers. It's almost like chatting on an instant messenging network! And it's all powered by AJAX, a hot new old technology that powers things like Gmail, Google Maps and other brilliant web apps. Now you can get a piece of all this in your own site. For problems with installing please contact me instead of using the review function.

List of features:
Live updates
BBCode
Guest posting
Guest tags
CSS Styling
Smilies support
Option to let only registred users shout

Version 1.6 is now compatible with Joomla! 2.5. Note that there are different files for Joomla! 1.5 and 2.5.

Version 1.7 fixes a possible SQL injection

Report Extension

 

 

2010-03-19
Reviews: 8
Good module, but full of spam, hack my site!
2010-02-14
Reviews: 7
I've been using this sparingly for over a year now to accompany live video. With larger audiences, though, it was killing mysql with too many queries. However, the new release (2/10/10) has solved that. I've successfully had 250 concurrent users on with no problem at all. Nice! Now I don't have to look at finding an irc or xmpp replacement.
2010-01-15
Reviews: 3
The install was VERY easy. I tried it because the module had a nice rating.

IMMEDIATELY (I'm talking the very second I enabled it) after I hit enabled and save in the back end, the shoutbox was filled with words like "nude" etc... I was pretty angry. There wasn't anyone on my site, so I don't know whats up with this module.
2010-01-12
Reviews: 31
This is exactly what it says it is - a Shoutbox. Simple to install and easily configured to work in any module position using the CSS file. Regard the 'free' version as a trial and don't hesitate to pay for the pro version. At such a small price it's true value and comes with optional addons such as Smileys and BBCode.

The support is second to none and the only problem I had was not caused by the extension but my Joomla setup - fixed by the author within a couple of hours and now working perfectly. Just remember if you want support with the Pro version, let him know the version of Shoutbox and Joomla that you're using and do read the instruction for installation. For what it is, this extension get full marks and I recommend it!
2009-12-07
Reviews: 1
This does exactly what it says it does. Extremely easy to set up and it only has one .css file, so it customizes well.

My only concern was not being able to actively fit the text-area box width. But I use this module on my site as a way for people to chat while viewing the forums. I highly recommend it.
2009-12-05
Reviews: 1
It's very easy to install, configure and translate. Till now no spam has come. My community appreciate it very much. Great.
2009-11-29
Reviews: 2
My members love it and it was so easy to install. Had it up and running in just a few minutes. And no problems with spam.
2009-11-29
Reviews: 5
THis module in the FREE version is not very useful.
Is impossible avoid SPAM on big webs.

I need keep looking a better chat module with good features for Free.
2009-11-20
Reviews: 4
Module is really good...

But I have to agree with other guys - Spam comes every day... Does not matter - registration form or whatever... Denied guests and still have a spam...
2009-11-02
Reviews: 9
Great stuff!!! Easy to install and configure. Used it within minutes of installation. Thanks a lot.
2009-10-24
Reviews: 3
very useful and easy to configure!
2009-10-19
Reviews: 3
I tryed it on january, and later i transleted it in Italian (sending the files to the author).

It work like a charm but as some little limitation, like the need to run on the home page or some function will be not avaible (like delete a msg)

Good work
2009-05-22
Reviews: 1
I decided to add a shoutbox to cut down on chat style conversations on my forum. The install went smoothly, and this extension has brought in many new users. The pro version works great.
2009-04-28
Reviews: 10
Great mod!
Takes only minutes to install and get working. I wish all of the mods were as good as this!
2009-04-07
Reviews: 1
I have tried every shoutbox or chat available in Joomla for my site. Ajax shoutbox is the best there is by far. Quick and easy to set up with no problems.

It also has ha very active forum so if you have questions they are quick to respond.

If you need people to communicate on your site this is all you need.
2009-03-25
Reviews: 1
This extension made my site very interactive. Because my site caters to teenagers, the shoutbox has been a very powerful tool to communicate with visitors.
2009-03-02
Reviews: 1
Very nice extension. Both free and pro versions.

It's the first one that I pay for and the first one I comment, and it's really cheap for the advantage it gives to my site.

Pros: Very easy to install, the pro version lets you control Ips, ban, censore words, use a captcha... Necessary things (sadly), due to the amount of spammers out there searching for every little space to write their crap on. I thought I wouldn't need security, but I did...
Tip: The languages are easy to change just by editing the en-GB mod-shoutbox.ini file.

To improve: The app would be perfect if it could be more customizable and sizeable through the admin panel, without the need of having to edit the .css file.

Congrats to the developer(s) for this easy and really useful app.

Blessgins
2009-03-01
Reviews: 4
I had this downloaded a year ago, when it was version 1.15. I liked it, but one flaw was that it had a bug. After little while I was being bombarded with spams. At the time, there were no cure, so I disposed of it.

Today I noticed they had v1.2 and Pro versions. So I gave 1.2 a try. After installing it, turns out it's the same old v1.15, just renamed to version 1.2. And of course, getting same spams. Their forum talks about this bug and suggests upgrade to Pro version (commercial).

Is any Pro version users having same problem?
2009-02-04
Reviews: 1
This extension is pretty good using FF and IE7.. when i used it in IE6.. it causes problem on my module positions. i wonder why.... =/
2009-02-04
Reviews: 1
I used to have the free one (and it was working fine) however, I now have the PRO version (because of the additional features).
Easy installation and so, so user friendly!

Thank you!!!
Page 2 of 6