The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Ecwid ComponentModule

Ecwid is a revolutionary AJAX shopping cart that seamlessly integrates with your Joomla website. Join over 500,000 sellers in 175 countries and sell globally with multi-currency support, over 40 international payment options, real-time shipping integrations and support for 45 languages.

EMBEDDABLE SHOPPING CART
Ecwid is a free shopping cart solution that is designed to fit any existing site. Simply set up this extension and your products, categories and checkout pages will automatically embed on your Joomla site and adjust themselves to the given page size and layout.

DATA SECURITY AND SEAMLESS UPGRADES
With Ecwid, your store data is fully hosted on our secure servers. So, regardless of the hosting you use, you get free of cost:
- unlimited storage and regular backups
- seamless upgrades and security updates
- secure checkout via encrypted HTTPS connection
So, you don't need to worry about software updates, security patches and server maintenance - we do that for you. Your store gets all the new features and bug fixes automatically.

MOBILE RESPONSIVE DESIGN
Your Ecwid store looks perfect on any smartphone and automatically adapts to your customer’s screen size — laptops, tablets, smart TVs or smart watches.

SOCIAL COMMERCE
Set up an Ecwid store on your Joomla site and then start selling on Facebook as well. Ecwid is the #1 e-commerce app on Facebook with over 40,000 stores. Join!

SELL EVERYWHERE
With Ecwid, you can mirror your shop on many websites, blogs, social sites and marketplaces like Google Shopping, Yahoo and Shopping.com and sell simultaneously everywhere. Add your store to as many sites as you want, manage it from one place.

LIGHTING FAST
New-gen technologies make Ecwid much faster than usual shopping carts regardless the hosting service you use.

FREE
Although Ecwid is packed with high-value features, Free plan is always available with no setup charges and no transaction fees. Get your store up and running without paying anything.

Demo: http://www.ecwid.com/demo?source=joomla-plugin-site
Features: http://www.ecwid.com/features?source=joomla-plugin-site
Install Ecwid on Joomla: http://help.ecwid.com/customer/portal/articles/1070399-joomla

Report Extension

 

 

2010-03-21
Reviews: 1
This is a nice module. The best e-commerce app hat I tested yet. The pro is that is lighter and faster than those big components like VM. The reason that I rated good is beacuse its lack of integration with Joomla, a good thing in the next version is to integrate the registration with the joomla site so that when a user register in the store of ecwid it automatically register in the site and vice versa.Once integrated completely with Joomla I think it would be a excellent module.
Owner's reply

Thank you for the review. We already plan to add such a feature in future.

2010-03-15
Reviews: 1
This is amazing! I have been looking for a cart to use for at least 2 weeks now. I was using Simple Caddy but hated the limited support, tutorials, and it just lacked class.

At first it was a little hard to start off, just because I didn't realize that I had to create the cart off site. But once I created the Ecwid cart, it was really easy to get going. I haven't used the Paypal API yet, but I am going to configure that later today.

Great product, and I am still shocked that it is free! If you continue to work on this project, and feel the need to charge, I would be more than happy to contribute.
2010-03-12
Reviews: 12
I've tried Simple Caddy and Virtuemart and many things in between and everything was either way more complex than I want or didn't have the features I need. This one fits my needs ALMOST perfectly. Once PayPal Standard or Pro payments are functional it will be perfect. Now the only Paypal function available is Express Checkout, which (in the U.S. at least) requires a PayPal account.

They have an active forum with regular input from the developers and a listing of feature requests that can be voted on by users. A GREAT addition to the JED.
Owner's reply

Thank you for the review.

Just a quick note: PayPal Standard will be added in the next major version that will be released in a few weeks.

2010-01-28
Reviews: 1
I have to agree with all the other reviews. The feature list is extensive, yet it is VERY simple to use and integrate. Probably the biggest challenge was getting the PayPal API credentials - at least until I saw the 'Instructions' link on the Ecwid page - PayPal's integration guides were NOT helpful!

Even as an external app, it integrates quite well with my Joomla installation, and I am VERY impressed with how it offers everything I need. Considering the fact that Virtuemart is so 'bloated', I don't mind having to login to a separate control panel to manage the store.

Seriously...this thing is AWESOME, and I'm so glad I found it when I did!

Thank you!!!
2010-01-22
Reviews: 4
I have tried every non-commercial shopping cart system for Joomla as well as AEC - they all do part of what I wanted to do but not all - I hesitated to try this because it was outside of Joomla but am I glad I did - a week after starting on my quest for a simple solution, it was here! The interface is elegant, easy to use and program and it is transparent to the user. THANKS!!!
2010-01-18
Reviews: 1
Well, nothing more to add really. I have been testing, installing and unistalling many shopping carts before trying Ecwid.

I tried VM and gave up becuse it was buggy and quite complex and comfusing to properly set up.
I tried Rockquickcart, and I found it buggy as well as lacking many features.

I also tried Open Cart, Simple Caddy, and many other Open Source carts as Prestashop, hopping to succed on bridging them into Joomla.

None of them worked with the feel and ease Ecwid works. Installed in 1 minute? Working nice and smootly, no problem whatsoever.

Resuming: Fool-Proof, nice looking, hassle free, no programming skills required... a jewel!

Without doubt the best and easiest shopping cart so far.

Great job!
2010-01-16
Reviews: 1
We are having issues getting it installed inside of Joomla. We also have JCE installed. The code is being stripped out. There are no real solutions on their forum. We have tried to install Sourcerer and that has issues installing code snippets due to a conflict with JCE. So right now there does not seem to be a way to get it installed.
Owner's reply

Ecwid works nice with a fresh Joomla installation. All you need to remember is to disable WYSIWYG/HTML editor before inserting the Ecwid code.

If you cannot insert the Ecwid code to your Joomla installation, I assume you have some module that doesn't allow adding tags to the pages.

It is possible to fix this issue, so please create a new thread on our forums or drop me a line at ene@ecwid.com.
We will be glad to help.

2010-01-16
Reviews: 1
I found this shopping cart quick and easy to install - and after just a few css changes looked like a standard feature of my site.

It is well thought out, surprisingly powerful and flexible. with the facility to import and export products and to export orders.

The main negative right now is its early stage of development. I only found out about Ecwid by accident. It has quite a low profile judging by Google Trends. As it has only been around a few months (and is still in beta) it doesn't yet support many payment gateways.

In summary Ecwid is well thought out, with good support on the forums - there's even a voting system in place for guiding the future development of the project.
I fully expect Ecwid to be one of the top ten carts of 2010.
2010-01-13
Reviews: 2
It is very easy to set up, it works with Authorize.net, 2Checkout, PayPal and Google Checkout.
It gives options for ordering by phone, check, echeck, fax, money order, purchase order and wire transfer.
It will integrate with real time shipping estimates from USPS, UPS, FedEx and Australia Post. (but you have to create separate accounts with each of those companies and jump through a couple of hoops)
You can also define your own shipping rates on a per item or per order basis, or by weight, or as a percentage of the price.
It produces a nice invoice for the customer and emails order notifications to both the seller and customer.
You can have multiple categories.
You can define your own sales tax rules and have destination based or source based tax rules.
It has a nice css based layout so it is relatively easy to customize, but you probably won't have to.
You can configure the catalog to display as tiles, grid or list (with images of course).
It is all Ajax driven so it is pretty fast.
You can change the product thumbnail sizes.
It is MUCH easier to use and administer than Zen Cart, OS Commerce, the PayPal shipping/tax/orders options and every other javascript and php shopping cart I've ever tried.
You can define your products in a spreadsheet, export to csv and import them into the cart (just don't import columns that have no data!)
It integrates well with Joomla *as long as you use a plugin that will prevent javascript tags from getting stripped from your articles* - such as Jumi or Sourcer.

It is really a pleasure to work with. The FAQ says they may offer a paid service in the future, but the free version will always be free. If you've been looking around for a nice shopping cart, check this one out.
2010-01-01
Reviews: 1
I've tried most of the shopping cart systems available for Joomla and this is my favourite. It's easy to set up and customise.
Most shopping carts over complicate everything and don't give you options to remove clutter unless you're an expert programmer. With this shopping cart, you can remove any unwanted fields, change the layout - font, colour etc in minutes by editing a simple, well layed out CSS file.
The actual cart is all hosted on the ecwid site - and they use amazon.
Overall - very impressed!
2009-12-26
Reviews: 1
After discovering this module, I went to the website to learn more and I instantly feel in love! I've been searching for weeks for a shopping cart alternative to Virtuemart, SimpleCaddy, and SeberCart!

Basically Ecwid is like WordPress but for e-commerce. There isn't a direct Joomla component yet, but their website gives a simple way for us Joomla people to enjoy their FREE e-commerce software. It's all AJAX based and man does it make things sooooo much better. And the setup was done in about 5 minutes. (I spent alot of time customizing their css to fit the unusual color scheme of my site.)

All in all, get this module! Then go to their website to get more info. Perfect the small inventory e-commerce people! I'm so freaking happy!
2009-12-18
Reviews: 1
I am new in joomla 1.5. Even for me, it's really very easy to integrate the shopping cart system into my webpage. It's indeed just like Ecwid says "less than 5 minutes", I can set up my store, and it looks great!! I love it!!
Page 2 of 2