The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


ChronoForms Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • Free version displays a link to the developers site. Upon installation, users will be prompted for an optional validation code to remove the link.
Looking for a short form or a long one ? you are a Joomla starter or a pro ? need something to setup quickly ? or you need full control ? look no further!

Chronoforms is more than 7 years old, started at the early Joomla days, today it has a HUGE list of features and a very easy to use interface to help you build any type of form you may need, some of the features included are:

1- Drag and Drop or full custom code form builder, 3 form styles and layouts, including Bootstrap support.
2- Send emails to any number of static or dynamic addresses.
3- Full Client and Server data validation.
4- Store form data into database or Google sheets, you may also export it to CSV/XLS/PDF files.
5- Full security and spam prevention tools including Captcha, ReCaptcha, Security question and Honeypot.
6- Different Joomla functions. (Joomla registration forms, User Login or Article submission..etc)
7- Groups permissions support.
8- Payment Integration (Authorize.net - Paypal Pro, IPN and PDT - 2Checkout.com)
9- Others: File uploads, File downloads, date pickers, fields masks, Multi pages, Session read and write, database data loading, dynamic fields events, dynamic data sources, Auto completer, page redirects, cURL, Email verification, Email encryption, Meta data control and others.
10- The most modular design, build your own form processing routine or use the simple mode for quick setup.

Support:
1- Huge FAQs section covering all your common questions.
2- Free forums with more than 80,000 forums posts covering almost any question you may think about, We try to answer everybody's questions and comments on our forums or through private emails.

You are welcome to visit us :)

Report Extension

 

 

2008-01-10
Reviews: 1
I tried many other form solutions (perForms, Facile Forms, phil-a-form) and they all have the same problem: They are click-to-build solutions. You can only add fields by clicking your form together in the backend.

Chronoforms has the huge advantage that you can create your form LOCALLY and style it there. Once you are happy with the layout of the form, you can just copy and paste your code into chronoforms and there you have it. Chronoform takes care of entering all values from the form into a database as well as e-mails you the entered values.
You are also able to use PHP code within the form which also makes it more versatile than the usual Joomla content editor (as you are not allowed to use PHP).
2008-01-09
Reviews: 3
Chronoforms is easy to use, flexible, powerfull, customizable, excellent support and huge community. Simply the best form component.
2008-01-07
Reviews: 6
I have to say, chronoforms is impressing me more and more... at first I thought it sucked a bit because it didn't actually MAKE the form, however in their tutorial they mention a free editor that you can use to make a form, and how to cut and paste it in...

So that solved that problem.

The power is in the way you can put the html and all the other stuff, so you can do individual inline CSS styling for your forms and make them look fantastic with your site...

..is an example of what I have done, I still need to do the custom thankyou page, and thankyou email (at this point) however you can see using inline CSS how I have made input boxes with translucent backgrounds, customised submit buttons etc.... and all that was from tweaking one of their 'demo' forms on the site... which is what actually taught me HOW to do inline CSS...

Like everything there is a learning curve.. (but then 6 months ago I was new to joomla, trying to get my head around the difference between article, category, section, modules thinking I am never going to understand this stuff - and now I can do that in my sleep)

I still have heaps more to learn about chronoforms, but I have the basics looking great and working... I can add the other funky stuff later. (the 'examples' submitted by users on their website are great to learn from and modify too!)

'Out of the box' it works great, and if you spend some time you can make it do almost anything you need!

Marty
2008-01-02
Reviews: 2
This is always the first component I add to any Joomla site I create. It's so easy to use, and can be made into any number of different applications.

Thank you for releasing this!
2007-12-31
Reviews: 2
This component makes it very easy to deploy forms on your Joomla site. Very simple to use if you are migrating forms from a static HTML site, or if you are comfortable creating forms in an html editor.

It can be challenging to get the forms to preserve value if you use the CAPTCHA verification, but the documentation and tutorials are getting better.

I was able to get the forms working very easily, but had to get some PHP advice from a guru in order to get the forms to preserve values if the CAPTCHA was wrong.

The javascript validation is very simple to implement and very effective.

Highly recommended!!!
2007-12-13
Reviews: 1
I could kiss you guys. I tried several others and was never satisfied. It was an exercise in frustration until I ran across ChronoForms. The installation and set up was so simple. The instructions clear and the video tutorials so helpful to me when I was trying to set up a more advanced form. Thank you so much for a wonderful extension!

Tina Shang
2007-11-27
Reviews: 2
It took a while to sort out the email and onsubmit settings. Afterwards, it works for a variety of forms. Thank you.
2007-11-21
Reviews: 4
I already own Phil-A-Form, a commercial form component, but the lack of updates and true response to issues such as captcha functionality (requested by many), combined with so called 'life time upgrades' that don't seem to mean that, meant I decided to go with ChronoForms *and* pay for the unbranded option...especially as the J!1.5 version is being worked on at the same time and all future versions are part of the fee. Set up was relatively easy and response to questions was lightening fast !!
2007-11-13
Reviews: 3
I have used quite a few extensions and tried most of the other form extensions but think this is the best one for forms available thus far. It allows you to create forms in your usual form building programs and copy and paste the code. So you can stylesheet and build any specific validation rules you want.
Some of the entry areas are a little less than intuitive at first and this is where I think the developers can do a little more work but they do have video examples of how to get started and and also have a very responsive forum area where answers are very quickly available. Also the way they have developed this extension does mean there is a lot of customisation you can do to meet your specific requirements. I think the team at chronoengine have done an excellent job and this is certainly one of my most favoured extensions
2007-11-07
Reviews: 2
Under all form extensions Chronoform worked out best for me. Basically its not a form generator as you create your forms by code (beginners should be in a second into it with any HTML reference site). But that's easy and there are pretty much options like email templates, etc. The imageverfication uses a nice image (thats not so often) and the support in the chronoengine.com forums is fast. J1.5 RC1 released and under development too.
2007-10-30
Reviews: 1
this is a very good tool, highly recommended.
2007-09-23
Reviews: 1
After having problems with Phil-A-Forms and incompatibility issues with OpenSEF I decided to try ChronoForms. I must say I am glad I did.

The installation is simple and it only took me about 10 minutes to have my first form up and working properly.

I wish I would have tried this component before buying Phil-A-Form.
Note to Phil Taylor. You should fix Phil-A-Form. At current it is incompatible with the freely available SEF extensions.
2007-09-23
Reviews: 4
Robust and easy to use. Excellent support and documentation.Everything you could ask for in an open source world!
2007-08-30
Reviews: 1
Generally in life you can get something good, something fast, something cheap... Choose any two out of those three.
I needed to put together a number of registration forms for an event very quickly, with almost no budget, and it all needed to work immediately.
So I downloaded the free trial version of ChronoForms, built my forms in Dreamweaver, copied and pasted the code into the component and spent a couple of hours tweaking the site.
I'm amazed at how easy it was to implement, how simple the process is to understand (I'm a designer, not a coder), and how succesful it's been for me.
I pitched the registration forms to my client, in competition with a major event management company, and because this solution allowed me to design the entire look & feel to match their existing site, we got the job.
So I've paid the license fee happily.

I can't recommend it highly enough.

Only shortcomings are the lack of a data export interface for the component to allow saving the data out as CSV or XML or similar, but I can do that directly from the database, so no big issue for me.

If you prefer to design a form your own way, rather than have to conform to somebody elses idea of how a form should appear, then this is your answer. Genius.
2007-08-24
Reviews: 2
This is an awesome component. It can use PHP within the forms. So far I have been able to access data from other databases (on the same machine) and process data using custom PHP code without knowing the Joomla API. Also, with the mambot, I can stick forms within other pages. I am wondering now if this will save me from having to learn the Joomla API. Before this, if I wanted to have different types of custom functionality I was thinking that I might have to write custom extensions. At least in many cases, this is an easy substitute for that.
2007-08-16
Reviews: 1
Thanks for this out of this world component!!!
Its easy to setup and intuitive to use. Amazing work... keep it up.

Would like to report a few minor bugs/enhancement requests that I noticed in the version 2.3RC1
1) It would be nice to add the CC and BCC feature in the emails that are sent out on submit of the forms
2) The backup to excel is creating all the rows correctly, but as we go to the next row, the columns are displaced by the number of columns in the previous row
ROW1 : TITLE1 TITLE2 TITLE3
ROW2 : COL1 COL2 COL3
ROW3 : COL1 COL2 COL3
etc.
3) When I use the mambot to display the form in any HTML page, then the validations (eg. required) are not working

Apart from the above mentioned issues, the component has far surpassed my expectations and made me a greater fan of joomla.
2007-08-15
Reviews: 4
I've tried all the forms extensions and had to ditch them all because they were simply too complicated or time-consuming.

If you find it easier to create forms in HTML, such as Dreamweaver, you'll LOVE ChronoForms!

The support services from ChronoEngine is absolutely top-notch, especially for a FREE Extension. Best bargain of the year! I was so impressed with them that I went ahead anyway and paid $25 for a license.

Do you need to send email to multiple recipients while hiding the email addresses from prying eyes? This can be done!

ChronoForms is a *MUST HAVE* for forms on your Joomla websites.
2007-08-11
Reviews: 6
THE component enables writing not only single forms but chain of mutually interconnected forms too and, above it, in very reasonable time.
Javascript and PHP snippets could be included in many different ways. So forms verification and adding intelligence to the forms can be done very easily.
The admin/prog interface is excellent and well commented.
The learning curve of ChronoForms is like a rocket.
Furthermore I have not encountered any bug during very intensive four days programming.
I am the most satisfied user.
Thumbs up!
2007-08-02
Reviews: 1
After hours and hours of searching for the perfect form component I found this one! It is a jewel!

Easy to install and even easier to use. Perfect for any kind of forms from simple to complex ones.

And very easy to start! On the homepage it even has video tutorials on how to install it and use it!

Now, this is what I call a perfect component! Easy to use and with great, great results.

A real life saver.
I love it!
2007-08-01
Reviews: 1
We needed a "contact us" form for our church website and I found this extension after trying one other. It is by far the better and more elegant of the two. I had a silly problem with spelling and within minutes, Max answered my post in their forum in a gracious and courteous way.

The form was easy to install, it's tutorials, both written and animated, were clear and easy to understand and were it not for my spelling error, would have been installed in an hour or so including building the HTML. One does need a bit of working knowledge of HTML or a decent editor but for that, an open source editor such as Nvu is perfectly appropriate.

I can't give this package nor these developers higher recommendations...top notch all the way.
Page 14 of 16