The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Attachments Popular ComponentPlugin

Joomla 3.2 Compatiblity Release - Fixes issue with displaying options under Joomla 3.2. Fixes a few minor bugs. This release works with Joomla 2.5.7+, 3.1.x and 3.2.

The 'Attachments' extension for Joomla! allows files to be uploaded and attached to articles and other types of content. URLs can also be attached. 'Attachments' includes the ability to attach files and edit attachments from the front end as well as from the administrative back end. There are options to control who can see the attachments and who can upload them, along with many other options to increase its flexibility and usefulness.

INSTALLATION IS SIMPLE: Use the Joomla installer with the single installation zip file. The component and all plugins are installed in a single step. Attachments uses the Joomla "upgrade" capability and can be installed over previous versions of Attachments.

There are two versions of Attachments:

* Version 3.1 for Joomla 2.5.7+ or 3.x
-- The 3.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 1.5
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=XMzOVNfYJIo&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments3/forum/

* Version 2.x for Joomla 1.5
-- The 2.x versions will NOT work on Joomla 2.5 and later
-- See demo video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=-nCbRbfJ9io&hd=1
-- DOWNLOAD: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/frs/
-- FORUMS: http://joomlacode.org/gf/project/attachments/forum/

If you would like to subscribe to an email list for announcements about the Attachments extension, please visit: http://jmcameron.net/attachments/email-list.html

Releases 3.1+ and 2.2+ give you several ways to add, edit, and delete your attachments on the front end, back end, and in article editors on the front and back ends (including during article creation). There are many options to control who can see attachments. When you add or edit attachments, page updates are done quickly without full page reloads.

If you plan to use this extension for sensitive files, use the 'Secure' mode. This provides secure storage of attachment files and prevents access by anyone without logging in.

Attachments 3.1 includes many new features:
--- Supports both Joomla 2.5.7+ and 3.x!
--- Improved permissions handling for backend users with limited permissions.
--- New option to display attachments to the public that require logging in to download.
--- URL attachments are now handled in a secure way (download count works for both).
--- Now supports Joomfish (with additional plugin).
--- Refactored to allow template overrides of all CSS files and images.
--- More robust file downloading.
--- Many fixes and improvements.

Report Extension

 

 

2008-09-08
Reviews: 1
Hi
Many thanks for this tool
i have uploaded a a PDF file using this tool but unable it to display on the page. i want this file to appear on my webpage like pdf file on right hand side and when somebody click on this then they can view it in pdf format
2008-08-26
Reviews: 2
Well done and thanks
2008-08-13
Reviews: 1
hi - thanks for this great component. I am newbie of a few months and was able to install easily and quickly to add functionality to article lists. Spot on!

1 helpful addition in future releases would be to separate out who can publish an attachement and who can delete one - present arrangement isn't perfect for my application but I see in forums that this is something you are considering.

thanks again.
2008-08-11
Reviews: 2
Thanks to jonathan for this great components. Now i can added it to my site and the FAQ was helping me a lot.

Thanks. Hopefully i can create a component like you someday.

Thank you
2008-08-08
Reviews: 1
Hi,

this plugin is perfect. Finally, you can add an attachement to a content without any problems. And it looks nice, too !!!
2008-08-08
Reviews: 4
Great, exactly what I needed. Installation was no problem, using it is simple. Thanks for that component!
2008-08-06
Reviews: 1
From the first time I use Joomla! I have always disapointed about how to add a file to an article. Uploading using the media manager is not helping (you don't know how to add a link to that file to an article). But this component has the answer.

Everyone who deals with uploaded files should use it.

Oh, another one: I think the attachment manager should be sortable and searchable. :)

Thanks. It's great!
2008-07-30
Reviews: 3
I installed the component and it works great. Just beware if you use QuickFaq though since it seems to break after an installation of "Attachments for content articles"

QuickFaq url:
http://extensions.joomla.org/component/option,com_mtree/task,viewlink/link_id,5554/Itemid,35/

Other than that, I'm happy :)
2008-07-07
Reviews: 1
Hey man tnx for this component is exactly what I was looking for my project.
2008-07-07
Reviews: 2
This is THE extension I needed. It works as advertised and I haven't had any problems.

Pros:
-Installation was a breeze.
-Out of the box design is great. I haven't had to make any changes CSS or otherwise to make it look great! I can think of few extensions where this is true.

Cons:
-Nothing major really, just a few suggestions.

A few suggested Changes:
-I like the previous suggestions of inline attachments and including attachments in RSS feeds.
-I think the "Hide Attachments For" parameter might be better served by two parameters. A drop down for frontpage and article's only and a text box for the category/section limits.
-A very small complaint: I wish that the filetype icon and document name were in the same link. I have an underline under all links that disappears when hovered over. Hence, I wanted the icon and text to be in a single link. It was easy to do by making slight changes to lines 677 and 678 in helper.php, but I'd think this would be a good change to incorporate in the next version.

But again, bravo. Great extension!
Owner's reply

Thanks for the encouraging feedback. The suggestion about adding separate options for 'Hide Attachments For' settings 'frontpage' and 'articles only' is a good one that I'll add to my list of things to do. I'll also take another look at the point you made that the icon and filename are not in the same link.
One of my next goals is to implement the inline attachments option.
-Jonathan

2008-07-02
Reviews: 8
Installed on test server, just to see how it works.
After 20 minutes of some look here and there, adapting to settings in component and plugins, changes in General site settings (just to allow upload zip files), found that it works as described.
Even without any modifications in css or templates - extension looks quite nice.
I am not quite newbie with Joomla (has some experience during the last three years, not a profi or tech, just user), still, this is rather simple to set up and use.
Will implement in real website.
Thanks developer for good extension.
Regards
2008-07-01
Reviews: 5
Smooth and simple - BEAUTIFUL :) The included install and set up instructions were short and simple - even for me who likes to rush ahead and just try it without reading any instructions 8P... And yes, I did miss fire on the enablement for everyone to see attachments, at first... But heck, it took just 20 seconds to read the README file and figure out my mistake, and it worked perfectly. Actually a nice touch to err on the side of security, and make the admin lower security deliberately...

Excellent component - EXACTLY what I've been looking for - and a whole lot simplier to integrate than DOCman for simple file attachments on articles.

10 out of 10 :)
2008-06-27
Reviews: 1
hi.. this is nice component.. but when i attached a image.. its show a image link.. is there any way to attached a author many images as he want.. and insert them in article randomaly... ?

thanx for this component.. please add this feature.. it would be great..
Owner's reply

Yes, you can add as many images as you like using the media manager (you may want to separate directories). Then use the article editor to insert the image wherever you want it.
There is no way to do what you want with the current version of Attachments. I am considering a special way to insert attachments inline as one of the next big enhancements for Attachments. Please be patient!

2008-06-27
Reviews: 1
Only one thing missing for me: the ability to mark an attachment as to be included in the Joomla generated RSS feed: this would allow podcasts for instance.
2008-06-23
Reviews: 1
It would be great if Permission Part move to each Attachment record that we can choose which attachment can be visible for which group of users. now it is 0 or 1 for all attachments.
Bests
2008-06-17
Reviews: 3
This is not only about creating a superb and well designed extension. It'also about caring about the scores of users who have made use of the previous extension and ensuring that the new, enhanced extension, will not cause additional work by having to remove and upload again their attachments. This is what makes the difference between doing a good job and doing an excellent one.
Thanks Jonathan and no wonder the users rate you to the top.
2008-06-16
Reviews: 1
It is an excellent extension but...

1) Attachment should be shown after full text. Currently, it is showing after intro text also. if author can make option to choose for showing, it will be great.

2) Selective Section and Category options needed. Mambot applied all sections. I hope we can give option to choose section or category.
Thank you for your nice extension!
Owner's reply

Regarding #1: I'm aware of the issue. You may be able to get the effect you want by using special value 'all_but_article_views' option in the 'hide attachments for' option.

Regarding #2: Please read the help or tooltip for the 'hide attachments for' option. You can hide attachments for whole sections or categories. Perhaps this will do what you need.

2008-06-09
Reviews: 2
I was looking for a component like this so I try it and I was happy because It works well. But for my website I would prefer that attachments can be seen by everyone and can be downloaded only by registerd users. I ask to Jonathan who kindly help me and in a few days I've a component perfect for my need.
Many thanks to the author!!
TOP
2008-06-09
Reviews: 2
Great work!
2008-05-31
Reviews: 2
My comment to the author, Jonathan, was "This is the coolest thing I have ever seen."

For simple document management with enough user options to tailor for individual needs Attachments is just great. Easily installed, publish the plugins, and you're using it.

Great job, Jonathan!
Page 9 of 11