The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


DOCman Popular ComponentModulePlugin

DOCman is a powerful document management solution for Joomla 1.5, 2.5 and 3.x Manage documents across categories and subcategories, allow users to upload, download or edit documents. Store documents either locally or remotely and prevent direct linking using our build-in anti-leech system.

All from within an intuitive and simple to use administration interface. DOCman makes offering downloadable documents on your Joomla site a breeze!

Key Features
-----------------

» Documents Listing. Easily create a list a downloadable documents for your site users using the build in list and table layouts.

» Nested categories. Documents can be organized across infinite categories and subcategories.

» Easy Document Linking. Easily insert links to documents into articles using the DOClink editor plugin, you can even insert links to categories and menu items.

» Joomla ACL support. DOCman makes full use of the Joomla permission system. You can set add, edit, delete, upload and download permissions for categories and documents.

» Access Level Inheritance. You do not need to set access permissions for each document and/or category. Access levels are inherited. This makes managing your access permissions a lot easier.

» Remote or Local Storage. Files can either be hosted locally or you can easily link to files stored on a remote server or external network drive.

» Drag & Drop Upload. You can upload multiple files at once or upload remote files from a URL. The file uploader has a built-in drag and drop area.

» Large file support. DOCman is capable of handling very large files (> 1GB). It can automatically resume interrupted downloads.

» Thumbnail Support. Generates thumbnails for every image, cache them and loading them all at once. Saves bandwidth and computing power.

» Internationalized. Full support for international filenames and folder names running on Joomla. Your files can now be named in your own language without any worries.

» Security. The built-in security measures avoid direct linking to files. Real paths to files are never displayed to users.

» Download Logging. Log downloads from logged in by time/date and track IP address, through our LOGman extension.

» Google Analytics. Keep track of document downloads and image views with our build in support for Google Analytics.

» Document Submissions. Use DOCman to setup a file dropbox from the frontend of your site.

» Video streaming. DOCman has build in support for video and audio streaming.

» Document preview. DOCman leverages the PDF reading support in modern browsers and includes support for Google Document Viewer.

» Integrated Search. Documents can be searched by name and/or description. The search system integrates with Joomla standard search using an optional Plugin.

DOCman has everything packed to get you covered even for your toughest document management needs. Our dedicated support team is standing by to help you with all you questions.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-04-06
Reviews: 3
I have had this extension on a client's site for several years and never had a problem until today.

I tried upgrading DOCman version 1.5x to 1.6x with the export/import tools provided by Joomlatools but encountered a database error.

It turned out that the problem was with my old database, not the extension, and Johan had a fix for me in an hour.

It would be nice if all extension developers would respond within hours (not days or weeks).

Kudos to Johan and the Joomlatools team.
2012-03-29
Reviews: 3
Best soft for document show on site.
Thanks
2011-10-29
Reviews: 8
We used to rely on Docman but it little evolves and you must pay for it even if you want not so complex functionalities
Is rather complex and not so polished as other extensions
We are in search of a non-commercial replacement
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. We believe DOCman is a very easy to use document manager for Joomla. DOCman could be a little bit too complex if you are just looking to offer file downloads.

To solve this problem. We are working on FILEman, a file and download manager for Joomla. FILEman alllows you to quickly and easily upload and manage your files and make them available for download through your websites. All with a few clicks.

FILEman is currently in beta and is available as part of our Joomlatools subscription. More info : http://blog.joomlatools.eu/2011/11/under-the-hood-of-fileman.html

2011-10-28
Reviews: 16
Have been using this extension for years but never gave it a review. Recently paid for the subscription again and I just love this extension. Works so good!
2011-09-28
Reviews: 16
Their design and capabilities are suitable if you know how to code - if you don't then you might as well look elsewhere. Plus I purchased this last year October 2010 and than all of a sudden in July 2011 they have changed Joomlatools to a Membership. So if you want any upgrades from any recent purchases like mine you have to pay an upgrade fee for 12 month support - I already paid. Terrible. Poor business management and greed ruins Joomla extensions. Goodbye Joomlatools.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. I would like to clarify the change to a subscription model.

Previously customers bought an individual version of DOCman and got updates and support for that version. For example if you bought DOCman 1.5, you got support and updates for all DOCman 1.5.x versions.

With the new subscription service customer buy a subscription for a year 12 months and that subscription includes access to all our products and support service within those 12 months.

DOCman 1.5 customers continue to receive updates and don't need to upgrade to a subscription unless they want to get access to DOCman 1.6 for Joomla 1.7/2.5.

I hope this helps to clarify.

Johan Janssens
Joomlatools Managing Director

2011-08-08
Reviews: 10
Excellent component. However it changed very recently from non-commercial to 100% commercial.
I recommend to check long track records of non-comercial activity before trapping yourself with a component. You will never be sure, but long experience may help in make a choose. If you are prepared to pay, I recommend it.
2011-06-14
Reviews: 12
I'm a site builder and I use this extension on all of my sites that require file / document management. The access control / permissions system is very powerful!
2011-01-25
Reviews: 12
Have been working with this component and its associated plug-ins and modules. I must say it really fits the bill for us. It is so easy to use and configure. There are many great features that become extremely helpful to the presentation of the various documents that we publish.
I thought I wouldn't be wanting to pay for many Joommla! items; but this was definitely worth it!

I give this DocMan tool a complete and unreserved recommendation.
2011-01-18
Reviews: 16
Well what can I say but wow! This extension is perfect, I had a client who gave me a list of functions they wanted for their password protected file download, I found this one almost straight away, its fantastic it does everything i need and well worth the small amount of money. Well done guys.
2011-01-07
Reviews: 4
I'm very impressed with the possibility of component and addons. It works great together with sh404SEF (2.x.x.). All addons are very nice and useful. It has support in Xmap, sh404SEF and other extensions. It works great, no problem with installation. The best and powerful document management extension for Joomla. I strongly recommend this component and plugins. Thanks for great job!
2010-11-17
Reviews: 1
DOCMan has been one of the most useful items I've encountered with Joomla! Although it would be nice to see some better search/filtering options. Like being able to assign a document to more than one category, and to be able to search/filter by multiple categories.
2010-11-07
Reviews: 1
Thanks for your support with our project and your wonderful DocMan

I have just launched a site - its a resource Kit for teachers with over 360 downloadable files in doc and pdf format in over 20 categories.

This is a document management system not a file management system which means the file repository is held in one folder. I have had no issues with this, although it took me a while to feel comfortable doing it this way.

I found the Docman Populate feature invaluable in categorising the files for the Document management.

The ability to embed the file pathways into article and modules using Doclink was also invaluable.
This module enabled us to efficiently deploy the site in a cost effective way for the client.
2010-10-11
Reviews: 1
Thank you very much for very useful extension. Using it first time in my project, but i'm fully satisfied by result so far. Keep up so great job DOCman team!
2010-06-18
Reviews: 2
I bought this extension and I like it much. if they include the bulk-import with it, it will be the best.
thanks
2010-06-15
Reviews: 5
Does everything you could ask of it...I'm using it with "noaixl" to build a private download area for my SEO/web design clients, where I can upload their ranking reports, backlink reports and google analytics traffic analysis stuff....it's amazing, I'm no expert, and I've got it all set up with documents uploaded and each user's access setup so when they log in they can only view the files assigned to their account. Brilliant, and well worth the 11 euro price tag :) Thanks guys
2010-06-06
Reviews: 1
This component did exactly what I wanted it to right from the start. I am not very advanced with Joomla yet so was a little apprehensive that I would either have troubles installing or understanding how to use this. No on both accounts-easy, easy, easy!!! The price is terrific! Well worth it! I installed the sample data which made it very easy to understand how to set up the structure. It was important for me to be able to set permissions for each file and to be able to easily add a file to an article. (I like the way it looks with the Adobe icon to the left!) This granted my wish list! Thank you!
2010-05-08
Reviews: 2
Before purchasing DOCman you may want to be certain that the version you're purchasing is working. I purchased 1.5.7 for a customer installation only to find out that one of the core features on the software--being able to add new files from the admin backend--did not work.

It is a known bug, and frankly, were I JoomlaTools I would not have let customers purchase a product with such a major error. While I'm sure JoomlaTools will fix this, had I known I would not have purchased this component until it had been fixed.

My recommendations:

1. Check the support forum first.
2. Wait until a stable release of 1.5 is available
3. Use 1.4 until then


Clyde Ford
Owner's reply

Clyde,

It is a known issue. As mentioned both on our forum and our support portal, the issue will be fixed in 1.5.8. In the meantime, there is a simple patch available: http://support.joomlatools.eu/faq/13-common-errors/155-error-when-clicking-new-doc-in-files-view.html

Mathias
DOCman Lead Developer

2010-04-14
Reviews: 1
I've purchased the 1.5 version of DocMan for my company site and is working smoothly!

More, I've got a little problem with download permission and the authors worked out quickly!

Reccomanded to all!
2010-04-06
Reviews: 10
I've used the other version (1.4) for years and it's always been great. I've tried the others and they are all lacking in some way. I am MORE than happy to pay them to support this great product. WELL worth the small fee for the downloads component out there.
2010-03-17
Reviews: 4
Tried all of the bigger downloadcomponents available, but so far this is the only one that does exactly what it says and without errors.

The price is very reasonable for what you get, but the support and the speed of the support is priceless!
Page 5 of 6