The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Attachments Popular ComponentPlugin

Joomla 3.2 Compatiblity Release - Fixes issue with displaying options under Joomla 3.2. Fixes a few minor bugs. This release works with Joomla 2.5.7+, 3.1.x and 3.2.

The 'Attachments' extension for Joomla! allows files to be uploaded and attached to articles and other types of content. URLs can also be attached. 'Attachments' includes the ability to attach files and edit attachments from the front end as well as from the administrative back end. There are options to control who can see the attachments and who can upload them, along with many other options to increase its flexibility and usefulness.

INSTALLATION IS SIMPLE: Use the Joomla installer with the single installation zip file. The component and all plugins are installed in a single step. Attachments uses the Joomla "upgrade" capability and can be installed over previous versions of Attachments.

There are two versions of Attachments:

* Version 3.1 for Joomla 2.5.7+ or 3.x
-- The 3.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 1.5
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMzOVNfYJIo&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/forum/

* Version 2.x for Joomla 1.5
-- The 2.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 2.5 and later
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nCbRbfJ9io&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/forum/

If you would like to subscribe to an email list for announcements about the Attachments extension, please visit: http://jmcameron.net/attachments/email-list.html

Releases 3.1+ and 2.2+ give you several ways to add, edit, and delete your attachments on the front end, back end, and in article editors on the front and back ends (including during article creation). There are many options to control who can see attachments. When you add or edit attachments, page updates are done quickly without full page reloads.

If you plan to use this extension for sensitive files, use the 'Secure' mode. This provides secure storage of attachment files and prevents access by anyone without logging in.

Attachments 3.1 includes many new features:
--- Supports both Joomla 2.5.7+ and 3.x!
--- Improved permissions handling for backend users with limited permissions.
--- New option to display attachments to the public that require logging in to download.
--- URL attachments are now handled in a secure way (download count works for both).
--- Now supports Joomfish (with additional plugin).
--- Refactored to allow template overrides of all CSS files and images.
--- More robust file downloading.
--- Many fixes and improvements.

Report Extension

 

 

2008-05-04
Reviews: 19
and it works right from the start. Highly recommend it.

Thank you for your time to develop it.
2008-05-03
Reviews: 1
This extension is exactly what I was looking for. Easy installation and straightforward design. Great Job!
2008-04-27
Reviews: 2
Works as advertised. Installed without difficulty. A way to delete an attachment in the article editor view would be nice (unless I missed how this was done).
Congratulations to the author!
2008-04-20
Reviews: 5
Updated to J1.5.x and having all sorts of issues with the other download components due to their not being compliant.

This solution is way easier for non technical people who are looking for downloads related to articles.

Pros:
Files are tied to articles
Article expires so do the files

Cons:
I wish I found it earlier
2008-04-17
Reviews: 1
It's simple and to the point. I had some permissions problems and Jonathan was there to develop a workaround and a final fix! If you need a simple way to control downloads from a site this is the answer.
2008-04-14
Reviews: 1
I've used it for a website for the neighbourhood and all the persons who are working with it, told me it was very easy to attach a file to an article.

Also the developer gives really fast feedback on mail. I asked him how to sort the attachments? This will be a new option in the next release. I can't wait to get this new version.

Keep up the good work!!!
2008-04-12
Reviews: 3
This component is very practical and functional, work fine.

Great work, with this component, many websites will not need a manager for downloads!
2008-04-07
Reviews: 1
This is a simple and very useful plugin for putting attachments on Articles.

It has a good set of features and is pretty well integrated with standard Joomla 1.5 (including respecting media configuration settings etc).

The best thing however is the support from Jon - his responsiveness and helpfullness are excellent.

There are currently a couple of minor bugs which prevent it getting the full 5 stars (a breadcrumb issue with the "Add Attachment" screen, and date based on server rather than locale), however I have no doubt that they will be resolved shortly and am therefore very happy to use and recommend this extension.
2008-03-08
Reviews: 2
Very handy mod to have. Makes attaching files very easy.

I also appreciated the support from the Mod author.
2008-02-22
Reviews: 1
Thanks for putting in your time and effort to make this a wonderful, useful addition to Joomla! 1.5.

I did have some problems with the view by anyone option where it did not quite work out of the box. After a couple of quick modifications though I got it up and running.

I do have a few suggestions/requests though:
1. Ability to choose sort method for documents on article.
2. Ability to link attachments inline directly from Article Editors by having an attachments tab (similar to wikis).
3. Ability to not show list or choose list location (similar to related to).
4. Addition of 'Attachments' page view to show all attachments with sorting / filtering by various items (similar to archives).
5. Keep up the good work.

Thanks again for a great program addition for Joomla!
Owner's reply

Jim, thanks for the suggestions. I would like to know what "quick modifications" you had to do to get "view by anyone" working.
Regarding #3: Version 1.2 adds several ways to hide the display of attachments for various types of articles, the front page, or not showing attachments except in the article view.

2008-02-09
Reviews: 4
Jonathan is very friendly and on the ball, and that shows in this extension. Attachments is one of the most user-friendly extensions I have seen and it provides a very simple but effective way to offering downloads.

I wanted to put some downloads on my site but did not want to put visitors through the motions of clicking through sections, categories and lists to end up wondering what the details really mean, as is the case on many Joomla sites with downloads. With attachments I can simply create an article, write something relevant about the download, and attach the download to the article. Convenient for me, and convenient for my visitors!

I would have rated this as excellent if there as a way to update an attached file, to select show or hide on section and category level, and to force downloaders to accept some terms first. I have hacked these features into my installation and I hope and expect that one of the next versions will merrit the full five stars.

Attachments might be too straightforward for commercial websites making money off downloads, but I warmly recommend it for other uses, including especially for other extension developers wanting to offer their extensions as downloads.
Owner's reply

Thanks Ewel,
Thanks for the suggestsions. I plan to add the capability to update attachment files in the near future.
There is a method to hide the display of attachments list on sections or groups. Near the bottom of the Attachments options (modify through the plugin manager), there is the option called "Categories to hide". This allows either sections or groups to not display attachments.
-Jonathan

2008-02-05
Reviews: 1
I'm building a site for a Scout troop. One of things I needed was for registered authors to be able to attach files to their articles - this is to publish programs and news letters etc. This is perfect, it is easy to install, easy to use and most important - works. Because the files are attached to an article only people who are allowed to see an article can see the attachment. No seperate management. No tricky categories. Kids understand it. Designated admins can review the attachment before they're published. Excellent.
2008-02-02
Reviews: 2
Thx for the component+plugin, just what I was looking for.
Installation was easy (suggestion is to get rid of the errors about the languages).

I can't see the attachment button in the frontend when writing a new article. After the article is done and I select it again for editing I can see the attachment button.

And I have a suggestion for the next version, can you please have the ability to upload multiple attachments ?

Thxh,
Owner's reply

Thanks! Sadly, I cannot do anything about the installation warnings about other languages; it is a feature of Joomla! 1.5.

Since an article must exist before an attachment can be added (because the attachment needs the article ID), I have disabled the "Add Attachment" button when an article is first being created. Sorry about this limitation.

Thanks for the suggestion about uploading multiple attachments. Unfortunately, I doubt I will do it soon since it would require significant restructuring of the code.

2008-01-25
Reviews: 1
At last someone has realized this feature was necessary for joomla users. I work in a center, and we'd like that our members could publish their own articles, and, at the same time, attach their own files. That would prevent us web managers from uploading every new addition to the page. So thank you very much.

I would like to translate this plugin to Spanish. Would you please tell me how to do it?

Regards
Owner's reply

Thanks Luis,

I would love for you to translate the extension to Spanish! Please send me an email: jmcameron -at- jmcameron -dot- net.

-Jonathan

2008-01-19
Reviews: 98
This is the only one component that can let us attach files to article in Joomla! 1.5 contents.

The author is also very talented and active. Thanks to him!
2007-11-29
Reviews: 3
I was trying to develop my 1.5RC3 site without using any legacy modules for document support i.e. no DOCMAN. This attachment facility is really really well done.
Only minor issues were found. When authoring a document you don't know you have this feature until you start to save the article. But once you use it you are impressed. Also it needs a small hack for the spelling of begginning (sic).
But when you use it you really get that Eureka feeling! Well done Paul.
2007-11-19
Reviews: 3
This extension works very well and is very user friendly if you want non-tech-savvy users to upload files to your site. None of the Docman-type extensions allow well-styled content to link to files like this does. Easy to use for both authors and admin.
One of the best extensions available and it has made itself crucial to my site. I migrated to Joomla1.5 for what this extension does and I'm glad I did. Now my users can upload resources (files) with detailed descriptions in the content. Thanks Jonathan!
2007-11-11
Reviews: 1
Thanks for a nice extension to Joomla 1.5!
Works, but a few ideas to make this more effective:

1. Integrate this in the article editing page (a link to add attachment to article, when your editing the article) would be great!(takes time to first publish article, then log in to the plugin, find article from a list of 100 articles, and then attach)

2. Would be nice to have an option to make attachments (eg. pdfs) open in new window when users click the attachment link.

Keep up the good work! :)
Owner's reply

Both of these requests have been implemented in recent versions.

2007-10-28
Reviews: 11
Works as advertised! Front and Back end attachments. Auto-publish feature. Only problem, where to edit legal file types? I'll find it in there. Otherwise, a beta very near RC I'd say.
Owner's reply

Thanks! I forgot to mention in the release notes that this version of attachments respects the file type limitations imposed by the media manager. To add file types, go to the "Global Configuration" under the "Site" menu and look for the Media settings section. In it you will see a list of legal file types. Add whatever you need there.

2007-10-04
Reviews: 2
A nice simple app that just works as advertised. You need to read the installation instructions though as it's a 2 part installation. However it's simple to follow the instructions. Install the plugin first then enable it. Then install the component.

It worked straight out of the box, creating an attachment link with the file size next to it.

I think I'm missing something as I can't see how to include attachments in the backend when I'm editing articles. However it works well so I can see me creating a new article in the backend then switching to the front end to add the attachements because it is so simple.

Many thanks Jonathan for a nice clean extension.

Adrian
Owner's reply

The ability to add attachments in the back end was added in version 0.9.5 Beta.

Page 10 of 10