The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


eXtplorer Popular Component

eXtplorer is a web-based File Management Component for all your needs. It has a desktop-application-like interface with drag&drop, grid and a directory tree and makes heavy use of the Sencha ExtJS Javascript Library.
You can use it to access and modify the files and directories on your server via FTP or direct file access.

eXtplorer runs natively under Joomla! 1.0 - 3.2 and can also be used as a standalone app.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-03-28
Reviews: 5
I always use this wonderful component on every Joomla website I made. Very useful and make my life easier to maintain files and directories inside the website, no need to use seperate additional FTP applications. Thank you very much. God bless you.
2011-03-28
Reviews: 1
This has been an extension that I install on my Joomla Sites, does what it says on the tin perfectly.

Only issue I note is that the extension does not behave correctly in Internet Explorer 8 or 9 unless in compatibility mode, otherwise works well.
2011-03-25
Reviews: 5
Very useful component! Installed it in 1.6 and it worked instantly. Very cool use of ExtJS framwork. Must-have tool for every admin.
2011-03-23
Reviews: 8
By far the best FTP system there is for Joomla! It is good-looking, operates without a kink, and, best of all, its free!
2011-03-21
Reviews: 1
This plug in is a very useful tool. This plug in solves lots of issues like if the flash uploader is broken extplorer can do multiple file uploads. If for some reason the admin does not have ftp access to the Joomla installation this plug in provides root access to the joomla installation and lots more. For me this has become one of the first plugins to use after installing Joomla
2011-02-28
Reviews: 1
I've been using this extension since it was first launched. It's just perfect, and keeps improving. Highly recommended.
2011-02-15
Reviews: 1
great work!

I just installed at 1.5 and had no problems. It saved me.
2011-02-12
Reviews: 19
This is one of the few extensions I install in ALL my Joomla sites. It is very useful to be able to move, rename, upload, download, change file permissions, delete, edit, view & perform all other file manager tasks without having to leave the Joomla admin. Great extension, highly recommended for all sites.
2011-02-04
Reviews: 4
I already used this extension on my J! 1.5 site and i just installed it in a breeze on my J! 1.6 site.

It works like a charm and will help me lot.
Unlike some other reviews, i couldn't find any failure. The search functions works normaly also.

Thanks for this nice extension. Hats off !
2011-02-04
Reviews: 4
An extension in Joomla must be solid. These is a Beta. So, it's not recommended for live sites like mine. I really love the upgrade wich have these extension. I had issues with other versions, and finally i use Filezilla. It's a good component? Sure, it WILL be, but: no forum por bugs, when users can interactuate between them, if i want to report that i have a blank page now when i try to access component i must register in repository. If a component don't have a good documentation -it hasn't- and a forum, well, it's 2011, but can't give a 4 o 5 stars because it's an incomplete product. The development is STILL in beta. I think when it became a solid component it will be integrated in Joomla, but now... I'll wait for next upgrade, maybe final release.
2011-01-26
Reviews: 2
I tried to install this in a fresh joomla 1.6 installation, and could not find the xml file.
Another component installed just fine.
I noticed that extplorer didn't have an update since 2008.
I wonder why it is listed here as compatible with 1.6 and as an editors pick??!
Strange.
Owner's reply

This is not the place to file bug reports (but http://goo.gl/tyY52). eXtplorer has been updated regularly every since and the latest release was 2 weeks ago in January 2011.
It installs fine in a standard Joomla! 1.6 release. This has been confirmed by many users.

2010-12-14
Reviews: 2
In response to the favourable reviews I tried downloading and installing the current version and the new RC version.

The RC version wouldn't install at all saying it was missing some javascript files. The previous version required me to enable the 'legacy' module before it would work which should tell you all you need to know about that version. It also kept telling me something like "template.css" not found, using "template.css" instead.

Overlooking the mess that the error messages made of the layout, the product worked fine, but it's not a particularly pleasant experience.
2010-11-10
Reviews: 3
extplorer is the ultimate time and hassle saver on Joomla. This should definitely be in Joomla core.

You'll save loads of time and energy just by using this. It's great for Joomla experts as we can easily get to template and extension folders to make changes while it's great for beginners for uploading images to folders and getting used to the JOomla structure.

Top marks from me.
2010-10-16
Reviews: 1
I think this should be in the Joomla core. Just an hour of use and I'm already loving it. There were a few minor issues but the overall experience is mostly positive.

Saves me from having to go to the cPanel every minute.
2010-10-16
Reviews: 6
i got 2.1.0 version for joomla 1.5 its work excellent - i recommend to try you all..
thank you
-----------------------
Release ID:
11389
Release Name:
eXtplorer_2.1.0_beta
Release Date:
2009-11-03 17:00:00
Released By:
Sören Eberhardt-Biermann
2010-10-11
Reviews: 4
I've used this plugin for 1 minute and I love it :) I'm new to Joomla, so I don't have much experience with this environment yet, but this avoids having to go to cPanel, and I think that's a good thing.
2010-10-06
Reviews: 2
This in a must for beck end administration !
A very powerful tool that gives a new name to webmastering !
2010-10-01
Reviews: 6
Everything good, every one has said is true. eXtplorer beats having to go to cPanel when working on files in my mainsite. Looks like it will supplant Filezilla when I want to do several uploads. One environment, Joomla. Another great tool, eXtplorer.
2010-09-09
Reviews: 4
Well what can I say?
Its simple and to the point, it saves a lot of time, and it does what is promised, I am now using it with every web site I have.
2 thumbs up for the developers!
Keep up the good work
2010-08-20
Reviews: 2
Advantages (over Cpanel):
- it has a feature of uploading from another server (which is a time saver, and to me a bandwidth saver for my prepaid internet connection)
- (if I'm not wrong)it shows hidden files (i looked though cpanel for .htaccess files but couldn't find them! but extplorer shows them :) )
- the ability to save directories as favorites, for a quick way to reopen the directories :)
- all files are opened in the tabs of the component, so a new window won't open, it's in the same window :)
- i tried the "difference" feature, but in some way it didn't work with me, i think i just don't know how to use this feature :P
in any ways, this feature can't be found in cpanel
- the ability to reload selected folders on the left main navigation (without having to reload all the page)

now the disadvantages to me:
- the "search" almost never shows results when searching for a specific content.
now, if working on this feature would make the component bloated, i would love that someone tells me a way to search the directories instead :)
- it's not as easy to copy the url of the directory as it is in cpanel
(personally i click on the "copy" dialog just so i can retrieve the url)

i rate this 5 stars because the disadvantages are minor towards the advantages :)

hey! and did i forget to mention it's free :D
Page 5 of 11