The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


jsmallfib Plugin

JSmallfib, a native 1.5 and 1.6 to 3.0 Joomla! plugin extension, allows a normal Joomla! article to include a simple but effective file browser/manager.

Depending on access levels, users can read or upload files, create folders and more. The main repository can be set either within the Joomla! directory, or, for greater security, outside the web root.

This plugin is ideal if you require simple out-of-the-box file browsing/uploading/downloading functionality (to store and share documentation, for example, or to manage all your web files from the frontend), all within a normal article.

Actions such as file uploads/downloads, and file/folder renaming, removing can optionally be logged. Permissions for accessing files and folders are set with the 'command' within a normal article text.

It is possible to set different access levels for unregistered visitors or specific registered user groups, but also for specific registered users individually.

All this is done with the command in the article text. The same article can be made to generate different repositories depending on users or groups. Supports file archiving.

JSmallfib ships with Danish, Dutch, English, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, Spanish and Swedish translations.

Report Extension

 

 

2010-09-16
Reviews: 3
This plugin is sooo incredibly cool - thanks for saving my project. I needed a solution that could list files in a directory in a halfway aesthetic manner for download - and this plugin was EXACTLY what I needed. This plugin supported listing an entire directory of text articles that I was having extensive problems otherwise sharing using other extensions.

If you are looking for a great basic way to list an entire directory of files I can think of no better extension.

Not only does it do what I needed, but it even looks extremely nice and easy on the eyes. I just can't say enough about how great of an extension I think it is and look forward to using on other projects as well!

Again, thank you soooo much - I thought my search for an extension I needed was hopeless after installing numerous complex components which can overload when there are too many files - when all along this simple plugin did everything I needed in style!

Kind regards,

Randall Kowalenko
dpk
2010-08-07
Reviews: 3
This is an extremely useful plugin as a very simple, lightweight upload/download tool for file sharing on the frontend of your Joomla sites. Unfortunately any new files or folders created with it will have permissions above 755/644. If jsmallfib followed recommended security practices, I would give it 5 stars and an "excellent" rating.
Owner's reply

Thank you for your feedback! The latest version 1.1c (released Aug 17th) makes unix permissions configurable in the plugin backend configuration panel (see the advanced parameters). Default values remain 755/644 for directories/files, but any other ones can now be specified.

2010-06-18
Reviews: 1
This plugin was exactly what I was looking for - upload and display PDF files from front end. Easy to install, easy to setup, works great! I needed some help, and the author of the script responded promptly and provided modified version of the script with additional admin controls that allows user to open file in the same browser window. Five star script and tech support!
2010-05-27
Reviews: 2
jsmallfib is super simple to implement and simple for front-end users to utilize. For creating a list of files on a page with the ability to add other content above and below, this is the plugin. The ability to customize user access easily and specifically, as well as set default sub-folders so front-end editors don't have to think is a plus. One of the least "quirky" extensions I've used.
2010-05-19
Reviews: 2
I LOVE this plugin. It's perfect for offering repository's to members and they can easily manage it through FTP.

Request: Can you add a hit counter/download counter? It's be nice to show how many downloads each item had on the frontend browser.
2010-05-02
Reviews: 2
Wonderful plugin! Just some hints 4 improvements:

a)
It will be nice to choose each permission seperatly (e.g. allowing to delete files does not mean user can create folder etc.)
b)To be able to define a range of users without needing to type each ID (e.g [51=. This plugin is on its way to knock docman. Jdownloads is great, but uploading is too complicated for normal users (requiers email from none-registered users etc.) - and it does not offer precise acl-management. Meaning jsmallfib knocks jdownloads lol
2010-04-27
Reviews: 1
This is a very good plug-in, and i must recomend it. It's easy to use, and has lots of possiblities. The only thing i needed to do was optimize the included png icons, and add some; could be nice if this was done from the start.
2010-04-10
Reviews: 1
Good plugin but have one big minus - it can't work with Russian letters. Developers, add this small ability and your plugin will be awsome!
2010-03-26
Reviews: 1
This plug-in was exactly what I needed, a simple way to list PDF files on a site for my local village government. I had a question about sorting and being able to set the sort order of the files to either ascending or descending, by default it sorted ascending. I emailed the developer and he responded within 12 hours with a new beta build of the plug-in that included a way to set the default sort options in the admin console. Excellent plug-in and great customer service!
2010-03-17
Reviews: 10
I wanted an extension which would display a directory of PDF files on my site. There are a few very good file management extensions but nothing as easy and simple as this to setup and use.

It would be nice to have control over displaying title and column headings in the plugin parameters.

Thanks!
2010-02-12
Reviews: 1
I am really impressed by this neat little extension, it does everything it said it would really, really well.

I am very excited about the (USERGROUPBOUND) Idea the author has proposed for a future release. I hope (USERGROUPBOUND) will work with components like JX Control.

I have used this in conjunction with ContentPassword extension and they work very well together. It might be nice to include this functionality in future relaeases.

Thank you for this very very useful extension.
2010-02-05
Reviews: 1
Really simple yet powerful way to browse/download/upload/rename files straight from an article in the Joomla front end.

Very impressed and highly recommended.

Any chance of either an uncompress Zip option or a way to upload multiple files at once?
2010-02-02
Reviews: 3
Since I'm a Graphic Designer I needed a plugin to help me share files with members privately depending on who is logged into the site. jSmallFib was easy to install, the installation instructions were a little daunting at first but as I read though it they became easy to understand. I had one quick question though so emailed their customer support and received a reply within a few days and Enrico was very very helpful!
This plugin works perfectly for me! AA++
2009-11-24
Reviews: 1
A little tiny file uploader with more granualar permissions as the normal joomla system provides.
Easy to install and works fast and simple.

Outstanding support by developer.

It is easy to configure within minutes and fits most of the needs for up/downloading files.
2009-10-15
Reviews: 2
Very simple and fully configurable access rights.
One problem creating or renaming folders but depending on folders autorization i think.
Good work!
2009-10-13
Reviews: 11
Thanks for this great plugin ! Its very useful for me to add an upload area in my article.

I just like to suggest 2 more features for the future, if possible:
(1) Add separate rights for the "special user" as well (not only for public and registered)
(2) allow several upload areas in one article (maybe allow several [repository] tags inside the pluging or allow several {jsmallfib} tags in one article

If that will be the case, this is unbeatable for me !
Thanks again and keep it up ! Chris
2009-09-05
Reviews: 11
This plugin is very useful if you want to set up your own file sharing system on a Joomla website. It is especially useful if you want to share documents that are too large to attach to an email message and/or when you do not want to use other file sharing services or an FTP site. Since it is a plugin, you can insert repositories directly in an article with a simple tag.

The graphic presentation is great and the plugin works out of the box. Really fantastic.

One of the best plugins we have seen!!! If we could give it 6 stars, we would.
2009-08-27
Reviews: 3
Wow! Not only solved my front end file submission requirements - but does so much more!

Very easy to setup - while at the same time being flexible.

Other plug-ins of this type I have tried are so much more cumbersome to work with - and do not offer the same front-end management abilities.
2009-08-25
Reviews: 1
I'm no computer master, and jsmall was working in minutes. The world needs more software like this.
2009-08-08
Reviews: 1
Love this plugin. Easy to setup. Does exactly what I was wanting.

Feature request: I would like to see a progress bar for uploads in a future version.
Page 3 of 4