The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Attachments Popular ComponentPlugin

Joomla 3.2 Compatiblity Release - Fixes issue with displaying options under Joomla 3.2. Fixes a few minor bugs. This release works with Joomla 2.5.7+, 3.1.x and 3.2.

The 'Attachments' extension for Joomla! allows files to be uploaded and attached to articles and other types of content. URLs can also be attached. 'Attachments' includes the ability to attach files and edit attachments from the front end as well as from the administrative back end. There are options to control who can see the attachments and who can upload them, along with many other options to increase its flexibility and usefulness.

INSTALLATION IS SIMPLE: Use the Joomla installer with the single installation zip file. The component and all plugins are installed in a single step. Attachments uses the Joomla "upgrade" capability and can be installed over previous versions of Attachments.

There are two versions of Attachments:

* Version 3.1 for Joomla 2.5.7+ or 3.x
-- The 3.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 1.5
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMzOVNfYJIo&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/forum/

* Version 2.x for Joomla 1.5
-- The 2.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 2.5 and later
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nCbRbfJ9io&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/forum/

If you would like to subscribe to an email list for announcements about the Attachments extension, please visit: http://jmcameron.net/attachments/email-list.html

Releases 3.1+ and 2.2+ give you several ways to add, edit, and delete your attachments on the front end, back end, and in article editors on the front and back ends (including during article creation). There are many options to control who can see attachments. When you add or edit attachments, page updates are done quickly without full page reloads.

If you plan to use this extension for sensitive files, use the 'Secure' mode. This provides secure storage of attachment files and prevents access by anyone without logging in.

Attachments 3.1 includes many new features:
--- Supports both Joomla 2.5.7+ and 3.x!
--- Improved permissions handling for backend users with limited permissions.
--- New option to display attachments to the public that require logging in to download.
--- URL attachments are now handled in a secure way (download count works for both).
--- Now supports Joomfish (with additional plugin).
--- Refactored to allow template overrides of all CSS files and images.
--- More robust file downloading.
--- Many fixes and improvements.

Report Extension

 

 

2010-05-09
Reviews: 8
Attachments is just what has been missing in Joomla. Does exactly what it says and works well.
Thanks for the extension.
2010-05-06
Reviews: 7
Had a minor issue with the component but had quick and good response from developer with a workaround.
One minor thing is that certain file extensions give more than one icon is displayed against the attachment which can make the output a bit "messy". As a future, perhaps allow editor to choose if more than one icon displayed or not. Otherwise a great little extension.
Owner's reply

The display of multiple icons is not a problem with the Attachments extension itself. It is due to other extensions that add icons to the display images such as the multithumb plugin.

2010-05-06
Reviews: 7
What a terrific job. I used this extension in development for the past month and have been very pleased with it. Version 2.0 came out, though, at just the right time. For my user group, the ability to add an attachment while the article is first being created is HUGE. The prior two-step process worked well, but was inconvenient and turned off professional users (lawyers) with little time or technical ability. For them (as for most), simplicity is critical.

This capability is clearly needed for Joomla's core, and I can't imagine a better solution than to just adopt this. Drupal had a decent article file attachment capability years ago; I'm not sure about Wordpress. The lack of the ability to attach files to articles in Joomla's core was, for me, its biggest weakness.

Cameron has done a tight coding job on the front and back ends, documented it beautifully, and by all accounts his support is top-notch (I haven't needed it yet, but I haven't yet used all Version 2.0's new functionality.) He even has a Mailman mailing list for new developments and news.

The existence of this extension makes my site work, especially with Version 2. I haven't yet seen a commercial package of any type that beats this for quality.

I couldn't recommend it more highly and give Cameron my compliments and thanks.
2010-05-02
Reviews: 1
Great work though one thing is missing to have it working for me, help me if at all possible ;)

I want to be able to attach files to an article but have the link appear at a set place in the page outside the article zone, not according to how long the article is.
Owner's reply

The new release of Attachments 2.0, supports positioning the attachments at the beginning, end, or in a custom position within the article (by inserting a special token). If you want the attachments to appear elsewhere on the page (like a module), then I'm not sure this is the right extension for your purposes. The goal of Attachments is to associate attachments directly with an article or other type of content element.

2010-05-01
Reviews: 4
Now I can attach my article with pdf. That's nice! Unfortunatelly I use flexicontent right now and It seems doesn't support flexicontent in front-end.
2010-04-20
Reviews: 4
If you're looking for a simple way to attach documents to articles, this is your extension. Very simple to use, with a nice backend Administration list as well. Solid!
2010-04-02
Reviews: 11
This is a very good extension. I like it.
I have one suggestion.
It would be nice to have the option to add the download link inside the article. Maybe some keyword like {attch 4} to show attachment 4 of that article inside the article.
Owner's reply

Attachments 2.0 (just released) allows you to do exactly this! Enjoy!

zxs
2010-03-30
Reviews: 3
Good plugin, but it doesn't work with non-ASCII file names. There's no auto-transliteration of filenames before saving.
Owner's reply

I encourage you to try the new 2.0 release. It handles unicode filenames better.

2010-03-29
Reviews: 1
I tried using this a month ago and dint like it much coz I dint enable the plugin. But now found it and works so well. Only question I have is
- is there a way to upload an entire directory?
- if each user has a folder for his files, then how to accommodate this?

-Vijay
Owner's reply

Hi Vijay,

>> - is there a way to upload an entire directory?

No. Sorry.

>> If each user has a folder for his files, then how to accommodate this?

Not sure what you are asking or what you want to do here. Currently all attachment files are grouped together in one directory. The filenames are prefixed with numbers to avoid conflicts. In the new version of Attachments (probably coming in April), the files for each article will appear in a separate directory and retain their original filenames.

-Jonathan

2010-03-14
Reviews: 1
1st of all Great work

but i have question

is there a chance to display the attachments in contact us page (com_contact)?

thank you
Balaji
Owner's reply

Hi Balaji,

In version 1.3.4 this is not possible. Fortunately, the next version (probably coming in April), this will be possible, although it will require writing some PHP code.

-Jonathan

2010-03-13
Reviews: 1
Simple to install and works great!
2010-02-26
Reviews: 2
A brilliant extension!

The only downside is not counting unsecure downloads.

Still, 5 stars.
2010-02-22
Reviews: 1
Hi,it is a very good component.
I have a question:
Is there any possibility to paginate the attached files in an article,so for example i want at first to view only 10 of them and then the other files in second page,so to paginate them?
Owner's reply

Thanks! This is a good idea. The current code does not support this. Not sure when I might get to this, but I'll add it to my list of things to consider. -Jonathan

2010-02-18
Reviews: 2
... Does not respect the MVC model. It is impossible to override the default looks of the "attachments" section of the article's display except by modifying the extension code, which kind of defeats the purpose of having an extension...
2010-01-29
Reviews: 1
Clean, easy and high quality code.

I was looking for a way to integrate files in a website I was doing for a business society with registered users. They needed a way to put up confidential information like lists, minutes of meetings, etc., and this is exactly what they needed, and beautifully and elegantly done. Aesthetics meets good code.

Thank you so very much! Good work!
2010-01-20
Reviews: 3
One of the best and light-weight attachment to articles component.

I was wondering if there could be a feature to have a mix of public and private attachments on the same article? Right now, there's all or nothing.

Great work!
Hadassah
2010-01-07
Reviews: 2
Thank you very much, this is a very useful extension. It is exactly what a Joomla newbie like myself needed.
2010-01-05
Reviews: 20
Very good extension. VERY easy to use ! Thanks.
2009-12-25
Reviews: 2
What will we do to Attackment don't show in intro text of article? I'd like it only show after click "read more" button.

Please support me, thanks so much
Owner's reply

You can do exactly want you want by using setting the option "Hide Attachments for" to "all_but_article_views". This option is near the bottom of the list of options. Access the Attacments options via the admin back end: Component > Attachments and click on the [Parameters] button in the toolbar. This is also explained in the help page.

2009-12-24
Reviews: 4
It's a very well done extension, which does what it try to do. It simplifies the life of Joomla article's publishers in that cases where the article would be better if referred to a file (attachment).
Page 6 of 11