The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


eXtplorer Popular Component

** Version 2.1.5 is a securlty update. We urge you to update your installations as soon as possible **
eXtplorer is a web-based File Management Component for all your needs. It has a desktop-application-like interface with drag&drop, grid and a directory tree and makes heavy use of the Sencha ExtJS Javascript Library.
You can use it to access and modify the files and directories on your server via FTP or direct file access.

eXtplorer runs natively under Joomla! 1.0 - 3.2 and can also be used as a standalone app.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-09-14
Reviews: 5
I use this component many years and it is veru helpfull for me. I corrected many errors via this component. Thanks to developers!
2011-09-11
Reviews: 6
I have no words for how perfect and how useful this has been for me :) saved almost hours of time!
2011-09-07
Reviews: 2
I've been using eXtplorer on a couple of sites now and it's one of the first extensions I add to any new site. Works like a charm, fast and reliable. I doubt you can find a better FTP module for your Joomla server. Especially not for free.
2011-08-22
Reviews: 13
Usefull, nice and for my part working like a charm... A must have, no more to say !

Thanks to the developer !
2011-08-14
Reviews: 1
It all installs ok, but when I try to go into it, it just refreshes back to the admin page.
Owner's reply

It seems as if your comment better fits as a bug report?
Anyway, this problem has been fixed long ago and now with the latest version 2.1 RC4 you can work right out of the box in J! 1.7.

2011-08-02
Reviews: 3
This is a must have. Should be a standard feature of Joomla really.
2011-07-21
Reviews: 114
I've used this on every website until 1.7 and the extplorer does not work. I'm sure you will fix this very annoying bug very soon. Superb work so far.

Thank You for making this a FREE Component
2011-07-08
Reviews: 8
This component is a very useful tool. It is essential for your joomla website. I highly recommend this.

Great work for the developers. Keep it up!

Thanks again.

- Crimson
2011-06-30
Reviews: 1
This file manager has great reviews and I was eager to use it. However, upon loading I noticed I lost several Joomla menus. This issue is commented on the providers website. The instructions for changing admin rights from SuperAdministrator to administrator were unclear and did not match the php file. Unfortunately I am still looking for a file editor. I am running joomla 1.6.3
2011-06-27
Reviews: 1
error security, go to extplorer i can see all subfolders in htdocs folder, i have tried add htaccess for htdocs folder and in joomlaproject folder but after login again and go to extplorer it also access to htdocs folder automatically, this is very serius.

please fix.
2011-06-26
Reviews: 2
This component is a life and time savor. For me it is a must on every Joomla installation. I understand why some people feel that it can give clients to much access but for me the rewards out weigh the risks by a ton.

Use it once and you never design a Joomla site with out it again!
2011-06-21
Reviews: 1
The extension works well backend. However, it is not working frontend. I could not find any document or guide for using extplorer and it is really a problem with a newbie like me.
Anyone could point me somewhere so I can read about making it run frontend?
2011-06-15
Reviews: 4
I'm using it on all my Joomla installations during the last years. It's allways one of the first extensions being installed. Most of the tasks previously carried out by ftp-client can be done in a very comfortable way and it even works when normal ftp-access is blocked by a customer's firewall.

Only thing I'm missing is an alert when a new version is due.

Nevertheless: perfect extension! THX a lot!
2011-06-04
Reviews: 1
I've used this extension on several Joomla-based sites and I love it. Unfortunately, I cannot get it to install on my 1.6.3 site. Keep getting an xml setup error.
2011-06-03
Reviews: 16
this component made my life easier, it was frustrating going back and forth and sometimes my ftp program would not connect to the server but with this I can do everything within joomla.
2011-05-19
Reviews: 1
Be careful of installing it with other admins that have access to it.

I am developing a website for a client, and installed Joomla in a subdirectory on my website for development, and they have access to my ENTIRE website/directory that also includes other client subfolders with access to sensitive files that have passwords and other confidential information.

The plugin should AT LEAST be limited to the directory its installed in, not the entire root directory.
Owner's reply

This is definitely not a security issue within eXtplorer, but within your Server/PHP-Configuration. If eXtplorer can have access to other directories, all other PHP scripts can do this as well.
Read more about it here: http://goo.gl/esC35

2011-05-19
Reviews: 2
This extension has saved my proverbial buttocks like a thousand times, specially when FTP refuses to delete or update files, extplorer is the way.
2011-05-18
Reviews: 3
Hi,
I've installed this extension in Joomla 1.6 on a Linux Ubuntu 11.04 Server and it installes and works like a charm man!
In combination with the Commandline Terminal and Webmin I feel comfortable administering my website from every location of the world.
You people make the world a better place to live.. ThanX!!!
Keep up the good work.
Greetz from Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Bye Bye!
2011-04-27
Reviews: 7
Using Joomla 1.6.3 and FF 4, I was looking for solution that will give me freedom to allow my customers to upload files to certain folders...an easy way - eXtplorer is just that!!! Installed, tested and enjoyed using it. Excellent work! Excellent product!
2011-04-19
Reviews: 5
Looks really good, except for some reason (in both IE8 and Chrome) none of the images are showing. As well, double clicking on a directory goes into rename mode just before going into it. All in all, looks great, just wish I could see what I'm clicking on. ;)
Page 4 of 11