The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™

ParaInvite ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
It is completely impossible to fully describe the features of ParaInvite 5, so it's highly recommended that you visit the documentation for a detailed description.

ParaInvite the most feature-packed viral invites and marketing solution for Joomla!. It is essentially a 4-in-1 software fit for any website:
1. Contacts and Invites Management
2. Namecards
3. Content Sharing
4. Quick Login

It uses OAuth 2.0, the industry standard for authenticating users on 3rd party services, to import contacts and send invites via six fully supported services: Windows Live Hotmail, Google, Yahoo!, Facebook, Twitter, and LinkedIn. It is also integrated with OpenInviter to provide additional email services, and supports CSV import and user manual entry.

ParaInvite uses "schemes", a new and completely revolutionary way of creating unlimited types of invites/shares for every part of your website, with fully customizable and multi-language invitation content!

Namecards are mini-profiles that you and your users can customize to display specific and important information related to certain aspects of your site. When your users' friends their namecards and register, they're considered successful invites.

Content Sharing allows your users to recommend and share any type of content and/or page with their friends, which also functions like an invite!

With the Quick Login feature, users can register and/or login to your site with a simple click of a button, using their account details on services like Facebook, Google, Windows Live, LinkedIn and Yahoo.

ParaInvite also displays a user's history of invites (viewable to all), and a complete breakdown of each user's statistics (viewable to administrators).

The Ranking module allows ranking of users based on accepted or sent invites, within a specified time frame (configurable)

Other features include Auto Connections setup, badges, points, and much much more. It's simply too much to list them all here, but here's a quick view:

- Notifies your users (via ParaInvite's own notification system, email, and JomSocial/EasySocial's notifications) when their invites are accepted
- Allows users to store all unsent contacts so they'll be notified when their friends register at the site
- Send email invites in batches using cron job (for websites with limited hosting)
- Include sending invitations as part of the registration process
- Badges feature which allows your users to place personal badges on their blogs, forums and other websites to promote your site, and getting points in return.
- Namecard feature, which is a URL which your users can leave anywhere they want (forum posts, other websites, emails etc), and when people follow this link, they will view their namecards with a link to register on your site. Namecard invitations are considered a successful valid invitation.
- Allow you to restrict registration to people with valid invitations.
- More!


Report Extension




Reviews: 1
I bought a competitive extension with so many errors and I could not install it. My support tickets were not solved for more than two weeks. They kept shifting the blame to me.

I came to this Paralnvite site and I read a review that said 'he sent them a pre-sale message whether they will help.' I did the same and Mike replied me with a yes.

I bought version 4, when I got stranded, I sent them a ticket, and they helped me and even installed everything and version 5!

I will say I am among the first people to be using version 5. Simple and amazing extension!

There are many features from backends including templates of messages I cannot explain it all here. It is good investment.

All APPs are working and send out messages to invites. This is what matter most....I have even integrated it with jomsocial effortlessly.

I recommend this extension to anyone who wants their visitors or web users to be able to send invites to their contacts....

Support: they are fantastics provided you submit your ticket and wait for them to attend to it within 24hrs.
Reviews: 1
Sorry for my bad english.
I had already used this extension in version 3 some time ago.
Now I did not know whether to try invitex or make a new subscription for parainvite. I thought long and looked long time demos of invitex and parainvite. In the end I choose to renew for parainvite.
I'm really glad to did it.
Everything seems to works properly from first installation.
Great works.
Reviews: 3
This extension very important to create viral marketing. I like it. including excellent support, very fast solve my problem. Thank you
Reviews: 1
This is a good extension but when i buy it i try to figured out some issues, but i have issues that not been solved and the whole extension is not working well, also the support is Zero
Owner's reply

We clear our support tickets on almost a daily basis, so unless you did not open a support ticket, I'm not sure if the support is "zero". Also, last week was the Lunar New Year, so the company was closed for the holidays.

If you have already opened a support ticket, please remember to check it for replies. You should also receive an email everytime there is a reply.

Reviews: 2
Ive used a few invite systems and have always like openinviter but found the joomla integration a little cumbersome. I purchased this and have to say the install was simple, works flawlessly and support was fantastic. I was also happy to see it uses openinviter as well so you have heaps of options when it comes to importing contacts.
Reviews: 1
Right, I don't normally leave reviews but this does warrant one.

I was having a problem with another identical type of extension that does the same and was having some big problems with it. I looked at parainvite and pro, saw the reviews and i have to say, they did put me off a bit.

Before even buying i sent in a question to ask that if i could not get it working would they go into my site and sort it out, the response was yes. I thought I would give it a go.

I am happy to say that everything installed perfectly and worked straight away! AWESOME!

I think the app could do with a couple of additions like being able to type someones name into the fb invite instead of having to scroll to find them but it is working very well for me.

So long as you follow the instructions you can't go wrong.
Reviews: 11
We are using Parinvite pro on our educational website in order to build a larger community. This product is a must for whoever is interested in easily allowing members to invite friends and contacts... Straightforward and work perfectly.
Reviews: 1
I bought Profile, parainvite & parainvite pro at the same slot last week, after i bought i installed in my brand new website... after i installed no profile URL generating, parainvite no service found error... i found the following things from this software

1) this software never work properly with out support

2) you never get the support

so what is the use of paying money? joomla must take step towards to this kind of providers it will make all commercial users losing the money
Owner's reply

We're sorry, but as stated on the support ticket page, we simply cannot provide support on weekends, as nobody works on the weekends.

As you may see from the other reviewers, we do provide quick support on weekdays. However, if you read through the instructions provided on each setting on the configuration page, ParaInvite pretty much works out of the box.

Reviews: 1
First i bought ParaInvite and tapeworm many problems. The Support said that the problem was of hotmail API. Than i bought In...x and i also problems but the support is great and fast. All problem have been solved and Hotmail works sensational.
Reviews: 7
The extension would be great if it worked as advertised... Sadly the support is absolutely terrible!

I created a support ticket about a month ago saying I configured the extension as outlined in the instructions but invite was only working for Gmail & Facebook and so far I haven't received any help whatsoever!

I outlined in great detail what the errors were but just got a couple of replies saying maybe I didn't configure it yet.
Being a Joomla! extensions developer myself, I think this is absolutely disgusting! It just shows my support ticket wasn't even read as I did state I had set everything up following the instructions carefully and even mentioned the large number of other unhappy customers with the same problems I've found during my search for a solution.

The majority of my users have Hotmail/Live email addresses and in my target market Twitter is used a whole lot more than Facebook so if I don't get some proper support soon this has just been a waste of $80...
Owner's reply

Please check back for replies to your ticket. We try to respond to all tickets within 2 working days.

Reviews: 1
Sorry for my bad english but I want to tell my opinion about this great extension.
I'm using it with joomla 1.5 and I'm actually testing 3.5 before use it with my users.
I have used also previous 2.4 version and I was very satisfied to use it because all problem was releated to Openinviter and not to Parainvite.
Now with this new 3.5 that use native OAuth to retrive contact from service provider this extension is a very powerfull extension. In my test I have found some bug but I have contacted support and I have received a great support.
This extension works very good and have a great support to solve development problem. I recomended this extension to all user that searh a powerfull application for their site.
Great works.
Thanks a lot.
Reviews: 2
Initially I was a bit apprehensive after reading the last 2 reviews, and I've tried their demo a while ago and it doesn't seem to work (I found out it was caused by outdated Openinviter plugins and there's nothing they can do), but decided to go for it since they are having a 25% sale. And my god it is AMAAAAAAZING! I mean, it really blew my mind!!

The new version looks stunning. Like the description said, it really looks Facebook's inviter, so my users have no problems using it. It also uses "apps" of Hotmail, Google, Yahoo, Facebook, Twitter and LinkedIn, where users can login, import contacts and send messages to these services directly. This way is so much better! The industry has been using OAuth for so long, and I've tried searching for a non-Joomla solution, but they all cost hundreds of dollars. I'm so thrilled there is finally something for Joomla!

I can't emphasize how important it is to use OAuth for login. Users trust it more, because they are sending their details directly to the service provider. I've been using another invites sender, and they are using Openinviter, which uses screen scraping and is very unreliable and not secured. Everytime Facebook updates something, it breaks, but Openinviter  never release fixes! It's frustrating, even though I understand there's nothing the extension developers can do. By using the services own APIs, you can be sure it won't break when they change something. 

All in all I give major props to the guys at simbunch. They really got this right. The interface is so nifty. The "Invites History" is easy to use and looks fantastic. Even though I was initially worried about support, they replied about 32 hours after I posted a ticket, and I'm fine with that. 
Reviews: 5
this was really a bad choice.
program is not working and support doesn't exist.
really the worst commercial extension I ever purchased
Owner's reply

We have just released version 3.5, which uses services' APIs and OAuth to import contacts and send invites securely. All previous problems related to OpenInviter have been resolved.

Reviews: 1
I was searching for a viral marketing tool and parainvite was looking great. nice design and interesting features.
But at the moment I purchased it I realized very fast that this was a wrong decision. The extension is not fully working (many problems) and support doesn't exist there. Forum is dead and support tickets you get no answer or after 1 week with one line which for sure doesn't help.
Probably they don't have time to support their extension because they have to count their money from people like me who are really disappointed. But they didn't care... I'm using lots of commercial joomla products but I NEVER had such a bad support - if I'd burn my money in the fire this would have been better than purchasing this addon. Keep your fingers away from this!
Owner's reply

We have just released version 3.5, which uses services' APIs and OAuth to import contacts and send invites securely. All previous problems related to OpenInviter have been resolved.

Reviews: 2
This is a great extension but the configuration is difficult and tedious. You need to install Ioncube on your server for the component to work and with only a handfull of tutorials on installing Ioncube, its not easy. Unless your a pro. I spent almost a whole day on this so if anyone needs help you can contact me. Overall if your running a social networking site download this extension, with the ability for users to import their contacts from e-mail and social networking sites, it has the potential to increase your website traffic.
Owner's reply

As of June 2011, Ioncube is no longer required :)

Reviews: 1
This is a great interface for giving users the ability to invite folks from their address books. An automated import from Outlook or Outlook Express would also be nice, but copying and pasting addresses in works well too.

My biggest complaint is that the licensing mechanism requires that the author's website also be up and running, which you have no control over. So when he's down, you're down, and there's little feedback on when (if) you'll ever be back.
Owner's reply

Even if my site goes down, the licensing system will allow the license to continue functioning for another 30 days, unless you're installing it for the first time, which then has little to worry about.

The recent downtime was actually due to a transfer to a dedicated cluster server, which is done to provide even more permanent uptime.

Reviews: 2
Beautiful interface that is clean and easy to customize. The only beef I have is that the default message is configured in the language file. I understand that is for multi-lingual sites and makes sense to be there, there should just be a drop-down or something to make it easier for those without shell/rdp access to their Joomla server.

I love the web 2.0 interface and my only complaint was that it was not JomSocial compatible... until I just noticed it was updated yesterday. I'm downloading the latest version! w00t!
Reviews: 14
And your site will grow. All the necessary tools are there. You just make the effort to configure everything how you want. I had a few issues with how my Joomla, server and CB were setup but the developer walked me through what was necessary to get things working. Keep in mind that the problems I had were NOT related to Parainvite Pro. Mike (the developer) made a statement (after I had given up) that basically said he would accept nothing less than a satisfied customer and offered to take a look at my setup for me. I ended up figuring out what I had done wrong and all works well now. Also, the latest versions of this component have been extended to include features I suggested a few months ago. Again, that shows the developer listens to his customers. I also added the Octazen inviter script and things couldn't be better for site growth. Invitation links are sent out in a very simple manner (for the member) and they work. Any new members who accept invitations can automatically be added as a connection to the inviters. I would have to write a few more pages to list all the features. You should simply buy it!
Reviews: 1
The features of Parainvite are exactly what we needed at our site and it has been employed effectively to build our community.

When I experienced difficulty with integration of this software with other joomla components (example CB's captcha system), the creator stepped in and was able to offer solutions. He kept me advised and was also responsive in making appropriate updates to the software.

I recommend this component
Reviews: 6
The support has been abandoned for several months now.

Components are full of bugs and there is no support.

If they did work and there was support, they were still overpriced in my oppinion.

Also, be aware that I bought the expensive Parainvite Pro, just to find out that I ALSO had to buy the basic version for it to work - that is seriously misleading to clients.

I spent a LOT of money on his products, but I really regret to have done so.
Owner's reply

Did you contact me at all? How can you claim that there was no support (FOR MONTHS) when you had not contacted me?

PLUS! It is stated VERY clearly on the product description page that the Pro package is an *add-on*, and that the standard package is required. What is misleading?

Page 1 of 3