The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


Account Expiration Control ComponentModulePlugin

Editor's Note
  • This extension requires registration to download.
AEC is a manager for memberships (paid or free). The software takes care of the subscription process and everything attached to it. It integrates with major components (like JomSocial and JACL) and supports many payment processors.

Features at a glance:
• More than 70 payment processors built in (Manual Transfer handling, Paypal (& Pro!), Google Checkout, 2Checkout, Authorize.net (& AIM, ARB, CIM!), iDeal, CCBill, Worldpay, Moneybookers...)
• Extensive Registration & Subscription workflow handling
• MicroIntegration API to attach PHP code to payment plans
• Already features more than 80 MicroIntegrations, including: emails, htaccess, mysql queries, assignment of Docman or VirtueMart groups and many more
• Multiple payment plan options (Paid, Free, Lifetime, Trials...)
• Integrated Registration and Subscription process with JomSocial and CommunityBuilder (amongst others)
• Professional features: Tax handling, Shopping carts, Discount Coupons, Plan Groups

Please check out our Tour - It will give you a much better insight into what AEC can do for you!

Report Extension

 

Images

 

2011-03-05
Reviews: 1
I've been using AEC for 3 years now on 2 sites (with a total of over 6000 subscribers), and can't understand the negative comments here. Actually, that's not entirely true - I also have to deal on a daily basis with people who complain when software doesn't work "out of the box". It's true: the more powerful the software, the more important it is that you RTFM.

AEC has always been relatively easy to install, configure and maintain - if it's too hard, you probably shouldn't be configuring a Joomla! site to start with. I got the whole thing working beautifully with about two afternoons work, the occasional glance at the docs, and a single support ticket for something I couldn't figure out. That was 3 years ago, and the online documentation has now improved considerably, and there's even a load of videos if you have trouble reading manuals.

So you may indeed have to study a little to get it working as you'd like, and you may even have to submit a support ticket for help with a specific issue: 1 Hour of support is now included with membership, and extra support costs 35€/hour... I can't see how anyone can complain about that - I wouldn't work for less that that, especially if there's always a risk the customer might open a Paypal dispute 2 months later for a full refund when I've spent hours helping them out.

So one word of advice - if you want fast support (and this applies to any software), make it easy for the support team and yourself: include all the info requested of you, and try to provide a concise, accurate and detailed description of your problem. In 3 years I've opened maybe 4 or 5 tickets and have always received timely and friendly help from an expert who solved my problem asap. If you open a ticket that just says "doesn't work"... you'll get about as much information as that in return.

As for the software itself, I don't know what I'd do without it. If you need a reliable & professional system to provide paid access to content, look no further than AEC + Joomla!

(disclaimer: I have no affiliation with AEC - I run the websites GCalToolkit and Dba2Csv with AEC)
2011-02-04
Reviews: 16
I had a duct tape Jomsocial, CB Registration, CB Subs site.

After staring off with CB and CBSubs it was one issue after another. CB has gotten too big for its britches, costing more and more with vague forum respones and challenging plugins and configurations.

AEC is a prayers answer. It is worth the money, out of the box solution to integrate Jomsocial Membership Registration Sites with a responsive Developer who believes and supports their product.

Signed,
Tim "The AEC Convert"
2011-02-03
Reviews: 5
I have used many different components, modules and plugins over the years and usually find some issues with them along the way. When it came time to needing a membership control component I came across AEC and after all the solid reviews decided to purchase it.

The configuration was relatively simple but I had a couple of issues that I wanted support for.

The Valanx support was outstanding. It was fast, expert and well documented in the ticket system so I knew what had happened all the way through.

I highly recommend this component for both it's functionality and the support you will get if you need it.
2011-01-22
Reviews: 1
We used AEC on a website about 3 years ago and it worked well then but now it is even easier to figure out and install. I'm more on the web design side of things, but I was able to follow the installation videos and set up my user plans and access control within an hour. I'm integrating this with JomSocial and JomSocial Profile Types (JSPT) so there's been some micro integrations I've had to figure out along the way, but it's been pretty painless so far. Great support forums for AEC and JSPT. Thanks for making this product available and affordable and keep up the good work (and get some sleep!)
2011-01-20
Reviews: 3
We have been using AEC for almost 6 months now and have to admit that this is great software!

We’re using it in conjunction with Jomsocial and IdevAffiliate and would have been pretty helpless without it, since we never found the same versatility and flexibility we wanted and needed in any other similar solutions out there. It’s vital for handling the members of two communities we’re running with Jomsocial and making payment an easy and secure task for our members when paying and for us administering it. It’s pretty great actually and also easy to setup these integrations (MI – micro integrations). Very good support for payment processors, and even if the one we actually needed (DIBS) – we just had to integrate ACE and hope for DIBS payment support before to long. We have been using PayPal in the meantime. But now it seems that the DIBS payment processor is just around the corner..

Thanks for making this great piece of software! It's Golden :-)
@lx
2011-01-17
Reviews: 6
Con's:
Well for some it might work out of the box. For me it did not. (Joomla 1.5: PHP4 - no chance, white screen, PHP5 - some irritating errors, which might have been correctable, but with some amount of time again; Joomla 1.6: claimed here - no chance to include it - no menu entries, no correct responses and so on).
I wrote an E-mail via the contact form on the website - no answer for days. I can confirm what people write here, about days of not answering to requests from their mailform. And I can even proof I've sent it, because I got a copy of that message to my mail. But the bad part was when I found the programmer at his blog, writing against his customers, I contacted him because of this missing reaction, he was starting to argue with me, that he won't be able to answer if he wouldn't get the mail (from his contact form) and making public discussions with me. I think this is not ok. In my opinion this seems to be an aggressive blog and it still exists. So take care as a customer he might pull you into some discussion. Even though he is very honest - he keeps the counterpart comments also inside. At least he did not delete any comment written by a customer which was not satisfied as far as I can tell.

Pro's:
* After we were in contact, he offered help immediatly.
* I wanted my money back - that worked without any delay.
* The Component might really be powerfull to people that might want to spend the time.
* Might be a good extension in the future for 1.6, if everything worked out of the box.

Even after having a public discussion with this guy I still wish him/his team success and the best for the future.

Sincerely,
LX
Owner's reply

Compatibility:
We have tested AEC to work on PHP versions ranging from 4 to the latest 5.3 - all working without a problem (we're actually late dropping PHP4 support). Same for Joomla 1.5 and 1.6.

Email Form:
First off - you did get our support package, so you could have just filed a ticket there. The email you sent in got lost and as I already told you in the comment section of an unrelated blog post - if I don't get it, I cannot reply to it. The fact that you got a copy does not make it appear in my inbox, sadly.

I handle all the incoming messages over that form and as you can also read from other comments, I usually respond VERY quickly and of course I reply to ALL requests that come in. To suggest otherwise or to claim that because there is one other review that had the same trouble that you had is misleading.

"Writing against my customers":
I find that very offensive. I have done no such thing and I already got the impression that you did not read my blog post correctly from your first comments on that blog post. What I did was talk about my relationship and troubles with a few of our clients. To make that into a general rule that I am aggressive and drag clients into arguments is simply false and unfounded. You posted a comment that made it clear to me that you did not understand what I was writing. So I talked to you to help you understand it.

The bottom line:
What actually happened was that you could not set up the software (most likely because of a server issue on your end), had trouble contacting us, read my blog post and thought that it was about you. So you wrote a comment and I tried to help you understand.

How this review is supposed to help others make a decision on whether or not they want to check out the software is beyond me. Nearly all of it is about your personal trouble talking to us (except when you comment and suddenly see that when we do get your messages, we are very responsive) and then you throw in two off-hand remarks about how you think people need time to understand the software and that in the future it might be great.

I will report this review because I think that it is not compliant with the JED ToS, based on the reasons I mentioned above.

lmr
2011-01-13
Reviews: 1
The service is top-notch and personal. You pay a small fee and they work quickly. If you have a subscription site, like ours, you must have this kind of support. ONLY ONE SUGGESTION - Jomsocial and AEC integrate and make it seemless.
2011-01-10
Reviews: 3
This is a great extension. I watched the programmer's two demonstration videos before purchasing and found it everything I needed and more.

After purchasing, downloading, and installing I began setting things up. I like the organization and thinking behind AEC's way of handling paid subscriptions. It makes perfect sense and I'm not afraid to try to show my client how to use AEC on the site I am building for them.

I did get stuck at one point during configuration but I logged into the support forum and found my solution within a minute.

I only need the paypal payment gateway, but the fact that there are 45 different payment processor gateways included tells me that the people behind this extension are there for their users.

AEC is rich with options for configuring to your exact needs.

I am putting it on a 1.5 site but am excited to see it's already ready for 1.6 - a solution for one of my personal sites I've been waiting years to finally launch.
2010-12-30
Reviews: 6
The support is top notch. I sent a pre sales email and received a response in minutes. I traded email back and forth and all of my questions were answered and then some.

The component itself is working great! I needed something that could handle my memberships and serve as an event registration component, the micro integration into my forums allowed me to do just this.

They have a slew of how to videos on there website. I watched a couple to get a feel for the component. Then only took a few minutes after that to set it up.
2010-12-14
Reviews: 2
This component works with Jomsocial and authorize.net so it was perfect for me. I have it working now on a large site and it works very well. Many many features!!!
2010-12-01
Reviews: 2
I am still busy working away on my website, but do like to take a short break to tell you that this is a great joomla extension. It does for me just what I need. Setting easy payment plans. I am new to Joomla but had it working in reasonable short time with a bit of support, which was great.

This is a lot more power full then I ever need, which is great for people who need this.

All in all I really recommend this extension.

Keep up the good work guys.
2010-11-24
Reviews: 2
This component is pretty powerful and you can tell that a lot of time and thought went into its development. The problem is the learning curve is rather steep and the documentation is not laid out very well at all. It seems as though the most important aspects of this component are poorly documented while the not so important items are documented well, if you can find what you are looking for.

Moving on to the support. You have to pay for a membership to the site, and pay more for ticket support. The site has a forum that has a broken search feature. You can sift through posts manually until you find something close to what you are looking for but even then most topics go unanswered. The paid ticket support is pretty much useless as a ticket I submitted 6 days ago has not even been responded back to. Even after I told them that I was able to find the answers myself (after no response) and that I wasn't going to need the support and was inquiring if I could get my money back for the paid support that was never given.

Anyhow to wrap this up. Component itself is good. Support and documentation is very poor. I think this has great potential but more effort will need to be put into documentation. The paid support should just be dropped since no response is given to a ticket that you have to pay to submit (at least in my experience). If I was going to do this all over again or if somebody asked my opinion on what was the superior component for controlling paid memberships or subscriptions I would recommend something else.
2010-11-09
Reviews: 1
I liked the extension and tried using it on a client site and had/have an issue. I opened a ticket and after 4 days have not heard back from the developer.

Very poor support in my opinion.
Owner's reply

I have tried everything to figure out who this reviewer is and what went wrong. The problem is: I could not find either a corresponding user account, nor a ticket that was open for that long.

If you run into a similar issue, please do not hesitate to contact me directly (either through our sales email form or my email which is also on our website). We really try our best to make up for things going wrong, but please do give us a chance to actually do that.

2010-11-03
Reviews: 1
I am almost done on a 3 month project for a joomla coded online language system and am sick and tired of writing.

Having found something so well-done like AEC saves me another 2 weeks or minimum 100 hours of work. For that price I will even sleep with the developer, well, if he was a she, had nice tiny waist and .. oh well you get the point..

AWESOME! Get it. It's amazing.

Can't wait for .16 and the new features. I hear the dev had some problems, so get well man!
2010-10-29
Reviews: 2
It does take a while to get your head around, but once I'd watched the instruction demo on their website managed to set it up. Works well with JomSocial Profile Types plugin too, so you can create different levels of membership, with fees, connected to different JomSocial profile types and ACL.
2010-10-24
Reviews: 1
I have used this product for about a year and a half. This software is comprehensive and is enriched with so many features it does take the breath away. I have had a couple of issues and have found the solution within the community forum and failing that by contacting their support chap Jake who answered my emails quickly and politely. My problems were rectified without any rancour. I have no problem in recommending this product and think that my money was money well spent as this product is quality. If you are looking for a basic subscription software and want to get started immediately then this perhaps is not the product for you. There is a small learning curve, but if you take the time to watch the tutorials and browse the forums you will be up and running effortlessly and be blown away with the many features this package offers. I am in awe of this product, and the teams ongoing devotion to integrate it with other systems, provide program updates and to provide support to its many satisfied customers.
2010-10-20
Reviews: 4
"If we are missing anything, feel free to contact us - we regularly do integrations of processors for AEC and can surely help you out getting yours done, or, if you want to, we can write the integration for you."

They dont support in the community forum.
They dont support in the paid ticket system, even you choose the bigger package.

They havent replied since 1 of October...and we must finish our project. So it was a big stress!

So if you have question more than "how can I setup" than you will find you alone in the dark...deep frozen dark with the promises...

Avoid this, and choose those who can give you what you paid for!
Owner's reply

Hi bulsez,

I have written about the current situation extensively in my blog and have offered you my direct cooperation yet still haven't heard back from you so far.

I must disagree on your two points, though - The only thing failing on you was me in this situation as I had some things to sort out (again, refer to my blog). This has nothing to do with our forum or ticket system.

I hope that we can resolve this matter soon without resorting further to public battles.

2010-10-09
Reviews: 1
This is the best payment module and expiration module I have ever used for joomla. They are always up-to-date and it is easy to understand and implement. Plus it works with a number of third party components.
2010-10-01
Reviews: 22
This is really fantastic software. It took me a little while to really grasp it because all I wanted was PayPal subscriptions. But once I started learning AEC, I was amazed at how much could be controlled by it. It's just realllly cool. I strongly suggest taking the tour at the valanx.org website to fully grasp what it's capable of. Very glad I bought it and I've renewed 3x now to keep it up to date with the new features. The MIs (Micro Integrators) are really powerful. Keep up the great work!
2010-09-14
Reviews: 19
Are you looking for a membership system with a lot of control and want flexibility too? And an open source GPL developer Skore (David D) that stands with his words and what he says? Then you should try this solution first before ever testing something else to compare it with. I have been an active member of AEC (Valanx.org) for a long period and know how much effort and time the core developer have putting into this great software. Long time ago (that's a long time ago) it had some issues but today you can use anything better if you are serious about setting up a membership site with a lot of options. To really explain what it can do I recommend as other have done to be member of the site look at videos/FAQ and also support this developer with some support money if you need it. Its more value than you understand from the beginning so just try it to convince your self. Thanks David and looking forward to future AEC upgrades for new J 1.6 with integrated ACL,...etc!

Cheers!
Page 4 of 6