The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCH Optimize Popular Plugin

Speed up your Joomla! website instantly with JCH Optimize. This plugin combines your external JavaScript and CSS files into one to minimize expensive http requests. These files can be minified and gzipped to reduce bandwidth and further optimize download time. Typical results after plugin is configured with optimum settings for your site is a 6-10 point jump on Page Speed. This results in enhanced user experience and can favourably affect website traffic and Google ranking.

Major Features

- Combine javascript/css files into one
- Combine background images in a sprite
- Minify (Compress) and gzip aggregated files
- Exclude individual files or files from extensions that do not aggregate well
- Can defer javascript or place at end of page for optimized download

Changelog

4.1.2
- Option added to maintain the execution order of files to reduce conflicts
- Improved cache handling to reduce the size of cache on some sites
- CSS Minify now supports font-family name with multiple words that are unquoted
- Other improvements and bug fixes

Report Extension

 

 

2012-05-29
Reviews: 2
I just installed it, and the improving of the load time was so notorious!

I did setup all the options to yes, except "Defer javascript" and "Replace @import" and the improve was around the 50%,

congratulations guys for this Plugin!
AND ITS FREE!
2012-04-08
Reviews: 2
Without any tweaking the out of the box settings cut my load speed in 1/2. Very impressive, this was a site that was very problematic for me attempting manual changes. I am working it in my other sites now!
2012-03-21
Reviews: 2
I'm a non-technical person, and had many fears about trying to optimize my site. This extension could not be more user friendly and easy to use. I have been able to use everything but the sprites, so far. When I have more time, I hope to get that worked out, as well.
So far, my site has gone from a C rating to an A. Thanks for a great contribution.
2012-03-21
Reviews: 3
This little plugin is fantastic, and fully deserving of 5 stars. My site has sped up a huge amount since installing it. The sprites function wasn't working for me a few days ago so I just left it off, but I checked the support forum today and the problem's been FIXED - so if you find something's not quite working check the support forum, because quite likely someone else has experienced the same issue and there is a fix available. I back this plugin 100%, I think it should go commercial because it's that good I'd pay for it (twice!) Great work developer!!
2012-03-19
Reviews: 2
Why no Six Star rating available for this extension? My heart was in my stomach, I could barely get anything to load, front or back end. I knew it was my fault - way too many bells and whistles loaded, but I didn't know which one(s) to eliminate. As a last ditch effort, I loaded this bell - this whistle - and WHAM!!! My site was on fire! I did nothing but INSTALL! I didn't configure a thing, it worked right out of the box. I know I have stuff to fix, but this extension SAVED ME! THANK YOU!!!
2012-03-09
Reviews: 2
Hi, the plugin is certainly the best of it's type, everything is good but i meet just one problem.

When i use the combine javascript and want to put all the javascript to the tag, the script didn't apply this rule for the javascript in page, then it do errors for somes.

One thing of this good plugin its to have the possibility to class by customized order the javascript, but with the problem mentionned above we loose the capacity to have an perfect perfect plugin.

If the owner of the plugin can read this and add two options as:

- Keep order (for javascript) in this case we dont have to customize the order if we want to keep the same order as by default

- Take the inline javascript to the after the combined js with jch

I want to add that this plugin is really the best i tried, and i tried a lot, and somtimes i payed for :). I wiil pay for those two options :) thanks a lot
2012-02-14
Reviews: 3
Hello,

First I want to congratulate for the excellent tool, the results in the loading speed of pages has been impressive, my system is Joomla 2.5.

Only I could not use the "sprite generator", when active shows the following error message in the "Front End":

Fatal error: __clone method called on non-object in /home/xxxxxx/public_html/plugins/system/jch_optimize/jch_optimize.php on line 651

Best Regards,

Fernando
Owner's reply

Oops..looked like I introduced a bug in the last release (2.0.1)..sorry about that. If you remove the 'clone' keyword from line 651 on jch_optimize.php it should work OK. Gonna try and make another release soon.

2012-02-08
Reviews: 1
I've been working with Joomla for about 2 years now as a web developer and recently built out, what turned out to be, a rather slow site. Google Analytics was reporting average page load times of 7 seconds...

Knowing that there were cache issues with v1.5 -- I did some searching and found this plug-in. Installed and started flipping the options on.

The site now loads pages on average in under 1 second. It's magical. A 7X IMPROVEMENT

What an awesome extension.

Thank you JCH Optimize!
2012-02-03
Reviews: 2
I've been using joomla and building sites for Clients for 3 years. Now doing a magazine type blog and page load speed was a top priority. I tried SEO techniques, combining my CSS, manually editing the templates to have javascript defered but all proved just not good enough.

Tried JCH, and wow!!! WOW!!! At first site went off and had to get my browser dns and got hosting staff to clear server dns, then started to add settings one at a time.

Am now down to 0.43 secs from initially 18secs!!!

I give this plugin a No. 1 rating in joomla 'To haves'

Thanks to the developer
2012-01-27
Reviews: 2
It didn't work for me. I followed their directions in setting it up and addressed all of the possible problems mentioned. I tested a before and after with three different site performance sites.

There was a zero improvement in page speed and zero reduction in HTTP requests. I did contact support, but there was no reply.
2012-01-26
Reviews: 3
This is an important issue with this plugin. When intsalled a number of users have reported that the JCE editor stops displaying tollbar rendering content editing impossible. The support group of this plugin have accepted a ticket relating to the problem but at the time of posting this review the problem has not been solved.
Owner's reply

Works for me when I set the option 'Position combined file' to 'First found javascript tag'

2011-12-24
Reviews: 6
Working perfect, easy to instal and configure.Great 10X to develper
2011-12-18
Reviews: 7
Significantly improves the loading speed of your website!
2011-12-05
Reviews: 15
I'm so happy. My site was sooo slow. And now it loads so much faster. Yay. Thank you for this superb extension. Very satisfied. :)
2011-11-15
Reviews: 4
Installed JHC optimize to my joomla site and really improved the site's performance, tested also with gtmetrix.com. Sigplus photo gallery extension does not work with "Combine JavaScript Files" enabled, needs manual exclusion of sigplus' js files. I will do it when i have time. Congratulations for this useful extension!
2011-11-15
Reviews: 6
My site was taken 28-30 seconds according to a site performance website. But after installing and tinkering around with the plugin, the loading time was reduced to 9 seconds. For some other sites of my mine which are not that heavy it has come down to a mere 3 seconds!

This product is magical! This product absolutely has no cons and is very flexible in terms of which files to include and not include.

Although I find that I still have 5 css files, which should be combined to 1. I am sure I will figure it out soon!

My recommendation is to definitely install this!
2011-11-14
Reviews: 106
Excellent extension! I am very impressed. I was worried that it would conflict with javascripts and such which for the first few seconds it did. Then I found a option for disabling combining javascripts which fixed the problem instantly! This extension was more simple but highly functional that I had anticipated. This certainly sped up my site as it said it would. Tested it with internet explorer too which works just fine for viewing.
Thank you for this nice extension!
2011-11-10
Reviews: 1
I've been using JCG Optimize in joomla 1.5 with a great success, now also in joomla 1.7!!
2011-10-02
Reviews: 2
I recently redid our site which was pretty extensive on graphics+css. Needless to say, the avg reported load time on various load testing sites was anywhere from 14 to 18seconds! Unacceptable. I decided to try out JCH-Optimize and after a couple of days of tweaking it brought us down to sub 5 seconds which is incredible for our site!

JCH-Optimize is an app people normally would pay huge sums of money for, and even if it does end up commercial some day, I would still rank this in the top of required apps to have!

Get it today!
2011-09-09
Reviews: 14
What can I say this extension is great.
I used gtmetrix.com
to benchmark my site all my joomla sites was D-grade and between 7-12secs

Install the plugin for my version of Joomla. click one of the radio buttons to yes, test the site and benchmark. It is as easy as that.

Oh, unsure but I got it down to 4 secs then went to global config, clicked yes for GZIP and cache for site benched marked downed to 3secs.

I then went back to plugin clicked GZIP to yes benched marked down to 2 secs.

All my sites are now between 2-4 secs, I did not think it was possible with Joolma.

Now does this come as non-joomla as I do have 2 sites that seriously needs tobe optimised.

Fantastic, great will done on this plugin.
Page 5 of 8