The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Phoca Download Popular ComponentModulePluginExtension Specific Addon

Phoca Download is a Joomla! component. It displays sections, categories and files which can be downloaded from the site. Downloaded files are listed in Statistics View (administration).

Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/phoca-download/category/1-files
http://www.phoca.cz/demo/phoca-download-plugin
http://www.phoca.cz/download

Joomla! 2.5 Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-download

Setting own style demo, Youtube videos in Phoca Download:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomlademo/phoca-download-youtube

Joomla! 3 Demo:
http://www.phoca.cz/joomla3demo/phoca-download-demo


Phoca Download 2 Requirements:
PHP - (5.2.4)see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - (5.0.4)see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 1.6, 1.7, 2.5

Phoca Download 3 Requirements
PHP - see Joomla! requirements
MySQL - see Joomla! requirements
Joomla! 3.x

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2010-02-05
Reviews: 1
I am very happy to use phoca components because setup is very easy and works fine.
Thanks for joomla community
2010-01-27
Reviews: 8
Now I undertand when people say it's a "must have" component.

For the next versions would be nice the possibility to see the files but be able to download only if the user is online.
2010-01-17
Reviews: 2
Being quit new to Joomla (a little bit more than 7 day’s) the system roocks….

With Phoca Download manager U get what U pay fore.
First of all it’s “Mission impossible” 2 find documentation to install and setup the system – Phoca’s homepage lacks structure.
But I managed to get Phoca Download to run within 2 hours.
The interface is nice but the buttom’s are ;-(

Next is setting up the module….
Without documentation I’m only capable of creating a menu which points to section which point to a category which contains the files which user could be able to download. It’s the same way user has to access the files – click on the menu, chose a section, chose a category, and then final chose a file….
Am I missing something here?
Furthermore it seems impossible to select only one section/category for a specific menu point it’s all or nothing
Isn’t it possible to go directly from the menu to the category folder?

Well without the documentation it hard to customize Pooco…

But it’s free and it works – what more can U expect?
Nice work – and still room for improvement.
2010-01-13
Reviews: 1
I have installed PhocaDownload together with two competitive DownloadPlugins to see which would come closest to the look and feel I wanted.
Option 1 failed because of an uncomfortable backend.
Option 2 limited my options for file and category naming not allowing special chars
Option 3 was PhocaDownload - it does almost everything I wanted it to do, and even if I had to mess a bit in the code to get the rest done I am still convinced that this is the best way to go in terms of download plugins.

Also the forum is busy with tips, tricks, hints and at the time of my last visit the creator had made over 10.000 posts in the support forum. Speaks for itself, doesn't it?
2010-01-05
Reviews: 2
Changing to PhocaDownloads from RokDownloads was a breath of fresh air.

The frontend layout is clean, the user stats are excellent and its very easy to use.
2009-12-28
Reviews: 3
I'm using this component on my own portfolio website for implementing a file repository for Joomla extensions I'm offering. Phoca Download does an excellent job with this! Easy to install and configure, it does exactly what it's supposed to do and more.

Thanks for sharing this great component for free!
2009-12-02
Reviews: 6
This is my preferred download component and clients love it. The only downside at the moment is that the menu option is a simple all or nothing choice.

Howver - There is a patch available on joomlacode.org by codejunkie, that changes that and now I can add menu items witha choice of sections/categories/files and this works brilliantly.

With a little knowledge of php and CSS I have been able to style the output to meet my client's needs exactly.

This is now a standard component on my base installation for clients.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review. Since 1.3.1 the menu option (solution from codejunkie) was integrated to the component.
So big thanks to codejunkie.

Thank you, Jan

2009-11-20
Reviews: 5
Wow!
After struggling with the integration of Docman with joomla multi site, I came across Phoca Download. From the first install, everything worked perfectly. It is so easy to use and looks nice and clean.

I have nothing to say against it!

Phoca extensions never stop amazing me!
2009-11-19
Reviews: 4
Go for it! It's good!
For us the possibility to play movies from within was it's most important part and it works really good (modal and popup).
2009-11-18
Reviews: 3
Yeah! This is very good component. But can i add all files in the folder into my category automatically?
2009-11-10
Reviews: 3
Very good work. I'd like more layout theme for the future
2009-10-04
Reviews: 7
Thank you for this beatiful extension.
2009-09-21
Reviews: 5
This is a simple and easy to use extensions. Works without any problem! Thanks!!!
2009-09-20
Reviews: 7
Wonderful component! I recommend everybody to use it!
2009-09-05
Reviews: 3
After being 1 week searching and trying some components, I have taken this: Phoca Download.

Easy installation and administration, clean, elegant and good support.

Recommended 100 %

Regards
2009-08-27
Reviews: 3
This component is great, don't get me wrong. It does everything it claims to do, and it does it very well. But if your template requires modifying Phoca's CSS file, put on a hat right away, because you'll be pulling your hair out in no time.

I've created dozens and dozens of Joomla sites with templates from all over the place. I have never seen more complicated CSS in my life. If you need to so the simplest thing, like change the color of the text in the front end component, you'll have to manually add the CSS yourself. Some of the images are called from the CSS file, others from php files that are so buried in the package, you'll need a flashlight to find them.

Actually, no amount of words can do justice to the amount of frustration you're going to experience trying to customize the CSS. Just go ahead and try. You'll see what I mean.

Again, just to be clear, the component seems to be rock solid and extremely useful. Definitely worth more than the price (free). But the CSS? My goodness, it should be an example of exactly how NOT to style a site.
Owner's reply

Hi, thank you for your review.

Please, let me know exactly (http://www.phoca.cz/forum), what you mean with the CSS problems. E.g. the color of text is not set in Phoca Download, as color of text is set in Joomla! template, this should be changed there (Phoca Download doesn't change your main style)

Some of design parameters can be added via Parameters, so these cannot be saved in external CSS but as Phoca Download follows MVC pattern you can easily overwrite the design of Phoca Download template (default.php files).

Jan

2009-08-13
Reviews: 3
yeh its nice and easy to setup, install etc. It looks nice. It would be better if it had the option to add sub-catagories/folders but all in all v good work guys!!
2009-07-24
Reviews: 1
Registered purely to write this review. I can't recommend this component highly enough. Does everything it says it can do. Highly customiseable. Support on Phoca forum is top notch for a non commercial entity.
2009-07-06
Reviews: 1
For me Phoca Download looks very sophisticated an gets *****. But one missing feature takes it IMHO to ***.

Why? Well, it has categories and sections. I can administer licenses and global settings. Even statistic are included and it looks very nice but what´s extremly missing for me is the pathway-inclusion. Only the title of the menu-item (don´t know what´s the right name in English) IMHO is not enough when having categories and sections.
2009-06-20
Reviews: 9
yet another totally free, totally wicked, extension by Phoca! Thanks.
Page 5 of 7