The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Attachments Popular ComponentPlugin

Joomla 3.2 Compatiblity Release - Fixes issue with displaying options under Joomla 3.2. Fixes a few minor bugs. This release works with Joomla 2.5.7+, 3.1.x and 3.2.

The 'Attachments' extension for Joomla! allows files to be uploaded and attached to articles and other types of content. URLs can also be attached. 'Attachments' includes the ability to attach files and edit attachments from the front end as well as from the administrative back end. There are options to control who can see the attachments and who can upload them, along with many other options to increase its flexibility and usefulness.

INSTALLATION IS SIMPLE: Use the Joomla installer with the single installation zip file. The component and all plugins are installed in a single step. Attachments uses the Joomla "upgrade" capability and can be installed over previous versions of Attachments.

There are two versions of Attachments:

* Version 3.1 for Joomla 2.5.7+ or 3.x
-- The 3.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 1.5
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMzOVNfYJIo&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/forum/

* Version 2.x for Joomla 1.5
-- The 2.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 2.5 and later
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nCbRbfJ9io&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/forum/

If you would like to subscribe to an email list for announcements about the Attachments extension, please visit: http://jmcameron.net/attachments/email-list.html

Releases 3.1+ and 2.2+ give you several ways to add, edit, and delete your attachments on the front end, back end, and in article editors on the front and back ends (including during article creation). There are many options to control who can see attachments. When you add or edit attachments, page updates are done quickly without full page reloads.

If you plan to use this extension for sensitive files, use the 'Secure' mode. This provides secure storage of attachment files and prevents access by anyone without logging in.

Attachments 3.1 includes many new features:
--- Supports both Joomla 2.5.7+ and 3.x!
--- Improved permissions handling for backend users with limited permissions.
--- New option to display attachments to the public that require logging in to download.
--- URL attachments are now handled in a secure way (download count works for both).
--- Now supports Joomfish (with additional plugin).
--- Refactored to allow template overrides of all CSS files and images.
--- More robust file downloading.
--- Many fixes and improvements.

Report Extension

 

 

2012-05-16
Reviews: 31
Using Attachments in Joomla 2.5 and 1.5. Using it since Attachments 2.1.2 (January 2011).
Advantages: centralized management of all attachments of the administrative area site.
Disadvantages: there is no way to limit the number of downloads, for example, for the user.
Technical support - do not used.
User-friendly interface, has almost all the components necessary capacity investments. Translated into Russian.
Using Attachments for attaching files on the blog.
Engaged in web technologies since March 2007. Use Joomla since December 2009.
2012-05-03
Reviews: 18
Tried on Joomla 2.5.4 without problem. Very good extension, you can attach files from frontend or in backend with a button under the editor.
Also in the backend there is a very useful Attachments Manager very well organized.
The default CSS used for the list of downloadable files is beatyfull and clear with icons for file types.
Good options and user permissions usage.
2012-04-16
Reviews: 7
Installation is a breeze, configuration using Joomla 1.6+ logic is wonderful, and it even works fine under Joomla 2.5.

Highly Recommended!
2012-04-15
Reviews: 6
It's really the best attachment tool i know, and i very much hope you'll adapt it to Joomla 2.5 as well!!
Thank you and best regards!!!!
Owner's reply

Thanks! Yes the release for 2.5+ is almost ready. I hope to have it ready in the next couple of weeks.

2012-03-13
Reviews: 6
Attachments is a very good extension for managing files on Joomla. Few additional parameters could be changed in the setting. I hope the developpers keep developping the project.
2012-01-25
Reviews: 1
This is an incredibly useful and easy to use tool for Joomla!. I'm using it on Joomla! 1.7 and it works pretty well. I realy recommend it to anyone who needs its site to offer files download/upload functions to visitors.

What I must like from this extension are its simplicity and effectiveness. Realy easy to install, configure and use.
2011-11-09
Reviews: 1
Very usefull plugin for attaching files to articles but in the 1.5 compatible version you could rename the path to the files attached, in the 1.7 compatible version you can`t do this...

Except this it`s a good plugin
2011-11-04
Reviews: 1
Great component, especially flexible framework for custom programming. In my case I used it with custom component, with full support from the developper, it worked like a charm!
Really great work and great support from Jonathan!
2011-09-26
Reviews: 33
This is an amazing plugin! Love it. Only problem I have is that I have pages where there's different attachment sections, but with this plugin everything gets grouped together. (So instead of it saying "Attachments:" I'd need multiple ones, ex. "Fruits:" / "Vegetables:" that I could add individual attachments to.)

So, sadly, I won't be able to use it for my site. But I still see the power and beauty of this plugin and hope to be able to use it sometime in the future!
2011-09-22
Reviews: 1
Very useful, simple yet powerful. Up and running in minutes! I have to investigate more on how to restrain attachment access or management to different user profiles. Like it a lot, will use it a lot. Congrats!
2011-09-16
Reviews: 1
This is a great tool that has really come in handy for my site, which has several documents on it.

The support is great. The developer worked with me to resolve some issues that I had, not with the tool, but with uploading files to my site.
2011-09-05
Reviews: 4
Thanks alot, i used the extensions at joomla 1.5. I had to go to 1.7 because the database of 1.5 was corrupt. But i had to miss this component so much.

Again thanks for the great work you do !
2011-09-04
Reviews: 1
Perfect extension where a registered user can use front end editing to add attachments.

Not only is the extension great but the support is even better. The developer helped me figure out a glitch in the newsflash module which I was using with the attachments plugin. He was extremely prompt and helpful.

Thanks again!
2011-09-02
Reviews: 1
Excellent!
Many thanks for the great component!
2011-08-23
Reviews: 1
I really like this extension and I use it alot.
Minor or big site - this is great.
It's easy to use and you get a great backend system along with it.
Even the option part is great.
I aint got alot of bad things to say to be honest.

I only miss better styling options, I'm no big php-shark and therefor the way of templating this can be a pain in the ***.
I've figurede it out by now - but it's not very newbie-friendly.
And a minor thing I would request while I'm at it - a list in the article your writing with the attached files? I've triede to look over the options, the plugins and so on, but I've failed to find a place to see this? You have no way of telling what files you've attached to the article and there is "warning" that the upload was a succes when you've done so.

Overall a great extension with a space for a few upgrades.
But it's worth it!

I might want to say I'm running 1.5 since I didn't like that way of 1.6. If this has anything to say about the way the extension looks for me.
Owner's reply

Glad you find Attachments useful. Yes... styling is not easy. I will think about how to make that easier. Regarding your question about seeing a list of attachments when creating an article: The ability to create/edit/delete attachments while creating an article is a feature in version 2.2. I encourage you to update! Thanks.

2011-08-07
Reviews: 9
This extension has achieved what many appear to failed at, it is an easy to use way to allow downloads from a web page.

The help video makes an easy to set up extension even easier, even the plug in's are activated automatically.

Thank you for a great product.

Regards,

Andy.
2011-08-05
Reviews: 1
It is very useful plug-in. Is there any way to display the many downloads icons(name with link) in a article as different places?
Owner's reply

Glad you like Attachments. I was not sure what you meant in your question. The Attachments extension has an option for display the attachments list at custom locations in the article (but all in one place). After setting the "Where should attachments be placed" option to "Custom placement", you can insert a {attachments} token where you want the attachments to appear (this is explained in the help page). Hope that is helpful. -Jonathan

2011-07-20
Reviews: 6
Great component - very simple and easy to use.
Thanks a lot & thumbs up!!! :-D
2011-07-13
Reviews: 2
I'm using this extension on several school sites. The webmasters are frontend publishers, where they can "attach" a document to an article. This extension is great for them - very straightforward - easy to upload, edit, delete all from the frontend. Developer was quick to respond to my questions, as well.
2011-05-31
Reviews: 4
It works great for me, just what I needed, added to my favorite extensions list.
Page 3 of 10