The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Multi Sites Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
JMS Multisites extend joomla with Multi Sites and user sharing. This allows multiple domain names or sites to have their own joomla configuration file using the same joomla installation. Possibility to share the users, and extensions like VirtueMart, Community Builder, JomSocial, ...
With this new feature you can share the joomla files and folders to create totally independent web sites.
This simply the maintenance of Joomla as you have only one instance to update for all the websites.
With JMS you can create website based on website template to create new slave site.
A "maintenance" functionality is also provided to help supervising the extension installed in each website with their datamodel and help you fix the potential datamodel errors.
As each website has its own joomla configuration.
You can decide to use:
- One database for all the websites. In this case, you must specify different database table prefix for each websites.
- Two databases (One master database and One slave database). This architecture is advised when you want to install JMS on an existing website and you are limited in the number of databases you can create (or disk space).
- As many databases than there are websites. This is the most flexible architecture where each websites works with its own database. This is generally the architecture adopted by joomla when you create multiple websites.
The content of each website is totally independent. This means that the content (articles, news, forum, users, ...) are NOT shared.

The setup of each configuration site consists in using the standard joomla installation mechanism.
In the administration of a 'Slave' site, you can re-install/uninstall extension previously installed on the 'Master' site.
The 'Master' site is the one where you have installed the Joomla MultiSite component and where you manage the 'Slave' sites.
Additional controls are performed during the installation/uninstallation of an extension in a 'slave' site.
Before executing the standard joomla installation, it is verified that the extension you request to install has exactly the same name and same version number to avoid inconsistency between all sites.
This additional control is performed to ensure that you will overwrite the current installation with identical files that you originally installed.
On 'slave' site, uninstalling an extension consists in a joomla standard cleanup of the database. The files present on disk for this extension is not deleted to avoid disturb the other sites.

You can also replicate a website into the same database or in different DB to avoid re-installing the extension in each slave site.
On Unix platform, it is also possible to deploy a slave site into a specific folder.

You can also share user and share the content of a limited number of extensions.

Report Extension

 

 

2010-05-21
Reviews: 2
I am very impressed with this program. The support is great too, very fast! You have to be comfortable with how database structuring works, but the tutorials make it easy.
2010-04-29
Reviews: 1
I've been using the old branch (1.0.xx) of Multisites for 2 Years now and it works great. I use it as my development site, so I don't have several Joomla installs to take care of on my development server.

The best about this extension is that when you need support, you get it almost instantly.

Thanks Edwin!
2010-02-15
Reviews: 2
Superb support by Edwin and JMS Multisites works extremely well, however configured.
For those familiar DNS and a solid understanding of file structures and Unix systems, it is straight forward enough. The videos on the JMS site are pretty good and if I could offer a small criticism, it would be the English language translation in the manual. Other than that...very solid!
2010-02-14
Reviews: 2
At first this seems complicated and it might take a few attempts to get a successful slave - the excellent tutorial videos helped me a great deal. Once you've got the hang of making one, you could easily make a hundred.

I've tried other solutions, but this one worked best for me with it's built in support for third party apps like virtuemart and community builder. It's a very powerful feature, well worth the cost and more.

I can't give enough praise for this component, bottom line is if you want to share a user database between a number of websites then this is the answer.
2010-02-10
Reviews: 1
6 stars !! Excellent component. The component is very complete and thanks to the guidance, availability of Edwin, we were in business in 2 hours.

Highly recommended
2010-02-08
Reviews: 3
Edwin the developer is one of the most intelligent and experienced developers I have ever worked with. Not only is his product incredible, but his support exceeded my expectations as well.

When I hired him to help me configure a few things, he went above and beyond, and spent his entire Sunday afternoon helping me make a Monday deadline I had. He could probably do in an hour what would take an average developer 5 hours.

I not only recommend getting his product, but hiring him to configure it for you as well, you won't be disappointed.
2010-01-30
Reviews: 3
As i said - 5 stas are not enough to rate this component.
It does exactely what it said it does.. and you can save a lot of space with this.
Perfect suits for hosting resellers..
I tink this is a jackpot in joomla components world!
And the support is fantastic!
Let's face it - the price..is very low for the work behind this component..

Message for authors:
Keep up the good work - you are the best!
2010-01-06
Reviews: 1
Excellent component. The management of the component is very simple thanks to the guidance made available, but above all the professionalism and courtesy of Edwin.

Recommended
2010-01-05
Reviews: 1
Small problem, fast accurate response.
2009-12-03
Reviews: 1
My title says it all... It's now possible to control whatever extensions are installed on each website, create a "template" and easily launch a new website based on an existing one.
I can now share or not (it's up to me) users, configurations, database tables, update extensions...
You will need to get used to manage websites with JMS control panel, but it will be very worthwhile! It was money and time well spent - some days after install I can see the profit!!!

Whenever a doubt or any other support is needed, you can count on getting a solution fast - great work. On top of that, community is growing and you can learn from other users experience also. Check their website.

Definitely: Recommended for anyone managing several websites or planning to do so in the future.
2009-11-27
Reviews: 1
Looking at the comments on this component, you get a good feeling about it. I confirm that these comments are all true. Great service! I had many questions regarding the Quotas vs the Registration and had instant feedbacks from Edwin. It placed me in a confort zone. I have great confident that this component, JUST by the great fast and clean replies by Edwin, will be up and running in no time. What a guy that Edwin.

Merci encore pour toutes tes réponses super rapides !
2009-09-30
Reviews: 1
i bought this extension and at first challenged with session problems in subdomains.

but later -thanks to Edwin, the developer- all problems solved and it works well now. (1.2.7 version)

this seems to be the most important and useful extension i paid for, with jomsocial.
2009-09-29
Reviews: 7
I cannot even begin to tell you how wonderful this Extension is!!! And Edwin is an absolutely amazingly brilliant developer! I will have to admit, when i downloaded this extension, I was a bit worried that I would have trouble making it work, but through the wonderful manuals and online tutorial videos I was up and running in just a few hours. I had some specific ideas of how I was going to use this extension, and Edwin wrote an update to the program to aid me in this installation! Big Big Big thumbs up!!! Thanks Edwin!
2009-09-08
Reviews: 1
Without having this extension we would not be able to efficiently use Joomla! for the website that we are hosting. We have currently around 10 websites in Joomla! and plan to raise this number to 50+ over time.

Without this extension we would have to maintain (update!) multiple Joomla! installations and all the plug-ins in those websites. Given the frequent updates of Joomla! it would take a lot of time to update all the websites and would pose a lot of update problems risks.

Joomla Multiple Sites (JMS) enables having a single Joomla! installation and single plug-ins installation and run as much websites as we want with simple update process for the websites. The work involved in replicating what JMS does would simply be too great to justify the use of Joomla!.

The support provided is near instantaneous and we always get what we need.

We highly recommend this extension for anyone running 2 or more websites or planning to do so in the future.
2009-08-26
Reviews: 1
I am very hesitant to buy commercial Joomla Components, because very often I am not completely satisfied with what I get. But this can not be said for the Multisite Component. I am very happy with what it does and the features it offers and highly recommend it. The only thing that could use considerable improvement is the documentation. However, the programmer really made up for that through some personal support. Whenever I send an email I would get a response within hours. I so appreciated that, in particular since I had a problem with Multi Site on one of my Servers. It was not working properly and I could not figure out why. Turns out that the problem were my Domain Names. Multi Site does not interpret Internationalized Domain Names (IDNs), which are domains with non-ASCII-Characters. In order for Multisite to work properly, you have to insert the translated domain into the Domain List Field in Multi Site. Then it works like a charm.

I consider Multisite one of the best Components available and a MUST HAVE for anyone who has several domains.
2009-08-12
Reviews: 1
This product is really amazing! I had some troubles getting started but the support i got from Edwin was awesome! I installed a component that initially didn't work and when i asked for help, he ended up making it compatible with a new version that he was making only after two days and i was able to upload that new version the next day! I was completely surprised and definitely satisfied.
2009-08-11
Reviews: 1
Can it possible to manage content @ menu and all other thing from only one admin, like it happen in drupal.
2009-08-06
Reviews: 3
Edwin the owner took a lot of time out of his day to explain how the product works and help me troubleshoot the issues that i had. One of a kind product... trust me i have looked all over the internet. Thanks Edwin.
2009-07-22
Reviews: 1
This extension works just well :)
This is one of a kind, it really allow to do new things with your joomla.
User Sharing works and I can create site by replicating an existing one.

Just too bad we can't share just a part of the users with a subsite, that would be great.
2009-07-07
Reviews: 2
Edwin is THE BEST!!!!!! I had tons of problems installing because the manual isn't written in perfect English and I was scared to death of destroying my existing website. Edwin walked me through everything via email communication. He's amazing! I wish all developers were like him. It's worth getting this extension just for Edwin's fabulous customer service.
Page 4 of 6