The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Fabrik Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Fabrik is THE open source Joomla application builder component.

Fabrik gives you the power to create forms and tables that run inside Joomla without requiring knowledge of mySQL and PHP. Then feed your data into Google Maps, Charts or an AJAX based calendar

With Fabrik you can create applications that range in complexity from simple contact forms to complex applications such as a job application site or bug tracking systems.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-02-04
Reviews: 1
Our company has used Fabrik to build applications for almost a year now and I have to say that it has far exceeded my expectations of what we could create with it. The support has been tremendous, especially for how little they charge to receive priority response. I would highly recommend it for anyone who needs more than just a form builder, although it works well just for that!
2010-02-04
Reviews: 1
After using other (sometime more expensive) options, I've been pleased with Fabrik. It is a great application to make forms, although it has so many options that it can be a little difficult to learn. Response times on the forums is very good, and they really care about getting things right. If you can't do it with Fabrik, it probably can't be done.
2010-02-04
Reviews: 1
This component is a great web app builder. Many many things are possible to do with this. If you know coding really well, even better. Its got a great future.

Need to purchase support. But, I think it was worth it. I got quick responses from the developers and detailed ones.

There is a lot to explore still. Its going great.
2010-02-04
Reviews: 1
This extension is all you need to fulfill those requests of your customers of doing customized things that you don't find an extension for.

It has lots of uses, from forms, to table details, CSV import/export, EXCELENT filter options, integration with several services (Google maps, Paypal, etc).

But what is the BEST is SUPPORT. Forums are followed by its creators and really help you find the way to accomplish what you need.

Being in "Contacts and Feedback" category is not fair to this extension... since it allows you to play and link with everything.
2010-02-04
Reviews: 3
Fabrik is an extremely powerful addition to joomla that allows people who are not accomplished PHP programmers to develop their own component and module-like additions to any Joomla website.

My only gripe might be that the software is so extensive and regularly updated it's hard to keep up with what's been added, what's changed, and how to use it. Documentation is definitely a weakness!

On the other hand, even at the "Bronze" subscriber level the developers support and response has nearly always been top notch, far exceeding that given for software I've paid a lot more for.
2010-02-04
Reviews: 1
I used to think Joomla! was an interesting toy until I discovered Fabrik...
If you want to build rich, data-driven applications expressing the complex relationships that exist between data in the real world, I've not found anything that comes close.

Be prepared to spend some time learning to use it well. Fabrik is industrial-strength--it allows you to build your own database tables and associate data items in many different ways, so if you have an ambitious project and no background knowledge of database structures you might find it hard going at first. But there are some excellent tutorials, the documentation is clear and explicit, and the subscription levels are sensibly progressive.

Release Candidate 4 of Fabrik 2.0 seems pretty stable, and a quick browse through the forums shows the time, effort, dedication and, yes, humour that the developers are putting into this product. All in all, a serious product for serious people.
2010-01-29
Reviews: 5
This component is simply brilliant.

However, you need to put the time and effort in with Fabrik. Unfortunately some reviewers seem to expect everything on a plate - you get out what you put in.

Regarding support, it's worth taking up the bronze support - it's only £20 for pete's sake!!! Rob has done some amazing work with this and could have easily made this a commercial component.

The support forums are tirelessly reviewed by Rob and Hugh who always try to help. I have always had a question answered in the bronze subscriber support forum. Plus, with the addition of some really neat plugins available for subscribers you simply cannot fault it.

If you want to build web apps in Joomla then this is EXACTLY what you need.

Well done guys.
2010-01-27
Reviews: 1
I started to find that I had reached certain limits in CMS customisation and functionality and was dreading the thought of having to learn PHP in depth. Not being a web programmer, this was a daunting thought. Along came Fabrik however which closed the gap and made it possible to continue developing within the Joomla environment with all associated productivity benefits. Support from Rob & Hugh is top notch, updates are frequent and there is a very vibrant Fabrik community. Thanks!
2010-01-26
Reviews: 1
This by far is the most powerful joomla extension out there... and its free to get started. even if you dont subscribe, the power that it gives you to turn a normal joomla site into a full fledged web application site is enormous.

if anyone gave this a bad review, it is becausa e they didn't get it or it was too big for them.

I made a hugely complex web app with a calendar visualization and a huge amount of data elements, and this extension handled it beautifully! it would have taken me months to code this project myself, where with Fabrik - I did it in days.. and better than I could have coded it.

Even if you need something very simple. you cant go wrong with this extension. It is on my MUST list for every site I manage. I have already turned others on to it and they are amazed.

The SNV nightly builds are great and support was awesome, I had one smal issue and within a few hours Rob had it fixed and uploaded to the SVN to update. just awesome.

Download it. You wont be sorry you did
2010-01-14
Reviews: 1
Fabrik's power rests not only on the amazing support that is provided (even at a bronze level, as stated in a prior review), but in it's ability to easily and seemlessly input and process information from users across your entire site.

With this extension you can not only build your own applications (i.e. input information, process that information, then display it for all to see), but tie together and process information for almost any joomla extension out there! Have a component who's form is buggy, or one that doesn't have a form at all? Then you can use fabrik as a way to input information directly into that components database, and have it show up when viewing that component on the front-end! How about a unique profile system? I used this feature to build a user banner advertising interface that ties in with yet another component I have.

Of course, like any program that is worth having, it will take time to understand and to fully grasp the entire power Fabrik. But even if you're just starting, the support, documentation, and tutorials will get you going right off the bat.

All these previous 'poor' reviews are simply people being too lazy to take the time to completely understand what this extension can do...and for free (though with the 'bronze' membership I am getting daily! support--which is almost unheard of). Bravo to both Hugh and Rob for creating something that not only ties all of the extensions together but truly harnesses the power of the entire Joomla! platform.

-Chas
2010-01-09
Reviews: 1
The really joomla Applications Builder, not only a form builder, but a sort of platform for develop PHP-MySQL web apllications!
The support forum is very active and useful.
Thanks to Rob for this extension!
2010-01-08
Reviews: 2
An extension is as good as the support that goes along with it. Fabrik is a solid extension, with excellent capabilities... more important, support is simply outstanding. Nowadays that support for software can be so spotty, these guys respond quickly and in a solid manner to requests for help. Rob, Hugh, thanks!
2010-01-06
Reviews: 1
The support provided even with the Bronze membership level is excellent. I'm someone with little to no coding expertise but Hugh and Rob are able to provide decent enough explanations to me to allow me to muddle through the code and make great additions to my webpage.
2009-12-04
Reviews: 1
For a long time I was looking for such component. Its really helpful... Great work Rob...

Cheers...
2009-12-03
Reviews: 2
The BEST application builder component for Joomla.

They should adopt this for core joomla if fabrik agrees to it.

If you have tried using drupal cck, views to get anything FINISHED, you will instantly know how good Fabrik is.

Its a combination of drupal ck, views, notifications, rules, theming all rolled into one workflow. So once you have finished one workflow from Fabrik, its deployable, DONE!

Fabrik is intuitive.

Fabrik provides an END-to-END closed loop to develop and deliver a working application.

But the best thing is, Fabrik has a fantastic supportive community. Open source software without any assistance is like looking at 1000s of lines of code all by yourself and trying to workout what the other guy was thinking when he/she wrote it.

For a tip, get the bronze membership, it is well worth it, and helps the developers make this product even better.

Enjoy Fabrik, I do.
2009-12-03
Reviews: 1
This extension is feature rich, with some very powerful features. Some you can figure out on your own, others you need the manual or tutorials for, others you need help from the developers. This extension's biggest weakness is it's support.

Looking over support in the forum is deceptive because only certain people are getting good help and it doesn't matter between subscriptions. Anything beyond the basics and you'll be accused of wanting them to teach you how to code (laughable). They do respond quickly however quick isn't synonymous with quality. Paid or not. The tutorials are helpful but you can only gain access to ones that really matter when you pay.

I must also admit that this program is a little buggy but what seems to happen is they fix one thing and in the process break another so it feels like it's never stable. You could have your forms and the extension working one day, update it to get the improvements, code changes, or bug fixes, and then it's no longer working properly ...often. Not just every once in a while.

The extension itself is free so if it can do what you need it to, then by all means use it. However, just keep in mind that even if you pay, you may not get the support you want or need even if you see others are getting what appears to you to be great support. When raising concerns in private with support my concerns were taken personally even when they were not. So how can there be any understanding? I was very disappointed and I'm out of some money.
Owner's reply

Regarding the user's description of our support not going beyond the basics - this is the thread that he considered us giving poor support on:

http://fabrikar.com/forums/showthread.php?t=13764&page=2

I'll leave the reader to decide if that constitutes poor response or not.

2009-12-01
Reviews: 16
Stumbled upon Fabrik and thought I'd give it a try! Amazing! Awesome! Ingenious!

I struggled with other extensions that are supposed to do what Fabrik does, but nothing even comes close.

Tutorials are unbelievable, thorough, accurate and simple.

Thank you for your time and effort in development of this extension.
2009-11-25
Reviews: 10
I've used this application on several websites for collecting user data, creating Help Desks and other purposes.

Once you get the process down pat, this thing is so incredibly powerful and versatile. Absolutely the most powerful application builder for Joomla.

Love it: cudos Rob & Cheesegrits :)
2009-11-18
Reviews: 5
I have been developing applications for a long time, and I have always re-used my code as much as possible, but this is too easy! After the initial learning curve I found I could import a database and have a search form within minutes. This allows for time to add features and value (like their geocoding plugin). All from within joomla...a miracle.
2009-11-17
Reviews: 1
K like i really like this this this COOL "C" congrats to the maker and hey why stop coding when i have a long wish list? ;-)
Page 6 of 12