The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


eXtplorer Popular Component

** Version 2.1.5 is a securlty update. We urge you to update your installations as soon as possible **
eXtplorer is a web-based File Management Component for all your needs. It has a desktop-application-like interface with drag&drop, grid and a directory tree and makes heavy use of the Sencha ExtJS Javascript Library.
You can use it to access and modify the files and directories on your server via FTP or direct file access.

eXtplorer runs natively under Joomla! 1.0 - 3.2 and can also be used as a standalone app.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-11-26
Reviews: 2
Thanks to this components I'm now able to create and edit all of my extension and templates without any need to use ftp or any other kinds of connections to my server which only makes it harder to edit files!
Installation is simple and usage cannot be simpler than this.
Thank you guys for your superb component.
2012-10-23
Reviews: 8
Thanks for a great component! I used to have to ftp my files and then link to them, thanks for making it much easier!
2012-10-23
Reviews: 3
eXtplorer has a good interface, with very useful features, as zip and unzip directly on server. Easy file management. PHP, JS, CSS and XML editor (with syntax highlighting). Feature to manage permissions... More than once I had to use it due to permissions issues caused by having different apache and shell users. A favourite one.
2012-10-10
Reviews: 2
This extension have many needed options and its the best file explorer for joomla.

but it lacks of integration into joomla and is very code inversive, have to be rewritten.
2012-08-12
Reviews: 2
I have been using eXtplorer for several years (and many releases of Joomla), and it has been amazing all along. That they keep improving it is a testimony to the team that supports this most useful utility in the Joomla shed.

If you don't have access to a friendly file manager from your hosting provider, you absolutely HAVE TO HAVE eXtplorer because it lets you manage the underlying files to your site, right from within the Joomla administrator's page. Even if you do have file management access from your hosting control panel, you still can absolutely use eXtplorer, because it so convenient, and it lets you do just about anything that you need to do to files on your server. You can upload, download, edit, rename, change permissions, compress and uncompress files. And you don't have to log into the hosting control panel to do this. Just do it from within Joomla's admin page. You don't have to be a Linux geek to do anything to the files. It's all intuitive, point-and-click. Convenience and simplicity combined! I think that this is a must have extension.

It's so good, that my only concern is that if someone ever hacked into my admin account, they could use eXtplorer do anything to any of the files on my server. (But then again, if they hacked into my admin account, I'm already in trouble anyway.) So a good practice is to zip your Web directory regularly, and download the zip file to your own system. Of course you can use eXtplorer to do this with just a few clicks.
2012-08-06
Reviews: 18
For some time now I have been suffering with the owner 99 situation with files, installed by Joomla and owned by nobody. (Will point out this is a server issue NOT Joomla) This made it impossible to delete files I didn't want .... until now. extplorer came to the rescue and i have now tidied up the awful mess I had. Stand alone or installed they work just as well. Thank you for a life saver extension.
2012-08-04
Reviews: 2
This is so great tool that it's a "must" tool for me to have it on each joomla web site. Works like a charm and I have never experienced any bug or error. I like it's function to edit files inside.

Thank you for developing. It's the best extension available.
2012-08-02
Reviews: 2
Absolute great tool to work with the J!-Files from anywhere.

Many thanks to the developer(s) for this awesome tool!
2012-07-05
Reviews: 1
Awesome extension! I just had to register to give it a rating! Very helpful and really easy to use. Thanks for this one dev!!
2012-06-16
Reviews: 3
Must have (!) for any Joomla administrator. Works perfect !

Thank you for excellent work !
2012-06-14
Reviews: 29
It is a great extensions for developers. Many times I have to login on my customers sites and correct there templates or modules to resolve JavaScript errors. eXtplorer lets me easily change any file on site without FTP access.
2012-06-06
Reviews: 3
Working with FTP proves to be the slow choice most times, if updating\uploading only a few files.

I use this component to make fast and "live" updates to files, rename, change permission and uploading one-two files.

For "light" modding and fast updates this becomes a handy and powerful component. A must for any level Joomla Admin.
2012-04-27
Reviews: 2
if you don't add this component to your joomla then you don't have a site,so simple
2012-04-18
Reviews: 5
Extplorer is just what you want it to be - an easy to use file system browser with some nice features built in.

I've had to do a lot of customizing to my site, mostly bits of CSS, and extplorer makes it dead simple. Just like Windows Explorer, browse to a file, open it, edit it, save it, done!

Other features are extremely handy, such as the search function, which helps you find not only files, but content within them. Know the CSS selector but not sure what file it's in? Just do a search for it and extplorer returns a list of all files containing that string.

You can also upload, download, change permissions, diff files, and more right from the toolbar.

With all the tweaks the powers-that-be have wanted for our site, I would have been completely lost without this great tool. Highly recommended!
2012-04-04
Reviews: 6
One of the websites I manage got broken (long story) and I have had to start from scratch. I was not looking forward to uploading hundreds of pdfs via media manager, one at a time, and then I found Extplorer. It was BRILLIANT to batch upload all the files. I had them done in less than an hour. The program installed flawlessly, worked brilliantly and was very simple to use. Well done!.
2012-04-03
Reviews: 2
I downloaded this a couple of weeks ago, and I'm really impressed with it! I was using net2ftp because of a firewall issue at work (ssshhh!), and then that was blocked as well. This has saved me, and I can't believe I didn't use it before now!

Thank you!
2012-04-01
Reviews: 2
To users thinking about download this - YOU NEED THIS!!! it allow you to deal with ownership issues were sometimes some files are under a "joomla" installed owner and you can't mod the file with your FTP.

TO DEV.
Please add .thtml (jreviews) to the list of editable files. I have to rename the file to .html - make the changes and then rename it back. It would be great to not have to do those steps.

I LOVE YOUR EXTENSION!!!!
2012-03-17
Reviews: 17
I use this component months ago... and it's perfect!!!!
THANK YOU!
2012-03-06
Reviews: 1
Once again I had a permission trouble and this extension saved my life, thank you! Great Job!
2012-02-28
Reviews: 2
I have used this component on a number of sites. From 1.5.x to 2.5.1 - works like a charm.
Only a minor issue on 2.5.1 when open_basedir is in effect on the webserver - then it will not open. Bug found, and a fix is reported to the developer

Look for issue #40 at developers website - there is the solution (very easy to correct, should you encounter the issue)

/Lars
Page 2 of 11