The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Download Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Download is a Joomla! component. It displays sections, categories and files which can be downloaded from the site. Downloaded files are listed in Statistics View (administration).

Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/phoca-download/category/1-files
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/phoca-download-plugin
http://www.phoca.cz/download

Joomla! 2.5 Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-download

Setting own style demo, Youtube videos in Phoca Download:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-download-youtube

Joomla! 3 Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/phoca-download-demo


Phoca Download 2 Requirements:
PHP - (5.2.4)see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - (5.0.4)see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Download 3 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2013-04-25
Reviews: 3
I just downloaded Phoca Download 6 weeks ago and I'm extremely happy with it's behaviour so far.
The frontend layout is clean, the user stats are excellent and its very easy to use.
2013-04-21
Reviews: 10
This extension is perfect, it do exactly what it says and it has various plugins for any specific usage. I'm currently using it in 3 websites with no problems.
2013-04-17
Reviews: 6
Phoca does exactly what it says. It's a snap to set up, with several display options and a real simple user upload interface. Well done
2013-04-09
Reviews: 4
I'am using it on two pages and i can advise it to all other how will use this in future. Its a very flexible component. Easy to customize and has a professional look. Very nice!
2013-03-29
Reviews: 8
The extension is easy to use and has a professional look.
After more than a year of use I can say that is even robust. It never had an error, a fault or malfunction.
2013-03-14
Reviews: 1
I have just been through agony of purchasing and installing various Joomla document/download managers. They look and sound promising but Phoca Downloads is head an shoulders above the rest - and it's FREE!
I installed on Joomla 1.5 site and it's working great. Now I have installed on Joomla 2.5.8 and am really impressed. We'd spent hours loading up into another popular extension but found it inflexible and useless for a complex tree of documents. Fortunately we were able to point the documents folder to the one we'd already set up and off we went. A little bit of SQL and we carried over the categories and document entries.
We haven't gone live yet - but already I feel confident this is a great choice. The flexible layout configuration beats any of the other similar extensions hands down - simply brilliant!
Well done to the developer - awesome work. If you're looking for a download/document manager - this is the one!
2013-02-21
Reviews: 1
I use this extension for a non-commercial sportsclub. I recentely upgraded and moved from Docman to Phoca Download. Its much easier to install and maintain, also front-end capabilities are great! Excellent free extension!
2013-01-26
Reviews: 12
For many years this developer is proved as stable and reliable.

Recommend all their extensions!
2013-01-01
Reviews: 4
What a fantastic extension. I can't believe that this is available for free. Many thanks to the author for a first class extension.
2012-12-11
Reviews: 2
Components are easily editable in terms of source code. I recommend.
2012-12-05
Reviews: 2
Incredible that the Phoca extensions is provided for free! They are really great and is stacked with great features. Can't understand how any would give a bad review on a Phoca extension.
2012-12-05
Reviews: 1
It's Great extension and very helpful.however i find the documents are not clear .i hope easily setup method added with photo to help in that .
2012-11-26
Reviews: 10
It's annoying to see a good component like this one, empty of usefull options. In the category list, you can't display text, you can't display tags, the visitor is subjected to chance ! In the list of downloads of tag "x", you can not put a link to the category. We can not find downloads with two of more specific tags! I am disappointed because apart from that, this component is good.
Owner's reply

Hi,

I really don't understand why users are so negative:

You get:

- extension which is free
- free support
- free language file delivered by community
- etc.

If the extension does not fit your needs:

a) you can uninstall it and find other which fits your needs better - this will solve your problem
b) you can ask in forum or on other place, maybe somebody will give you advice how to customize it, or how to enable demanded features - this can solve your problem
c) you can write feature requests in forum or in contact forum - this can solve your problems in future
d) you can write negative review here or somewhere else - this will not solve your problem except your problem is elsewhere than in using the component :-(

Of course the extension cannot fit needs of all people of the world but I as developer listen to users and try to add new features there (I by myself use 10% of Phoca Download features, all other 90% was added because users added them to feature request list)

Options were wished by users, so if you feel, it is not useful for you, there are some users who find it useful. It is open source and everybody can find useful features there and everybody can customize it in case, he/she didn't find the feature they need.

Of course you can display text and tags in category view - just use the custom layout, etc.

If you really need this extension (you didn't find any other) then will be great you will go to Phoca Forum page and there:

a) you will get advices how to enable features you think, they are not exist
b) you can write feature requests to help imlementing new features you need.

Thank you, Jan

2012-11-10
Reviews: 2
The least I can do for this great component is to rate it with a perfect score. The developer is so awesome that even with no paid subscription required for this component, he makes sure everybody gets a smooth transition from old versions to newer ones. Just awesome!
2012-11-08
Reviews: 9
Sophisticated Component, very informative Documentation. everything's explained in there!
Developers answer fast and nice in forums.
the feature "frondend User" is brilliant if you don't want to let others come inside your control panel. It doesn't have all the options backend provides, but you can edit it in CSS
strongly recommended!
2012-10-06
Reviews: 1
I used this component with Joomla 1.5, now I passed to Joomla 2.5 and I cannot try a module to make a list of latest downloaded files. Is it planned this module?
2012-08-11
Reviews: 2
The best file downloader so far, but it's driving me a bit nutz!

Everything displays the way I want except at the bottom of the page it displays Prev, Next, & page numbers as text rather than images and it also has them listed one under the other instead of on one line so it looks messy with 6 or 7 lines of text, tried looking on website for solution but gave up.

Pretty good, give it a try...
Owner's reply

Hi, if you mean pagination, it should be styled by your template's CSS. Pagination is common part of Joomla! and it is not styled by component but by template's CSS

Jan

2012-06-21
Reviews: 2
Really amazing component.

I suggest to everyone just to try and you never leave it for another one .....
2012-06-16
Reviews: 1
That one word in title simply describe Phoca Download. I was searching an extension enables me to simply display a list of downloadable files in my website without no access level requirement (anyone can download). It took around 5 minutes to download this extension, install, upload files, setup menus and voila my download page ready instantly. Thanks for the great work!
2012-05-27
Reviews: 8
Geat component. I've been using Phoca Gallery and now also Phoca Download. You need sime time to get how it works but hey it's free and it does the job you need. What else do you need.
Give this Jan guy all the credits you
can! Excellen job! Thanx.
Miro
Page 2 of 7