The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


eXtplorer Popular Component

eXtplorer is a web-based File Management Component for all your needs. It has a desktop-application-like interface with drag&drop, grid and a directory tree and makes heavy use of the Sencha ExtJS Javascript Library.
You can use it to access and modify the files and directories on your server via FTP or direct file access.

eXtplorer runs natively under Joomla! 1.0 - 3.2 and can also be used as a standalone app.

Report Extension

 

 

2008-08-18
Reviews: 2
When I log into my server in FTP mode and try and upload a file, I get "Filename.ext : File upload failed. [Local file \'C:/WINDOWS/Temp/php383.tmp\' does not exist.]" or some similar nonsense.

I am using Joomla 1.5.6 - maybe the problem is there. But, I really wouldn't know as I could find no place on the extplorer site to ask for assistance.

The component may work well for some, but it doesn't work at all for me.
2008-08-13
Reviews: 1
For those of you like me who get a successful install only to encounter an error upon activation saying that an ExtJs Library cannot be found, the fix is relatively easy. The file it asks you to CHMOD (fetchscript.php) is in the /administrator/com_extplorer directory and not the main /components/com_extplorer one. Once you CHMOD that to 644, everything should work fine.
2008-08-06
Reviews: 2
This last version with its possibility of publishing files .php, .html, .js, etc is fantastic!
Thanks
2008-07-30
Reviews: 19
Not much to say other than this is the greatest back end tool for Joomla. I have used it on numerous Joomla 1.0 sites and am now using it on a Joomla 1.5 site. eXtplorer along with Firefox and the web developer add on make one powerful web development environment.
2008-07-30
Reviews: 1
This extension is on of the best that I have ever installed on any of the sites I own or manage! I would definitely recommend it to anyone looking for a file management extension!
2008-06-26
Reviews: 5
I am using this on 1.5 with legacy mode on.

It is simply one of the best written extensions I have found. User friendly, efficient and problem free.

WELL DONE!!
2008-06-02
Reviews: 2
The module works great if you don't have FTP/SSH access to your server. It also provides a nice GUI that integrates very well with a webpage.

The only problem I have this the extension is the lack of fine grained control. I want my users to have access to the home directories on the server and was hoping for something in the configuration file to allow it. Something like:
DocumentRoot = ~/
Or something similar would be nice, and then "jail" them into their home directory. My users authenticate via the LDAP auth module, their home directory could be pulled from the directory.

Of course this is not a "fault" per se of the extension, rather it's a shortcoming and this is why I only gave it 4 out of 5 stars.
2008-05-03
Reviews: 17
A must have together with Joomlapack to upload archive, extract and restore. Also good as file manager if you don't have ftp access.

Thanx to authors! :)
2008-04-29
Reviews: 1
This is the best component i have ever used for Joomla. It lets you access any part of your directory hierarchy with ease from with in Joomla. Very high utility value and am very impressed.

Thanks to the developers.
2008-04-28
Reviews: 3
This has got to be one of the better components out there. After doing a quick fix of the latest package so that it would install correctly on my site, I got it working in absolutely no time at all. I now use it for everything, and I am extremely satisfied with what it is doing. Makes my life that much easier.

I'll definitely be using this on all of my clients websites as well. Great job!
2008-04-14
Reviews: 1
They should include this in the core files. It's years I'm using Mambo/Joomla, and make sure this component is the first I upload to every new installation.

Great job, keep it going.
2008-04-05
Reviews: 10
Goodbye Joomla Xplorer and hello eXtplorer!!

Wow! it's like going from a vw bug to a Cadillac!

I am totally in awe of this!! The Ajax made all the difference!
2008-04-02
Reviews: 2
It said it was installed but when I tried to run it I got an error message saying ExtJS library not found. It suggested I look for fetchscript.php and make sure it was chmoded to 644 or 666 (it was 666). I tried it with IE and FF. I installed and uninstalled a few times with each and tried to find support but only one review (here) mentions this problem and there is nothing in the bug reports that I could find. I use windows xp and use Siteground for my web host. I finally tried chmoding it to 777 (didn't work) then to 644 (success).

I hope that my experience can help others.
2008-02-14
Reviews: 1
Wow! this is by far the best file management application I have ever used, both in Joomla! and otherwise. It is beautifully designed, uses Ajax and is just a complete pleasure to use. I have never commented on this site before but I was so pleased by the quality of this app that I just had to register and praise a job well done!

I tried eXtplorer a few months ago with Joomla! 1.0.13 and even though I liked it immediately and could see its potential it kept logging me out so was not usable at the time. But after the upgrade to J! 1.0.14 and an upgrade in eXtplorer itself I tried it again and it just blew me away!!!

The installation went smoothly without any problems. Once installed you are ready to go, no configuration needed.

Apart from seamless file manipulation (moving, copying, CHMOD etc) it has a wonderful zip file utility which makes transferring a large number of files a breeze and one of the coolest features is the file editor which has code highlighting and an "apply" feature which in combination with the AJAX makes editing files on the server so enjoyable! Just edit your file, apply the changes (without reloading the page) and just go see the effect immediately on the site front-end.

The verdict: A must have for "EVERY" Joomla! site, in fact, it's so good it should be included with core Joomla!

My thumbs up to the developer(s) and a big THANK YOU for making such a great tool free. God bless you.
2007-12-20
Reviews: 1
This is not a support question - it's a review. It's either missing some pieces in the ZIP file or the developer has some prerequisites thay have forgotten to explicitly tell me to install before running extplorer.

I have the requirements the component's home page stated it needs: PHP 5, Firefox 2.0.0.11 with scripts enabled for the site.

eXtplorer_2.0.0_RC1 claims to have installed successfully on Joomla 1.0x but when I try to run it, I see an error message about a missing component: ExtJS Library could not be found.

The message test tells me to check the fetchscript.PHP file permissions and that file is not in the directory either.

Thinking I had a bad download, I downloaded the file again, and got the same results. It's dead out of the box.
WOW
2007-11-01
Reviews: 1
What an fantastic Tool
realy exactly what I need!

I am running it under joomla 1.0.13 + hotfix
2007-11-01
Reviews: 2
On the developper site, many are asking question regarding Extplorer not working under Joomla 1.0.13.
Having had similar problems, the official answer i got from Extplorer Support was 4 words: "Downgrade to joomla 1.0.12" !!!!

Am i missing something here or what !?
2007-10-31
Reviews: 11
To get the component working in J1.5:

Rename extplorer.xml to something else
copy extplorer_J1.5.xml to extplorer.xml
edit extplorer.xml and remove any reference to .htaccess or .htuser

zip it back up and install to J1.5
2007-10-26
Reviews: 7
Very clean and high-tech interfaces, makes browsing the file structure of your site fun! The best file editor out there out of the current bunch. My only gripes is that you can't perform operations on multiple files at once, nor does the FTP "mode" work. But still a great way to access the innards of your site.
2007-10-15
Reviews: 4
I have been using Joomlaxplorer for quite some time but this really is a phenomenal improvement. The new interface is smooth and clean. Thanks for all your hard work and keep up the great work!!!
Page 10 of 11