The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JotCache ComponentPluginExtension Specific Addon

JotCache is advanced solution for page caching in Joomla 1.5, 2.5 and 3.x framework. JotCache consists from JotCache Plugin, JotCache Component and JotCache recache plugins.

New combination of system plugin and management component covers tailored processing in JotCache for all types of extensions : static nad dynamic modules as well as components with static content and dynamic forms. Extended marking of cached content allows fast checking of cache operation in frontend and backend (new feature for easy selecting of cached pages which needs cache reset).

JotCache Plugin is extended replacement of standart System-Cache plugin with following enhancements :

Features of ver.4.0

* Cache management with faster opening on larger web sites – the cached files are presented with cached page titles and links, added more informations about cached page (browser type, language, non-routed query string), implemented items ordering, changed information about date/time of caching (incl. indication of expired or no more existing cache files)
* Exclusion of selected pages and module template positions from page caching
* Bots/crawlers and cookies exclusion
* Selective use of browser cache for choosen page URI's
* Powerfull autoclean (garbage collection) activity
* Possibility to set different page caches based on visitor browser type and device(phone,tablet).
* Cached page content can be compressed before saving into the cache. JotCache plugin has option to compress (gzlib) cached pages before storing to the cache, therefore the web access to cached content is accelerated. Compressing function covers static (page) as well as dynamic module content.
* Possibility to clear the cache only for selected pages.
* Batch recaching of frontend pages based on :
- information stored in database from previous page caching activity
- site crawling started with site homepage to other linked pages up to given depth level
Batch recaching can be also processed as cron job with selected setting possibilities
* Manual recache of marked files by users with JotCache recache rights. In this working mode authorized user can start the recache of viewed page on frontend pages and see immediatelly the results.

Report Extension

 

 

2011-08-22
Reviews: 1
Excellent, works perfectly!
One thing; it is unclear whether or not 'cache' should be enabled in global config! Should I?!
Owner's reply

Use enabled global cache - performance of your site shall be increased by caching of some parts of the content (articles, modules, etc.)

2011-08-14
Reviews: 3
Very efficient plugin that did what I was expecting and even more! Service is excellent too. A real pleasure to deal with.
2011-06-20
Reviews: 1
This is a beautiful extension, especially if your run an ecommerce site, such as Virtuemart. One of the main reasons I cannot use the default Joomla page cache is there are certain modules that cannot be cached and there is no option to keep sections of the page uncached. This plugin solves that. I have used it on several client sites now and it is working flawlessly.

You do need a tiny bit of programming knowledge to understand how to keep module positions uncached. But for something that is free and does the job very well, cant complain.
2011-06-02
Reviews: 1
The biggest problem with Joomla caching is you cant exclude some components, like perhaps custom components or pages with your own dynamic PHP.

So Jotcache does a great job because you can exclude certain pages based on the variables in the URL.

BUT I cannot get it to work with Sobi2. I have random listings on Sobi2 but they show as fixed when Jotcache is enabled.

The email reply from the developer has been very quick which is good. But unfortunately he has not been able to provide a fix.

So its a 4* component. By which I mean it is excellent, and support is good, except for it not working for Sobi2 nor a fix been provided.

That means you dont have Sobi 2 its 5 stars!
Owner's reply

With my contribution to public open source I think that I am paying back solutions and ideas which I got from community. But I not owe you anything especially in the case when you are providing paid services to your customer.
When I asked for test server with similar environment to analyse and test possible solutions, then nothing was provided. Not to be personally biased I was searching for extent of open source support I found http://brian.teeman.net/joomla-gps/free-joomla-support.html (with N. Dionysopoulos comment matching my feeling as well).

2011-05-18
Reviews: 2
I plug-in works like charm on my site, with no more extra efforts i was able to install it and get it working. but only problem is i did not found any forums or support place where i can post my query. Jotcatche is conflicting with my advertisement which the main revenue from my site. for advertisement i use ijoomla ad agency component.
please let me know where i can get the place to post my questions
2011-05-06
Reviews: 3
I'll give it an average rating because I am sure it will work well for most users. HOWEVER, that said, it does not work for me. I am using Sourcerer for Joomla (which allow for php/javascript in articles and custom modules). Despite having this work fine with the regular Joomla cache, with JotCache, the modules are outputting the code itself, not rendering it with the other plugins (IE: Sourcerer). JotCache is the last plugin in plugins order, so it should work; but it doesn't. And I'm not sure what else it may not be processing; this particular problem stood right out.
2011-04-18
Reviews: 1
Would be nice to add connetion pause until first cahce is created (if that is even possible on this lvl) anyway good woork.
2011-04-14
Reviews: 1
I had a big problem with the speed of loading web site. After installing this component and plugin the speed of page loads increased for double.
I had a problem with deleting the outdated records from the database, but a large and fast support has proven developer.
Thank you very much for your fast support and good addition to the site! Leszek
2011-03-16
Reviews: 4
Finally, caching that is able to handle multiple user agents and mobiles! Thank you!
2011-03-14
Reviews: 1
I've been struggling with cache issues over my years of using Joomla and it worked quite magically to resolve problems I'd been having with blank pages. I haven't had to turn on error reports since installation. Thanks so much!
2011-02-16
Reviews: 3
Easy to install, and pimp my web.
Thank you for an excellent jobs. I should gave you 6 stars.
2010-12-12
Reviews: 4
Hi,
I have posted this review to:
- Thank the author.
- Help someone else if they encountered the same problem.

Actually I'm relatively new to joomla. After installing joomla I have noticed joomla perfomance problems. Then I looked for a way to improve it. At the beginning I wasn't so optimistic. But when I have installed your plugin and component. Wow! It improved my site loading about 3-4 times.
The happiness didn't last so much because when I visited the articles, upon first loading everything was OK. But when I visited the same link for the second time, the images was not appeared.
So I have googled and I have found the solution in joomla forums. The problem was caused by the SEF(because I was enabled it too).
So if anyone has image broken problem after installing this plugin and enabling SEF, Just go to "Plugin manager" and change the "ystem - SEF" order by clicking the up-arrow until it becomes the first system plugin.
This worked for me and I'm so glad with the result.
Thank you again for this great job
Olg
2010-12-05
Reviews: 4
This extensions have enough tuning for cache management (and especially for exluding components from caching). Thanks for this useful extensions.
2010-11-20
Reviews: 4
This is a first class extension and the best option for page caching that I have found
The developer has done a great job of providing a really viable solution. The ability to exclude certain module positions as non cached gives the best of both worlds - fast pages and dynamic modules. Added to this, you can also exclude specific components making this a very flexible extension
2010-10-28
Reviews: 1
It's really a kind of excelent caching plugin I've been looking for. JotCache has improved performance of my site from 5 to 10 times just out of the box. Thank you very much!

Everything works fine until you press refresh button in your browser looking at an article - all thubnails vanish...
Owner's reply

I was looking on your web site and I found everything working inclusive thumbnials. Maybe you started initial with JotCache caching without clearing the old cached content. When you have more additional informations please do not hesitate and contact me via http://www.kanich.net/radio/site/contact.

2010-10-23
Reviews: 9
This is a very useful extension if you care about your visitors. Needs only few minutes to configure the template and the component, but it will bring some positive result for your site.

However, I could not use it on sites with utf8-bin. Chararters became alien alphabets.
2010-10-22
Reviews: 1
Installed this yesterday and, after a couple of issues I managed to sort out with Vlado, it's working perfectly and the site is now incredibly quick to load.

Things to note for version 1.2:
-Module names can only contain a-z, A-Z or 0-9 (next release will have this fixed)
-Virtuemart must have all instances of "$mosConfig_live_site" replaced with "JURI :: base()" when used with sh404SEF and JotCache
-Plugin order is important, things like JCH Optimise (which strip out the HTML comment tag) should be placed in order AFTER JotCache or module exclusions will not work.
-Make sure to clear all site and browser caches and enable the debug cookie (mark) if things don't look right!
2010-10-09
Reviews: 2
If you want or need full control over what on your site is cahced and what isn't, then this is what you are looking for. The site I used this on went from load times between 6.85 and 10+ seconds to between 2.72 and 5.33 seconds. This site is a virtuemart site with a ton of graphics and I couldn't cache it with the stock Joomla! caching system because it was caching my shopping cart and causing all kinds of problems. After working with Vlado (he did all the work) I can now cache everything but the cart and cart module position meaning that my site screams and the cart is always correct. Honestly, this should really be the standard for Joomla!'s caching system because it allows you cache everything except what you really can't or don't want to.

Awesome job Vlado!
2010-09-07
Reviews: 14
The absolute best component and plugin dedicated to the cache site, it works perfectly and is very fast and reliable service. My site is now loading speed and certainly not from any problem.
Compliments
2010-08-02
Reviews: 2
Hello!

A really great module, really. But there's one problem which makes it painful to use, when you have different login modules.

You can't exclude specific module with the instruction for JotCache, you can only disable all "left" and all "right" modules. Etc.

I have jFusion login module on "right" position, and on other pages on "left" position. I must exclude them, because caching makes people log off after cache expires (each 15 minutes!), and when we try to log-in, "Invalid Token" message appears. No wonder, as login (and register!) modules MUSN'T be cached.

Is there a way to exclude only 1 module on the "left" and 1 module on the "right"? I can't figure it out, but we need it urgently. You can check the problem on our site: (www)ddopl(com).

I'd be VERY grateful for easy solution! Otherwise, we can't use JotCache...
Owner's reply

I looked on your website. The easiest way is here to exclude both "left" and "right" positions from caching. Then all modules on these positions are not cached. When you like to cache all others moduls but exclude only Login module from catching then split your template on more positions on left as well as right side (on your web site - left1,left2,left3,right1,right2,right3) and assign Login module to left2 respectively right2 positions. For left2 and right2 use jot marking tags

Page 3 of 4