The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCH Optimize Popular Plugin

Speed up your Joomla! website instantly with JCH Optimize. This plugin combines your external JavaScript and CSS files into one to minimize expensive http requests. These files can be minified and gzipped to reduce bandwidth and further optimize download time. Typical results after plugin is configured with optimum settings for your site is a 6-10 point jump on Page Speed. This results in enhanced user experience and can favourably affect website traffic and Google ranking.

Major Features

- Combine javascript/css files into one
- Combine background images in a sprite
- Minify (Compress) and gzip aggregated files
- Exclude individual files or files from extensions that do not aggregate well
- Can defer javascript or place at end of page for optimized download

There's a pro version for purchase on the plugin's site that provides more features in optimizing your site. Some additional features are:

- CDN/Cookie-less domain support
- Optimize CSS Delivery
- Optimize images

Support is available for subscribers via a ticket system. Please note the ticket system is offline on weekends.


Changelog

4.1.4
- Fixed issue with plugin not running on some site with outdated PCRE library.
- Improvements and bug fixes in the Sprite Generator
- Size of images in sprite restricted to 50px X 50px
- Improvements in the minification libraries
- Fixed link to update stream no on https to enable Joomla! automatic update

Report Extension

 

 

2011-10-02
Reviews: 2
I recently redid our site which was pretty extensive on graphics+css. Needless to say, the avg reported load time on various load testing sites was anywhere from 14 to 18seconds! Unacceptable. I decided to try out JCH-Optimize and after a couple of days of tweaking it brought us down to sub 5 seconds which is incredible for our site!

JCH-Optimize is an app people normally would pay huge sums of money for, and even if it does end up commercial some day, I would still rank this in the top of required apps to have!

Get it today!
2011-09-09
Reviews: 14
What can I say this extension is great.
I used gtmetrix.com
to benchmark my site all my joomla sites was D-grade and between 7-12secs

Install the plugin for my version of Joomla. click one of the radio buttons to yes, test the site and benchmark. It is as easy as that.

Oh, unsure but I got it down to 4 secs then went to global config, clicked yes for GZIP and cache for site benched marked downed to 3secs.

I then went back to plugin clicked GZIP to yes benched marked down to 2 secs.

All my sites are now between 2-4 secs, I did not think it was possible with Joolma.

Now does this come as non-joomla as I do have 2 sites that seriously needs tobe optimised.

Fantastic, great will done on this plugin.
2011-09-08
Reviews: 20
WOW! I tried a bunch of things, including caching and a few other techniques out there. This plugin had me go from a D to a B within a few tries in optimizing.

Simply put, AWESOME!!!
2011-08-19
Reviews: 2
After 5 years of developing websites based on Joomla! CMS, after thousands and thousands hours wasted to SEO, SEF and code optimisation, after tested and used all major Joomla! extension and thousands those less important, I have right to say that JCH Optimizer is ONE OF TOP 5 Joomla! extension. Just for record, ySlow grade on some of my sites where I had need to install and use that kind of extension is dramatically jumps up from grade "E" and to "A" and "B".
2011-07-18
Reviews: 16
I've tried all of the site performance plugins and this one definitely works the best for me. I would give it 5 stars if I could get the css minify to work on one of sites, which is extremely complex. Great work!
2011-07-14
Reviews: 6
Just installed the plugin on a J1.6 site and the speed increase was drastic.

Don't wait install now!
2011-07-13
Reviews: 29
If your template dose not have any compression plugin, that this is the best way to solve problem with optimization of CSS and JS. It is better way to minify and compress files than do this manually, because you have still clear code for development. It can significantly reduce page loading time.
2011-06-07
Reviews: 2
This plugin is great, but I think it consumes a lot of CPU resources. For those running their web on a shared server, this might not be the best option.

But for those running on a dedicated or high performance server, this plugin is a must.
2011-05-29
Reviews: 3
I think the idea is great, but when I installed my js image slider stopped working. When I disabled js optimization, my forms page was still messed up (visually), so I started disabling one option after another. The form starting working only after I disabled the plug-in.
2011-04-13
Reviews: 2
This is very good non-commercial plugin!
I'm used WeboSiteSpeedUp before and I can say, that JCH Optimize is beautiful non-commercial plugin. I feel that my project it-electronics.com.ua run up quickly. I'm tested it by pingdom and take good result.
2011-04-12
Reviews: 6
This plugin gives an abundance of features that can be used on a site-by-site basis to maximize speed while ensuring stability. Really well down.
2011-04-05
Reviews: 6
I couldn't be happier...

I tried enabling every option.. I use Yoothemes, Rocketthemes, etc and the only thing I had to turn off where the CSS Sprites in one of my Yoothemes, but my load time was still dramatically reduced. Can't wait to apply this to the rest of my sites. Thanks!
2011-02-19
Reviews: 1
You probably get most out of this plugin if You use any "sophisticated" joomla template, that has those cool features like slideshows, typografy, ... or other features that require scripting or a lot of css.

+ Installation: just use joomla installer
+ Configuration: there are 20+ options, but don't be scared - most are on/off options, with explanations that any joomla administrator will understand.
+ Speed gain: tested my site with 5 different web page analysis tool: after installing this plugin all showed *at least moderate* gain in page speed. In my case both number of CSS and Script files was reduced, also CSS and scipt size. Total bytes loaded was cut 30% with my site. Most importantly this plugin seemed to get rid of ALL css-derived images (mostly from typography) that were not needed on the tested page. Result: http requests were cut down 90%!

Did not find any Cons really. So no reason why You sholdn't give it a try.
2011-02-13
Reviews: 6
After trying a few other similar extensions, this one works the best and gives the most options!
2010-12-22
Reviews: 2
Thank you very much !
Easy installation and visible improvement in seconds !

Keep up the good work.
2010-12-13
Reviews: 3
This is the first performance-improving plugin I found that actually works for my template. Anything else that I tried resulted in an error.

The flexibility in placing the compressed javascript code is a key feature that makes this plugin unique.

It is a pity, however, that the sprite generator does not seem to be working.

Nevertheless, I wholeheartedly recommend this plugin.
2010-11-04
Reviews: 4
thank you for your great job!
Only the sprite generator isn't working for me everything else is working just perfect!
I'm using it on all my sites ... thanks :)
2010-10-20
Reviews: 3
Definitely improved my site performance. I went from an F to a C in YSlow analysis.

The sprite generator did not work well for me on my site. It only found a single image and that image ended up having black artefacts in it.

A feature I would like to see added is a "Development" mode that shows you what actions were taken, what the compression values were including percentage saving. The JFinalizer plugin has this capability and it is really easy to tell whether things are working and what they are doing.
2010-10-12
Reviews: 2
Just a quick note to say thanks for this extension, it does exactly what it says on the tin!

I spent the day testing out all of the minifier plugins/extensions listed here and this was the ONLY one that pruduced results worthy of any note. The main goal for my client was to reduce the load time of their page. Using JCH Optimize reduced the page load time by a staggering 50% :)

JCH is a breeze to set up, has plenty of options (even for the advanced user) and so far I can't fault it.

Highly recommended!!

Waseem
2010-09-21
Reviews: 4
I have had great success with this plugin. It does what it is supposed to do, and strikes a good balance of ease of use vs flexibility&transparency.

As usual with performance optimization, it pays to take some time to work with the plugin. Out of the box it will give some improvements. But the biggest gains are seen from setting other options, and making the small, site specific changes to ensure everything still runs smoothly.

With everything configured, big jumps in PageSpeed and YSlow scores are easy to see over unoptimized sites. And of course, precious seconds off your measured real-world download speeds.

Consider setting this one up on any production Joomla site. It is unglamorous, but there aren't many things you can do with half an hour that will make such a worthwhile difference in the long run.
Page 6 of 8