The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.10 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- r

Report Extension

 

 

2011-08-30
Reviews: 1
Virtuemart is no doubt the best eCommerce Platform of Joomla developed till date. If you want to set up a really professional website then this is most stable platform you have.
2011-08-03
Reviews: 18
I have used VM for many sites. A few years ago, they weren't all that bad to set up. In the latest versions, there has been many bugs. For example, you can't even display sub categories on your site unless you hack the code and replace a "!" that for some reason got taken out. Also, 1.1.9 says you are running 1.1.7 in the components manager, which also is odd. Also, if you want to use PayPal, on 1.1.9 (the latest release) you have to install 1.1.8 somewhere else and download some PayPal file and upload it to 1.1.9. Also, the quantity arrows don't fire in 1.1.9. Oh, and just try to go into the forums and legitimately ask for help. You will be either
a.) redirected to some post that is irrelevant
b.) Asked to provide more details of your setup which in some cases is irrelevant
c.) Get a snotty response that will belittle you
d.) Stump everyone and have your post sit there for 3 months

I don't write many reviews, but I'd honestly recommend looking at other options if I were you. Plus, you'd probably be stuck at J1.5 ( I don't dare try the new version, for obvious reasons)
2011-08-03
Reviews: 9
I am using Virtuemart for last 4 years and unable to find anything better e-Commerce component then this, it is the best component
2011-07-16
Reviews: 5
After spending the past few months trying to find the "best" e-commerce solution, VM is not it.

It's very powerful in some respects, but seems to lack some very key features, such as the ability to automatically change the product image when you select an attribute such as different colours. It's possible to get this working through a hack, but every other e-commerce system i've used has this feature natively.

On the plus side there are a lot of plugins available for VM, due to its popularity. Though I don't know why it got so popular in the first place!

There are much better e-commerce solutions out there. The best I found were Magento and Hikashop.
2011-07-14
Reviews: 2
This is the best eCommerce extension for joomla so far but the only thing went wrong is support, i am getting error msg when writing review for product.

Features are nice and the fuctionality of the software is also good.

thank you
2011-07-04
Reviews: 2
Virtuemart is a dinosaur that somehow still is rated as the top eCommerce solution for Joomla. If you value your time you will not implement this on your site or any of your clients.

I have been using joomla for five years and have never had so many problems with one extension. The thing isn't even coded in MVC which turns quick design fixes into painful hours of searching through hundreds of PHP files in order to add an HR or change a font.

Support seems limited on their forums to other users, most of which are so tied up bending over backwards to get their installation working properly they aren't able to help you.

If you're used to how Joomla since 1.5 is SUPPOSED to work, this template will only infuriate you and cost you lots of extra hours while you fix the (sometimes well known) bugs.

STEER CLEAR BIG TUNA - HEAD FOR OPEN WATERS!
2011-06-23
Reviews: 4
I have used Virtue mart on a number of website designs and have always been pleased with it's performance. It takes a while to learn but this is only because of the vast amount of functions from the e-commerce essentials like stock control, shipping and payment, to vouchers and user group discounts that are excellent for distributor accounts. My only grip is the packaged formatting looks a bit dated in its design.
2011-06-14
Reviews: 12
I'm using Virtuemart for a variety of client sites, many using SSL certificates, Authorize.net credit card checkout, and real time shipping calculations from UPS / FedEx / USPS. It's tough to work with their templating but in general, it certainly works!
2011-06-06
Reviews: 1
Its very great component with a lot of extentions
2011-04-25
Reviews: 5
I've used Virtuemart for a few years now and its an excellent component I've used on numerous sites. Lots of modules and plugins available (and VM templates) - both free and paid.
I notice that some reviewers mention that it can be difficult to customise some aspects of Virtuemart, and to be fair, you will need to have fairly good PHP coding skills, but the developers documentation is pretty good and more importantly ... its free :)
2011-04-10
Reviews: 6
This component is pretty good considering it's free. It's ugly and clunky, but with a little effort, it can be made both functional and beautiful.

I recently installed it for the first time for a client with a small shop who didn't have the budget for something 'better', so I had to make it work. It was frustrating at times trying to figure out what files to edit but in the end I got there.

There seems to be this expectation that the developers should be prepared to answer each and every question that gets posted in the forums. There are a lot of silly questions that I believe go unanswered because the developers expect people to have a little common sense & figure it out themselves. Perhaps if people could do that, the 'real' issues wouldn't get lost in the shuffle.

If you're inexperienced in web design/development & don't have time to customize things, don't bother with Virtuemart. Drop some money on a commercial product that will hopefully offer you the support you need.
2011-04-08
Reviews: 2
VirtueMart appears to have been around for a while and up until the security risks that are appearing on the Joomla site, it doesnt't appear to be having satisfactory reviews like many. I had no problems downloading and installing it, but when it came to its implementation, a lot more is desired. We live in a digital age whereby a lot of people require digital downloads and I am quite suprised that the suppliers of the software do not correct the issues related to this requirement. I have spent a total of 45 hrs trying to configure the digital download functionality with paypal payments and the same prob - able to configure paypals and receive a confirmation from paypal and virtuemart - but yet still no Download Id. Searching for solutions on the forum seems to be pointless as these issues appear to be around since 2007 and I would be concerned that such fixes have not been thought of since then. I have 2 sites to deliver using VM and both intend to use digital downloads and physical shipping of goods. Since it wont effectively meet this requirement (and I am a site developer - and not programmer) then sadly I will be looking for another product.
2011-03-30
Reviews: 1
No user documentation. Customization made me crazy and took time. Don't expect it will take a day to start your cart if you don't have web skills. I enjoy the component when it has been customized.
2011-03-28
Reviews: 4
Heard a lot about VM, so went and got it, 8 months now, Installing and testing on 6 sites, not a single one of the works, full of bugs, support is 0 apart from a few users who are trying, questions left there for over a year with no solution even on the new 1.1.7a.
If you want to use VM you are on your own, from template bugs, payment not working, and good luck getting the shopping card working.
It is old out of date and time to put out of its pain.
The problem is there is nothing for Joomla that can do a e-commerce. so if you are looking to make a "real" store good luck hunting.
I think even the developers gave up on VM, shame could of got to the top with it.
Hope someone take over or reinvent it.
2011-03-20
Reviews: 1
I am using this cart since 4 weeks. it was very easy to set up and populate the cart with products. Especially the extended layout is amazing.
2011-03-07
Reviews: 8
Virtuemart very well be one of the most robust and complete shopping cart for Joomla, which also makes it one of the most popular with add-on makers... It truly has an amazing library of add on's available.

Unfortunately a complete lack of direction and leadership of the project has crippled it into an extremely complicated, buggy and hard-to-use extension.

It's plethora of features are terribly organized and difficult to gain control over.

I've installed and configured Virtuemart for nearly 2 years now on 10+ websites, and I am still today pulling my hair out trying to get it to do what it should. There are a great many instances of templating headaches and bugs, which make using Virtuemart bittersweet. There certainly is no better FULL solution for eCommerce, but these problems must be tolerated to use it.

One great example of this is tax calculation. On my most of the stores I've configured, I need to disable taxes calculation altogether. There are no less than 4 places in the configuration that pertain to taxes, and only ONE of them is under the "TAX" settings. Virtuemart comes setup to automatically calculate 9% tax on every product. Turning that off is a nightmare if you don't know what you're doing. There's a setting on each product listing, that says "Which tax rate do you want to use." If you set that to "NONE" it still calculates tax anyway. Completely disabling taxes in the Global Configuration page does not stop Virtuemart from adding tax to your products either. At this point, I went right into the TAX rate settings and completely DELETED all tax rate profiles so that Virtuemart had NO Tax rate data to refer to. This ALSO does not prevent tax calculation. All of my products were still displaying taxed prices. Finally after poking around in the user group settings for other reasons, I stumbled across a checkbox under user groups that says "Display taxed prices for this group." I unchecked it and Viola! The prices for my products are now untaxed. This is just one example of the many problems I faced during my many experiences using Virtuemart

Configuring settings should not be this difficult.

Couple that with the fact that Virtuemart is completely unsupported (because it's free.) this is an extension that is a nightmare even for seasoned Joomla operators.

There are support forums, but they are completely ignored by any official staff, and for every problem you need a solution for you'll find 500 unanswered questions posted if you search the forum, and if you're lucky, 1 in that 500 will be answered by another user.

Overall, Virtuemart will get the job done extremely well, if you hold it's hand the entire way. Meanwhile, I'm waiting for someone to come along and make it obsolete.
2011-02-18
Reviews: 16
From the moment you decide to download this component make sure you have plenty of time to configure it and customize it to your needs.
I had an issue with shipping costs that had to be solved by a programmer aside of the project, sadly this is the case for many others.

I find really ironic how people claim their forum is alive... in a sense is true. Is alive for the 2000 bugs and questions only solved by users, you will be lucky if you get an answer from any of their team.

The best thing about this component is that it's free, and thats the only reason why ill give and excellent score. If you try its modern competitors you will realise how much the spirit of open and free license has fallen to the ground and how some try to make profit from a source that was made free to help people build websites.
2011-02-18
Reviews: 4
I've used Virtuemart on a few sites, but no more. It would be good for small operations, like non-profits, however the PayPal payment module has a major error in that if a customer abandons the process after they visit paypal, the order processes as if they had paid. There is a patch written by an individual developer, but in my experience it only works in development. Once you think you are good, and try to go live, it fails.

The reason why Virtuemart is not appropriate for actual businesses, is that it requires the user to enter personal information before they can see the price with shipping and tax. This will lead to a high cart abandonment rate, because chances are the competition doesn't require this, and you will lose the order to them. Check the forums and the problem is often mentioned, except by the developers.
2011-01-26
Reviews: 5
Well its a good thing that the support forum is very much alive and active. I have yet to find anyone who has managed to install this extention without having any issues.

So, the good points. Its outstanding once working. It does everything you need plus more! good level of support.

Bad points. Its not the easiest of extentions to configure and get working. Installer does not work so a manual install was done (not easy).

Conclusion. Only for the experianced of joomla admins to set up. I would (and do) use this but only if my client requires its features.
2010-12-20
Reviews: 1
It works as what I expected for a shopping cart system. Thanks to the developers.
Page 10 of 23