The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


DOCman Popular ComponentModulePlugin

DOCman is a powerful document management solution for Joomla 2.5 and 3.x Manage documents across categories and subcategories, allow users to upload, download or edit documents. Store documents either locally or remotely and give access to individual users or user groups using the powerful permission system.

All from within an intuitive and simple to use administration interface. DOCman makes offering downloadable documents on your Joomla site a breeze!

Key Features
-----------------

» Documents Listing. Easily create a list of downloadable documents for your site users using the build-in list and table layouts.

» Nested categories. Documents can be organized across infinite categories and subcategories.

» Easy Document Linking. Easily insert links to documents into articles using the DOClink editor plugin, you can even insert links to categories and menu items.

» Private documents. DOCman allows to share documents privately and securely with individual users using the build-in document ownership permissions.

» Joomla ACL support. DOCman makes full use of the Joomla permission system. You can set add, edit, delete, upload and download permissions for categories and documents.

» Access Level Inheritance. You do not need to set access permissions for each document and/or category. Access levels are inherited. This makes managing your access permissions a lot easier.

» Remote or Local Storage. Files can either be hosted locally or you can easily link to files stored on a remote server or external network drive.

» Drag & Drop Upload. You can upload multiple files at once or upload remote files from a URL. The file uploader has a built-in drag and drop area.

» Large file support. DOCman is capable of handling very large files (> 1GB). It can automatically resume interrupted downloads.

» Thumbnail Support. Generates thumbnails for every image, cache them and loading them all at once. Saves bandwidth and computing power.

» Internationalised. Full support for international filenames and folder names running on Joomla. Your files can now be named in your own language without any worries.

» Security. The built-in security measures avoid direct linking to files. Real paths to files are never displayed to users.

» Download Logging. Log downloads from logged in by time/date and track IP address, through our LOGman extension.

» Google Analytics. Keep track of document downloads and image views with our build-in support for Google Analytics.

» Document Submissions. Use DOCman to setup a file dropbox from the frontend of your site.

» Video streaming. DOCman has build in support for video and audio streaming.

» Document preview. DOCman leverages the PDF reading support in modern browsers and includes support for Google Document Viewer.

» Integrated Search. Documents can be searched by name and/or description. The search system integrates with Joomla standard search and smart search out of the box.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-11-04
Reviews: 5
I'm using docman since 2008, first on a Joomla 1.5 site, now under Joomla 2.5.
This component does all a file managment has to do - and it does it sure, safe and comfortably.
In all those years I had only one single problem - and the support was great and quickly.
Now I'm awating DocMan 2.0.
2012-11-02
Reviews: 1
I'll keep this short. Our organization has been working to find a good document management and file download system for a long time. We began to use DocMan 1.6 and found that it "almost" had what we wanted, but there were just a few limitations that we could not live with given the size of our implementation. Enter ... DocMan 2.0.

I installed DocMan 2.0 and was immediately relieved to see multiple folders/subfolders for files and images. Drag & Drop, SEF urls to documents and a simplified interface.

There's not a lot of documentation available as it is still in Beta, so i've had to ask support for some help. You've probably read about it before, but DocMan support is phenomenal. I had answers to three questions in less time with the DocMan team than I've had with a single question anywhere else.

DocMan 2.0 will only get better. I'm so impressed with it so far that I'm considering moving to it in our production environment even though it is in Beta. I know installing beta software for use in a production environments is a no-no, but in our case, we have no other viable options that work like DocMan 2.0 does, so we're taking the plunge. We'll keep you posted.

Great job JoomlaTools on both the product and support!
2012-10-26
Reviews: 4
I've been using Docman for some years now and it's the one I'll probably be using for a long time in the future.

When I had problems after a complicated migration of a large site with thousands of files, the support was there to help me get out of trouble.

I'm eagerly waiting for the 2.0 version. Go, guys, go!
2012-10-25
Reviews: 1
I use DocMan since version 1.5
I tried today the version 2.0 (beta) .. good job!
Also the support is excellent.
2012-10-15
Reviews: 1
I am using DocMan for 3 years now. It is easy to administrate and you have the opportunity to use access privileges. The support helpes me to solve an problem in a few minutes despite weekend.
2012-09-20
Reviews: 2
I have used Docman for a number of years now. First I used the old free edition and have since payed for the newer 1.6.6 edition which is well worth the money.

It is easy to use from both the front end of the site and the backend too.

I had an issue recently which I asked the developers about and they were very quick to help out and resolve the issue (which was actually a problem with the joomla folders and not the extension)

Highly recommend
2012-09-07
Reviews: 2
I just installed Docman on my website and it does all it says. I had previously used phocadownloads and while good it didnt have all the functionality i needed. especially in the front end. This is money well spent. The support is fantastic as they answer all questions very quickly.
2012-09-06
Reviews: 7
I've been using DOCman since version 1.4 on a Joomla 1.0 site. Now I have 1.6.6 on Joomla 2.5, and it is well worth the price. We have over 23,000 files that our users have uploaded, and DOCman handles it without problems. It was so easy to write a FAQ for our users to show them how to upload a file and create a DOCman document.
Johan has been so helpful with a few issues that have come up. Excellent customer service.
2012-08-18
Reviews: 1
The value of this component is not just in its features and functions, but in an unparalleled level of follow-up support. Highly recommended!
2012-08-11
Reviews: 1
Have been working with Docman for a couple of weeks. Despite being new to Joomla, I have been able to set up a secure client document area on my site with Docman that is exactly what I needed. AND when I hit a question, posting in the Joomla Tools Docman forum got great fast response from their team. Thanks.
2012-08-01
Reviews: 4
Excellent technical support. I had a problem in the installation that was quickly resolved.
2012-07-23
Reviews: 7
I've been using DOCman on and off for years now. I just came back to it, mainly for the great frontend editing capabilities which ensure most clients don't even need to know there is a backend admin area in Joomla.

When I launched a new site recently my clients files where not connected to the links, thankfully docMAN support saved my bacon and gave me a solution very quickly.

I highly recommend docMAN, even for a small amount of files.
2012-07-19
Reviews: 5
I've been using DOCman for a while!
I did use it when I began one of my projects two years ago.
When deciding to migrate to J!2.5 I was really worried about hundreds of docs already managed thanks to DOCMan.
I did the Joomla migration and DOCMan process was easy.
A little problem with configuration was solved by support team in ..minutes!! Incredible!
So, I thank them for having such a great tools and such a fast and good support.
2012-07-16
Reviews: 7
I like this component since version 1.3. I'm on 1.6.6 now and still very satisfied.
There support is also very quick and helpful. Keep on the great work!!
2012-07-13
Reviews: 2
Docman is probably the most used component in my website with more than 300 documents.

Many thanks to Johan for his kind support in restoring my docman database following my mishandling.

If I may suggest: in the docman home panel, the deleted data option should be named differently to avoid any confusion.
Owner's reply

Thanks for the suggestion we will definitely take this into account for the 2.0 version.

2012-07-12
Reviews: 11
I've been using it for years (the old Joomla 1.5 free version), and I moved recently to the commercial version for Joomla 2.5.
It's a great component, and their support is great and prompt.
What I do hope to see soon is a plugin that allows Jcomments to work with Docman.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. Support for JComment and Komento extensions is being added to DOCman 2.0 in the next alpha. We are also looking at adding support to the DOCman 1.x release.

2012-07-04
Reviews: 1
I have been using Docman for about 6-7 years, dating back to pre-Joomla (Mambo) days, and when Docman was free. It, consistently, has been one of the most stable, configurable, as well as intuitive solutions for managing a download repository of any extension.

When I was an early adopter of Joomla 1.5, I immediately sought a solution that worked with the upgraded platform and tried a few other extensions. I was relieved when the folks at Joomlatools.eu developed an update, and when they moved to a subscription model, I gladly paid the inexpensive price, and their update/development progress has been on the cutting-edge ever since.

The beauty of this extension is how deeply it can be customized with its fine-grained permissions system, but despite its wealth of features, retains an intuitive and elegant interface.

Finally, the developers have a great sense of customer service when answering questions promptly and cheerfully.

In short, a highly recommended extension. My favorite for Joomla!
2012-06-15
Reviews: 1
We've been using Docman for 3-4 years now and find it an excellent way to organise our many policies and procedures.
We had some issues following migration which turned out to be not die to Docman at all and the support was exemplary - superb.
I'm not a techy and find Docman really easy to use and administer.
2012-06-05
Reviews: 1
I have been using DOCMan for quite some time and I use it to facilitate document management for my church's website. All was ok until I tried to upgrade to 1.6.5 and something went wrong. I lost most of my links and my site didn't work right. I got ahold of DOCMan and their customer service was second to none. They went in and fixed me up and now everything is working great. Great product and great service!!!
2012-06-03
Reviews: 1
I needed a simple and yet powerful document management plugin for a webpage that I built, and I'm really happy that I found DOCman!

The webage was built for a community with people not very experienced in computers. They needed to be able to upload all Minutes of Meetings etc via the frontend. Also, they wanted to populate lists automatically without the need to manually add every single uploaded document. DOCman fixed it all.

And the support for DOCman is just outstanding! I was working with this site during the weekend, and ran into problems on a Saturday. It didn't matter, the support was there even during the weekend! Great stuff!
Page 4 of 6