The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Attachments Popular ComponentPlugin

Joomla 3.2 Compatiblity Release - Fixes issue with displaying options under Joomla 3.2. Fixes a few minor bugs. This release works with Joomla 2.5.7+, 3.1.x and 3.2.

The 'Attachments' extension for Joomla! allows files to be uploaded and attached to articles and other types of content. URLs can also be attached. 'Attachments' includes the ability to attach files and edit attachments from the front end as well as from the administrative back end. There are options to control who can see the attachments and who can upload them, along with many other options to increase its flexibility and usefulness.

INSTALLATION IS SIMPLE: Use the Joomla installer with the single installation zip file. The component and all plugins are installed in a single step. Attachments uses the Joomla "upgrade" capability and can be installed over previous versions of Attachments.

There are two versions of Attachments:

* Version 3.1 for Joomla 2.5.7+ or 3.x
-- The 3.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 1.5
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMzOVNfYJIo&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/forum/

* Version 2.x for Joomla 1.5
-- The 2.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 2.5 and later
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nCbRbfJ9io&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/forum/

If you would like to subscribe to an email list for announcements about the Attachments extension, please visit: http://jmcameron.net/attachments/email-list.html

Releases 3.1+ and 2.2+ give you several ways to add, edit, and delete your attachments on the front end, back end, and in article editors on the front and back ends (including during article creation). There are many options to control who can see attachments. When you add or edit attachments, page updates are done quickly without full page reloads.

If you plan to use this extension for sensitive files, use the 'Secure' mode. This provides secure storage of attachment files and prevents access by anyone without logging in.

Attachments 3.1 includes many new features:
--- Supports both Joomla 2.5.7+ and 3.x!
--- Improved permissions handling for backend users with limited permissions.
--- New option to display attachments to the public that require logging in to download.
--- URL attachments are now handled in a secure way (download count works for both).
--- Now supports Joomfish (with additional plugin).
--- Refactored to allow template overrides of all CSS files and images.
--- More robust file downloading.
--- Many fixes and improvements.

Report Extension

 

 

2009-12-20
Reviews: 1
Got it up and running in record time. Amazing! Simple as ABC. Couldn't have asked for more.
2009-12-18
Reviews: 1
I am amazing with this app. It is very easy to use and give you amount of tools and posibilities to upload files.

In short words, a perfect tool
2009-12-13
Reviews: 3
Free (with registration), setup istructions are easy, it needs some minor settings to work, and then it just does what is says and it does it perfectly!
2009-12-12
Reviews: 6
This component is perfect. It works great with Jreviews, since jreviews doesn't have an attachment tool of its own. I didn't find absolutely any problems installing or running the component. Thanks for creating this very useful tool!
2009-11-26
Reviews: 1
This is one of the most needed extension. It is such an ease to work with this. As others suggested, i think, this needs to be put along with the other core components.
2009-11-20
Reviews: 4
It is possible to change the look and feel of the table; font size, position of table etc. The CSS file is in the plugins folder... you can experiment with font sizes, table borders, colours etc.
egp
2009-11-13
Reviews: 4
I really love this extension. I use it all the time. I wish the display of attachments was a little "prettier" but I like it nonetheless. Highly recommended!
2009-10-21
Reviews: 1
This extension is a MUST for pretty much any Joomla install.

EASY to install. Works immediately. No hickups what so ever.

I really can't believe this isn't part of the Joomla Core.
2009-10-14
Reviews: 1
Good concept! Easy to add value to contents by uploading document that comes with (eg. pdf), and at any time. Easy also for simple readers to read or download the documents. Works fine.
2009-10-05
Reviews: 2
Amazing module. Support covers all needs.
2009-09-29
Reviews: 2
easy to install and setup, works smoothly.
2009-09-29
Reviews: 5
Like some others mentioned here I really think this should be in Joomla core.

Its great for adding attachments and offers users another way of adding content if they are scared about editing pages since they can simply attach word docs etc aswell.

It is dead easy to use and very user friendly from the front end which is in my opinion vital.

Just one word of warning: I almost gave up on this attachment after installing it on a local testing server as I received a number of errors relating to imageresize.php in the front end. I think these relate to not having imagemagik installed on my local server. When I installed it on 1and1 on a live site however everything worked fine and I discovered the 'edit' and 'delete' functionality in the front end which, because the images didn't show up on my local testing server, I did not realise were there.

So perhaps imageresize is not necessary for the icons and this might enhance compatibility across more servers.
2009-09-23
Reviews: 8
Easy to download :) Easy to install :)
Should be a core component of Joomla!!!
2009-09-18
Reviews: 2
Very smart extension offer a simple way to manage attachments upload directly from the user side.

I'm wondering if it is possible to enable the Fulltext search in the attachment's contents. Actually is only supported the search for attachments filenames.

Very good job
2009-09-03
Reviews: 1
Very nice componente, i was wondering only if it can be used for articles displayed with other components like JContentPlus? If YES what is to be done.

Thx, and keep up the good work guys
:)
2009-08-29
Reviews: 1
Who would of thought you could get this kind of support from a commercial product let alone an open source one:

When I first installed Attachments is worked beautifully. Then when I updated from Joomla! 1.5.11 to 1.5.12 it quit working. It turned out to be a problem with 1.5.12 not Attachments.

The Joomla! project group quickly fixed the problem in 1.5.13 and later, but for some reason I couldn't get Attachments to work.

Jonathan responded to my email and offered to take a look at the problem if I would provide him with a temp superadmin login and a temp ftp login on my server.

He logged in and made adjustments to my .htaccess file and changed the allowed file upload size. Joomla!'s default is only 2Megs and my files were larger than that.

Thanks Jonathan for the awesome support. Wow!
2009-07-17
Reviews: 4
I am very pleased with this extension. It is a feature that should come out of the box with joomla. Previous to this I was storing pdf's in teh image directory, and writing in the links by hand. this is a far superior option.
2009-07-13
Reviews: 5
This is an excellent tool, I have tried all of the others and this is the best by far. I could have rated this excellent but for three points:
1) Attachments are always shown on the bottom of an article (fixed by hacking the code)
2) 'Attachments' title is always shown (again fixed by hacking the code)
3) Same download requires separate attachments for each article.
I have looked through the forums/FAQ and see that these are hopefully being included in the next release, then I should be able to give it an excellent rating
2009-07-11
Reviews: 3
one of the best ways to add attachments to your articles!!!

Add power poitn, pdf, even word documents!!!

Very usefull!! Instead of adding web link and a button to assign users to download a video pdf file or word document, this one does this in a click. Users can also search for the attachments!
2009-06-23
Reviews: 3
Does what it says.

Don't forget to activate the plugin "Editor Button - AddAttachment" - very helpful to not have to navigate away from an article.

The only request would be the ability to add a link to a document inline in the text instead of floating at the bottom.
Page 7 of 11