The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Fabrik Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Fabrik is THE open source Joomla application builder component.

Fabrik gives you the power to create forms and tables that run inside Joomla without requiring knowledge of mySQL and PHP. Then feed your data into Google Maps, Charts or an AJAX based calendar

With Fabrik you can create CCK applications that range in complexity from simple contact forms to complex applications such as a job application site or bug tracking systems.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-03-16
Reviews: 1
First I'd like to THANK Rob and Hugh from Fabrik for such an amazing extension/program/powerhouse Framework!
I've been working with CMS's for many years, right from the start with "Mambo", the transition and now Joomla! and over those years I probably used, tried and tested dozens if not hundreds of extensions, but when I first discovered Fabrik it blew me away. It is so much more then just another "Joomla! extension". At first hesitant as it sees a bit daunting, but it doesn't take long at all to catch on to the basics, which in no time lets you conceptualize, design and build highly functional Web-Applications!, which was just unthinkable for me before with my limited skills in php and sql. It is not only THE most powerful and flexible extension, but also THE most Empowering learning tool. I actually started now doing Database and Application design and that's only after just getting a bit familiar with Fabrik, I haven't even scratched the surface yet and can already see the possibilities are endless.
My highest regards and respect to those guys for such a great product, and mainly their dedication, passion and seemingly tireless support.
Even initially just using the free version lets you do amazing things.
I did purchase a subscription now and it is worth every penny and more then that!

Also the support is great, just looking through the forums shows that those guys really try to answer every question, and not just telling you "read the manual" but actually working with you for Your specific need and beyond that often adding some extra explanations that help you learn the application even more.

Additionally if you look at the SVN they are bringing out new features, improvements or fixes almost daily if not several a day, which makes you wonder if those guys ever sleep.

In short HIGHLY Recommended!! If you want to take your web development with Joomla! to a higher level, Try Fabrik!!
2010-03-15
Reviews: 6
Great extension!

Noxidsoft has been using Fabrik for about 6 month's now and I can't recommend any other application builder for Joomla 1.5. Sure beats hours of from-scratch component/module development that I can spend on other things like dreaming up ideas.

Hope the developers are keen to continue production through into Joomla 1.6.x series?

Excellent job Hugh and the rest of the Fabrik team!
jgc
2010-03-12
Reviews: 1
This is a fantastic tool which I am now using extensively to capture data into custom database tables. Creating tables for viewing data and forms for data entry is simple and fast, either from scratch (with Fabrik creating the database table) or against an existing table and the user does not need to know any sql or php but understanding the basics of database tables helps. The tool is not just for creating tables and forms, also Googlemaps, calendars etc, etc. Customization is possible e.g. by adding Javascript etc but obviously this requires knowledge of coding. The more you investigate the app the more you find you can do with it.

The support is excellent and I recommend signing up for a subscription as it gives access to additional plugins, training materials and support (various levels).

In short a great tool.
2010-03-06
Reviews: 1
I have been looking for a tool to build back-office applications within Joomla! websites and recently found Fabrik. I absolutely love this extension. It installed in Joomla! 1.5.15 with no problems at all and I had a prototype of a customer service portal (customers log in to see the status of their account) working in about five days. This was using only the free download and the publicly available docs and tutorials. If you know relational database design you will find Fabrik easy to understand.

I plan to subscribe to get the more advanced plugins and access to the advanced tutorials. Fabrik appears to be the tool of choice for anyone who needs to build vertical market solutions without coding.
2010-02-25
Reviews: 1
Using this tool is addictive: new ideas comes to my mind while developing others.
2010-02-25
Reviews: 4
Although there is a learning curve, this extension offers endless possibilities to create your own app within Joomla. The support is incredible (I purchased bronze level). These guys work with you to answer your questions, implement your suggestions.

After looking for an extension to customize my contacts EXACTLY the way I wanted, I realized the only exact approach would be my own, and this tool let me do it. And that's only the beginning. If you need data entered, displayed, edited, chartered, mapped, calculated, manipulated, searched, etc., this is the extension for you! The extension is free; support if you need it is reasonable!
2010-02-23
Reviews: 1
I have used Fabrik on several websites, and I am seriously happy with it. I created games where gamers answer questions per mobile phone, including an entire backend system for game-editors, but I also used it as job vacancy system for a multi lingual IT company. Guess what, i know aboslutely nothing about sql and still managed to get this all working.

The support is good, issues get solved (I became a 'bronze supporter' to get them solved within a timeframe of 24 hours)

It takes a while to get the hang of things in the beginning, but it is well worth your while to dive into this. It made my joomla websites truly interactive!
2010-02-19
Reviews: 5
Only gripe I have is that it needs more documentation. I think it is an ambitious product. But it will save people time and moeny. trying to build of the things this can do outside of Joomla or in Joomla without this product is 1,000's of dollars. Having said that I am happy I was told about it. You definitly should be familiar with JavaScript and PHP and Joomla code before you use this product though as it requires some technical ability and youd better know a thing or two about database. It also helps to have Navicat for MySQL.
2010-02-19
Reviews: 6
When I first came across this I figured I could just install it and figure it out on my own. I was wrong! Take the time to watch the tutorials, read the information and put some time into it.

Once you get into the flow you can do amazing things with this. It has made my life so much easier!
2010-02-17
Reviews: 1
I've been using Fabrik on and off for over a year. It has allowed me to develop functionality into my Joomla websites that I otherwise would not have been able to do. I've picked up some knowledge and practice on php & javascript along the way to enhance my fabrik apps but I've achieved a great deal with very little coding... not that no coding is necessary for developing some great features.

I can't recommend this product more for Joomla Developers and Administrators, experts and novices... it will advance your development cycle without question.

Support at Fabrik is also excellent. Sign-up for Bronze support it's well worth it.

What are you waiting for? Download now :)
2010-02-16
Reviews: 5
This thing is friggen awesome!! Its pretty noob friendly too. :-) It has amazing dev capabilities and is extremely flexible. The support team is worth the subscription also. I usually don't review extensions for joomla, but this one is a must check out if anyone trying to do any custom forms or applications. this frame work is sweet.
2010-02-16
Reviews: 8
Turn your publication into an application. I was looking for a way to extend the functionality of Joomla, to allow employees and customers to interact with the site and enter/edit data. This extension fits the bill, and is packed with some great features. I have checked out a number of extensions that work on the db but this is by far the most comprehensive.

After loading this and playing with it for 20 minutes I went back to their site and purchased a support option. You don't have to do this, but it opens up some additional plugins, tutorials and documentation that you will want to have anyway. I also wanted to make sure the developers can afford to continue, because this extension is worth it.

It is a release candidate so its a little rough around the edges, but their support is incredible. You will not be disappointed!
2010-02-15
Reviews: 2
Fabrik is a wonderful extension.

I used Fabrik to make database apps for several non-profit organizations who needed to store and track information about the clients that were passing through their programs. These organizations were using paper forms that had been around for years, and some were manually entering everything into these horrifying, bloated excel spreadsheets. "Unsophisticated" would be an understatement. It was my job to take their paper forms and excel monstrosities and figure out how to translate it all into an app for entering, viewing and managing client data.

I am by no means a professional, but with Fabrik I was able to design and maintain a stable, aesthetically pleasing and idiot-proof database app. Without the flexibility and sophistication of Fabrik this project would have been a nightmare.

Regarding support, I am a bronze subscriber and my experience with the Fabrik team has been uniformly positive. I recently ran across a bug (a simple 'oops' that they had apparenly overlooked). I made a post to the forum with the error message. Two hours later a new SVN rev was out, bug fixed. Thanks Hugh!

Frankly, I think I've been spoiled by the level of support. If a reply to a question doesn't happen within 24 hours I start to wonder if there has been some terrible accident. I'm only half-joking: support through the Fabrik forum has been very consistent and very good, and this has been the case for the past two years of using Fabrik for work and personal projects.

One minor critical note: Fabrik lets you do a wide variety of sophisticated stuff. With this flexibility comes a moderately steep learning curve. However, I think it's well worth your time to learn the ins-and-outs of this extension.
2010-02-13
Reviews: 1
I can't say enough of this extension. I loved it so much and so much potential I purchased the support.
2010-02-09
Reviews: 1
Fabrik is by far the best forms/tables extension out there. In fact, its a little insulting to put it in with the other 'contact forms' extensions as this is just miles more powerful - its sort of a content management system inside a content management system. you can build nice simple contact forms if thats all the turns you on....or you can build a whole relational database structure with complex forms and a myriad of variables around the tables, groups etc.

Is IS DAFT that its free, but then it really fits with the Joomla idea to have something as well composed as this out there for others to build on.

Lovely vid tutorials (you could write many more, just to show the full scale of Fabrik) are enough to start you off and theres a pretty well supported forum that deals with most of the queries. This should be in its own category of database management software.
2010-02-08
Reviews: 1
What can I say? Fabrik is awesome. The possibilities offered by this extension are limitless. The only real critical things I can say about it is there is a HUGE learning curve if you're not programming inclined and personally I'd love to see more tutorials however the reason there isn't any is because the guys spend so much time troubleshooting on the forums that there aren't many tutorials.
2010-02-08
Reviews: 2
This component is very powerful and really allows you to create applications withing joomla. The fact that dat can be handled on the front-end and on the back-end depending on access rights makes it a really nice option for managing forms and tables for end-users.

It has a lot of plug-ins... This is a pro and a con at the same time. The con being that the use of plugins is sometimes confusing and not 100% stable.

The support is quite efficient.
2010-02-08
Reviews: 2
I have used many Database management tools before but have to rate Fabrik as one of the best if not the best I have used. Truly simple yet incredibly powerfull even at its most basic level. Add the plugins into the package and you get a Joomla site building tool second to none. Learning curve is relatively easy and support from the developers is good even without a subscription. Highly recommended.
2010-02-07
Reviews: 3
a must have extension for all of your custom applications. the support is some of the best i've seen for a free extension.
2010-02-06
Reviews: 1
It is absolutely ludicrous that this extension is free. It is some of the most unbelievable software I have ever used. You can basically build stunning web applications with virtually no ability. Support is reasonable and although I have only just subscribed, from what I can see the £20 a year subscription support is out of this world! USE FABRIK!!! you cant afford not to!
Page 5 of 12