The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


AJAX Shoutbox Popular ComponentModule

This Joomla module adds live chat functionality to your Joomla site. Your visitors can chat with each other right in your website without refreshing their browsers. It's almost like chatting on an instant messenging network! And it's all powered by AJAX, a hot new old technology that powers things like Gmail, Google Maps and other brilliant web apps. Now you can get a piece of all this in your own site. For problems with installing please contact me instead of using the review function.

List of features:
Live updates
BBCode
Guest posting
Guest tags
CSS Styling
Smilies support
Option to let only registred users shout

Version 1.6 is now compatible with Joomla! 2.5. Note that there are different files for Joomla! 1.5 and 2.5.

Version 1.7 fixes a possible SQL injection

Report Extension

 

 

2006-05-27
Reviews: 98
I had installed this shoutbox on my site, but it seemed not work well with jd_Wordpress which was recommended on this official site to be a editor for blog. When I publish this Shoutbox module on the jd_WP page, it will cause fatal error. So I have to publish on other pages except jd_wp page.

I tried to reach the author of this component/module to report this bug but failed. Any one who can help me to reach them will be appreciated.

Finally, I would like to say this is a good plug-in though it has not functions of emotions and sound reminding.

Thank you.
2006-05-25
Reviews: 1
Its an awesome module , I use it on website now.

If can make sound effect setting function ( on/off ). that is perfect . just like the ZipChat . when submit chat it will have sound effect notice you there are a message coming .
2006-05-15
Reviews: 4
It worked very well on my site, I can write Chinese and English and it displayed them all without problem.

2 things that can improve:
1. Add an option to limit the number of messages stored.
2. Make the backend config page look better :)
2006-05-11
Reviews: 2
My shoutbox didn't work because my sever set the permission as 644, i set 755 for all the files (module and component) and then all gone ok!
Great program!
2006-04-29
Reviews: 1
Great little thing to have, quick & easy to install...

To modify the height, simply manually edit the file "mod_shoutbox_css.php" (line 24).
2006-04-26
Reviews: 1
Works fine, and installation worked well, too. I only dropped the two lines in the current tamplate via admin, and it seems to be working okay.
But how do I find the smileys? And I am still struggling with the administration of the components, if there is anything like it, as have just installed Joomla yesterday.
I used Mambo some years ago, and I am still very gratefull for everybody who releases under GNU GPL.
Thanks a lot.
2006-04-16
Reviews: 1
great modul

I need help getting the modul to respond messages where the guest on my
site is using the letters Æ Ø Å Is that
possible.
2006-04-11
Reviews: 1
For anyone planning to use this module please read the readme.txt in the download section of this module. You need to place a link to the script and css file into the index page of your template before it'll work.
2006-04-06
Reviews: 1
I have done everything correctly, but it doesn't work: Nothing happens after sending a new message. Please help me.
2006-04-01
Reviews: 1
Hi there. Its an awesome module, but when I load my site, it goes right to the module position (at the bottom), instead of loading the top of the site. I don´t know if my english is clear, here is my site: www.iuscontenidos.com.ar so you can check this thing .
2006-03-31
Reviews: 1
I love this little chat program..SUPER-easy to install and fun to use.

Recommendations:
1) with all the great smilies available (although it's kinda fun to try and figure them out), maybe make a checkbox option in settings to display the smilies available (with the alt text showing the key commands)

2) easy configuration options for adjusting height and width. Looking through the modules and component files and can't find where these settings are ...a config setting would be GREAT

Other than that, get this! It's awesome!

Scott Merrill
www.imnotcartman.com
2006-03-25
Reviews: 1
Very nicely done!!!
Install as follow...

* Install Component.
* Install Module
* Add 2 lines of code to your current template.
* Set the refresh-rate.
* Move and activate the module.
* Play! Play! Play!

Lots of fun but I think it would be even cooler if you can keep the focus set in the text box... (It was very cool finding all of the smilies!!!)

Great job!!!
jim
2006-03-18
Reviews: 2
I loved the demo, it looks realy great. However, the mod crashes my site. I looked in file 'mod_shoutbox.php' and saw that the 'mod' is trying to open files in a nonexistent directory under /components.

Is there another part of the install missing? Or was this mod ported from a component?

Let me know when this is fixed up, I would like to use it.
2006-03-18
Reviews: 2
You have to install the component that comes with this shoutbox

These 3 files you need to get the shoutbox working:
http://developer.joomla.org/sf/frs/do/listReleases/projects.ajaxshoutbox/frs.shoutbox
Page 6 of 6