The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


EDocman ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
EDocman is an Electronic document managment sysem /download manager extension for Joomla 1.6, Joomla 1.7 ,Joomla 2.5 and Joomla 3.0. Building on top of access controll system (ACL) of Joomla, It give you a very powerful, flexible permission system which you can use to control who can view, download, manage (edit, delete, publish, unpublish) your documents from both front-end and back-end of your site.
Main Features:
- Nice, Clean, Responsive Layout.
- Nested categories
- Herachical folder structure : Unlike other files download extension using just one folder to store all files, EDocman allows you to put your files in a herachical folder structure (the folder structure is based on the categories structure which you setup - each category will have it's own folder to store files as state above).
- Multilingual support: If your site is multilingual, when you create categories, documents, you can assign them to a language. And when users browse categories, documents from front-end, only categories and documents assigned to that language (or all languages) will be displayed.
- Documents management : EDocman allows you to create documents and then your site users (public or registered users) can browse and download these documents from front-end.
- Front-end documents uploading / management .
- Local / remote files support : Your documents can be stored on your local server or on a remove server. In case your documents are stored on a remote server, you will just need to enter url of the document when creating new document.
- Powerful and Flexible permission system:
+ Using Powerful Joomla 1.6, Joomla 1.7, Joomla 2.5 ACL feature.
+ Permission can be setup in Component Level , Category Level or Document Level.
+ Permission can be inherited in the following structure Component Level >> Category Level >> Sub Categories >> Documents.
+ You can even only give one or several users to access to a category or document by entering ID of these users into User IDs field when creating category/document.
- Indexer plugin allows indexing PDF and Word documents and make it searchable based on content of these documents.
- RSS integration
- Tags support
- Security : All your documents are protected and users cannot download them even they know the direct link to the document.
- Search module allows searching documents based on keyword and category.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-09-21
Reviews: 3
Edocman will work out of the box but for perfectionist like me its a bit much more work.

I found some small and some bigger bugs during my test period.
Also i had some special requirements where i came to my end of php skills.
In situations like this i added a support ticket and as far as i saw there is only one person behind Joomdonation. That means that you have to wait a bit, answers wont come in 5 minutes but in 1-2 days which is ok. The solution was very comfortable, i explained the problem, forwared ftp access and after some days the problem was fixed.

Edocument was the only solution for me which offered a very nice, easy to handle permission system. Now i am able to offer every customer specific files, stand alone from other customers. The system is very easy to handle so that also unskilled colleagues are able to handle it. For that its necessary that they have access with a lower permission to assign docs to specific users.
2013-09-02
Reviews: 2
It took me lot of time to manage my documents. First on my localhost then when going online some document links where broken. Took me again one hour to fix it.

Excepting this point, extension is working now since 2 month without any problems, I would recommend if you have little time to spend on it.
2013-09-02
Reviews: 2
I am not a web developer and have an average understanding of Joomla but I find edocman so simple to use and Tuan provides excellent support. I asked for a way to assign downloads to users and he sent me the upgrade immediately! A lot of these programs do the same thing but it is the support that makes edocman stand out ahead of the rest. Keep up the great work!
2013-08-28
Reviews: 2
We already knew EDocman from another brand new project in Joomla! 3., but this time we needed to make a migration from Joomla! 1.5 to Joomla! 3.1 with another very well known document management extension in use.

They offered to make all the migration between document management extensions by entering in source and destination server, and had the job done in 24 hours.

Very recommended extension and really superb support!
2013-08-27
Reviews: 2
We use this for our Intranet. Its simple to use clean and functional. I would like to see multiple category selection from the front end but other than that EDocman ticks all the boxes and the support is spot on.
2013-08-26
Reviews: 2
I choose this component for his early J3 compatibility witch is a good point.
Than I had a compatibility problem with a popular social Joomla extension and not able to make eDocman work properly.
Owner's reply

Hi

To be honest, I don't know why there is compatibility issue between EDocman and the extension you mentioned because they are two independent extensions. Shouldn't you contact us for support before writing the review? Could you please go to http://joomdonation.com/support-tickets.html, submit a support ticket so that I can help you to check and solve the problem right away?

Thanks and looking forward to hearing from you.

Regards,
Ossolution Team

2013-07-05
Reviews: 8
Similar functionality may be found in other products, but is the support there?
This component works perfectly.... I love it, and the support keeps me coming back to them for more extensions.

I have had a few "issues", but the support was there for me almost immediately, and the "issues", in fact turned out to be MY misunderstanding, and not a real issue at all.

Nevertheless, Tuan and the support crew got me going immediately.

Gee..... that sort of support is worth more than the extension itself!
Please dont stop doing what you are doing guys!
2013-06-28
Reviews: 9
Isn't it great when you download an extension and it just works out of the box! Well e-Docman is one of those products. Great product good, documentation & well presented.
I had a slight problem with permissions (was having a Homer Simpson moment) and Tuan answered my question immediately. Get it - it works!
2013-02-19
Reviews: 1
When I had to abandon Docman, I went through a lot of Download Managers before settling on Edocman as the one that offered a well rounded but simply presented solution.

The CSS allowed some quick tweaks to blend it into my sites well.

It was easy to configure a downloads folder outside of the sites root, to enable the same download files across multiple sites (which was vital in my case).

Overall, this extension is definitely worth the fee! I'll be looking at JoomDonation for future extensions.
2013-02-08
Reviews: 7
I have used eDocMan on a few sites now and I do not think I would even contemplate looking for another piece of software to do this. The functionality may take a minute to get used to if you really want to get restrictive and use all of the features, but once you have it it is absolutely the best.

I have also used a few other pieces of software from JoomDonation and I now always check to see if they have the software that I need for my current projects. Everything that I have used works exactly as I have needed it to.

The support has also been very fast and effective. The have gone the extra mile to make sure that their product is working right on my site.

Overall: Excellent, Highly Recommended
2013-01-17
Reviews: 1
I bought this extension for use with a client website that contained hundreds of PDF forms in multiple categories.

This extension works very well and is easy to install. The developer answers questions quickly through the forum on his website.

I like that this extension saved me a lot of time I would have wasted troubleshooting a "free" extension, as I have done in the past.
2012-11-28
Reviews: 1
I couldn't be happier with the EDocman extension! I've created a personal website, and I wanted to include some documents that my visitors might find interesting. I wanted something that would keep them nice and clean and organized, and would also present them on the site clearly. EDocman looked like a good fit, so I installed it.

The instructions were easy to read and led me through step-by-step. It installed easily, and I was up and using it literally in a few minutes. It really fit my needs.

I had one minor support request, so I posted to JoomDonation's support forum for EDocman. I got an answer back in minutes! And the answer was that they wrote my request into the code and had me download the update and see if it was what I was looking for. It was perfect!

I corresponded with Tuan, and he went way above and beyond the call of duty. He clarified what I was asking, he looked at my site to see how I wanted to use it, and he got me up and running with my request in a day. Seriously, IN A DAY!

I have never had such excellent customer service! I'm a fan for life, and I'm going to check out their other extensions first the next time I need one. For those of you who know about Nordstrom's legendary customer service, JoomDonation and Tuan exceed even that. You can't go wrong!
2012-11-22
Reviews: 1
I installed edocman on a joomla 2.5 site so that the staff of a major international publishing house can upload a variety of materials for their customer base to access. It was easily installed, is user-friendly for the staff to use via its control panel, and when I had an issue, which was being caused by another module (NOT edocman), Tuan helped me to root out the source of the error and point me towards the solution. Edocman makes up the meat and bones of this content heavy website. Thank you Tuan and Edocman team for a great extension and great service!!!
2012-10-16
Reviews: 4
Installed and working no problem, required some custom work from developer, raised a support ticket, quick response, reasonable rates, super. thanks.
2012-10-12
Reviews: 1
I downloaded EDOCMAN and had trouble with getting the installation to work (I'm not very technical). I contacted support, heard back immediately, and not only did they help me, they went in my sight and configured it correctly for me!

It works fantastically for my purposes. I can place document on my site in separate categories and it works like a charm. thanks EDOCMAN!

-Marvin
2012-10-04
Reviews: 10
I am using this with their membership product and works great. Does exactly as I want and easy to use. A couple of problems I had were fixed quick, like a SEF plugin I said It could do with it and they added it within a week. Excellent product and support.
2012-09-14
Reviews: 1
I am a designer/frontend developer. I had a few support questions which were responded to promptly. Everything resolved well and I learnt a few things along the way too. Hopefully I will be using more OSsolution products again soon. I Would certainly recommend to others. Great work Tuan - thank you!
2012-08-02
Reviews: 2
This is a great extension for handling customer downloads. I had a small problem and the back up was fast, polite as a matter of fact probably the best customer service I have ever had.
2012-07-20
Reviews: 1
If you are looking for this type of component which is easy to use and offers fantastic support for any issues then look no further.

The level of patience, expertise and technical help from the EDocman team (Tuan in particular) has been outstanding and their response time was brilliant.

It delivers exactly what it promises and more and as a relative newbie to Joomla, it has been a dream to use and even the most inexperienced user can get to grips with it very quickly.

Fantastic and a huge thank you for making sure that you don't just sell and idea, you back it up also!
2012-07-09
Reviews: 1
We've been using this over the last few weeks and it works exactly how you would expect. The developer is awesome at getting back to you when you need him. Overall a great product that helps you keep control of your files. Keep up the good work!
Page 2 of 3