The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ChronoForms Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • Free version displays a link to the developers site. Upon installation, users will be prompted for an optional validation code to remove the link.
I always needed to create custom forms for my clients websites, Or to migrate their old websites forms fast and easy to new Joomla websites forms, this was pain, as I was using other components for doing this, and create everything from scratch at web based tools. So I created this tool to let me copy and paste code from old sites or after making it in 5 minutes with any HTML editor (e.g: Macromedia DreamWeaver)

Chronoforms is about 6 years old, today it comes with a huge list of features with a very easy to use drag and drop interface to help you build any type of forms you may need, some of the features included are:

1- Basic forms features like fields creation..etc
2- Emails processing.
3- Data validation on form (client-side - JavaScript) and on server.
4- Data storage and management. (Let's you create a table for your form, save data to this table then manage it later) (ChronoConnectivity provides even more management capabilities)
5- Security with built in Captcha + ReCaptcha support.
6- Different Joomla functions. (Joomla registration forms, User Login or Article submission..etc)
7- Access Control to your forms.
8- Payment Integration (Authorize.net - Paypal Pro - 2Checkout.com)
9- More utilities for common stuff needed like CURL - Email verification - Confirmation pages..etc
10- endless control using an events based system which lets you control everything inside your form if you want to, plus the ability to use PHP code wherever and whenever you need.

Support:
1- Big set of free PDF tutorials covering most of the basic features.
2- Free forums with more than 70,000 forums posts covering almost any question you may think about, We try to answer everybody's questions and comments on our forums or through private emails.

You are welcome to visit us :)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-12-15
Reviews: 1
This form building component is the most powerful component you can add to your joomla. I love it -and the support is out of this world. I have built several complex solutions with chronofomrs and have never run into a problem with it (I certainly have run into problems - but they were my problems). version 3.0 has also added a lot of user friendly controls.

It is worth way more than 25 bucks :)
2008-12-15
Reviews: 11
I like the form builder. It is easy to use and rather versatile.

What I don't like is the copyright that comes with it. Unless you get the $25 ad-free license, you're stuck with an unsightly, unrelated advertisement at the bottom of your published form. I mean if the back-link said something like "powered by: Chronoforms", fine, fair game. Instead, it says "Joomla Professional Work", all 3 words linking back to chronoforms.com. Firstly, everyone's going to know what platform you're using off the bat (ie Joomla), second, it really is unsightly and conjures images of unrelated adSense advertising.
2008-12-14
Reviews: 1
I will recommend chronoforms for anyone who is interested in building forms for their websites.

It takes a little time in the beginning to understand but once you've grabbed the idea it becomes easier and then the support forum, they will pull you out of any or all the difficulties that you're having.

Really great component and a great team.

Thanks ChronoForms Team.
2008-12-13
Reviews: 3
I was excited by this extension, but very disappointed after installing it. The forms wizard is a great start, but needs to be connected to a existing form, so it can used to edit an existing form. Also the user interface was designed with a programmer/coder in mind. Not very user friendly. Too painful and cumbersome. I could not see any of my form fields or a way to edit them, on a existing form. The tutorials are old and only talk about setting up email fields etc. I agree with the owner that this was originally a simple contact form extension. Unfortunately, it still seems like that.

Suggestions:

1. When we click on the edit button, show a button on the menu bar, that will display the current fields on the form and also the tool bar (like the wizard) so one can edit the form easily. I still cannot find a way to add or delete fields on a existing for.

2. Make the user interface especially in the edit mode or new forms mode more user friendly. As one of the users mentioned, it is a nightmare backend with code and data all over. Layout is not that great.

I have removed this extension and have paid for RS Forms. I would have gladly paid for an extension if it was worth it. RS Forms is great and I would recommend the owner of this extension to borrow a few ideas from it.
2008-12-07
Reviews: 1
Great extension. Even for a total nitwit (regarding code) like me, a very easy component.
But best of all: THE FORUM. You will not get quicker, better and more patient help any where on the internet.
Just the forum is already worth to give Chronoforms a try (and make a support donation!)
2008-11-09
Reviews: 1
Simplicity is the key.Some may find it complicated and especially with the newcomers but other than that - search no further because this is the form creation tool that will make creating forms a breeze! - Kudos to the author of such tool!!
2008-11-07
Reviews: 1
I have been looking for a forms generator and found ChronoForms. I find it very easy to use and it lets you customize many features, aswell as to use your own scripts. Keep it up!!!
2008-11-03
Reviews: 1
This is no simple recommendation, this is an absolute MUST-HAVE!

You need any kind of form for your Joomla site? There it is: ChronoForms will do WHATEVER you might THINK of in this segment! I watched it develop over times and it always was excellent, but with version 3 it breathtaking SUPERB!

It allows you both simple forms and/or heavily specialized forms, which you didn't expect to be done in a framework like Joomla! Whatever i thought of being impossible to be solved, it COULD be solved by ChronoForms: database queries before or after sending an email reply, dynamical database outputs inside emails or followup forms, datamining filled out forms into database entries, which can be exported as excel-sheet by just one click, etc, etc....it's absolutely amazing, what this component can do!

But the cause why i'm posting here is that despite of all that functionallities by this component, the supporting crew is what everybody wants a supporting crew to be: competent, replying amazingly fast, answering every problem providing a solution every time. THAT'S what i call a BEST OVERALL!

If you want forms on your Joomla site: go and support these guys! You are not forced to buy it, but DO it, as it is worth every cent!

Gekko
2008-10-30
Reviews: 1
A newb with no programming experience what so ever can create a decent SURVEY form in minutes. And with a bit o programming knowledge, a decent programmer can get a complex form up extremely fast compared to if they coded their own form manually.

i got a bit lost in the coding part at first. but it was more of my lack of knowledge on Joomla source that was the hindrance.

Oh yeah.. not being able to use the form wizard to edit was quite a drag. newbs who have little or no programming knowledge might wanna try to design your form somewhere else before you do it in chrono forms. Cuz if you don't know html, editing it could be a pain!.

But still.... 5 out of 5 from me !!!
WOW
2008-10-28
Reviews: 2
Chronoforms is absolutely amazing... & extremely simple to use. Although it is free to use, for $25 you can use it without a back link on upto 5 sites. Great value for money. Keep up the good work guys!

Had a couple of minor issues. That were sorted out within minutes on the forum.
2008-10-20
Reviews: 2
This is by far one of the most useful and diverse form components I've used (and I've tried most). It has more features than I will ever need, it's easy to work with and understand. It allows you to easily custom code all aspects of the form. Has the ability to link into any database(s) you choose or you can flip on the J! or CB plugins it comes with to link registration forms. Absolutely great. The forums they offer are a great resource if you need help, and if your question needs special attention Max and GreyHead are extremely helpful and knowledgeable. I started out just wanting to make a new registration form but now with the capabilities this offers I've decided to remake my contact forms and add a lot more specialized functionality to them., as well as heavy database integration.

Bottom line, if you need to make a form you won't be disappointed with this component.
2008-10-17
Reviews: 1
I have used MANY different form components and none of them have come close to ChronoForms.

It was fast and easy to install. The Form Wizard was great for making my form, with more options than others (such as facileforms) and SOOOO easy. I had it up and published in less than a half hour with just one question for the forum that I found an answer to immediately!

Only downfalls I have found so far:
Cannot edit a form once you've saved it. (although it's easy & fast to redo so you'll survive if you have to start over)
Cannot remove a link to joomla professional...unless you buy the $25 license.

Overall great product, so much so that I bought the license :)
2008-10-16
Reviews: 3
This is a must have forms component for Joomla and Community Builder.

You can build your own CB registration, user search forms or any kind of form or application where you want to display or change data on your users or another other tables for that matter.

You can email the results, do file uploads and submit to database.

Max and Bob also provide great support and the forum is active.

Wrongjon
2008-10-10
Reviews: 3
This form tool is so easy to use, it's mind boggling! The AJAX makes it super intuitive and the support is second to NONE!
Every question I have had I could either 1) easily find in the forum, or 2) Was posted a topic and the Admin (aka Max) or forum guru Greyhead (aka Bob) answered my post so fast it made my head spin!

These guys are awesome! The component works great, is super flexible and best of well, it's well supported.

It's extensions like this that we all should try out, and if we continue to use them in production sites, help the development by buying a license or donating.. these guys are by no means geedy.. these are the type of developers we should be supporting as users!

Great job Chronoengine team!
2008-10-03
Reviews: 2
1)Product is completely free to use
2)Support is better than any paid Joomla Extension I've ever purchased
3)It's an incredibly powerful product. I haven't found a limitation as to what it can do yet.
4)The developers are really nice & helpful. I received an answer to my question within hours of posting.
5)Chronoforms is a product I could see using on almost every website I develop.
6)Absolutely fantastic! Takes 1-3hours depending on your skill level to learn and understand the system. The time it will save you is incredible. One of the best extensions I've ever used!

SIDE NOTE:
The new version of (3.0 Stable) does need a bit of develop on the GUI -- such as the ability to edit the form after creation, as a few others have pointed out. That being said, for being new, it's a great first step. There is NOTHING else out there that is like this product.
2008-10-02
Reviews: 1
I'm a novice php/mysql user and I've been exploring joomla for use in a few upcoming websites. I love the joomla structure and I was looking for a form component to round out my development site. I tried a few and even BOUGHT one.

They are all very confusing. Many might be quite good, but the documentation is often terrible and the interfaces are weak and not intuitive. They seem to assume a level of expertise that I just don't have. I'm sure they will get the job done, but seem to have a pretty steep learning curve.

I really think chrono forms might be the place to stop the search. The interface is nice, the product works as advertised. The documentation is a little light, but there is some good info in the forums, tutorials and FAQ. And it seems like the support response in the forums is good (unlike many other forums out there).

The combination of chrono forms and chrono connectivity looks like a real winner. I was entering form data in my database and retrieving it into a page on my site within 30 minutes. I'm pretty impressed with that and am looking forward to continued exploration of this product.
2008-10-02
Reviews: 42
This extension has solved so many challenges for me in the short time I have found it and started using it.

I am fairly new to Joomla and ChronoForms but was still able to create a form so that people have to register before downloading a document and the forms output is sent to an email and also to the database. Fantastic! I could never quite manage this with Microsoft FrontPage - it would do the email or the database but not both at the same time!

I was also able to use ChronoForms to create a form where someone can enter their name and the email addresses of up to 4 friends and then an email is sent to the 4 friends letting them know about the web site - a great promotion tool!

When I needed help, I posted a question in the ChronoForms Forums and there were 2 solutions with a couple of hours!

Thank-you so much for providing this invaluable extension and also for providing it for free.

Neil Robertson - Chidlow - Western Australia
ycs
2008-09-24
Reviews: 2
Load this up - looks great - go through the wizard - wonderful - all is good. Go back to edit - wizard is only for creation - once you are done you are in a mine field of backend crap - how hard can it be to have the wizard back to edit a previous form?
I'm not happy because I sent an hour creating a form but was auto logged off before I saved - why didn't I save? because the wizard is not for previously save documents.
This component has huge potential but the documentation and implementation are only so-so.
Owner's reply

Chronoforms is 2 years old and the wizard is 2 months old only (since V3.0), as you can see above its #14 in the features list, its for beginners to make a quick form but not to make a professional one, We have both video and text(PDF) tutorials on the site.

2008-09-18
Reviews: 5
I love this form creator. There's a forms wizard if you don't want to get your hands dirty, or if you need more control over the way your form is set up and displayed, you can import/modify the HTML. That's probably enough for most users, but the additional ability to process php adds a ton of flexibility... even if your skills are only limited.

One other HUGE selling point: I have NEVER seen better response times or helpful answers on the part of a developer (and Bob) in a forum! It makes the component even more useful. Definitely worth getting the optional license if only as a way of thanking them.
2008-09-18
Reviews: 4
While it did take me a few times to figure out the form wizard exactly, but since I have figured it out Chrono Forms has worked well. I have not yet tried the more advanced features such as file attachment, but for contact forms and clan applications, this component has been perfect. Thanks so much for making it and keep up the good work!
Page 10 of 16