The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


qlform Module

The form generator mod_qlforms is based on the Joomla! xml form generation. Any parameter (calendar, text, email etc.) is at your service.

You can use it as:
* contact form
* form to fill database tabel
* major survey jumping from one form to the next
* do something else in prepared class for developers

Validation both via Javascript and PHP via Joomla! Data is sent via email to a contact email address and / or is stored in database table. Also possible is cascading the forms, so that you can generate a major survey jumping from one form to the next and storing finally the data in database. There are many more features (e. g. configurable captcha and prepared class to do "something else", means to add your own code), see yourself:-)

As knowledge about xml formatting and Joomla! form generation is needed, mod_qlform is a useful and mighty tool for developers.

All form fields see here: http://docs.joomla.org/Category:Standard_form_field_types

Report Extension

 

 

2013-05-04
Reviews: 1
Quite well designed. Simple forms are done in a breeze, complex stuff take some thinking into account (wise to do anyway) but everything can be done. Output format well defined for post processing e.g. in procmail (a good combination). When I got stuck with very complex stuff I got delightfully prompt response from the developer.
2013-04-25
Reviews: 2
Qlform is an easy to use module. In a short time, a useful form is created. Highlight is the possibility of database storage.
Mareike is absolutely helpful and answered questions immediately. Thank you.
The code has a clear structure and can be changed easily with basic PHP knowledge.
For great multi-page forms and specific validations also knowledge about the Joomla Framework is required.
It's a great extension!
Karl
2013-04-09
Reviews: 1
Thanks for developing this module and making it available to the community. I am new to Joomla and PHP programming and was pleased to have access to this simple and useful module in developing a form based frontend to the mySQL database. I was able to install and work with the module with a minimal of effort. Mareike the developer of the module has been prompt in his response and supportive with ideas and instructions in my attempts to use the module, beyond its basic functionality of storing new records, to access and update database records. Thank You!
2013-03-22
Reviews: 1
Hi,

This is an amazing form. Was very easy to make it work for the first time. Though I have been struggling to use it for multiple forms and tables. I just created copy of module and trying to use for another form and table but just not working for me :(. Other than that no complains, love it.

Rahul
Owner's reply

Hi,
thank you for your review! If you'd like to contact me, I'd be pleased. Maybe we get it to work together:-)
Greetings
Mareike

2013-03-19
Reviews: 9
I'm just learning how to make forms so this extension was perfect. It does a great job and has good support considering it's free the documentation is better than most professional extensions.
So what are you waiting for?
Owner's reply

Thank you very much!

2013-02-20
Reviews: 1
This module work perfectly and the support answer so fast !
Owner's reply

Thank you!

2013-02-14
Reviews: 1
This module rocks!! It is just the best way I have ever found to create forms in Joomla! for my clients.
You can build anything you may imagine quickly and working like a charm.
Besides, documentation is great. And it is free!!!!!!
Thank you very much for this!
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for the review - and for the Spanish translation. You rock!

2013-02-02
Reviews: 1
This worked perfectly for my needs. Good documentation and I got prompt and thorough help from the developer regarding specific changes I wanted to make. I offered to buy the developer a beer (donate) and he wouldn't accept - just wants to contribute to the open source community in a 'pay it forward' fashion (hopefully he'll change his mind since I'm sure this has been a lot of work!). I have made several, lengthy forms for my site and it works perfectly. Thank you!!
Owner's reply

Thank you very much for your review!

2013-01-24
Reviews: 33
I really like this module. Its form layout is very similar to WordPress's Contact Form 7, which I love. Most settings are intuitive and not overly complicated.

Sadly, I can't use this module because I can't get the Database configured. It keeps kicking back errors and not saving my database. First of all, it's really weird that I have to go into phpMyAdmin to setup a database myself -- very unusual for Joomla modules! And that's where all my issues are. I consider myself decently MySQL savvy, but I couldn't get this to work, and my site's form HAS to have a working, easily accessible database for my client. :(

I'll be keeping my eyes on this extension for future updates... hopefully the database section can be streamlined and improved because I really want to use it!
Owner's reply

Hi,
thank you for your review.
Next time you got problems with qlform, just ask;-) I'd be glad to help.

qlform's future: I'm not planning to add a table configuration to mod_qlform. It is but a small tiny module, a helpful tool to spare people a lot of work. So table configuration will stay in phpMyAdmin or you use the following component->.

Art Adminer: You could try to use this very helpful component. It enables you to administrate the database tables via Joomla! backend.

Greetings
Mareike

2013-01-18
Reviews: 1
Attempted using ql for a simple inquiry.
It hacks me off.
I am sure it’s excellent for experts and prompt freaks.
For normal users it’s merely awful. I’ve wasted hours and couldn’t spot how to create my form elements by this XML thing.
The lack of regular field creation debases the extension to a very poor somethin’.
Owner's reply

Hi,

thank you for your feedback. I would have been glad if you had asked for help, I'm sure, we could have made it work;-)

Concerning target group: Yes, originally this extension was concepted for devs. Yet in the meantime many non-devs use it successfully, too (was a little surprise for me:-). I get a lot of mails concerning qlform that are all answered - so I can improve it and make sure, the docu's really up to date.

Greetings
Mareike

2013-01-17
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a quick and easy way to generate a custom contact form field in Joomla and what can I say: I just found what I was looking for! Very easy to set up, lots of functions and not as bloated as Proforms or breezing forms. Also documentation on the developer site (german) is excellent! Thank you, ql!
Owner's reply

Thank you!

I just want to add, that the site might be German, yet the docu is English:-)

2013-01-15
Reviews: 1
qlform is a flexible tool which open's a lot of possibilities based on a
well thought-out concept. Easy to use and to understand for form generation, automatic email transmission, storage of the data in a database table and cascaded forms. Installation is simple. Debugging features are already included.

Thank you very much for the developer support and delivery
of a tool update in a very short time frame.
2013-01-12
Reviews: 2
It's a great module. Easy to install and work with it. Complete, with many options available. Many thanks to the developer for his help, it was fast and accurate.
2013-01-12
Reviews: 30
Hello, the module does exactly as described, ie, create a contact form quickly and with many configuration options. Congratulations!
2013-01-09
Reviews: 1
qlform is nice. it has neat features and works good.
the problem is form xml.
it is to hard making forms.
it takes to long for making a form.
missing features like easy multi-page form creation or drag and drop form order change.

i think it is for users with knowledge but very hard for beginners.
Owner's reply

Hi,
thank you for your review.
mod_qlform will never have drag'n'drop. I keep stuff like this out of the module to keep it simple and avoid potentional bugs. So the module is producing clean code that the user really can control, no hidden stuff, no automatism, just you and the code:-)
Greetings
Mareike

2013-01-01
Reviews: 2
Excellent work done on the qlform module.

This module saved me lots of efforts in creating the needed forms. The module is easy to use and very well documented.

Thank yoy Mareike for the excellent job and way to go.
2012-12-19
Reviews: 1
I'm new to Joomla but was ble to set up and configure this pretty easily. I had some additional questions and Mareike (the developer) answered very fast. I would highly recommend this extension.
2012-12-18
Reviews: 1
I am a novice and after a little initial misunderstanding and quick reply from Mareike I am up and running. Help fantastic, Module fantastic. Thanks you
2012-12-12
Reviews: 1
It's working just fine - you can adjust everything and with overrides even more is possible.
Great for people who want full control over what is happening!

Thanks a lot to Mareike for the great support!
2012-11-21
Reviews: 2
very simple. I like this module. and I used in in my website. I need to save the records and send email which it does.
only one thing is need to complete the module -> show the records that it saved into database.
Owner's reply

Thank!
Great idea displaying the saved data! So qlform (version 3.6) now displays the data saved, too (if set in params). Enjoy;-)

Page 3 of 4