The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Sourcerer Popular Plugin

Sourcerer - place any code anywhere.


Sourcerer enables you to place PHP and any kind of HTML style code (including CSS and JavaScript) right in to your content! Not only in your articles, but also in sections, categories, modules, components, META tags, etc.

You can now just place your original codes right into your WYSIWYG editor. The only thing you have to do is surround the code with the Sourcerer tags. Easy peasy!

So now you can also use PHP scripts in your content. That opens up a great deal of possibilities.

Most Joomla! Text Editors will strip parts of your HTML code, like JavaScripts (think of statistics scripts) and movie embed tags. With Sourcerer you won't have these limitations.


Easy to use editor button
Sourcerer comes with a very easy to use editor button. This will help you paste your code in a clean format that will not cause any problems. Also it comes with syntax coloring (php, js, css, html).

———————————————————————————————————————————————————-
More information: http://www.nonumber.nl/sourcerer

NoNumber extensions require php 5.3+
See for more requirements: http://www.nonumber.nl/sourcerer#requirements
———————————————————————————————————————————————————-

For support use the forum: http://www.nonumber.nl/forum
Do NOT use below reviews to post support requests or issues.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-01-13
Reviews: 1
I am a real novise, 2. day of using and building Joomla 1.5.8 website. Just couldnt get the java-script to work in article. After Installing the 3 modules and plugins, the javascript video showed in the article. The sourcer button is genious.
Link removed

Kudos to the developers!
Owner's reply

Yeah, the ability to easily include javascript is a big plus. But you can also use php and other tags (like css) to pimp up your articles and website.
The Sourcerer Module can even be used as a building block to create your own module applications.

2009-01-08
Reviews: 1
This is a great extension, easy to install, worked perfectly. I had trouble inserting code, but this was 100% a user issue (i.e. my fault). The technical support I received on the forum was excellent -- very fast response time. I can't say enough good things about the performance of this extension!
2009-01-03
Reviews: 4
After trying several modules, finally found this. I just wanted to put javascript to an article. Got it done! So easy and straightforward! Millions thanks..
2008-12-12
Reviews: 3
This says just what it does. If you have a Constant Contact or IContact form that you need to paste in here - it works perfect!
2008-12-08
Reviews: 1
This plugin is just fantastic. You just have to press a button, add your custom code and you're done. This offers endless possibilities. It's just as if Joomla!'s God gave you the keys, saying "Have this, son, it's yours now". That's the kind of freedom sensation I felt thinking of all I could do with this.
I totally approve.
2008-12-03
Reviews: 1
This was just what I was looking for. I do a lot of JavaScripting and it works perfectly.

Between the {source} {/source} tags use the double square bracket syntax [[TAG]] rather than the arrowhead syntax and there is no problem for HTML with the TinyMCE editor.
Owner's reply

Yes, I recommend the [[bracket]] syntax, because that works whatever editor you use.
But if you editor isn't fussy about using normal tags in the non-html view, it is easier, saves a lot of time and just looks more normal.

2008-11-29
Reviews: 2
I installed it, published the plugin, wrote my script in the module configuration within the {source} {/source} tags

=> And it works AWESOME!!!
Owner's reply

That's the way it should be :)

2008-11-26
Reviews: 4
Not only does this module work, but more importantly, it comes with some outstanding support from its creator!

I'm a Joomla newbie and Peter (the designer) worked patiently with me to solve the problems.

The best way to get the support is to ask questions on his bulletin board. He usually responses in less than 24 hours (and many times in less than 24 minutes!).

If you need to plop in code, use Sourcerer.
Owner's reply

Please don't shoot me if I don't respond within 24 hours though :)

2008-10-22
Reviews: 2
Thanks, all works fine. Is easy to install and to use if you have the right code, and work wonderfull!
Especially thank for Mr. Peter van Westen!
Owner's reply

Thanks. If you need or have more examples for code, please let me know by mail

2008-10-15
Reviews: 1
I had used Jumi and Anytags before redoing things and getting Sourcerer. I started using it and came across the need for the module class suffix to reduce some css. I put a note on the forum and Peter had a solution for me within an hour. I was impressed enough to write this review
Owner's reply

The module class suffix will be implemented in the next version 1.0.1 (solution can already be found on forum).
Sourcerer is actually a result of AnyTags. I don't recommend people using AnyTags, I am not working on that anymore. But it does work on Joomla 1.0, Sourcerer only works on Joomla 1.5.

2008-09-14
Reviews: 3
Very easy to use. I prefer this over Jumi. Jumi seems too advance, or more manually editing. Sourcerer works out of the box. LOVE! the editor button.
Owner's reply

Thanks. Yeah, the power of Sourcerer is that you can use it right in your articles. No need to include external files (you can if you want).

2008-09-11
Reviews: 2
I have tested couple of these code-inserters, but I like Sourcerer the most. While others can maybe include script file, with this component you can actually write the code inside ther article - a little like you would in normal HTLM-PHP-javascript coding.
I had this problem keeping variables alive from codeblock to codeblock, but it was fixed in less that 15 hours, including the night time! Awesome support!
Owner's reply

Thanks Seppo, for contributing to making Sourcerer better.
The global variables thing will be included in next version (0.1.6 or 1.0.0)

2008-08-12
Reviews: 1
This worked great for me out of the box with no tweaking. I just needed to add some html forms to a site running 1.5.5. Thanks for a useful and time-saving extension!
2008-07-30
Reviews: 1
Thanks, all works fine, I want to include one google documents intro my Joomla!, google give me the iframe code and soucerer do the rest. Is easy to use, and work wonderfull

Except that a conflict ocurr with the RSS (the default module of J1.5.4). I create a discussion on the forum about this.

Good work. Hope the next version didn't have this issue (Joomla! and pluggin)
Owner's reply

I will look into the rss issue!
Thanks for the review

2008-07-01
Reviews: 12
Installed and configured painlessly, and it just works. I had a minor problem with html entities inside sourcerer tags being rendered properly and Peter fixed the problem by issuing a new version within a few hours. Bravo!
Owner's reply

Yes, tthanks for pointing out that bug... bringing Sourcerer! closer to perfection ;)
New version (0.1.4) is just released.

2008-06-28
Reviews: 15
Thank you. I had this up and running very quickly. I added a javascript for a dynamic weather script from accuweather.com into a moduule via Sourcerer. It worked, first time! Honestly, I didn't really understand all the other features it has (yet) but had no problems with this. Make sure to install the plugin and enable it first, before using the module.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review, VThomas.
YEs, the module needs the plugin to work. Joomla sets all plugins to unpublished by default. So publishing it after install goes for all plugin extensions.
Most features in the plugin are for security control. You can leave it alone, if it all works. If Sourcerer! doesn't seem to work somewhere, it might be due to those settings being to strict. If the code doesn't work, you can look into the source code of your website to see why. Sourcerer! places a html comment that states why certain code is not shown.

2008-06-24
Reviews: 5
This works great for me, keep up the good work Peter.
Owner's reply

Thanks ;)

2008-06-09
Reviews: 1
This is a great tool. I use it to embed javascript in my articles linking to an affiliate store. Works out of the box and has great consideration to security settings.
Granular settings allowing you to control where in your site you allow the inserted code to work (articles,sections,etc) Settings for PHP, CSS and JAVASCRIPT are independent allowing for maximum flexibility. This is very well thought through.

Simple to install and use.


I did have an issue when my isp upgraded to PHP 5.2.6 causing an error that crashed the plugin. I emailed Peter, the developer and within 1 day - he had it fixed and helped me on another issue I had. Cant say enough about how great it is have people like this that develop great modules and offer some of the friendliest and best help - all on their own time. This is what defines open source. Well done!
Owner's reply

Thanks Marcuss for the compliments.
And thanks for mailing me on your issues, which has resulted in the release of version 0.1.1.

I'm working on making the code a bit more optimized (faster). And I'll give it a few more weeks before I'm confident enough to release Sourcerer! as stable.

I therefor urge everyone to mail me with anything they come across. Also please test the Sourcerer! Module.

tek
2008-06-04
Reviews: 1
This plugin & module is genuinely excellent! I only wish that I had seen this and this had been released earlier. This opens up an entire new field of applications and uses!
Once again, excellent plugin :D
Now I can finally put searches and generators in my code :D
Owner's reply

Thanks for the compliment, tek.
You are right in saying this extension opens up a world of new possibilities.

I just released a bugfixed version (0.1.1)

2008-06-03
Reviews: 10
I was able to create articles to replace some fairly lengthy .HTML files I'd been "wrapping" into the site.

They display just as they should. No glitches whatsoever.

Thanks
Owner's reply

Thanks Mindvacant. Glad to hear it comes to some use. If there is anything that does come up, let me know. It's still in Beta.

Page 7 of 7