The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


jVoteSystem ComponentModulePlugin

The component jVoteSystem allows visitors to participate in surveys on your site. You can distribute as many votes as are available to you, thus you can emphasize on a certain answer. When set in component preferences, users can also create their own answers and help e.g. with the feature development. This program works with AJAX, meaning you don't have to reload the page, and is therefore more user friendly. In addition, administrators can manage the site in the frontend and users can remove their own posts. Also, the IP addresses and cookies are stored, which makes multiple voting difficult without permission. With the additional plugin (included in the package) you can also insert the poll into your posts. Language packs for German and English are included. Since the version 1.01, users can write comments on answers and the administrators can insert polls with a editor button. Ultimately, a very useful survey component with a user friendly, simple design.

### UPDATED VERSION 2.50 ###
Changelog: http://joomess.de/news/47-jvotesystem-2-50-major-update.html

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-10-28
Reviews: 8
A superb extension.
Thanks a lot Developers.
2012-10-20
Reviews: 12
Easy installation, easy implementation, fairly intuitive, lots of features. I would have liked more documentation, but they get you started and the forum answered all my questions, so I am happy.

Thanks for a great plugin!
2012-09-20
Reviews: 2
Other the past two weeks I have tried literally every single poll listed on this site for Joomla 1.5.

And for Joomla 1.5 this is the best one I have found. The free version is not limited in any way, it simply has a copyright link included - which is perfectly reasonable in my mind.

I tested out the free version and found everything worked very well, the editing of the polls was excellent and made setting up the modules I needed very easy. I have now ordered the pro version so I can launch this on my site and at just 10 euros (£8) it is well worth the money.

The only downsides are that the modules dont seem to have the option to change the look or style. And editing the main templates is also hard, but all are possible with a bit of time.

The only thing I would like to see in the future is the addition of a time mechanic so that users could vote more than once. e.g. they could vote once every 24, 48 or 72 hours for example.
2012-08-17
Reviews: 3
A very good poll system, full of features, easy to install and setup.
2012-07-28
Reviews: 7
I was looking for a simple Poll component to replace what Joomla no longer comes with. This one has a lot of features I will probably never use, but it's nice to have them just in case. Installing and configuring it was a breeze, and I like the frontend interface. I just put up a test poll on my new site, and it is just what I wanted! Can't comment on support, since I haven't needed any so far.
2012-07-23
Reviews: 1
What a nice change from other modules. This product installs easily and is very intuitive to configure. I was up and running a new poll within minutes. Sweet. Unfortunately and fortunately, I can't comment on the support because I haven't needed any. A great product. It is currently soliciting environmental feedback in the State of Florida.
2012-07-13
Reviews: 2
This is a lovely looking and easy to use extension, that is massively let down by the complete lack of support from the author.

Pro's
Good price
Easy Set Up
Intuitive back end
Good customisation options

Cons
Complete lack of support (many posts on the forum remain unanswered two or three weeks after posting).
Free version contains useless extra code that's sole purpose Is to stop removal of author backlink.

We've started using TWTPoll instead as we can not get this extension to play ball.

Rated as "Average" but could easily be "Excellent!" with better support.
Owner's reply

I'm very sorry for the lack of support in the last few weeks. I'm currently concentrated on another project and it is not easy for me to switch between these projects. I will try to keep up the support as good as possible.
I'm very sorry for the delays, thank you all for understanding!

In reaction on your review I responded to all the posts of the last weeks expect these which explain known problems (the forum search was often not used!).
I hope I can solve your problems in the support forum and it would be great if you remove this "Average" review afterwards. Thanks!

There isn't a lot of extra code to protect the author backlink and I don't agree with you that the code is useless! The component has been developed in our spare time and it is for free, it's just not fair to remove the copyright link.

Kind Regards,
Johannes Meßmer

2012-06-28
Reviews: 1
Fantastic extension for allowing polls and voting. I run a small not-for-profit association and this is just what we needed for our elections of the board!!!
2012-06-24
Reviews: 1
Well I installed this extension based on the previous votes and rating.
After installing it I went on, created a new poll, the editor had lotsa smiles and stuff, big fields for the eye challenged, ok I guess created a new poll ease.
Then:
Title formatting totally inappropriate for my website.
Looked on the extension options how to format the title, nothing. Searched on the web, and found a similar issue on the dev's forums.
Official moderator reply: "
Yes, please install Firebug or equivalent and identify the file/code to change."
resuming all the topic: Go to which ever CSS you want to edit and change the Hexcode there.
Ok so the colors of the answers were almost unreadable since I hava a dark template, the question and title were enormous and the colors were awful. So I'm starting to see here all the trouble JUST to get the title font smaller and in another color, plus the question plus the answers.
I got a nicer solution for this, it's called: delete the extension.

Thanks it was worth the try but I didn't find this anywhere near customizable friendly.
Indeed the extension has it's potential, but it has too many options just for the question editor and none for more (imo) important details.
Also, I'm often more fond to contribute to FREE and CLEAN projects than for projects that despite free include copyrights and that make me lose time (and money) to remove them (yes I saw a how to in the forums).
2012-06-17
Reviews: 2
I had no problems installing this v1.5 plugin and it really fulfill all my needs. Easy to create new polls, and has a lot of options if I want to use them. Sure got my vote!
2012-06-05
Reviews: 2
excellent extension, simple back-end!
thanks
2012-05-28
Reviews: 12
I needed a way to offer an online officer voting option for members and this extension proved to be perfect for my needs. Very easy to set up, just the right options for my elections (vote for up to three of the 10 candidates, one vote each candidate, restricting multiple voting, recording user id of those voting, etc.) WAY MORE than a simple poll component! I had a question and it was answered within 5 minutes. Couldn't be happier, especially with a free extension!
2012-05-25
Reviews: 3
This extension is absolutely excellent and it's FREE. Other polls I try always conflict with my template, but this works perfect.

Big thanks to developer
bim
2012-05-24
Reviews: 3
I was looking for a polling system from 3rd party sites but they aren't as customizable or as easy to use as JVoteSystem.
2012-04-21
Reviews: 2
Was waiting for a truly interactive poll module to appear and this is it. Thanks Johannes!
2012-04-19
Reviews: 3
I use this component for a commercial extension site to let the users decide about the development of new features. It seems to be the perfect solution for this. It is more than just a vote system but a powerful solution for reviewing the current opinion of the users. I like the option for allowing the users to change their votes at any time.
Thanks a lot for this great extension!
inw
2012-04-16
Reviews: 6
I liked this component immediatelly after I've installed it! I used to use another AJAX one (also very popular here) but this component is really incredibly flexible and functional. It gives much more freedom to place it on your site and give more comfort users to vote! Great job! The only confusing thing is the price (otherwise your will see copyright link). But we can live with it:)
2012-04-07
Reviews: 1
Just used your component.

- Worked like a charm with lots of configuration options in a friendly GUI.

- Eye catching!

Thank you for your contribution!.
2012-03-29
Reviews: 1
Super easy to upload and start polling I did however find a few issues with the module display. The max answers shown in the module is 5 and the button to expand the answers says next. This makes no sense users won't get this and there is no way to adjust this. I would also like the option to show a constant chart view. Unfortunately I will not be able to use this poll due to the lack of options in adjusting module display.
2012-03-28
Reviews: 1
This is a powerful poll extension. I am able to publish polls via component, module or content plugin.

This extension allows the publisher to get creative with Polls

This extension allows the publisher to gain insight; the extension can be configure to allow users to add their own responses which can be valuable insight that helps us broaden our options. Furthermore, this extension can be configured to allow user to add comments to the listed answers. This too can help the publisher gain insight about the user's experience.

FOR WISHLIST, I would prefer that jVoteSystem allowed the user to manipulate the display of the polls by following joomla guidelines about file structure. As of now, it is difficult to manipulate or style the polls through component / module override or alternative layout

THANK YOU jVote System
Page 2 of 4