The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Reverse Auction Factory ComponentModulePlugin

Reverse Auction Factory is a Joomla! extension that allows to create an industrial B2B procurement website.

Users can post their requests in order to obtain the best price for needed services or desired products. This means that they can choose the lowest price or what they consider would be the best deal for them.

Custom Fields

Publishable in any product template
Multiple field types (Checkbox, Image, Text input, Radio button, etc.)
Displayed on 9 different pages on the default product template and able to set category filter
Used for auctions and user profiles
Each custom field can be set as searchable, rendering it available in advanced search
Option to set fields as compulsory

Layout & Themes

Fully customizable template system
Default responsive template
Fully customizable CSS
Smarty based templates allowing even more flexibility

Monetize

Payment items: Pay per listing, Pay per bid, Pay per contact, Pay for featured auctions
Commissions (seller or buyer can be charged)
Different category pricing for certain payment items
Preferential pricing for powerbuyers and verified users

Key Features

Multiple auction types: Public Auctions, Private Auctions (Sealed Envelope), Invite Auctions
Manual and Automatic auctions (manual auction allows the seller to choose a winner, even if they specify a lower bid than the best)
Auto extend auction if a bid is added on a set amount of time or if no bids at all
Availability options
Featured auctions
Picture upload and image gallery for auctions
File attachments for auctions and bids (signed contracts, drafts, etc.)
Support for NDA (bidders must upload a signed NDA before bidding)
Messaging system for sellers and bidders
Google Maps localization
Ratings & reviews system
Reporting system for offending auctions
Watchlist (auctions, categories and subcategories)
Admin definable currency
Automatic currency exchange rates using Yahoo conversion
Republish auctions (relisting)
Auction ending countdown
Timeframe for job completion
Tags
RSS feed

Standards

Multi-language support, UTF-8 support, comes default with English INI language files
SEO/SEF friendly
Default integration with Joomla! user profile, allowing a single login for Joomla! and component
Easy transition to RTL by editing the product templates
Simple installation, configuration and updating process

User Profile

Configurable account details, including a PayPal address for payments between bidders and sellers
Instant messaging information (YM, Skype, Facebook, etc.)
Displays received ratings
Account balance and payment history
Personalized fields
Simple user profile search


FURTHER DETAILED INFORMATION IS AVAILABLE ON THE PRODUCT HOMEPAGE!

Report Extension

 

 

2012-05-26
Reviews: 2
I was a bit surprised first about the ugly template. When you buy this product you have to know that a part of work like templating and texts are still left for you. You will also have learn to use the smarty-engine code for it, whitch is not bad but just takes time.

Nevertheless the support is almost perfekt and they help quickly and give good tips, also the software seems to run stably. Its a pity, that there is no integration work jomsocial,only CB. But this is just a feature request
2011-11-28
Reviews: 1
This product brought me easy and effective living. I just use it 2 months ago and now I'm completely satisfied with this useful plugin
2011-10-15
Reviews: 1
I used this for my first Joomla based project, so i was really slow to differentiate between what Reverse Auction Factory did, and what was handled by the CMS.
But support was really patient with me and i managed to get a more than decent site.
Big plus for the open source code, i had some preferences and just needed the forum for guides as where to go for changing whatnot in the code.
I am thinking about a classified ads website and when i get the time for it, i will definitely be using something from The Factory.
2011-10-14
Reviews: 1
Very good freelancing script, it has become my primary revenue source. Quite some handy payment plug-ins which any website should have to be honest. I charge a commission for every deal made through my website and once the traffic came in, so did the money.
Solid product which i would honestly recommend for a freelancing website.
2011-09-29
Reviews: 2
Overall this extension is a very powerful system, having a lot of revenue oriented features (this was the part that we needed most in my implementation). Being pretty new to Joomla I managed to have the website up and running with the help of the guys - especially Erik was very responsive to my requests (Thank you).
The project is well thought, clean in its implementation, especially the layout is pretty easy to change and to add your theme. Good job!
2011-09-04
Reviews: 4
I fully understand the previous negative reviews because previous versions of this component had some serious bugs.
On the new version the entire code base was rewritten and the component had come a looong way toward a stable release.
The only downside of the component is the frontend template. The default template looks like is from early 50's :) . Anyway if you dig yourself into some custom template design (basic html/css with some smarty tags) the auction system can look really good, and i mean REALLY GOOD. The support is also great NOW. I can say that in the past while they were focusing on getting new version to light there was a period for a lack of support responses (or responses that came after very long period of time) but now they are back on track. I had some issues, i provided them administrator and FTP credentials and they helped me out really quick (same day or next day response). These guy are great and offer great support, the component is also on the right path ... and i can say that this became a really good reverse auction extension for joomla.
2011-06-01
Reviews: 1
I purchased this component i while back and have been trying to make a "Commercial" website from it.

It has been a struggle to make it work properly. Most of the key functions work but are far from finished.

It feels like it is work in progress & they should not charge 210 euro for it.

I have decided to go with a custom built code.
Owner's reply

As far as i understood you have used the GPL club version witch is a version that is meant for developers that want to develop their own fully customized Reverse auctions extension.

For the Professional usage we strongly recommend to use our Community version, that is a out-of-the-box extension for Reverse auctions and is a totally different codebase as the Club version. These information is available on the product pages and we try to make these as visible as possible.

Of course we can offer you an upgrade to the community version if desired.

2011-03-19
Reviews: 1
This component is poorly designed and has a lot of bugs or just missing functionality. We spent thousands of dollars fixing and upgrading it and finally just gave up and decided to write our own.
Owner's reply

Filippo,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate you taking time to point out issues with our extension.

As you know you have version 1.5.4 running (november 2010) - We had some issues with the 1.5.4 and 1.5.x prior to this version as Ward also pointed out in his review. After Wards review we felt we have to take some drastic measures with our Reverse Factory programmer and had to let him go. We did not point that out in the reply to Ward since it's more an internal matter, but since you have pointed out the same issues with the product as he did, i think it's fair to let you know that we were aware of that matters and we did take the needed measures. Our ultimate goal is customer satisfaction and we have to take measures to achieve it.

Thank you for your feedback and please feel free to upgrade for free to the latest version of the product! i am sure this will change your feelings towards it!

Regards,
Andy

The Factory Team

2010-12-04
Reviews: 1
Well it's been about 4 weeks now since I bought Reverse Auction Factory. I must say I have been through a range of emotions over this time from the initial excitment of purchasing the product, to the great dissapointment of finding out that there are serious flaws associated with it.

I have been hopeful and do appreciate the time that certain support team members have provided trying to sort out some of the issues; however, I have now come to the conclusion that they can only (and no disrespect to the support members) put "band aids" on the myriad of problems associated with the product. In my opinion some serious time needs to be put into thinking through the basic fundamentals of user interaction before they can seriously think about calling it a commercial product. In my opinion 220 euros is far to much for Skepsis to be asking with the amount of bugs associated with the product.

On the bright side, I think the product does have potential if they can take the time to make improvements.
Owner's reply

Ward,

Thank you for your review. we value all reviews and feedback we get, mostly if it points out weaknesses of our products.

We have discussed the issues you pointed out with our team and we fixed all the issues you pointed out in our forums. We worked also towards improving the product on other levels, and we are confident that by upgrading to the latest version you will change your feelings towards our product.

thank you
Andy
The Factory Team

2009-10-20
Reviews: 2
Got this and the "regular" auction extension for two of my projects.
Until now did not encountered any problems, installation is easy (it installs all needed modules) and the website is live for a couple of weeks. All issues i encountered were solved by support.
(thanks guys for your help with that nasty hosting issue!)