The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


eXtplorer Popular Component

** Version 2.1.5 is a securlty update. We urge you to update your installations as soon as possible **
eXtplorer is a web-based File Management Component for all your needs. It has a desktop-application-like interface with drag&drop, grid and a directory tree and makes heavy use of the Sencha ExtJS Javascript Library.
You can use it to access and modify the files and directories on your server via FTP or direct file access.

eXtplorer runs natively under Joomla! 1.0 - 3.2 and can also be used as a standalone app.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-05-16
Reviews: 2
This and it's 1.0 predecessor JoomXplorer is a must for any Joomla admin/site dev, especially if you are on shared hosting. This makes accessing, editing and uploading files to templates a breeze. No need to fire up the FTP client, just login to the back-end and you're good to go.

The only thing I would wish for is role/permissions based front-end access so users could upload into a personal folder...
2009-05-02
Reviews: 1
no really, what can I say.
The component toke 3seconds to install and does exactly what it says it does with no problems what so ever.
Would recommend this to any one who needs a component like this.

Big Thanks !
2009-04-29
Reviews: 3
Can't live without it! This extension is a must-have and provides so much more functionality and ease for managing your images. You can upload, create new directories, and even view your images and place them into archives.. SO AWESOME.. The only thing I can't figure out is that I am still getting the same image editor popup within Articles so I can't just grab an image from the extplorer files that I have setup, so if you don't know the link to the image, you have to go back and copy/paste.
2009-04-28
Reviews: 1
This is one of the nicest tools ever. I don't need an FTP client of any kind, I can access my files from any machine. I've installed this flawlessly on 3 different websites. Today, I installed the newest version of eXtplorer with the newest version of Joomla, and all went well, as usual. I love this thing!

TIP: If I access my website via its IP address and log into the Joomla back end as an administrator role, then I can see the root of the server with eXtplorer - if this is your issue, log into the Joomla back end via the URL of your website and you'll see what you need to. It took me a while to figure that one out last year, but I got it on my own.

TIP 2: I downloaded the "com_extplorer_2.0.1.zip" and installed it as a module: no problems!!
2009-04-18
Reviews: 4
eXtplorer gets a low rating because we can no longer get it to work. In the past, it has installed easily and worked flawlessly. No more.

When we install it now, it claims to have installed correctly. When we try to use it we get the infamous error which has been well documented here, in the Joomla forums, and which has been ignored by the developer.

Please note that we run Joomla on three different Linux server environments, one of which is cPanel. We tried every fix mentioned here or in the forums. Nothing worked. In fact, when we reviewed all of the setup issues such as file and directory permissions, archives that didn't get expanded, etc., in every case and on every platform, none of these issues was the problem, and nothing had to be changed.

Finally, we gave up and are now using ninjaXplorer, which we have discovered we prefer because it actually installs, works flawlessly, and seems to use less system resources than eXtplorer on the sites where we have used it.

In fact, we are uninstalling all working copies of eXtplorer and installing ninjaXplorer as we do our update to the latest Joomla 1.5.X.
2009-04-09
Reviews: 2
I installed this component on my first Joomla website and I loved it. For most tasks I didn't need to use a seperate program to make some simple modifications.

Then I created my second Joomla website and eXtplorer was one of the first components I installed. The install seemed to work perfectly but upon trying to run the program I received an error "The ExtJS Library could not be found..." and the program terminates. I researched the problem on the developer website and found a few threads with others having this exact same problem going back to September 2007. There have been no solutions to the problem. By the way, the two Joomla installations are hosted on the same server with the same version of PHP and everything else is the same except the domain name.

For those of you lucky enough to have the program actually work... YOU WILL LOVE IT!!!
2009-03-31
Reviews: 1
Seamless module...we had trouble uploading images into articles in one of our installations. Downloaded this extension and uploaded through this...smooth!

thanks for the effort & for making it available for the rest of us!
2009-02-20
Reviews: 1
I've problem installing this on Joomla 1.5.6, but after upgrade to 1.5.8 I'm able to do full installation! Brilliant components with nice interface. :)

I hope there is some sort of supports from the developer or at least a clear instruction on installation process in Readme.txt.
2009-02-18
Reviews: 1
I was able to install this component in about 2 minutes. It works right out of the box, it's free, and it's wonderful. Open source rocks!
2009-02-09
Reviews: 3
This product saves me so much times because i can access and edit any file on my server. I love this product and use it on all my joomla installations!
2009-02-04
Reviews: 4
I have only just discovered eXtplorer having worked on many Joomla sites and am kicking myself for not installing this on every site sooner. One of the most useful components I have yet found and the first one that has moved me to write a review.
2009-01-23
Reviews: 3
Can't say more than thumbs up for this last 2.0.1 version. Only lacks the ability to CHMOD differently folders and files.
I am also now using the standalone script (link removed) and it is indeed the solution we were all waiting for when hosts do not have a Filemanager.
2009-01-19
Reviews: 4
The old eXplorer was my most used admin component. The new one just will not work. No matter how many times I change the chmod of the fetchjscripts file as instructed, it continues to pop up the message, that it can't find the scripts. I've uninstalled and reinstalled numerous times with no success. This is very disappointing.
2009-01-16
Reviews: 4
I install this as first order of business on any joomla site. It is invaluable.
2009-01-16
Reviews: 1
Thanks a lot for this very good extension without any problem, but it allows any kind of back end user to use it which is a threat. It should allow only Super Administrator or Admin, or it should have that configuration. With that this will be the ultimate tool.
2009-01-15
Reviews: 7
Thanks For This! Quite simply, I could not live without this component, and I do not understand why it is not part of the Joomla! core!
2009-01-12
Reviews: 2
Simple, functional, reliable.

This component will be one of, if not the first add-on to any future joomla installations I manage.

I highly recommend this component, and I tip my hat to the development team for an outstanding product! Thank you!

-K
2009-01-11
Reviews: 1
This component is *very* good. I was expecting something quite basic but it looks fantastic and has a very smooth interface. I was definitely impressed when i tried to edit a css file on the server and got served with a text editor with syntax highlighting...

Highly recommended.
2009-01-09
Reviews: 2
I just installed it and its really great, I love this app, it really simple to use and very powerful :)
2009-01-09
Reviews: 2
This is an essential piece of kit! I find it especially useful when providing support to my customers as I only need to ask for access to Joomla administrator, and generally don't need to ask for additional FTP access. It also proves extremely useful when the server does not use suPHP, so the files are owned by 'nobody'. The interface is clean and professional, and very intuitive. Also very handy for extracting zip files in situ, thus saving time when uploading a large number of files.
Page 8 of 11