The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


DOCman Popular ComponentModulePlugin

DOCman is a powerful document management solution for Joomla 1.5, 2.5 and 3.x Manage documents across categories and subcategories, allow users to upload, download or edit documents. Store documents either locally or remotely and prevent direct linking using our build-in anti-leech system.

All from within an intuitive and simple to use administration interface. DOCman makes offering downloadable documents on your Joomla site a breeze!

Key Features
-----------------

» Documents Listing. Easily create a list a downloadable documents for your site users using the build in list and table layouts.

» Nested categories. Documents can be organized across infinite categories and subcategories.

» Easy Document Linking. Easily insert links to documents into articles using the DOClink editor plugin, you can even insert links to categories and menu items.

» Joomla ACL support. DOCman makes full use of the Joomla permission system. You can set add, edit, delete, upload and download permissions for categories and documents.

» Access Level Inheritance. You do not need to set access permissions for each document and/or category. Access levels are inherited. This makes managing your access permissions a lot easier.

» Remote or Local Storage. Files can either be hosted locally or you can easily link to files stored on a remote server or external network drive.

» Drag & Drop Upload. You can upload multiple files at once or upload remote files from a URL. The file uploader has a built-in drag and drop area.

» Large file support. DOCman is capable of handling very large files (> 1GB). It can automatically resume interrupted downloads.

» Thumbnail Support. Generates thumbnails for every image, cache them and loading them all at once. Saves bandwidth and computing power.

» Internationalized. Full support for international filenames and folder names running on Joomla. Your files can now be named in your own language without any worries.

» Security. The built-in security measures avoid direct linking to files. Real paths to files are never displayed to users.

» Download Logging. Log downloads from logged in by time/date and track IP address, through our LOGman extension.

» Google Analytics. Keep track of document downloads and image views with our build in support for Google Analytics.

» Document Submissions. Use DOCman to setup a file dropbox from the frontend of your site.

» Video streaming. DOCman has build in support for video and audio streaming.

» Document preview. DOCman leverages the PDF reading support in modern browsers and includes support for Google Document Viewer.

» Integrated Search. Documents can be searched by name and/or description. The search system integrates with Joomla standard search using an optional Plugin.

DOCman has everything packed to get you covered even for your toughest document management needs. Our dedicated support team is standing by to help you with all you questions.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-01-13
Reviews: 1
Docman was the missing link in making my online business easy and simple for both clients and myself. It's an amazing simple and intuitive package and has never failed me in the years I have been using it. I can not recommend this highly enough. Excellent service and support from a great team. Thanks
2013-01-11
Reviews: 1
Great extension and fantastic prompt support if needed.
2012-12-24
Reviews: 3
I can attest to the fact that DOCman is a very good and easy to use extension. We have a website with over 10.000 PDF files which are managed by DOCman. You hardly need support but when you need it they really make an effort to help you out. Thank you for this Super extension!
2012-12-13
Reviews: 2
I've been using Docman for years and have always found that it just works. In updating my site from 1.5 to 2.5 I had a problem. I got a solution in no time at all. The only problem was I didn't know who to do want need to be done. I'm a musician not a MySQL expert! Anyway they sorted it all out for me in no time. Can't ask for any more than that. Thank you for a great extension and your kind help.
2012-11-28
Reviews: 1
Just installed last night. Took no time to setup. Very configurable. Had to tweak default CSS to avoid table expanding beyond my Joomla template content area. Added width: 98% to both the dm_cats and dm_docs properties. This was done all in the backend without the need to manually alter files via ftp as other products need. Support was also great in responding to my questions about user permissions. Well worth the $69 subscription.

Thanks DOCman!
2012-11-28
Reviews: 1
Hi, we are using Docman component for some years now, it is a great component, easy to use and trouble free. I'd like to thank the support team especially Johan for solving me a problem which had to do with one of my rest of my components which created me a serious malfunction.
2012-11-22
Reviews: 8
I had to use DOCman 2.00 as 1.6 didn't allow use of Joomla Groups in permissions. The ACL in 2.0 is amazing, so powerful but intuitive and the config is so easy.
I had some issues with my host configs which DOCman support talked me through; the support was simply excellent.
So well done folks!
2012-11-19
Reviews: 1
I have used DocMan at several companies now and find the product excellent and easy to use. I highly recommend this product to any company
2012-11-14
Reviews: 3
I have been a long time DocMan user from my first 1.5 site until today. I have used it in a variety of different sites and different needs. It just work! Its easy to modify to fit your needs and the support is out of this world. Faster and more knowledgeable support than some high end technology companies. This is a MUST for anyone needing a top of the line Document Management solution in their Joomla site.
2012-11-08
Reviews: 1
I have been using Docman for a couple of years now and it has always just worked. Easy to instal and easy to use, solves the task I need it to solve.
When I upgraded to Joomla 2.5 I ran into some errors, headed over to the support forum and got answer within the day that they would look at my files and the day after I had a solution. Good support and a good app.
2012-11-07
Reviews: 1
Thanks for the prompt replies to our questions, I dont normally use commercial extensions but can now understand that without support most of these modules are useless so the few dollars that we paid for this extension and the support that came with it where well worth the spend plus more. All the best with the extension and I highly recommend Joomlatools (Docman) as a trusted module provider.
2012-11-04
Reviews: 5
I'm using docman since 2008, first on a Joomla 1.5 site, now under Joomla 2.5.
This component does all a file managment has to do - and it does it sure, safe and comfortably.
In all those years I had only one single problem - and the support was great and quickly.
Now I'm awating DocMan 2.0.
2012-11-02
Reviews: 1
I'll keep this short. Our organization has been working to find a good document management and file download system for a long time. We began to use DocMan 1.6 and found that it "almost" had what we wanted, but there were just a few limitations that we could not live with given the size of our implementation. Enter ... DocMan 2.0.

I installed DocMan 2.0 and was immediately relieved to see multiple folders/subfolders for files and images. Drag & Drop, SEF urls to documents and a simplified interface.

There's not a lot of documentation available as it is still in Beta, so i've had to ask support for some help. You've probably read about it before, but DocMan support is phenomenal. I had answers to three questions in less time with the DocMan team than I've had with a single question anywhere else.

DocMan 2.0 will only get better. I'm so impressed with it so far that I'm considering moving to it in our production environment even though it is in Beta. I know installing beta software for use in a production environments is a no-no, but in our case, we have no other viable options that work like DocMan 2.0 does, so we're taking the plunge. We'll keep you posted.

Great job JoomlaTools on both the product and support!
2012-10-26
Reviews: 4
I've been using Docman for some years now and it's the one I'll probably be using for a long time in the future.

When I had problems after a complicated migration of a large site with thousands of files, the support was there to help me get out of trouble.

I'm eagerly waiting for the 2.0 version. Go, guys, go!
2012-10-25
Reviews: 1
I use DocMan since version 1.5
I tried today the version 2.0 (beta) .. good job!
Also the support is excellent.
2012-10-15
Reviews: 1
I am using DocMan for 3 years now. It is easy to administrate and you have the opportunity to use access privileges. The support helpes me to solve an problem in a few minutes despite weekend.
2012-09-20
Reviews: 2
I have used Docman for a number of years now. First I used the old free edition and have since payed for the newer 1.6.6 edition which is well worth the money.

It is easy to use from both the front end of the site and the backend too.

I had an issue recently which I asked the developers about and they were very quick to help out and resolve the issue (which was actually a problem with the joomla folders and not the extension)

Highly recommend
2012-09-07
Reviews: 2
I just installed Docman on my website and it does all it says. I had previously used phocadownloads and while good it didnt have all the functionality i needed. especially in the front end. This is money well spent. The support is fantastic as they answer all questions very quickly.
2012-09-06
Reviews: 7
I've been using DOCman since version 1.4 on a Joomla 1.0 site. Now I have 1.6.6 on Joomla 2.5, and it is well worth the price. We have over 23,000 files that our users have uploaded, and DOCman handles it without problems. It was so easy to write a FAQ for our users to show them how to upload a file and create a DOCman document.
Johan has been so helpful with a few issues that have come up. Excellent customer service.
2012-08-18
Reviews: 1
The value of this component is not just in its features and functions, but in an unparalleled level of follow-up support. Highly recommended!
Page 3 of 6