The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


jDownloads Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Extensive Download Manager for Joomla! 1.5/2.5/3.2 with special functions! Please see the feature list for more information: http://www.jdownloads.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=115&Itemid=75

jDownloads exists in different releases for Joomla 1.5, 2.5 and 3.2. So make sure, that you download the correctly version for your Joomla.

Many language files are always included. Many others exists in our download area or on www.transifex.com.

The previously announced complete new jDownloads 2.5/3.2 releases are published as beta in April 2014 with many new features.

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-07-02
Reviews: 6
Hi,
This is great Component Arno....
just waiting for JD compatible with Joomla 1.6

Thanks
2011-07-01
Reviews: 2
Hi Arno

first of all - thank you for jdownloads component and your hard work, its a really great download component for the Joomla Community.

feature i like most in jdownloads that you can add all files in database after creating category and upload even thousands of files in newly created category folder on server.... great component for lazy people like me to add one by one file.

jDownloads is a great choice if you want to build a powerful Biggggg.. download site
2011-06-06
Reviews: 1
it is a very very good component
easy to use and install
Congratulations Arno Betz
2011-06-05
Reviews: 25
I have used jdownloads on my main site and depend on it a great deal. It is quick to set up and configure, it is easy to add categories and download items. The support from Arno is very good indeed and that is for the free version. There is one fault in the tool though, the inability to incorporate a captcha into the download page, this should be possible through integrating a 3rd party captcha tool. I am trying to persuade Arno to support this. Regardless, it is an excellent tool and with captcha support it will be perfect. Rating it as good rather than excellent until it gains captcha support
2011-06-03
Reviews: 1
Thank you for such a great extension. This is one of the best Joomla Download Extension. I tried all download extension and nothing comes equal as jDownloads. jDownload has lots of great plugins, modules which can help us to build a powerful download site.

Some features i really like...

1. Layout Customization
2. Updating the old downloads
3. Front end uploads
4. Great icons
5. Lots of modules for top downloads, latest downloads, updates, etc.,
6. jDownload plugins for other Extensions like Ace SEF, SE404SEF, etc.,

and more...

Things which i miss...

1. RSS feed.

Hope in next version there will be RSS support...

The support forum for jDownloads is really great... I got answer for my questions within some hours...

Overall, jDownloads is a great choice if you want to build a powerful download site...

Thanks for giving such great extension for free...
2011-02-28
Reviews: 3
As experienced Joomla user, I can say that this is one PERFECT extension! Not only that it has so many features, but developer does a brilliant job on replying to almost every user idea. Using it is easy, almost everything that came across my mind is already there... Backend layout settings is great idea, it gives possibility for not-programmers to setup layout as they like, they're not limited to just few options for it. Also, upgrading to newer versions (releases are also frequent) is piece of cake - no need to uninstall, backup stuff etc etc - all is straight forward. All that is in initial package is more than enough for even average user and much more than average download section of your website! Thanks once again for job well done!
2011-02-26
Reviews: 4
I cannot live without this extension, arno is simply a great php programmer and this extension is better then even the paid extensions I have tried and I have tried a few.

I just migrated my site to Joomla 1.6 and now I wait for arno to upgrade this extension to be compatible and I will gladly wait so that should tell you how good this extension is.

Plenty of options and whats important to me is it can handle a lot of files and it handles them without much lag.

Keep up the great work.
2011-02-25
Reviews: 10
Felt in love with this extension. I used several downloads extensions other different sites, but JDownloads is the most amazing. Incredibly powerful and simple to personalize to your needs. If I found a way to import simply datas from other download extensions, I would use it on all sites I'm managing.
2011-01-31
Reviews: 3
In my opinion, this component has got to be the best thing for managing downloads. I own a number of websites and the CEO of my corporation which develops software and web design. On my software site, it has become a must! I encourage all to use this for managing downloads and should definitely support these fine people and their hard work. I have found it to be flawless, modifiable, easy to use and necessary. Keep up the good work!!
2011-01-23
Reviews: 4
I tested the jDownloads extension but stayed with the Remository extension. Because with jDownloads i dont have a RSS Feed option and i can't limit no registered user to download only X files a day or sorting downloads by rating and path navigation i also like more then the drop down box navigation.

If the developed doesn't stop it could quickly be the best download extension. So i will keep a watch on this extension.

I give it 4 stars because it's extremely flexible to customize the design and has a lot of options.
Owner's reply

Hi Russler,
many thanks for your review. By the way, a option that you can set a daily download limit for registered users exist. See download options.

2011-01-15
Reviews: 12
It's not often I give reviews, mostly I read how amazing and "must have " some additions might be. In this case, I can give the best rating for both programs and support. The Creator has thought of everything. With your usual editor, you may add the same descriptions as in Virtuemart with short and long description, and upload multiple images as both tumbnails and large images. I miss nothing in this component, a very serious job.
2011-01-10
Reviews: 8
The product:

This product can be customized easily using the built in layout editor. This program has many features that make tweaking it to fit your needs easy.

It sticks to MVC pretty well which makes it easier to wade through if you are doing special options.

The back end controls are very easy to understand. It is geared for novices and professionals.

The best feature I like about this is the layout template editor. You can go in and using the WYSIWYG editor, you can completely change the entire appearance about every page displayed to the user. The only page you cannot edit is the upload form.

The support:

Arno is a great developer and very dedicated. He works hard and is very active in the forum. He is a truly unique developer. He is prompt, respectful and on time.

I recommend this solution. I also recommend donating if you have the opportunity. (He is not pushy about donations, so you have to kind of hunt down his donation link!)
2010-12-28
Reviews: 1
This is an excellent extension. Had a few minor issues at the beginning. Was all my fault with configuration. But when I found the support forum, the admin was online and I thought it was one of those scam online status. I posted my querry and within a matter of minutes, the guy had responded and my jdownload was up and running just the way I wanted.

Many thanks man for all the good work you are doing. Jdownload deserve the 5*s
2010-12-23
Reviews: 5
The developer is very friendly and support is easily reachable via forum.

Although there is a minor bug, the issue is resolved immediately without waiting for the next release.

Definitely a good alternative to Docman.
2010-12-04
Reviews: 5
It is amazing, how simple an installation and configuration can be while the component then will be flexible and powerful same time. And I also can confirm bento124's comment about the helpful forum. Great job!
2010-12-01
Reviews: 2
Very well done Joomla component. The application is highly flexible, and especially the integration of given jD layouts into existing installations is very well done. With ease, this allows to integrate the component even optically.
Beside that, the response on technical questions via the product forum is excellent. Thank you folks!
2010-11-29
Reviews: 3
This is wonderful. Simply layed out with logical and powerful funtionality. To many front end extentions won't allow the author to edit or delete there own files. This one does plus so much more! The only one very small detail is, it would be nice for the users email address to be optional to display (like in the upload form)
2010-11-26
Reviews: 3
It's really amazing to find such a full-fledged component, that too for free. I wish, it would be more great if the component can track the user statistics (who has downloaded and how many times).
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review!
You know, that with jDownloads v1.8 you can activate the download logs? The result is viewed in the backend and when you use the search function, you can seen what every user has downloaded and how many times.

2010-11-14
Reviews: 52
I have been waiting a couple of years for group permissions and now they are here in JDownloads 1.8.

KUDOS to the devs and thank you!
2010-11-10
Reviews: 3
Thanks for the great component, it is working really wonderful.
I, like many others would like to have captcha enabled, well while in the support forum this was neglected, I found my own workaround and want to share it with the community here.

In my case I need a captcha for the upload section to stop bots driving traffic to my server.

Here is what I did:
ATTENTION advanced users only! Don't do it if you do not fully understand what is happening!!!

1. I found some 3th party plugin called OSOLCaptcha -> Install -> enable follow the instructions etc.
2. navigate to components/com_jdownloads/jdownloads.html.php
find line containing: " $form = 'triggerEvent('onShowOSOLCaptcha', array(false));
start line again " $form .='"
3. Go to your front-end page -> refresh -> Now you should see the captcha! WARNING IT IS NOT working yet.
4. Front-end page -> HTML Source Code -> Copy the captcha related HTML, it is wrapped within a div tag " ... "
5. Go back to jdownloads.html.php -> restore it like it was in original.
6. Again in jdownloads.html.php locate the " it to appear.
Remember that it has to be IN THIS form tag to work properly.
7. Enjoy!
By the time of this writing I am using jDownloads 1.7.5 and OSOLCaptcha 1.0.6!

This is a core hack and you must have this in mind when updating jDownloads.

I hope I've helped you all a little.
Page 3 of 7