The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Attachments Popular ComponentPlugin

Joomla 3.2 Compatiblity Release - Fixes issue with displaying options under Joomla 3.2. Fixes a few minor bugs. This release works with Joomla 2.5.7+, 3.1.x and 3.2.

The 'Attachments' extension for Joomla! allows files to be uploaded and attached to articles and other types of content. URLs can also be attached. 'Attachments' includes the ability to attach files and edit attachments from the front end as well as from the administrative back end. There are options to control who can see the attachments and who can upload them, along with many other options to increase its flexibility and usefulness.

INSTALLATION IS SIMPLE: Use the Joomla installer with the single installation zip file. The component and all plugins are installed in a single step. Attachments uses the Joomla "upgrade" capability and can be installed over previous versions of Attachments.

There are two versions of Attachments:

* Version 3.1 for Joomla 2.5.7+ or 3.x
-- The 3.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 1.5
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMzOVNfYJIo&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/forum/

* Version 2.x for Joomla 1.5
-- The 2.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 2.5 and later
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nCbRbfJ9io&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/forum/

If you would like to subscribe to an email list for announcements about the Attachments extension, please visit: http://jmcameron.net/attachments/email-list.html

Releases 3.1+ and 2.2+ give you several ways to add, edit, and delete your attachments on the front end, back end, and in article editors on the front and back ends (including during article creation). There are many options to control who can see attachments. When you add or edit attachments, page updates are done quickly without full page reloads.

If you plan to use this extension for sensitive files, use the 'Secure' mode. This provides secure storage of attachment files and prevents access by anyone without logging in.

Attachments 3.1 includes many new features:
--- Supports both Joomla 2.5.7+ and 3.x!
--- Improved permissions handling for backend users with limited permissions.
--- New option to display attachments to the public that require logging in to download.
--- URL attachments are now handled in a secure way (download count works for both).
--- Now supports Joomfish (with additional plugin).
--- Refactored to allow template overrides of all CSS files and images.
--- More robust file downloading.
--- Many fixes and improvements.

Report Extension

 

 

2013-01-23
Reviews: 3
Being very experienced Joomla user and developer, I may say that this is one of the best extensions there is! One can not make it easier to configure and understand it's usage. Also, frontend users are just a click away from uploading files. As said in title - there's everything you need + it's super simple to integrate within anything that exists in Joomla! Thank you for making it!
2013-01-20
Reviews: 28
Thank you very much for this useful extension.

5 stars for sure!
2013-01-17
Reviews: 1
It is almost exactly what I need for: access levels for adding/download, simply adding to articles, pretty default view. That is why I set 5 stars.

Some objections:
1. Do not support Russian file names on server (note: it works as expected, puts correct file names to users, but stores its on server in krakozyabras ;)). I prepared my changes to fix it, tried to send it to developers, but was unable to register on site (tried twice), have got "Could not get user" error message after the validation.
2. It seems like plugin eats quotes in file description while I tried to edit the description with quotes.

But anyway, thanks to developers.
Owner's reply

As described in the help page, Attachments handles special characters better if you use the "Secure" mode (see under the "Security" tab in the Attachments options). Unclear what the second issue is about.
Feel free to contact the developer any issues with Attachments and any suggestions or code fixes! The developer's email is available at the end of the Attachments help page.
-Jonathan

2013-01-12
Reviews: 1
I installed this to test if it was the thing I was looking for. It wasnt. Can't say so much about the functionality BUT...do NOT install it if you think youre going to uninstall it afterwards. I tried to uninstall the normal way - didnt work. Then I discovered my site was messed up. Nothing worked except for the frontpage! I had to delete all the dirs by hand, cleaned up my database by hand, then tried to uninstall it the normal way (now it worked) and my site do now work again after this. Until the developer fix this serious bug, think twice before try out this extension.
Owner's reply

Very sorry you had difficulties. I have heard of rare situations where there have been install/uninstall difficulties but I do not know what is causing the problem. Many people use this extension without problems so I do not believe it is a general problem. You are always welcome to contact the developer for help.

2012-11-22
Reviews: 3
It works really well, no problem using it at all in websites.
Highly recommended.
2012-11-10
Reviews: 9
just like a component should be,
simple to configure and easy to use..

work like Described

Thanks
2012-10-26
Reviews: 2
I added this to our website so our clients could always have their report of our services that we provided. Before we had to email them the report and often they either did not receive it or forgot about it or delete it and need it later. Having this installed made us appear like a larger company that our clients now have access to all the work we have done for them. We are considering using it for our billing department too for our clients.
2012-10-23
Reviews: 1
Works great for me. Thank you for the componet.
Just one question, How can I dasplay the attachment of an article anywhere in my web? I mean, for example, how can I show the attachments of an article in a HTML custom module?

Thank you again!
Owner's reply

Glad you like Attachments.
Displaying attachments separately from their parent article violates the design of Attachments and many aspects of the underlying code (eg, security, etc). Although it is possible to write a plugin that would do what you suggest, I do not encourage it since it would open up potential misues and permissions violations. Sorry about that!
-Jonathan

2012-10-23
Reviews: 1
Hello, I want to say a big congratulations for this extension very professional.
I use it on several sites. I recently used the component "MightySites" which allows the sharing of code joomla. I modified a bit to suit your component to work with "MightySites." In fact there would need $ variabilize ATTACHMENTS_SUBDIR based on the name of the site. If in the next version you can make this change. I hope to made ​​clear. again a big thank you for your work.
2012-10-04
Reviews: 2
I have installed and used this very fast and easy. It does what it says, but there is one thing one should be aware of: This extension stores the full file path in a mysql database. That means, if your web directory changes, you change the domain name of any folder in the current path, you need to adjust maybe 1000 entries in your mysql db. It would be better to take the basepath out of joomla (or a options setting of the component) and just store the filename of the attachent.

Besides that it´s a great component and very easy to use.
Owner's reply

There is a command "Regenerate attachment system filenames" in the Attachments Utilities that does this for you in one easy step.

2012-10-02
Reviews: 1
Hi Guys!!!
i am using this plugin from long time and i install it in almost my all projects. i am so happy with this plugin. and will also use it in future many times.

Now, i am stuck in one project where i need a attachment file at module position for each article. can we have a module which displays attachment for that article. this will be great if we can get this thing too with attachment plugin. i appreciated your work and will wait for the module as well.

great work so far !!!
2012-09-30
Reviews: 6
I've used Attachments on a couple of complicated sites, and it just works. It's a real pleasure to use a component that does exactly what it says it does.
2012-09-20
Reviews: 5
What a great extension! Couldn't be more simple. Developer is also very responsive to suggestions.
2012-09-16
Reviews: 1
I'm using the attachments component, it's very good and easy to configure.
Allthough i have a question: is it possible to change the default checked box to be the relative url rather than verify url existence? If yes how do i do that?
2012-09-10
Reviews: 11
Works very well. Simple to install and use.

Works perfectly for listing documents for download and doubles up as a way to view documents on mobile devices.
2012-09-07
Reviews: 4
Plug-in does not allow public users to add attachments. The user needs to be a super admin. Also when you remove this through 'extensions-manage' you WILL get an error. If you go into your FTP and into components and delete Com_attachments and the sub folder 'attachments' in the root folder of the site. It will not fix anything... I have lost all access to my back end. The front end has a fatal error. This COULD have been a very nice plug-in if it weren't for the "add attachment" restrictions and the fatal errors upon uninstalling.

I was using version 3.0.3
Joomla 2.5
I am a web site designer and coder so I know I will eventually fix it.

Jonathan however replies to emails fast and is nice. (support related)
Owner's reply

I misunderstood what the reviewer wanted to do. Yes, "Public" can add attachments to articles if "Public" can edit the article and if the permissions for Attachments are set to allow public creating of attachments. I just tested this and it works.
To properly uninstall Attachments, uninstall the "Attachments Package" which uninstalls the component and all associated plugins. I agree there is a problem that occurs if just the component is uninstalled. I will try to fix that for the next release.

2012-08-13
Reviews: 4
I have used this component for a long time since 1.5 and now 2.5. I have never really had a problem as it works so well!
My admin upgrade said new version upgrade. So I did and the upgrade failed with errors. Posted for support and got super fast reply! Followed instructions and all is well. Imagine all this and support too...
What makes this so great the author is always making it better! We use it for images and downloads. The users love it as its easy to use and understand.
2012-08-11
Reviews: 1
I used this on a Joomla 1.5 site for many years and just upgraded to 2.5. I wasn't happy that my attachments didn't survive the upgrade, but it was no problem to recreate them.

One note of warning, you'll probably have to modify the allowed file types in your site's Media Manager before you can upload much. Not a big deal, but that bit me twice.

I wish there was an option to add a menu item that points to the list of attachments - I imagine my users would like to see all attachments in one place.
2012-06-13
Reviews: 3
Works as advertised! I was looking for a decent extension for embedding PDFs in the article for Joomla 2.5, but most are incompatible or require you to upload the files manually in the directories and key in some shortcodes (not so friendly for users who are less tech savvy).

I like the simple, user friendly process and the manager that helps organize your uploads. It even opens PDF and other files in a separate tab in the browser, which is beyond what I expected out of an attachment add-on and fits just what I need!

Even though it is not exactly embedding the files within the article, it's good enough for me and my users - just clicks and no syntax issues. :)
2012-05-16
Reviews: 31
Using Attachments in Joomla 2.5 and 1.5. Using it since Attachments 2.1.2 (January 2011).
Advantages: centralized management of all attachments of the administrative area site.
Disadvantages: there is no way to limit the number of downloads, for example, for the user.
Technical support - do not used.
User-friendly interface, has almost all the components necessary capacity investments. Translated into Russian.
Using Attachments for attaching files on the blog.
Engaged in web technologies since March 2007. Use Joomla since December 2009.
Page 2 of 10