The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Multi Sites Popular Component

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
JMS Multisites extend joomla with Multi Sites and user sharing. This allows multiple domain names or sites to have their own joomla configuration file using the same joomla installation. Possibility to share the users, and extensions like VirtueMart, Community Builder, JomSocial, ...
With this new feature you can share the joomla files and folders to create totally independent web sites.
This simply the maintenance of Joomla as you have only one instance to update for all the websites.
With JMS you can create website based on website template to create new slave site.
A "maintenance" functionality is also provided to help supervising the extension installed in each website with their datamodel and help you fix the potential datamodel errors.
As each website has its own joomla configuration.
You can decide to use:
- One database for all the websites. In this case, you must specify different database table prefix for each websites.
- Two databases (One master database and One slave database). This architecture is advised when you want to install JMS on an existing website and you are limited in the number of databases you can create (or disk space).
- As many databases than there are websites. This is the most flexible architecture where each websites works with its own database. This is generally the architecture adopted by joomla when you create multiple websites.
The content of each website is totally independent. This means that the content (articles, news, forum, users, ...) are NOT shared.

The setup of each configuration site consists in using the standard joomla installation mechanism.
In the administration of a 'Slave' site, you can re-install/uninstall extension previously installed on the 'Master' site.
The 'Master' site is the one where you have installed the Joomla MultiSite component and where you manage the 'Slave' sites.
Additional controls are performed during the installation/uninstallation of an extension in a 'slave' site.
Before executing the standard joomla installation, it is verified that the extension you request to install has exactly the same name and same version number to avoid inconsistency between all sites.
This additional control is performed to ensure that you will overwrite the current installation with identical files that you originally installed.
On 'slave' site, uninstalling an extension consists in a joomla standard cleanup of the database. The files present on disk for this extension is not deleted to avoid disturb the other sites.

You can also replicate a website into the same database or in different DB to avoid re-installing the extension in each slave site.
On Unix platform, it is also possible to deploy a slave site into a specific folder.

You can also share user and share the content of a limited number of extensions.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-01-19
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a multisite component, and jms2win seems to be the kill-app extension for this purpose.
On the jms2win website, good documentation is available (including some tools aimed to help you on jms configuration). And the support from the developer is excellent. I've had some questions and I've got answers quickly.
Thanks Edwin!
2009-01-16
Reviews: 2
After purchasing and testing on my development environment I contacted edwin (developer / support) for multiple issues that I encounted for which he spent a good deal of his time helping me to configure this component to suit my needs. The support offered by JMS2WIN is simply astounding. The product works as stated and is a must for maintaining multiple client sites. This component is also GNU allowing you to update the code as needed, and does not contain annoying ioncube or zend encryptions, an absolute positive from my experience with other encrypted components.

I can now create a new, customised, configured client site in minutes AND keep the files up to date thanks to this component. This is one component I can no longer live without!!

Phill
JMS
2009-01-02
Reviews: 1
thank you edwin cheront ... I like this product and I have produced with one joomla installation a lot of slave-sites. the price is fair. the support was nice. the concept is logical and simple and at all it works!


clemens
2008-12-05
Reviews: 1
This is really the best solution to share your Joomla sites in one Joomla installation. Smart product en the most important thing: it works.

Also support is really helpfull. I had some technical problems and the support is always there to help and advise you where they can do that. They want you to have a working JMS on your site and they go for it! Really great.

Thanks for your support Edwin! And good luck with JMS.

Anthony
2008-11-19
Reviews: 2
I've used this product to help build multiple site on one server and it just what it promises. The modules I have installed worked without problems and whenever I found an issue, the author has replied with a fix in under an hour! I'd have no hesitation in recommending this to other users of Joomla
2008-11-11
Reviews: 1
The response time for support is excellent and component works great!
2008-11-04
Reviews: 1
Folks,
Edwin and the support team at JMS2Win seem to never sleep. I had lots of questions and a long email string related to using the component with cpanel.

They patiently assisted me until I was able to successfully implement some example sites.

I recommend the component, as it does exactly what it says it will do and I can't wait to see it evolve.

Brandon Johnson, www.BlackAtlanta.com www.BlackInternetMarketing.com
2008-10-27
Reviews: 1
I was looking a long time for a suitable multisite component. And finally, i found the jms2win website. Ordinarily I am rather a friend of free software.
However, i decided to buy this one. The price was fair and the component was well explained on the jms2win website. The support is excellent. The answer on an small question came in seconds! I am now running five sites under the multisite component - without any problems. New sites are easy to install - in a few steps. The free google-analytics module from their website is also great an easy to use. The team is planning some new features. I'm curious about it. Thx 4 the good work!
2008-10-17
Reviews: 2
Just bought two days ago, already have all my sites loaded - amazing! Keeps all Joomla sites up to date with a few clicks and cuts space requirements. This is a must have if you maintain joomla sites for clients.

BEST PART -- I had a problem with JCE when using this, I contacted the developer, he fixed it within 24 hours, just because i asked! You can't get this kind of support on Joomla extensions, this component is invaluable!
2008-10-17
Reviews: 1
First time sight, I was doubt that this is the right component that can help me to finish my projects. But when I decided to buy it, test it ... I just realize that this is THE BEST MULTISITE COMPONENT with simple installation ever!

Though I have a small problem when doing the patches, Edwin helps me with all his heart ;) Two thumbs up for you and keep a good work!
2008-10-15
Reviews: 1
This extension is really excellent.
I've it since yesterday and already using it for test. It work fine and the developper is reactive. It's possible to contact by email and an answer is comming soon after and every times with a solution on your question.

Really possible to improve your work with this extension.

I vote for this Extension

Cedric
2008-09-26
Reviews: 2
We have recently started to create our own website(s) with Joomla and needed a component to work in an intuitive way with more than one website.

We found Multi Sites, emailed the developer a couple of questions and received an answer very very fast.

Then we bought Multi Sites and installed both our sites without hesitation.
The process is almost identical to installing two completely separate installations.

Multi Sites works without a problem. Even when I blamed Multi Sites for an issue the developer helped me to solve the issue within hours although he was not to blame.

Excellent component, excellent service!!!
2008-08-15
Reviews: 1
This is a great component. I actually purchased it straight away as it was exactly what I was looking for. Normally I would not purchase software without having a demo to at least see how it works first but there is a lot of information on the homepage and I was quite confident it was what I needed.

As mentioned on the site it uses only one joomla installation with seperate database tables (using different prefixes) and config.php files for each site. This makes it very easy to maintain your sites as there is only one joomla installation to update/backup/secure/etc.

All you need to do is point all your domains to your one joomla directory and it will automatically load the correct site.

In summary a very good component which does exactly what it says on the tin.
Page 6 of 6