The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


DOCman Popular ComponentModulePlugin

DOCman is a powerful document management solution for Joomla 2.5 and 3.x Manage documents across categories and subcategories, allow users to upload, download or edit documents. Store documents either locally or remotely and give access to individual users or user groups using the powerful permission system.

All from within an intuitive and simple to use administration interface. DOCman makes offering downloadable documents on your Joomla site a breeze!

Key Features
-----------------

» Documents Listing. Easily create a list of downloadable documents for your site users using the build-in list and table layouts.

» Nested categories. Documents can be organized across infinite categories and subcategories.

» Easy Document Linking. Easily insert links to documents into articles using the DOClink editor plugin, you can even insert links to categories and menu items.

» Private documents. DOCman allows to share documents privately and securely with individual users using the build-in document ownership permissions.

» Joomla ACL support. DOCman makes full use of the Joomla permission system. You can set add, edit, delete, upload and download permissions for categories and documents.

» Access Level Inheritance. You do not need to set access permissions for each document and/or category. Access levels are inherited. This makes managing your access permissions a lot easier.

» Remote or Local Storage. Files can either be hosted locally or you can easily link to files stored on a remote server or external network drive.

» Drag & Drop Upload. You can upload multiple files at once or upload remote files from a URL. The file uploader has a built-in drag and drop area.

» Large file support. DOCman is capable of handling very large files (> 1GB). It can automatically resume interrupted downloads.

» Thumbnail Support. Generates thumbnails for every image, cache them and loading them all at once. Saves bandwidth and computing power.

» Internationalised. Full support for international filenames and folder names running on Joomla. Your files can now be named in your own language without any worries.

» Security. The built-in security measures avoid direct linking to files. Real paths to files are never displayed to users.

» Download Logging. Log downloads from logged in by time/date and track IP address, through our LOGman extension.

» Google Analytics. Keep track of document downloads and image views with our build-in support for Google Analytics.

» Document Submissions. Use DOCman to setup a file dropbox from the frontend of your site.

» Video streaming. DOCman has build in support for video and audio streaming.

» Document preview. DOCman leverages the PDF reading support in modern browsers and includes support for Google Document Viewer.

» Integrated Search. Documents can be searched by name and/or description. The search system integrates with Joomla standard search and smart search out of the box.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2012-05-26
Reviews: 9
When I make a new Joomla site there are three extensions I add immediately - JCE Editor, Akeeba Backup and DOCMan.
If you have files to download from your site then DOCMan is a superb choice. Installation is a breeze, setup is very easy to understand and configure, files can be uploaded and documents created from the front and back end. The site screen is very easy for website visitors to understand and use. Statistics are also very good.

I have been using Joomla for a number of years but I am self taught with a minimal understanding of html/css and databases. I like extensions that are easy to use and DOCMan certainly falls in that category.
Support is also excellent. I recently upgraded my subscription and made an error in my email address and it was fixed quite quickly for me.
2012-05-23
Reviews: 1
I installed DOCman on my 1.5 system and it seemed to be OK. The system would not allow me to edit the configuration file or upload documents. I contacted the developer and he had it fixed maybe two hours after sending the request. Everything is now smooth as silk! Thanks for the great product and excellent support!
2012-05-22
Reviews: 3
I have used Docman for a number of years and have been delighted. It just keeps on working as advertised with no problems. The only hiccup was on migrating to 2.5, which was when I discovered the fabulous service that comes with this tool. Johan had me back on track and on schedule very quickly.
2012-05-02
Reviews: 2
I have this installed on a client's site and it works for their 3 level user groups/permissions. I did have a little issue with the search function, which turned out to be a bug, but the docman team sent me a fix on the same day (worker's day). So all is well, and I'm happy and my client is happy.
Plus the populate plugin is a lifesaver.
2012-05-02
Reviews: 3
I have been using DOCman for many years. It is the single best document management system for Joomla. The Joomlatools tech support team is incredibly responsive. I had an issue with some special ‘search menus’ that I had used with the Finder search engine on Joomla 1.5. These menus stopped functioning after migrating to Joomla 2.5. I explained the situation to them and they updated the product to fix the issue and sent me a new copy to install. This was all in less than 24 hours. My client is happy and so am I.
2012-05-01
Reviews: 2
This is an excellent component with an intuitive interface. It is very flexible, with the ability to restrict access for full categories or individual documents. Johan is very responsive with support - well worth the annual (and affordable) subscription fee.
2012-04-06
Reviews: 3
I have had this extension on a client's site for several years and never had a problem until today.

I tried upgrading DOCman version 1.5x to 1.6x with the export/import tools provided by Joomlatools but encountered a database error.

It turned out that the problem was with my old database, not the extension, and Johan had a fix for me in an hour.

It would be nice if all extension developers would respond within hours (not days or weeks).

Kudos to Johan and the Joomlatools team.
2012-03-29
Reviews: 3
Best soft for document show on site.
Thanks
2011-10-29
Reviews: 8
We used to rely on Docman but it little evolves and you must pay for it even if you want not so complex functionalities
Is rather complex and not so polished as other extensions
We are in search of a non-commercial replacement
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. We believe DOCman is a very easy to use document manager for Joomla. DOCman could be a little bit too complex if you are just looking to offer file downloads.

To solve this problem. We are working on FILEman, a file and download manager for Joomla. FILEman alllows you to quickly and easily upload and manage your files and make them available for download through your websites. All with a few clicks.

FILEman is currently in beta and is available as part of our Joomlatools subscription. More info : http://blog.joomlatools.eu/2011/11/under-the-hood-of-fileman.html

2011-10-28
Reviews: 16
Have been using this extension for years but never gave it a review. Recently paid for the subscription again and I just love this extension. Works so good!
2011-09-28
Reviews: 15
Their design and capabilities are suitable if you know how to code - if you don't then you might as well look elsewhere. Plus I purchased this last year October 2010 and than all of a sudden in July 2011 they have changed Joomlatools to a Membership. So if you want any upgrades from any recent purchases like mine you have to pay an upgrade fee for 12 month support - I already paid. Terrible. Poor business management and greed ruins Joomla extensions. Goodbye Joomlatools.
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. I would like to clarify the change to a subscription model.

Previously customers bought an individual version of DOCman and got updates and support for that version. For example if you bought DOCman 1.5, you got support and updates for all DOCman 1.5.x versions.

With the new subscription service customer buy a subscription for a year 12 months and that subscription includes access to all our products and support service within those 12 months.

DOCman 1.5 customers continue to receive updates and don't need to upgrade to a subscription unless they want to get access to DOCman 1.6 for Joomla 1.7/2.5.

I hope this helps to clarify.

Johan Janssens
Joomlatools Managing Director

2011-08-08
Reviews: 10
Excellent component. However it changed very recently from non-commercial to 100% commercial.
I recommend to check long track records of non-comercial activity before trapping yourself with a component. You will never be sure, but long experience may help in make a choose. If you are prepared to pay, I recommend it.
2011-06-14
Reviews: 12
I'm a site builder and I use this extension on all of my sites that require file / document management. The access control / permissions system is very powerful!
2011-01-25
Reviews: 12
Have been working with this component and its associated plug-ins and modules. I must say it really fits the bill for us. It is so easy to use and configure. There are many great features that become extremely helpful to the presentation of the various documents that we publish.
I thought I wouldn't be wanting to pay for many Joommla! items; but this was definitely worth it!

I give this DocMan tool a complete and unreserved recommendation.
2011-01-18
Reviews: 16
Well what can I say but wow! This extension is perfect, I had a client who gave me a list of functions they wanted for their password protected file download, I found this one almost straight away, its fantastic it does everything i need and well worth the small amount of money. Well done guys.
2011-01-07
Reviews: 4
I'm very impressed with the possibility of component and addons. It works great together with sh404SEF (2.x.x.). All addons are very nice and useful. It has support in Xmap, sh404SEF and other extensions. It works great, no problem with installation. The best and powerful document management extension for Joomla. I strongly recommend this component and plugins. Thanks for great job!
2010-11-17
Reviews: 1
DOCMan has been one of the most useful items I've encountered with Joomla! Although it would be nice to see some better search/filtering options. Like being able to assign a document to more than one category, and to be able to search/filter by multiple categories.
2010-11-07
Reviews: 1
Thanks for your support with our project and your wonderful DocMan

I have just launched a site - its a resource Kit for teachers with over 360 downloadable files in doc and pdf format in over 20 categories.

This is a document management system not a file management system which means the file repository is held in one folder. I have had no issues with this, although it took me a while to feel comfortable doing it this way.

I found the Docman Populate feature invaluable in categorising the files for the Document management.

The ability to embed the file pathways into article and modules using Doclink was also invaluable.
This module enabled us to efficiently deploy the site in a cost effective way for the client.
2010-10-11
Reviews: 1
Thank you very much for very useful extension. Using it first time in my project, but i'm fully satisfied by result so far. Keep up so great job DOCman team!
2010-06-18
Reviews: 2
I bought this extension and I like it much. if they include the bulk-import with it, it will be the best.
thanks
Page 5 of 6