The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Fabrik Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Fabrik is THE open source Joomla application builder component.

Fabrik gives you the power to create forms and tables that run inside Joomla without requiring knowledge of mySQL and PHP. Then feed your data into Google Maps, Charts or an AJAX based calendar

With Fabrik you can create CCK applications that range in complexity from simple contact forms to complex applications such as a job application site or bug tracking systems.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-08-05
Reviews: 2
Why use many words, when the title says it all? This is one of those extensions that have to be always on top Joomla extensions. Who makes a site in Joomla, who never needed to create and perform operations with data tables or forms? This extension does it all with a huge amount of options and possibilities. At first glance the amount of options is daunting, but you only need to configure the options strictly necessary for the data table or form to do what you wants. Worth spending a little time to read the documentation, because it will save considerable time in the future when you want to use the component. And subscribe to have access to video tutorials! When you understand how to operate the component in the future can do both simple and complex forms in the twinkling of an eye.
It is an impressive component!
And best of all ... it's free!

Thank you Rob Clayburn! Congratulations on wonderful work!
2012-07-05
Reviews: 5
This component is highly customizable and is easy to set up. I am truly amazed by what it offers and what it has done for me. Thanks to the developer.
2012-06-03
Reviews: 8
The component is one of the most useful components that I have tried in recent years. My project was to convert an ACCESS application to the web. The support on the forum was fabulous. Well worth the support price. The PDF document, although tied to the previous 2.0 version, works well for 3.0. The WIKI is very helpful. This is a very strong component. The only gap is the lack of PDF support in 2.5. Strongly recommended.
2012-05-22
Reviews: 1
Fabrik is an excellent extension for handling mass data in tables. Dokumentation could be a bit better, but for the rest: perfect! Keep on the good work
2012-04-25
Reviews: 4
A fine piece of FREE software.

I am playing with this for 15 minutes now and I am very impressed.

Thank you so much for your contribution!
2012-04-23
Reviews: 4
I am sure that Fabrik is an excellent product. However, it's documentation is awful and given how essential the documentation is that makes the product awful. I really wish that I didn't have to say this because I want the product to work for me.
2012-04-20
Reviews: 2
This is my first review in JED. I'm using Joomla! from about two years and I've tried many extensions. Fabrik is perhaps the best and more powerfull of all. It's not easy to understand how to work with it, but once you have known it you can make everything and build your site with every kind of features. The extension is free and has a lot of plugins and others addons. The support is good alsa for free users and the forum is a mine of informations. In the beginning I suggest to subscribe a plan: it's cheap and you can have a better and faster support.
Thanks to Rob and all the folks of Fabrikar for this outstanding product!!
2012-03-16
Reviews: 12
After looking at other form options I settled on Fabrik. I'm glad I did. I needed simple forms for a 2.5.2 Joomla website.

The documentation in Fabrik's Wiki is fantastic. It is EXTREMELY detailed as most intricate software should be.

The designed templates are not so great but if you a familiar with CSS or have a CSS Editor (if you are not familiar with CSS) then style modification is doable and easy.
2012-02-13
Reviews: 1
I am using Fabrik for simple purposes, but I am planning to do more with it, because it is just an awesome tool. Creating tables is easy and when you have a table, it is easy to show it in a calendar, Google Maps, Chart.
I just started to use Joomla and Fabrik is quite easy to understand, especially the tutorials make it easy.
I did have a problem with something and I posted it on a forum, but I did not get reply, pity, but I found a workaround.
2012-02-01
Reviews: 1
I searched high and low to find a solution for user profile handling, and gave Fabrik a try. The install was straightforward and error free on 2.5.0.

Somewhat overwhelmed by the considerable number of options/features, I registered with the Fabrik web site to access the tutorials. (You'll DEFINITELY need to register to access some of the more advanced tutorials.)

The tutorials gave plenty of guidance - with a bit of humor along the way - for me to get going in a reasonable number of hours (about 2-3).

When I finally got deeper into Fabrik, I made a design decision that it was too much complexity for my application, which I wanted to keep dirt simple.

This by no means detracts from the extension. I am glad I invested the time to get to know the tip of the Fabrik iceberg, and now know when to use it in other web site applications.

Very nice! Kudos to the developers!
2011-11-23
Reviews: 3
The component is easy to use once you get the hang of it and everything can be customized.

I use it on most sites I make.

However, installing this component somehow breaks the functioning of the ZOO component. Disabling Fabrik brings back the functionality of ZOO. I don't know on which end this fault lies but it could have to do with the new custom elements in J1.6+.

This doesn't change the fact that Fabrik is an amazing (especially for its price) Extension.
2011-11-22
Reviews: 54
Hey there! I LOVE THIS FORM COMPONENT.

Just used it on my Joomla 1.7 website with the BETA Release. It's excellent and not complicated like the other ones.

Please keep up the excellent development.

THANK YOU VERY MUCH
2011-11-21
Reviews: 1
I see a lot of potencial here. I think it's a "must have".
Very intuitive considering what you can do with it.

A great piece of work, keep it going.
2011-11-08
Reviews: 2
I have built and worked on several custom(way beyond standard installs) Joomla websites. I have worked with JReviews, Seblod, K2, several RSJoomla components and the dreaded (jk) VirtueMart.

I can say that Fabrik is one of the better components I have been able to use. Although it is often listed with CCK like components, I think it is quite different. It has a steeper learning curve then most Joomla add ons, but that is expected considering what a developer can do with it.

I charge for my services and so I do not expect everything to be free (shocked by web developers who think EVERYTHING in the Joomla space should be free, are they building websites for free? If so, I have a ton of potential 'clients' for them ;-). I paid for the bronze subscription and felt I easily got my money's worth!

You must be comfortable with some advanced Joomla stuff, and understand a little bit about databases to really get the use out of Fabrik, but once you do you should be happy.

If it is just too much for you then look at K2 and stay far away from Seblod (great tool with similar learning curve to Fabrik).
bk9
2011-11-04
Reviews: 2
I must say that Fabrik is one of the two extensions that will give you the the most of your Joomla based site (the other being Seblod). It's true that such tools have a learning curve and require some efforts. But I'm no developer and Fabrik lets me achieve some very impressive results with just a basic understanding of MySQL databases. It's just... amazing :)

Thumbs up!
2011-10-24
Reviews: 1
I have never left a review before, but this component deserves more than a 5 star rating. Not to difficult to configure and once you get the hang of it, the possibilities are endless. Support can easily be found on their forum and if you dont come right there, the support team is fantastic.

What a pleasure!!
2011-10-18
Reviews: 7
If you are looking for a form component that allows you to build a simple contact form on your website, or a vastly more complicated application, Fabrik is the one!

I have been a user of Fabrik since version 1 and seen it grow in both features and stability. I have tested just about every other form component which I have to say do hit the spot but they simply do not have the same functions and features that fabrik has.

One of the most requested features is the ability to have cascading drop down boxes. I build sites which need the ability to select a county, and the next drop-down filters the towns for that county and the next post codes, etc. Fabrik has this in just a few clicks!

Rob and Hugh develop this component full time and each and every issue is acknowledged and rectified very quickly. I cannot talk about them highly enough because even the most inexperienced Joomla! user is made to feel like a pro!
2011-10-13
Reviews: 5
This is just amazing. It's like to have a RAD inside of Joomla! It's hard to believe someone did This. I'm absolutely impressed.
What's also important - you have a lot of video-tutorials showing you step-by-step how to use it.
2011-09-25
Reviews: 1
This extension gives me complete control in enchancing my joomla sites. I often try different specific extensions, but in the end, I end up using Fabrik.
2011-08-23
Reviews: 4
This is so much for than a form system. Do expect to spend a day playing with this before creating anything of value, however. The tutorials are good but the learning cure is still steep. I thought the best feature of this system was going to be the price but it was the function.
Page 2 of 12