The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


JCH Optimize Popular Plugin

Speed up your Joomla! website instantly with JCH Optimize. This plugin combines your external JavaScript and CSS files into one to minimize expensive http requests. These files can be minified and gzipped to reduce bandwidth and further optimize download time. Typical results after plugin is configured with optimum settings for your site is a 6-10 point jump on Page Speed. This results in enhanced user experience and can favourably affect website traffic and Google ranking.

Major Features

- Combine javascript/css files into one
- Combine background images in a sprite
- Minify (Compress) and gzip aggregated files
- Exclude individual files or files from extensions that do not aggregate well
- Can defer javascript or place at end of page for optimized download

Changelog

4.0.3
- Fixed PHP warnings when either Combine Js/CSS is disabled
- Add ability to add items to multi-select exclude options
- Improved support for popular editors
- Significantly improved the 'Optimize CSS Delivery' option
- If 'url rewriting' is set on auto (default), plugin will detect support and automatically select Yes or No so this check is not made on every download
- Scripts with 'document.write' will only be excluded by default if they are in the body of the page.
- Other minor improvements

Report Extension

 

 

2010-08-18
Reviews: 3
man, it's a considerable improvement of performance of site. Really great job!
2010-08-05
Reviews: 1
This is one of the best joomla extension available, it's a must have for seo: firebug and I love it! :)
2010-07-16
Reviews: 20
First I wanna say that it does exactly what it says... unless you're using Internet Explorer. I don't, of course. But the majority of my users do. I have a ticker trying to get them to go to Firefox or Opera.
Anyway, when activated, it disrupts the javascript of of some elements. For example, my Joomlaworks "All Videos" and "Tabs and Slides" don't work. When disabled, they work fine. Like I said, this is only in Internet Explorer. In Firefox, Opera, Chrome and Safari, it works fine. I changed each option one by one but it made no difference. The only thing that helped was to disable it.

Unfortunately, because of the existence of Internet Explorer, I had to remove it. Even though I totally hate IE, it's still the most popular browser.

So to sum it up: this is a problem with Internet Explorer and not the plugin's fault. But others I've used are compatible with IE... so I really don't know where the bug lies. Either way, it does what it says in Firefox, so I still give it 5 stars.
2010-07-16
Reviews: 2
This is simply one of the best joomla plugins you can have. Should make any site run significantly faster in just a few minutes set up time. Just make sure to publish it last amongst your system plugins (2nd to last if you are using the cache plugin) to maximize the results.
2010-07-13
Reviews: 2
Definitely put this in the Joomla Core! This thing rocks. No reason not to have this on every Joomla! install.
2010-07-07
Reviews: 2
I tested first time but I don't put much attention to the settings so broke my menu.

I installed again and I played a little with plugin setting ( I exclude from js compress the mootools.js and menu.js) and it work. GREAAAATTTTT.

I must say that i tryed all ather plugins and this is in the end much much better. Tanks.
Owner's reply

Before excluding individual files, try experimenting with the various options for positioning the combined JavaScript file.

2010-06-29
Reviews: 4
Very easy to setup. This extension should be a part of the Joomla core; install it with every Joomla installation.
2010-06-29
Reviews: 1
The best extension for js css compression. It is much better than compression using mod_gzip or mod_deflate in apache 1.3/2.2. Must have.
2010-06-28
Reviews: 17
Easy to install and super easy setup.

I selected yes to all the first parameters except for minify HTML and my website climbed 8 points in the firebug page speed tab.

Phoca gallery users: I had a small issue with my modal popup box view on phoca gallery but solved it by adding mootools.js in the "Exclude JavaScript Files box" in the JCH Optimize plugin parameters.
2010-06-21
Reviews: 2
Installs and performs perfectly. Raised a clients score by nearly 10 points. Originally site was just under nearest competitor and now a full 8 speed point ahead.

Terrific job, wish all components worked this well.
2010-06-12
Reviews: 2
I worry about script conflict and am glad this plugin works almost perfectly. Everything works as described. I just have problem getting CK editor to appear in ListBingo.

Together this plugin and smartoptimerz script (and instructions from here: http://forum.joomla.org/viewtopic.php?f=433&t=343940 ), my website got a major speed boost.



Thank you.
Owner's reply

Better support for editors included in latest release

2010-06-05
Reviews: 3
I was relying on YooTheme's built-in gzip compression but decided to give JCH Optimize a try. Well the results are very impressive. It dropped my webwait.com average load time from 1.8 seconds to 0.5

So impressed, I just donated to the project.
Owner's reply

Thank you. Much appreciated.

2010-06-04
Reviews: 1
Was pretty easy to setup, had to exclude some js/css to get it working. @import support in css would be fab apart from that well worth using!
Owner's reply

@import support now included as of version 1.2.0

2010-06-02
Reviews: 1
The plugin works as it should, it allows you to specify basic options and exclude certain files if you want to enable all options and spend the time to completely optimize your site.

Well written, well developed.
2010-05-25
Reviews: 4
Seems to work straight away - just selected what to include (css, js, whether to put js at bottom of page etc.) enable and refresh: saw an immediate 9 point jump in both Pagespeed and Yslow scores. Haven't measured actual speed or investigated the code but looks pretty good to me!
2010-05-14
Reviews: 2
Make sure you publish Last when enabling the plugin, then I had no problems
2010-05-11
Reviews: 1
This plugin is awesome it works for me when i disabled the joomla system cache plugin . wonderful work
Owner's reply

Make sure this plugin is listed before cache in Plugin Manager. Clean your page cache and try again.

2010-05-11
Reviews: 1
This plugin is the best around in my opinion I have tried the rest including Jfinalizer and found they broke the CSS of my site and other functions.

This plugin however functions flawlessly and has significantly reduced my site load speed.

Recommended addition to all joomla sites
2010-05-03
Reviews: 1
I love this extension. It worked out of the box where others failed before. Great work, keep it up!
2010-04-30
Reviews: 8
This extensions it rock and excellent, its make my site load and running faster.
Keep work guys
Page 7 of 8