The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


jDownloads Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Extensive Download Manager for Joomla! 2.5.x and Joomla! 3.x.

The jD 2.5 series is for use on Joomla! 2.5, and the jD 3.2 series is for use on Joomla! 3.x so make sure you download the correct one for you.

Modules and plugins provided by the jDownloads team are included in and are automatically installed with the jDownloads component.

jDownloads supports many languages. English and German languages are included with the component and others are available on www.transiflex.com. More will be included on the jDownloads web site.

Main Features
-------------
- What is a Download?:
Obviously it includes the file that is to be downloaded but in jDownloads there are many more optional features to show the user or potential customer. You may have a text description, multiple images, an MP3 or an MP4 preview complete with player. You can show size, author, price, rating, popularity, etc., etc. All of it configurable.
- Unlimited Category Tree:
The downloads can be organized by customised categories and subcategories. A folder is created for every category, usually the folder has the same name as the category, so you have exactly the same structure on your server as in your download area. There is an option to use a different folder name if desired.
- Access Rights for Categories:
You can set the 'download' rights for categories and downloads for every Joomla user group. So it is possible, for example, that all guests can view the category (and the files) but only registered users can download the files. And say users with Publisher or similar rights can create new Downloads including uploading the main download file, together with preview text, images, audio clips (MP3) and video clips (MP4).
- User Groups:
The latest versions of jDownloads, the jD2.5 and jD3.2 and beyond series, fully supports the Joomla Access Permissions and Access Levels for Categories and Downloads. This allows a wide variety of controlling user groups in who is able to see what, control download access and of course uploading of new Downloads.
- User Groups Settings:
jDownloads has the ability to set different download capability limits for each Joomla! User Group. Also for User Groups that have 'create download' permissions then each user group may have their individual selection of 'questions' asked by the creation/edit Downloads formthe upload form may be set. Furthermore jDownloads resolves the 'challenge' of users belonging to multiple groups with an 'importance' value.
- Frontend Edit functionality:
You can define in the configuration, that particular user groups can edit/update/delete their own downloads from the frontend. Additionally you can select jDownloads user groups who can edit Downloads in specific categories from the frontend.
... and many others.

See full feature list here:
http://www.jdownloads.com/index.php?option=com_content&view=article&id=115&Itemid=75

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-04-05
Reviews: 2
This is a good download script for joomla. But the only thing I can't really do is skin it to my likings without using the css file. If they made a seperate folder like they did with there jcomments for skinning that would of made this script so much better. I recommend they fix this in the next update. Other then that the script couldn't be any better. Just fix the skinning issues lol thats all I ask.
Owner's reply

Hello zigvt85,
thanks for your review.
Check the layout administration in the jDownloads backend. Here you can easy change what you will in the layouts. You must not use the jDownloads .css file. This is only a option. Many thousand user find the layout management from jdownloads useful, easy and better as in many other addons.

2010-04-05
Reviews: 5
Everything is so good but just the icons are not that cool.

the functionality is great and awesome and incredible for any download site.

but of course we can change the icons to anything.
Owner's reply

Hello chetanmadaan,
thanks for your review.
You can change everytime the icons. Create your own or search other free icons in the internet and copy it to the jDownloads icon folders on your server. Promptly you can use it. You can also view in my download area. You find also her a few new icon sets.

2010-03-26
Reviews: 3
Thank you for the best download management program.
2010-03-13
Reviews: 4
Excellence Extension. My team would be able to upload their file easily without any knowledge of Joomla Back-End. I have suggestions:
1. Enable moving multiple files to another categories.
2. Enable moving multiple sub-categoris to another categories.

This is like moving article to another category in joomla article manager.

Thank you.
Owner's reply

Hello ramabg,
many thanks for your review. When you has questions or suggestions, please post it in the support forum on my site.

2010-03-08
Reviews: 1
I'm very new to Joomla yet very little knowledge either in php or html and building my first web page.
I was looking for a comprehensible and user friendly download module I could easily implement and found everything in your Extention!!!
Thanks a bunch! and guys, you have to go and get the JDownloads Content Plugin to use together in articles!
2010-02-07
Reviews: 2
What more can i say other than this is exultant way better than what i was using phoca downloads, It looks better and supports much more file types 10/10 a must have.
2010-01-30
Reviews: 2
After upgrading Docman to version 1.5 I was really disappointed about the poor interface and the fact that all prior disadvantages were still there. There seems to be very little progress in their development.
So I started to look for something else. I tried Remository but it just didn't install (blanc screen).
Then I found jDownloads. Unbelievable what a program! Everything I had been missing in Docman is in here. I just looked at jDownloads for a couple of hours now but it's an amazing piece of software.
There are many many options for customizing. It saves files into subdirectories, it's very easy to upload a file, it has a good search plugin, it has a nice dropdown menu for easy navigation, the layout is customizable, it picks up files which were uploaded by a regular ftp-program.
I like it very much!
2010-01-22
Reviews: 4
After searching and trying almost all download components/extensions, they all prove to be too complicated or too simple.
Discovering jDownloads was the best thing, its very simple to use in backend as it is in frontend, plenty of options and I'm really looking to see how it will evolve since there are few options that must be implemented.
Nevertheless, if you're looking for a easy to use, easy to customize and easy to implement component for your download section of your site, take a look at this, you wont regret!

Owner has responded very fast on they're support forum, all problems solve. ;)
WOW
2010-01-15
Reviews: 5
This is exactly what I was looking for, a downloads component that was simple to use. When my users click a link they aren't forced to click again and again. When they say direct download in the config it is just that.

If I had one complaint it is there isn't a way to migrate from remository to jDownloads without retyping the over 1000 downloads in my database.
Owner's reply

Hello WOW,
thanks for your review. I work on a import script for remository.
Best Regards

2010-01-13
Reviews: 2
This is really great piece of software. You can manage everything and either provide menu link to jdownloads frontend or you can use jdownloads plugin to link the download window directly in your article.
Unfortunately jdownloads plugin breaks functionality with some other plugins like JCE and JCPOPUP :( which stop working. That's the only reason i had to abandon it. I hope author fixes this soon.

If you do not use jcpopup on your website then this dl manger is perfect for you. Sorry had to give 4 stars just because of compatibility problems.
Owner's reply

Hello armac,
in the meantime we have published a fixed version from the content plugin. ;)

2009-12-09
Reviews: 3
A rating system is missing but it already desserves its 5 stars!
Owner's reply

Hello thedom,
thanks for your review. Today we have published the v.1.6 and have added a javascript rating system. ;)

2009-11-22
Reviews: 4
The developer tells me there's more to come in a pro version for early 2010. I've tried a lot of ftp/download extensions and jDownloads offers the best and easiest front end access I need for a company intranet site that I've found. Lots of control on the back end and with file handling/viewing. The developer is quite responsive. The guy who complained about the code and gave the ext two stars should have given him a chance. I hope to see jDownloads add custom control of access groups and password protected downloads. Until that happens I can't use it with sensitive company material. Would make the perfect extension. But well worth installing as it is.
2009-11-13
Reviews: 1
To be fair I have to say that Jdownloads does what it says it can do. However it is what is going on behind the scenes that you have to be worried about. The HTML output is horrible and does not adhere to web standards. When I went to validate the mark up there where upward of 30 errors with the XHTML. so I did a little digging and found unclosed tag along with empty tables. There where id's being used twice in the same document. There are also oodles of empty div tags that simple contain nothing. There was even an ending tag for a form that was never opened. Unless you don't care about complying to web standards or have a few hours to mess around with the code to make it compliant then I would recommend another solution. After spending a few hours messing with the code I have decided to move on to another option.
Owner's reply

Hi moultrup,
what you want to say? You say it yourself, jDownloads can do for what it is. Maybe the sourcecode is not perfect, but works at it all - you can see alot of sites using it and satisfied with it. The better choice would be you don't have wasted your and my time in writing such a unobjective review, if you such a pro, why you don't contact me personal and say: "I will help you."

It looks like you writing for a another Downloadcomponent of Joomla or just have fun to show how pro you are, clearly anonym.

2009-11-12
Reviews: 1
I was looking for a download component that works well with joomfish. I found it with jDownloads.
I was looking for a download component that is easy to extend and easy to personalize. I found jDownloads
I was looking for a download component that is easy to skin, easy to design a costum template.
I also was looking for a component with some support, i resistered to the developers forum and recieved answers to my questions.

jDownloads rocks.

I am not a programmer, just a webdesigner, but the jDownloads code is so well documented and easy to understand that i can personalize jDownloads with my poor programming skills.

Give it a try, you will love it.

tymoe
2009-11-02
Reviews: 1
Downloaded, installed in less than ten minutes and it's woeking perfect¡¡¡

Very nice layout and an awesome control panel it seems to be part of joomla¡¡¡

Great work, thanks developers¡¡¡¡
nfr
2009-10-24
Reviews: 9
JDownloads is the most complete download component I have found for Joomla!
After using docman for many years I had to look for a new component since docman seems to not really be in a hurry to develop a native 1.5 version. So I finally found JDownloads and was impressed about the thousands of settings you can do in there.
When started I really didn't have read all about the settings and came up with a question which was replied in a reasonable to good time.
Finally I really can recommend this component to all users
2009-10-22
Reviews: 2
Tried several before settling for JDownloads. I would not say it is the best but rather the best for my needs.
It is easy to config and with ftp uploads - all sorted. Brilliant.
2009-10-04
Reviews: 1
This is the best file download I have tried out. It has lots of options. My only disappointment is that I can't figure out how to link the mp3 player with my mp3 files. It's a GREAT feature...if you know how to get it to work. However this feature isn't supported and the player's website gave me no clue as to how to use it with Joomla. Couldn't figure out what to download or even what to do with the downloads. Almost an excellent rating!
Owner's reply

Hi dugley,
have you read the descriptions in the configuration about the mp3 player options? You must only use in your activated layout, the placeholder {mp3_player}. When you assign a mp3 file to a download, the placeholder will replaced with the mp3 player. By the way, please use in the future our Support-Forum, so we can help by problems. But I have not found any post about this in the forum. Thanks.

2009-09-24
Reviews: 7
First of all i want to say a big thank you for providing a so great component for free!

Installed and have it running in 3 minutes!

Very easy to use and understand and many options that will help everyone to customize it to his needs!

Also the easy integration with jcomments is a big +

However some things could make it even more powerful !!

what im missing..

1. I think there should be a "report download" link

2. An integrated "voting system" for the downloads

3. when using it with jcomments and viewing a list of downloads in subcategory view, it will be nice to have a "number of comments" notice..
ex.
download 1 (## number of comments)
download 2 (## number of comments)

4. An option for the uploaders to be able to update/delete their uploads ... and also to be able to view all of their uploaded files.

5. A "sort by" option for the frontend (subcategory view)

sort downloads by ...
name
rating
date added
date modified


Again maybe some things missing but this is a great component anyway, and is recommended to everybody :)

Thank you very much again!
Best regards
Owner's reply

Hello Lambas,
thanks for your voting.
In version 1.6 we added from your missing list point 1-3.
Best Regards

2009-09-08
Reviews: 2
after going through about all download comp's out there this stands out

every possible feature you may want is here and specially auto detection

2 missing stuff though
1- Native
2- pdf pre-review ( like in docman )

and thats it

keep the updates alive admin :)
Owner's reply

Thanks for your review. In the next days, i will publish a first native release.

Page 5 of 7