The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


DOCman Popular ComponentModulePlugin

DOCman is a powerful document management solution for Joomla 2.5 and 3.x Manage documents across categories and subcategories, allow users to upload, download or edit documents. Store documents either locally or remotely and give access to individual users or user groups using the powerful permission system.

All from within an intuitive and simple to use administration interface. DOCman makes offering downloadable documents on your Joomla site a breeze!

Key Features
-----------------

» Documents Listing. Easily create a list of downloadable documents for your site users using the build-in list and table layouts.

» Nested categories. Documents can be organized across infinite categories and subcategories.

» Easy Document Linking. Easily insert links to documents into articles using the DOClink editor plugin, you can even insert links to categories and menu items.

» Private documents. DOCman allows to share documents privately and securely with individual users using the build-in document ownership permissions.

» Joomla ACL support. DOCman makes full use of the Joomla permission system. You can set add, edit, delete, upload and download permissions for categories and documents.

» Access Level Inheritance. You do not need to set access permissions for each document and/or category. Access levels are inherited. This makes managing your access permissions a lot easier.

» Remote or Local Storage. Files can either be hosted locally or you can easily link to files stored on a remote server or external network drive.

» Drag & Drop Upload. You can upload multiple files at once or upload remote files from a URL. The file uploader has a built-in drag and drop area.

» Large file support. DOCman is capable of handling very large files (> 1GB). It can automatically resume interrupted downloads.

» Thumbnail Support. Generates thumbnails for every image, cache them and loading them all at once. Saves bandwidth and computing power.

» Internationalised. Full support for international filenames and folder names running on Joomla. Your files can now be named in your own language without any worries.

» Security. The built-in security measures avoid direct linking to files. Real paths to files are never displayed to users.

» Download Logging. Log downloads from logged in by time/date and track IP address, through our LOGman extension.

» Google Analytics. Keep track of document downloads and image views with our build-in support for Google Analytics.

» Document Submissions. Use DOCman to setup a file dropbox from the frontend of your site.

» Video streaming. DOCman has build in support for video and audio streaming.

» Document preview. DOCman leverages the PDF reading support in modern browsers and includes support for Google Document Viewer.

» Integrated Search. Documents can be searched by name and/or description. The search system integrates with Joomla standard search and smart search out of the box.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-05-31
Reviews: 1
I've been using this extension for several years without any problems. Not only very useful features but also user-friendly and easy to use. I can say that the support team is also really great and reactive.
2013-05-18
Reviews: 4
((((- Statistics. You can display a download counter per document. All downloads are also being logged (by user, IP, browser, date and hour) to give you full overview of what is happening with your documents. ))))
Unfortunately does not work statistics in DOCman 2.0,otherwise I can say that is a very good extension.

Thanks.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. DOCman 2.0 includes support for Google Analytics, if you have Google Analytics on your site you can enable download tracking through the menu item settings.

We are also working on adding advanced logging support for downloads to our LOGman extension. This is planned for the next release.

2013-03-21
Reviews: 1
My review is based on my 6 month long experiences with DOCman 2 Alpha and Beta. I did not test the DOCman 1 software.
I am using DOCman 2 since the alpha for an internal company document sharing platform. I have to say that even for an alpha version, the software was rockstable. Since the release of the first alpha of DOCman 2, it made a very progress and looking at my DOCman 2 Beta 3 installation on my production site makes me smile. It just works. Some may say it is still a beta, and they are right. But what Joomlatools did with the DOCman 2 Beta is breathtaking in the Joomla world. You can feel what the developers are heading for. On the negative side, there are still a lot of core features missing. But DOCman 2 has the potential to set a new standard. Setting up and using the software, it feels a bit like a raw diamond – a lot potential.
On the technical side, even for beta software it is pretty flawless. The installation was super smooth. The updates come fast. New features are added almost monthly.
The best thing about DOCman 2 is by far the support. As a customer I never felt left alone. Support tickets are usually answered within 24hrs (by E-Mail and/or developers forum). The quality of the support definitely sets a new standard and is worth much more than the annual fee for the software. Another thing I experienced as a customer during the development of DOCman 2 is that the Joomlatools team is very open to user suggestions.
tl;dr: Joomlatools DOCman 2 Beta works very well, offers a lot of features, is easy to use and offers a new quality level of support. Kudos to Johan Janssens and his team for creating this wonderful piece of Joomla extension.
2013-03-15
Reviews: 3
Had a challenge since inside Joomla allready had setup several groups with limited access.Thanks to great support got it up and running.
2013-03-11
Reviews: 18
This extension gives you the most power undoubtedly for managing documents. There are a few extra steps to installing it, such as installing EXTman and making sure your database is set to mySQLi (at least we had to on our setup for the latest J!3 version). That was pretty much the only bummer, just doing those couple of steps. I did have a couple of other issues, but support was top notch. I tend to radically base my review rating off of support. It has been great so far.

Anyone looking to manage and offer any kind of documents, with complete control, should look at Docman
2013-03-10
Reviews: 3
This is the beste xtension for a download area on a website

The new 2.0 version of the extension is very very cool and makes easy my life as an administrator for a school with tons of study material uploaded and downloaded every day

The support is super fast and they are ready to help me in any issue also creating fixes as soon as i report a bug

I'll keep using this forever!
2013-03-03
Reviews: 1
We recently installed DocMAN and have found the product and the support from the team to be excellent. We implemented DocMAN beta 2 initially and have since upgraded to beta 3. Currently we have over 3500 documents running on our site with DocMAN and have found that most of our queries have been successfully addressed during the setup phase. Thank you to everyone at DocMAN. We look forward to the next release.
2013-01-31
Reviews: 2
I've been using DOCMAN for some time to manage my technical library. It's a fantastic component which I cannot recommend highly enough.

Recently I ported my site to Joomla 2.5 and had issues integrating DOCMAN since I had a legacy, non-standard file structure. The developer went overboard in helping me by uploading a new database, advising me on issues, etc. I couldn't have asked for better help. Even though I offered to pay him for his time he declined, saying that it was just part of the support they give to DOCMAN users.

Get this component. You won't be disappointed with either it or the support.
2013-01-13
Reviews: 1
Docman was the missing link in making my online business easy and simple for both clients and myself. It's an amazing simple and intuitive package and has never failed me in the years I have been using it. I can not recommend this highly enough. Excellent service and support from a great team. Thanks
2013-01-11
Reviews: 1
Great extension and fantastic prompt support if needed.
2012-12-24
Reviews: 3
I can attest to the fact that DOCman is a very good and easy to use extension. We have a website with over 10.000 PDF files which are managed by DOCman. You hardly need support but when you need it they really make an effort to help you out. Thank you for this Super extension!
2012-12-13
Reviews: 2
I've been using Docman for years and have always found that it just works. In updating my site from 1.5 to 2.5 I had a problem. I got a solution in no time at all. The only problem was I didn't know who to do want need to be done. I'm a musician not a MySQL expert! Anyway they sorted it all out for me in no time. Can't ask for any more than that. Thank you for a great extension and your kind help.
2012-11-28
Reviews: 1
Just installed last night. Took no time to setup. Very configurable. Had to tweak default CSS to avoid table expanding beyond my Joomla template content area. Added width: 98% to both the dm_cats and dm_docs properties. This was done all in the backend without the need to manually alter files via ftp as other products need. Support was also great in responding to my questions about user permissions. Well worth the $69 subscription.

Thanks DOCman!
2012-11-28
Reviews: 1
Hi, we are using Docman component for some years now, it is a great component, easy to use and trouble free. I'd like to thank the support team especially Johan for solving me a problem which had to do with one of my rest of my components which created me a serious malfunction.
2012-11-22
Reviews: 8
I had to use DOCman 2.00 as 1.6 didn't allow use of Joomla Groups in permissions. The ACL in 2.0 is amazing, so powerful but intuitive and the config is so easy.
I had some issues with my host configs which DOCman support talked me through; the support was simply excellent.
So well done folks!
2012-11-19
Reviews: 1
I have used DocMan at several companies now and find the product excellent and easy to use. I highly recommend this product to any company
2012-11-14
Reviews: 3
I have been a long time DocMan user from my first 1.5 site until today. I have used it in a variety of different sites and different needs. It just work! Its easy to modify to fit your needs and the support is out of this world. Faster and more knowledgeable support than some high end technology companies. This is a MUST for anyone needing a top of the line Document Management solution in their Joomla site.
2012-11-08
Reviews: 1
I have been using Docman for a couple of years now and it has always just worked. Easy to instal and easy to use, solves the task I need it to solve.
When I upgraded to Joomla 2.5 I ran into some errors, headed over to the support forum and got answer within the day that they would look at my files and the day after I had a solution. Good support and a good app.
2012-11-07
Reviews: 1
Thanks for the prompt replies to our questions, I dont normally use commercial extensions but can now understand that without support most of these modules are useless so the few dollars that we paid for this extension and the support that came with it where well worth the spend plus more. All the best with the extension and I highly recommend Joomlatools (Docman) as a trusted module provider.
2012-11-04
Reviews: 5
I'm using docman since 2008, first on a Joomla 1.5 site, now under Joomla 2.5.
This component does all a file managment has to do - and it does it sure, safe and comfortably.
In all those years I had only one single problem - and the support was great and quickly.
Now I'm awating DocMan 2.0.
Page 3 of 6