The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


AJAX Shoutbox Popular ComponentModule

This Joomla module adds live chat functionality to your Joomla site. Your visitors can chat with each other right in your website without refreshing their browsers. It's almost like chatting on an instant messenging network! And it's all powered by AJAX, a hot new old technology that powers things like Gmail, Google Maps and other brilliant web apps. Now you can get a piece of all this in your own site. For problems with installing please contact me instead of using the review function.

List of features:
Live updates
BBCode
Guest posting
Guest tags
CSS Styling
Smilies support
Option to let only registred users shout

Version 1.6 is now compatible with Joomla! 2.5. Note that there are different files for Joomla! 1.5 and 2.5.

Version 1.7 fixes a possible SQL injection

Report Extension

 

 

2007-04-28
Reviews: 1
when people input some "loooooooooooooooooooonnnnngggg" word, the shoutbox was expended to right. So left panel becomes wider in ie6,7. It's ok with firefox.

fuzi
2007-04-26
Reviews: 1
one download. and using easy to install joomla feature, in 5 minutes the shoutbox appear. it's ok for me to have blue border.

your work is great.
2007-04-23
Reviews: 19
Yes, the options in the admin are very limited, but this is compensated by the clearly commented css file. It's simple and I love it :).
Rod
2007-04-23
Reviews: 5
great stuff..works all fine.but i'm already being spammed.
2007-04-15
Reviews: 3
Easy to install, easy to config, works as expected.
2007-03-27
Reviews: 3
The height and the borders have to be configured through the css file on the modules directory...
other thank that really good component
2007-03-26
Reviews: 1
Hello,

This shoutbox works fine, I use the beta version. But:

1/ I don't have smily icons under the inputbox. I only see the word 'Smilies?'

2/ Not registered users can put comments in the shoutbox. If I change the module to registered users only than it works but the not registered users can't see the shoutbox.

3/ When registered, the name of the registered person is not visible, only the word "name:" is seen.
2007-02-21
Reviews: 1
Easy to install, works well. Options given work as advertised. I would like a few more however :)
Smiles once in view do not seem to hide unless the page is refreshed.
Does anyone know how to change the color of the text input box. Everything I tried didn't work.
All in all a very functional extension.
2007-01-16
Reviews: 2
I am relatively new to Joomla, and just recently decided to transfer over 10 hardcoded sites to the Joomla CMS.

With all these balls up in the air, I need as little hassle as possible, and the best, easiest ways to do things.

This shoutbox code was one of those easy things. It installed quickly and was easily customizable. I put the module in right side in my sites, then added a second template for a center position for those who wanted to chat in a more determined way. It worked great in both positions.

I agree with the others that there are things that could be added, yet I find that the simplicity is very appealing, and it does the job quite well, as-is.
2007-01-04
Reviews: 1
This shoutbox is very nice but when I try to write turkish character it fails. I hope the further version will handle this problem.

Thank you.
jdm
2006-12-13
Reviews: 1
to use with utf-8 encoding translate a new file a save it with utf-8 encoding go to database to "your database_shoutbox" and set the tables collation UTF-8_bin
if you can't install go in zip file and delete the folder __macosc

and its work for me! my lang is greek!!!
2006-11-23
Reviews: 1
Functions nicely, and is easily customizable. It's pretty easy to update the stylesheet. It's one of the first modules I've added-on and it went smoothly.

A couple things though:

1. So far I haven't found out how to get rid of the blue border around the entire sections of shouts.

2. I'd like to be able to allow Guests to only -view- the shoutbox and not post, and registered users be able to post. Otherwise this might lead to lots of spam.

But those are minor points ... great work!
Owner's reply

1: Open the css file in your modules directory and the delete line 33 & 34

border: 1px solid #;
border-width: 1px 1px;

2: Beta has this option already :)

2006-10-10
Reviews: 1
Too bad the UTF-8 doesn't work. My site is in Croatian and shoutbox can't load special signs. Is there a way to fix that? I tried to change the encoding of mod to windows-1250 but it didn't work. Only because of that I can't use it, otherways i think it is great.
2006-07-26
Reviews: 4
It seems to work fine and it certainly looks nice, this is another component to my site that makes my friends think that I am a skilled website builder.
2006-07-25
Reviews: 4
AJAX is one of my favour component/module. The author did respond to our features request. The lastest beta version now included:
- Public / Registered member mode (option to choose who can shout
- Realname / username display
However, this beta version is not completed.
- No need to add code to template file
Bugs:
- Cannot install directly, you must install 1.02 first and replace all files with 1.1 (Don't complain, see author's instruction first)
- Smiley do not work
Author's URL:
http://risperdal.student.utwente.nl/joomla/
2006-06-09
Reviews: 2
Install was very simple and straight forward. I read all the reviews and saw alot of similar things I thought of as well for improvement.

* Settings in admin needs to be cleaner.
* Maybe a button of some sort to turn on/off a "chime" for new messages.

And, my two biggest issues are these:
* If you reload the page entirely, you see the last 10 messages. Which is fine; however, I wish that I could either set a fixed height (vert scrollbar when necessary) and/or set how many messages will stay on the page without reloading. I don't like how it continues to grow and grow until you reload the whole page. (Sorry, I tried setting the 'height' in the css file, but it never seemed to care about that).
* My other big issue for improvement is color coding "Guests" (who put in their own name so they could pretend to be another user) from "Registered" users. Like Blue for registered and green for guests. That'd be a nice add; that or have a prefix added to their name.

However all in all, this is a great mod/com!
2006-06-04
Reviews: 1
The textarea and URL don't work. The first time you enter a text, the SEND button greys and stays there until you press the TAB key. This happens with IE6 and FF1.54 It would be nice to have the option of sound for better functionality.
2006-06-02
Reviews: 1
To prevent the shoutbox from stealing focus, simply find this line in modules/fatAjax.php: document.getElementById('chatbarText').focus(); and comment it out by adding // to the beginning of the line.

This is an excellent shoutbox. Gotta love AJAX. Still testing to see how it does on bandwidth, but very happy with it so far.
2006-05-28
Reviews: 1
Fantastic little chatbox, with one problem. Cursor focus is automaticly sent to the box, meaning that it has to be near to the top of a page...

Will
2006-05-28
Reviews: 1
Easy installaton and works great. Now, if only there was an easier way to cleanup the old posts.
Page 5 of 6