The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


DOCman Popular ComponentModulePlugin

DOCman is a powerful document management solution for Joomla 1.5, 2.5 and 3.x Manage documents across categories and subcategories, allow users to upload, download or edit documents. Store documents either locally or remotely and prevent direct linking using our build-in anti-leech system.

All from within an intuitive and simple to use administration interface. DOCman makes offering downloadable documents on your Joomla site a breeze!

Key Features
-----------------

» Documents Listing. Easily create a list a downloadable documents for your site users using the build in list and table layouts.

» Nested categories. Documents can be organized across infinite categories and subcategories.

» Easy Document Linking. Easily insert links to documents into articles using the DOClink editor plugin, you can even insert links to categories and menu items.

» Joomla ACL support. DOCman makes full use of the Joomla permission system. You can set add, edit, delete, upload and download permissions for categories and documents.

» Access Level Inheritance. You do not need to set access permissions for each document and/or category. Access levels are inherited. This makes managing your access permissions a lot easier.

» Remote or Local Storage. Files can either be hosted locally or you can easily link to files stored on a remote server or external network drive.

» Drag & Drop Upload. You can upload multiple files at once or upload remote files from a URL. The file uploader has a built-in drag and drop area.

» Large file support. DOCman is capable of handling very large files (> 1GB). It can automatically resume interrupted downloads.

» Thumbnail Support. Generates thumbnails for every image, cache them and loading them all at once. Saves bandwidth and computing power.

» Internationalized. Full support for international filenames and folder names running on Joomla. Your files can now be named in your own language without any worries.

» Security. The built-in security measures avoid direct linking to files. Real paths to files are never displayed to users.

» Download Logging. Log downloads from logged in by time/date and track IP address, through our LOGman extension.

» Google Analytics. Keep track of document downloads and image views with our build in support for Google Analytics.

» Document Submissions. Use DOCman to setup a file dropbox from the frontend of your site.

» Video streaming. DOCman has build in support for video and audio streaming.

» Document preview. DOCman leverages the PDF reading support in modern browsers and includes support for Google Document Viewer.

» Integrated Search. Documents can be searched by name and/or description. The search system integrates with Joomla standard search using an optional Plugin.

DOCman has everything packed to get you covered even for your toughest document management needs. Our dedicated support team is standing by to help you with all you questions.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-08-11
Reviews: 1
Have been working with Docman for a couple of weeks. Despite being new to Joomla, I have been able to set up a secure client document area on my site with Docman that is exactly what I needed. AND when I hit a question, posting in the Joomla Tools Docman forum got great fast response from their team. Thanks.
2012-08-01
Reviews: 4
Excellent technical support. I had a problem in the installation that was quickly resolved.
2012-07-23
Reviews: 9
I've been using DOCman on and off for years now. I just came back to it, mainly for the great frontend editing capabilities which ensure most clients don't even need to know there is a backend admin area in Joomla.

When I launched a new site recently my clients files where not connected to the links, thankfully docMAN support saved my bacon and gave me a solution very quickly.

I highly recommend docMAN, even for a small amount of files.
2012-07-19
Reviews: 5
I've been using DOCman for a while!
I did use it when I began one of my projects two years ago.
When deciding to migrate to J!2.5 I was really worried about hundreds of docs already managed thanks to DOCMan.
I did the Joomla migration and DOCMan process was easy.
A little problem with configuration was solved by support team in ..minutes!! Incredible!
So, I thank them for having such a great tools and such a fast and good support.
2012-07-16
Reviews: 4
I like this component since version 1.3. I'm on 1.6.6 now and still very satisfied.
There support is also very quick and helpful. Keep on the great work!!
2012-07-13
Reviews: 2
Docman is probably the most used component in my website with more than 300 documents.

Many thanks to Johan for his kind support in restoring my docman database following my mishandling.

If I may suggest: in the docman home panel, the deleted data option should be named differently to avoid any confusion.
Owner's reply

Thanks for the suggestion we will definitely take this into account for the 2.0 version.

2012-07-12
Reviews: 12
I've been using it for years (the old Joomla 1.5 free version), and I moved recently to the commercial version for Joomla 2.5.
It's a great component, and their support is great and prompt.
What I do hope to see soon is a plugin that allows Jcomments to work with Docman.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. Support for JComment and Komento extensions is being added to DOCman 2.0 in the next alpha. We are also looking at adding support to the DOCman 1.x release.

2012-07-04
Reviews: 1
I have been using Docman for about 6-7 years, dating back to pre-Joomla (Mambo) days, and when Docman was free. It, consistently, has been one of the most stable, configurable, as well as intuitive solutions for managing a download repository of any extension.

When I was an early adopter of Joomla 1.5, I immediately sought a solution that worked with the upgraded platform and tried a few other extensions. I was relieved when the folks at Joomlatools.eu developed an update, and when they moved to a subscription model, I gladly paid the inexpensive price, and their update/development progress has been on the cutting-edge ever since.

The beauty of this extension is how deeply it can be customized with its fine-grained permissions system, but despite its wealth of features, retains an intuitive and elegant interface.

Finally, the developers have a great sense of customer service when answering questions promptly and cheerfully.

In short, a highly recommended extension. My favorite for Joomla!
2012-06-15
Reviews: 1
We've been using Docman for 3-4 years now and find it an excellent way to organise our many policies and procedures.
We had some issues following migration which turned out to be not die to Docman at all and the support was exemplary - superb.
I'm not a techy and find Docman really easy to use and administer.
2012-06-05
Reviews: 1
I have been using DOCMan for quite some time and I use it to facilitate document management for my church's website. All was ok until I tried to upgrade to 1.6.5 and something went wrong. I lost most of my links and my site didn't work right. I got ahold of DOCMan and their customer service was second to none. They went in and fixed me up and now everything is working great. Great product and great service!!!
2012-06-03
Reviews: 1
I needed a simple and yet powerful document management plugin for a webpage that I built, and I'm really happy that I found DOCman!

The webage was built for a community with people not very experienced in computers. They needed to be able to upload all Minutes of Meetings etc via the frontend. Also, they wanted to populate lists automatically without the need to manually add every single uploaded document. DOCman fixed it all.

And the support for DOCman is just outstanding! I was working with this site during the weekend, and ran into problems on a Saturday. It didn't matter, the support was there even during the weekend! Great stuff!
2012-05-26
Reviews: 6
When I make a new Joomla site there are three extensions I add immediately - JCE Editor, Akeeba Backup and DOCMan.
If you have files to download from your site then DOCMan is a superb choice. Installation is a breeze, setup is very easy to understand and configure, files can be uploaded and documents created from the front and back end. The site screen is very easy for website visitors to understand and use. Statistics are also very good.

I have been using Joomla for a number of years but I am self taught with a minimal understanding of html/css and databases. I like extensions that are easy to use and DOCMan certainly falls in that category.
Support is also excellent. I recently upgraded my subscription and made an error in my email address and it was fixed quite quickly for me.
2012-05-23
Reviews: 1
I installed DOCman on my 1.5 system and it seemed to be OK. The system would not allow me to edit the configuration file or upload documents. I contacted the developer and he had it fixed maybe two hours after sending the request. Everything is now smooth as silk! Thanks for the great product and excellent support!
2012-05-22
Reviews: 3
I have used Docman for a number of years and have been delighted. It just keeps on working as advertised with no problems. The only hiccup was on migrating to 2.5, which was when I discovered the fabulous service that comes with this tool. Johan had me back on track and on schedule very quickly.
2012-05-02
Reviews: 2
I have this installed on a client's site and it works for their 3 level user groups/permissions. I did have a little issue with the search function, which turned out to be a bug, but the docman team sent me a fix on the same day (worker's day). So all is well, and I'm happy and my client is happy.
Plus the populate plugin is a lifesaver.
2012-05-02
Reviews: 3
I have been using DOCman for many years. It is the single best document management system for Joomla. The Joomlatools tech support team is incredibly responsive. I had an issue with some special ‘search menus’ that I had used with the Finder search engine on Joomla 1.5. These menus stopped functioning after migrating to Joomla 2.5. I explained the situation to them and they updated the product to fix the issue and sent me a new copy to install. This was all in less than 24 hours. My client is happy and so am I.
2012-05-01
Reviews: 2
This is an excellent component with an intuitive interface. It is very flexible, with the ability to restrict access for full categories or individual documents. Johan is very responsive with support - well worth the annual (and affordable) subscription fee.
2012-04-06
Reviews: 3
I have had this extension on a client's site for several years and never had a problem until today.

I tried upgrading DOCman version 1.5x to 1.6x with the export/import tools provided by Joomlatools but encountered a database error.

It turned out that the problem was with my old database, not the extension, and Johan had a fix for me in an hour.

It would be nice if all extension developers would respond within hours (not days or weeks).

Kudos to Johan and the Joomlatools team.
2012-03-29
Reviews: 3
Best soft for document show on site.
Thanks
2011-10-29
Reviews: 8
We used to rely on Docman but it little evolves and you must pay for it even if you want not so complex functionalities
Is rather complex and not so polished as other extensions
We are in search of a non-commercial replacement
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. We believe DOCman is a very easy to use document manager for Joomla. DOCman could be a little bit too complex if you are just looking to offer file downloads.

To solve this problem. We are working on FILEman, a file and download manager for Joomla. FILEman alllows you to quickly and easily upload and manage your files and make them available for download through your websites. All with a few clicks.

FILEman is currently in beta and is available as part of our Joomlatools subscription. More info : http://blog.joomlatools.eu/2011/11/under-the-hood-of-fileman.html

Page 4 of 6