The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Fabrik Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Fabrik is THE open source Joomla application builder component.

Fabrik gives you the power to create forms and tables that run inside Joomla without requiring knowledge of mySQL and PHP. Then feed your data into Google Maps, Charts or an AJAX based calendar

With Fabrik you can create applications that range in complexity from simple contact forms to complex applications such as a job application site or bug tracking systems.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2007-08-09
Reviews: 1
After twenty eight years of IT experience, from small shops to one of the largest holdings corporations in the U.S.; on every imaginable platform, OS, programming language, whatever; in every imaginable job title, from Fiel Engineer and Application Support Specialist to Systems Architect, responsible for some very large projects, there are not very many things in IT that amazes me these days. This extension does. Also, I have used many others and they don't come close.

I have not looked at any documentation, whatever and I have had very few problems implementing this extension. Granted, there are a few items fully documented on the Fabrik Forum during installation. I had no problem finding these an implementing them.

Once in the package, there are plenty of helpful tooltips, etc. When used with the forum search, it is rather easy to use. But, I speak from a different perspective and if I was an end-user with minimal to average skill sets the package has a steep learning curve. If you do not understand enough to further research how to Create tables in a database, specifically, MySQL, then you will need to learn from Joomla tables as you can create simple, database-driven applications from them.

If you want to create powerful applications with this extension, the following minimums are essential:

1. Create tables in a MySQL database, using the Joomla database is okay and the Joomla tables may be used to enhance your application.
2. Be familiar with the basics of creating and using Cascading Style Sheets(CSS).
3. Understand basic concepts of HTML.
3. Know the basics of JavaScript to customize event handling.
4. Be familiar with the rudiments of the Document Object Model.


I would say this is not eyond the scope of a super-user. Developer skills are needed to use some of the advanced concepts such as using CURL and PHP, etc.

In short, a truly amazing extension that answers my issue of needing tools like this, with my arsenal of tools to enhance it, to cut down my application development time to weeks instead of months, using traditional methods, without the Joomla framework.

KUDOS to Rob Clayburn and anyone else on the Project Team that may have been involved.
2007-07-18
Reviews: 1
I went through the trouble of installing this component, only to have issues with the adding form elements. So, I went to the fabrik support forum, which only allows download of 'fixes' if you pay to register. No Thanks. Bad business on the part of Fabrik developers; if you're going to offer a free component, you cannot expect to be paid for support unless it's extraneous, and fixes for bugs is not something I would consider to be worthy of charge.

I've installed FacileForms, and am very happy with the results. Not a fan of Fabrik, not at all.
Owner's reply

All downloads of the core component, modules and mambots are freely available on the site, registration (even the free version) is not required.

2007-07-09
Reviews: 1
paying 20 to get the bug fixes is a bit steep and out of character for a Joomla developer.
If the fix is available they need to publish it!

I have an undefined variable allElementData. Searched the fabrikar.com forum. Same type of problems turn up several times over several months but no answer or fix given.
Owner's reply

just to be clear - you dont need to pay to get the bug fixes - the code in the SVN is available to everyone and releases are released to everyone at the same time.
Subscription gives you priority support, which will get any issues you have dealt with before non-subscriber issues

2007-06-30
Reviews: 1
I read the reviews and was concerned with the comments about documentation and felt this shold not be an issue as I really only had some simple stiff to do. On the face of it Fabrik did it well. Linked to other data sources and gave me the form I needed. Problem is it will not email and if I turn error log to on a vast swag of errors are displayed. I am using 1.0.12 Joomla and 1.3 of Fabrik, I would have assumed it would be stable and functional. the information offered for free was not helpful for these bugs. If paying the 20 pounds is to solve the bugs, then I prefer to use someting else. I do the website as a volunteer for a not for profit org and was disapointed with the product. Avoid the hassel.
2007-06-29
Reviews: 1
I thought this was an excellent product but only once I work out how it all worked. It took ages to figure out how easy the product is to use even for a NEWBEE like me. Its only once you know these three things that you find out how easy the product is to use.
1) When you install the component when it asks you to continue STOP!!! there will be an option to install example data. DO IT. this will give you something to play around with
2) To see a published form you have to link to the table. to do this go to edit your table and in the 'link to menu' tab select a menu and then enter a menu name, click to link to menu. This will publish the item so you can see it in your preview.
3) In creating a new form you have to create your table using MySQL before you can attach your form to it.
The rest is really easy to figure out :O)
2007-06-24
Reviews: 5
When they said it didn't require any knowledge of MySQL and it would all be in the familiar atmosphere of the Joomla backend, I figured, what the heck? As long as I didn't blow up my webhost's server, I desperately needed to set up a database for a genealogical society website. But that was easier said than done. Let me be honest here--I can't even SPELL SQL, let alone program in it...Excel causes me to break out in hives and we won't even go to the hysteria I've suffered from Access!

Installation was super easy. The set up of the forms stymied me at first--mainly because I was dealing with unfamiliar territory. Truly the first errors were mine and I couldn't find answers quickly on the Fabrik forum. I will admit that you have to really comb the forum, but even if you can't find them, you can find helpful users always willing to assist. (It also helps if you read Rob's READ ME FIRST in the forums--which I didn't...and after I had torn a headful of hair from my old gray head, I did go back and read it and found my answer). Duh.

But within three hours I had a BEAUTIFUL database and my users (who are all usually confounded by anything electronic) were happily inputting their data. I then went on to create another form by importing (using the nifty keen Import function within product) from Excel an ENORMOUS database. Once I had figured out that spaces in Excel headings are not happy things from the information in the forum, my data input to perfection with me having to change only a couple of things to get the form just the way I wanted. I didn't even have to mess with templates--they come with the product.

As for improvement: 1) On the extension: though you don't have to know MySQL or PHP functions, it really would help if the terms and functions were more fully explained; 2) a few more information buttons to help "on the fly" would also be great; 3) I really do think that there should be a Wiki page or PDF so that poor Rob won't have to be dealing with the likes of me asking questions he's already answered in his READ ME FIRST!

All in all though, this is a FANTASTIC product and when you're dealing with tons of information which needs to be organized, especially in a genealogical database, this product fits like a glove.
2007-06-23
Reviews: 1
After making the support forum available only to subscribers, Fabrik has taken on the road to make it as good as it get.

Simple the beat database/form tool on the market right now
2007-05-28
Reviews: 2
Hi there,
I would like to start with giving my complements for this component! It is a very nice and complete tool. To make a form the way you want it isn't easy but with some help out of the forum pages... yeah it works!

After installing and setting up my first form I tried to use it. The form shows up quite nice but after filling it out and press the send button... Oeps... An error on line 1036 in fabrik.class.php made the use of the component useless...

Because I couldn't find any solution on the web (also not in the forum), I decided to make the line invisible by putting the line between /* and */ in the php script.

After that...
It works!

I do not know if this solution will help you out but at my site it works quite well.

Kind regards,
Norbert
dex
2007-05-10
Reviews: 12
Fabrik has really matured from its previous incarnation as MosFroms. It's easier to install, easy to use, more powerful and is packed with features. It has so far been able to handle all the curly questions I've asked of it.
Well done team!
2007-04-16
Reviews: 1
Unless you're willing to pony up some hard earned cash for the documentation then don't even bother. Looks like a promising component but not very intuitive.
2007-04-10
Reviews: 12
Almost no limitations no bugs found, lot of options, i like the tooltips and the PHP validations system.

Thankyou page, even an custom made copy for the recipient wow i like it.

Uploading an attachment? no problem!

Thanks!
2007-03-15
Reviews: 3
Zero documetation=zero chance to figure out how to use. It is not a kind of component, you can guess what and how to do. You need documentation! So basically it is a commercial component, or a subscription ware. For £20/year you get the documentation and more. What a pitty:-(
2007-03-13
Reviews: 1
The framework is very good, though I do not recommend the registration.

It is very expensive and the added value is close to zero! It is hard to believe, but there are only three tutorials yet....

In addition, the registration is recurring....

This is really a tough one!
2007-02-28
Reviews: 2
this component should NOT be released as stable!

there are WAY too many bugs and the whole thing is completely insecure and vulnerable to hacking.

i'm having numerous issues in the backend....not able to edit elements-getting blank pages.
no validation expressions work-malicious script insertion vulnerability
no spam protection available-like an open invitation for cialis and porn site emails!

there's good potential here, but the devs really should take this off the shelves and finish working on it before releasing it to the public.

they also need to hire someone to give support here in the forums. they seem to be overwhelmed and not able to respond to support requests and forum posts in a timely fashion.

i'm really disappointed and resent purchasing my subscription to the site/component as i have not seen any return on my investment!

PLEASE seriously consider all these points before you think about using this component on a live site!!!
2007-02-03
Reviews: 4
Well I think that this component has a very promising path. However at this point I prefer FacileForm it has a real GUI, a very good graphical layout form creator which Fabrik doesn't. Author claims that Fabrik is a novice-nonprogramer friendly but actualy it isn't. In such a "program" the docs are a must. It's very dificult to figure out what to do without any decent documentation. No examples whatsoever. No workflow explained, no nothing. Author claims that he is giving us a space shuttle but without a docs on how to use it. So for a nonprogramer/novice this compo is useless.
2007-02-01
Reviews: 1
I am rating this a good because I think the potential is extremely high. However, being a usability engineer, I know that things that are easy to use are more easily adopted (iPod). I also agree that the basic how-to's should be posted associating elements etc, but am fine with videos, templated forms etc being a fee. 20lbs isn't that much. So dev team please make this a little more user friendly and you will have a knock-out on your hands.

Jason
2007-01-27
Reviews: 1
Its a very good idea to deploy datas from bd. This extension should be include in the core of the joomla core !
Many many Thanks !!!
2007-01-27
Reviews: 6
I have tried FacilForms, PerForms, Phil-a-Form, mosForms, and others going back to the Mambo days. What these two guys are doing is top notch, turning mosForms into the BEST form tool and database management tool available for Joomla. I also sweated through several other database extensions, such as Database Query and Table Manager, and this is WAY easier. I paid for the manual and tutorials, and taking the tutorials cut my learning curve by 80%, plus I got instant replies to my forum questions, and two patches via email to add some extra formatting features that will appear in the next version. I did a presentation for a client this morning and it absolutely BLEW THEM AWAY! My application had two primary tables plus two lookup tables (to populate pull-downs), and I had different table views and different versions of the data entry forms and/or detail pages for public access, registered users, sales reps (authors), and administrators. You define the fields and Fabrik automatically creates or updates the tables for you in MySQL. Users can easily filter the lists or sort on any field by clickng on the title (you decide what they should be allowed to do). Also, you can use a mambot/plugin to include a table or form inside an article, or use their module to put a table or form in any module position. Next, I will be "joining" Fabrik tables with Joomla tables so that users can view data from multiple sources in the same list or edit window. All this after downloading the software two days ago. I am a full-time web designer and have implemented many dozens of joomla sites, and this is the first time I have given any extension this kind of favorable review! The product is great, the development is active, the developers are knowledgeable, and the support is unparalleled (at least if you pay the 20 Pounds for the manual, etc). Without the tutorials, it may be a bit difficult for newer users to understand some of the database concepts, but it is probably worth investing a little bit of time learning about some of this (types of fields, joining tables, etc).
2007-01-26
Reviews: 1
This is the most sophisticated component available and is absolutely first in class. There is simply no other component that can do for me what Fabrik does. I've been able to create an advanced application without coding it. Not just a form, but an application! I've happily subscribed and found the support and documentation to be superb! My hat goes off to the developer, thank you for empowering me. This is what prime-time is all about!
2007-01-26
Reviews: 3
This one is no toy. You can do just about anything with this one, and do it RIGHT. For the power user, or joomla developer, this is the ONE to get, nothing else even comes close. Fabrik takes mosforms to a whole new level, and really is far and away the best one in this catagory. Once you get the hang of it, it's probably the most empowering extension you can get for joomla right now. Like all amazing things with depth, you must take some time to get to know it. Well worth mastering this one if you're at all serious about Joomla. This one replaces a whole slew of amateur, horsey extensions I have phased out completely and is WAY less buggy. Very solid, very deep, very powerful. There is no competition with this one. Learn it, master it, work with it.
Page 11 of 12