The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ChronoForms Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • Free version displays a link to the developers site. Upon installation, users will be prompted for an optional validation code to remove the link.
Looking for a short form or a long one ? you are a Joomla starter or a pro ? need something to setup quickly ? or you need full control ? look no further!

Chronoforms is more than 7 years old, started at the early Joomla days, today it has a HUGE list of features and a very easy to use interface to help you build any type of form you may need, some of the features included are:

1- Drag and Drop or full custom code form builder, 3 form styles and layouts, including Bootstrap support.
2- Send emails to any number of static or dynamic addresses.
3- Full Client and Server data validation.
4- Store form data into database or Google sheets, you may also export it to CSV/XLS/PDF files.
5- Full security and spam prevention tools including Captcha, ReCaptcha, Security question and Honeypot.
6- Different Joomla functions. (Joomla registration forms, User Login or Article submission..etc)
7- Groups permissions support.
8- Payment Integration (Authorize.net - Paypal Pro, IPN and PDT - 2Checkout.com)
9- Others: File uploads, File downloads, date pickers, fields masks, Multi pages, Session read and write, database data loading, dynamic fields events, dynamic data sources, Auto completer, page redirects, cURL, Email verification, Email encryption, Meta data control and others.
10- The most modular design, build your own form processing routine or use the simple mode for quick setup.

Support:
1- Huge FAQs section covering all your common questions.
2- Free forums with more than 80,000 forums posts covering almost any question you may think about, We try to answer everybody's questions and comments on our forums or through private emails.

You are welcome to visit us :)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-03-31
Reviews: 5
It works great and makes forms fast and easily (once you understand the system). Great work on this one!

My only problem would be how user friendly it is. It would be nice to have a built in walkthrough or a sample form that comes with the installation.
2008-03-19
Reviews: 2
It is a brilliant tool, but as a non joomla-specialist, it took a while before I understood the system.
I closely followed the tutorials but what really helped a lot was looking at the actual developer's site (www.chronoengine.com) and the demo form. Then I accessed the source code and copied that into the chronoforms environment.... I slightly edited the HTML-code and it is now perfect.
Overall highly recommened
2008-03-18
Reviews: 1
This was very easy to install and the best bit for me was being able to create my form in Dreamweaver and then cut and paste it into the html code. Coding knowledge is required especially for the validation area and I found this difficult to understand. Eventually I needed help with validation and this was provided by the Chronoengine Team for a small fee but worth every penny. A great extension don't use any other form!
2008-03-14
Reviews: 7
...take a few hours and teach yourself how to create clean CSS formatted forms. Then use ChronoForms to do the heavy lifting of making them functional. There is now a solid 1.5 version and support through their forum is outstanding. Support these folks. This component will only get better with age.
2008-03-12
Reviews: 1
To start, I have very little experience with Joomla, and no form experience what-so-ever. I first tried RSform, but could not get the information to be emailed to me. I then tried the ChronoForms and again I could not get it to email. The difference between the 2 was the support. I asked on both forums, the chrono forum was near instant in the reply and gave me help I could use. I still have not had any help on the other. Needless to say, I went with the chrono as component of choice as I truly believe its not as much the value of the component but more the value of the support that stands behind it.

Also, just to give a little comparison for others that may be Joomla stupid like me, the RSforms has a simpler interface, and with very little knowledge you can build a form and the code is done for you. With Chrono, you need to have some knowledge of form building, but their tutorials make it easy for basic stuff. Neither one works properly with SmartSEF, but Chrono works just fine with the basic SEF URLs setting turned on. I am using Joomla 1.5.1. I hope this helps and thanks for a great product.
2008-03-10
Reviews: 1
ChronoForms is a great extension: On the demo-site there are tutorials, video tutorials and a support forum. This component is easy to use; very professional; and last but not least: suitable for everybody who wants to install a form component to Joomla 1.5! Great work.
2008-03-09
Reviews: 1
I do believe I have tried every form component out there both free and commercial. All have their advantages and disadvantages. I passed this one up several times, because it had been ages since I had created my own forms and wasn't sure if I could remember how. Honestly, in desperation, I decided to give it a shot. I'm extremely satisfied with the results! Using both Dreamweaver and NVU, I was able to create the forms that I wanted and customize them the way that I wanted them to look! Which was very important to me! Works exactly like it says. Great Job! Thank you!
2008-02-29
Reviews: 1
Easy to install on joomla 1.5
Easy to use
Flexible, you can use javascript, php and html.
Easy to modify the source code if you really need.
I thank the webmaster for his answer less than 15 minutes after i wrote him. Notice problems are going to be fixed even if it doesn't matter.

Really nice job.
2008-02-28
Reviews: 1
I really liked this extension but it has stuck into an old version for J1.5 and it hasn't fixed its problems.

It installs flawlessly and the form creation process is very easy. The problems starts when you install or do "anything" or "nothing" and the module goes blank. Showing nothing when you click the links to the forms. It has happened me three times in two different sites. Reinstalling is of no use. And the annoying blank page is of no use.
Owner's reply

J1.5 had some changes between the different RCs, we had ChronoForms works best with the latest stable, the blank page problem has a very easy solution posted at the 5,000+ posts forum in more than 100 I think, I encourage every ChronoForms user has any problem to search/post at the forums first or contact us about any issues! We DO answer every question!

2008-02-20
Reviews: 1
I found this easy to install and use. I highly recommend it to anyone who needs to create different forms easily. Thx Max
NFG
2008-02-16
Reviews: 2
This component is what I have been looking for.

The coolest things about it are what it does not have.

It does not have a complicated javascript layout editor, and I don't want or need one.

It does not attempt to do everything for you. It does what it says. It processes forms.

It processes forms very nicely too with neatly laid out emails for your client. It's simple, and it doesn't assume that you have never seen HTML before. That means that I can make forms that are standards compliant - my way, and they look the way I want them to. I can id and class elements the way I want it done. Outstanding! I can do my job now.

The best part is that you can add in your own PHP code, painlessly. In most cases I can do this using an include() so I don't have to edit PHP in the browser thankyouverymuch. The only time you can't use an include is in the form HTML itself. ChronoForms needs to see the form fields, but you can still use PHP there.

If you are reasonably knowledgeable about Joomla and PHP this is a time saver for reasonably sized forms-based applications. Nobody wants to write another forms processor. Really, they don't. It's tedious. This will do it for you and let you get on with the more custom features of the site you are building, like what happens before and after the form is submitted.

Even if you only know how to lay out a form in HTML you will find that this does everything needed for forms processing and your design does not need to suffer.

Just write your markup and go. Hooray!

Genius. Thanks. I love it.
2008-02-12
Reviews: 4
I really like this component. It's easy to use.

Good for ordering online form, so don't need to install a shopping cart system
2008-02-04
Reviews: 4
I'd been using FacileForms and later Forme and although Facile forms is a top-notch component, creating forms and aligning the elements take quite some work (and time). Today i decided to look at ChronoForms and it installed smoothly into my 1.5 Stable installation and boy did it impress me!

It has everything I need and works superbly well. Knock up a form in Dreamweaver or Frontpage and pop it into ChronoForms and you're done! Its as easy at that! Superb work!

.../Ian
2008-02-01
Reviews: 1
I know next to nothing about code being a designer first and foremost yet I was able to set up a form precisely to the specification my client required using this component.

Minimal fuss, a little tinkering, and bingo, form popped in and working perfectly.

Truly outstanding and worth every penny - I have (had) no hesitation in sending my payment.

If you need a customised form in Joomla 1.5 this is, without question for me, the route to go. I created my form in Dreamweaver, popped the code in the relevant places, tinkered a bit to make it work correctly, and all was done. So simple.
2008-01-17
Reviews: 6
Excellent component and it works!
2008-01-10
Reviews: 1
I tried many other form solutions (perForms, Facile Forms, phil-a-form) and they all have the same problem: They are click-to-build solutions. You can only add fields by clicking your form together in the backend.

Chronoforms has the huge advantage that you can create your form LOCALLY and style it there. Once you are happy with the layout of the form, you can just copy and paste your code into chronoforms and there you have it. Chronoform takes care of entering all values from the form into a database as well as e-mails you the entered values.
You are also able to use PHP code within the form which also makes it more versatile than the usual Joomla content editor (as you are not allowed to use PHP).
2008-01-09
Reviews: 3
Chronoforms is easy to use, flexible, powerfull, customizable, excellent support and huge community. Simply the best form component.
2008-01-07
Reviews: 6
I have to say, chronoforms is impressing me more and more... at first I thought it sucked a bit because it didn't actually MAKE the form, however in their tutorial they mention a free editor that you can use to make a form, and how to cut and paste it in...

So that solved that problem.

The power is in the way you can put the html and all the other stuff, so you can do individual inline CSS styling for your forms and make them look fantastic with your site...

..is an example of what I have done, I still need to do the custom thankyou page, and thankyou email (at this point) however you can see using inline CSS how I have made input boxes with translucent backgrounds, customised submit buttons etc.... and all that was from tweaking one of their 'demo' forms on the site... which is what actually taught me HOW to do inline CSS...

Like everything there is a learning curve.. (but then 6 months ago I was new to joomla, trying to get my head around the difference between article, category, section, modules thinking I am never going to understand this stuff - and now I can do that in my sleep)

I still have heaps more to learn about chronoforms, but I have the basics looking great and working... I can add the other funky stuff later. (the 'examples' submitted by users on their website are great to learn from and modify too!)

'Out of the box' it works great, and if you spend some time you can make it do almost anything you need!

Marty
2008-01-02
Reviews: 2
This is always the first component I add to any Joomla site I create. It's so easy to use, and can be made into any number of different applications.

Thank you for releasing this!
2007-12-31
Reviews: 2
This component makes it very easy to deploy forms on your Joomla site. Very simple to use if you are migrating forms from a static HTML site, or if you are comfortable creating forms in an html editor.

It can be challenging to get the forms to preserve value if you use the CAPTCHA verification, but the documentation and tutorials are getting better.

I was able to get the forms working very easily, but had to get some PHP advice from a guru in order to get the forms to preserve values if the CAPTCHA was wrong.

The javascript validation is very simple to implement and very effective.

Highly recommended!!!
Page 13 of 16