The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.10 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, Realex(and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling

Report Extension

 

 

2011-01-26
Reviews: 4
Well its a good thing that the support forum is very much alive and active. I have yet to find anyone who has managed to install this extention without having any issues.

So, the good points. Its outstanding once working. It does everything you need plus more! good level of support.

Bad points. Its not the easiest of extentions to configure and get working. Installer does not work so a manual install was done (not easy).

Conclusion. Only for the experianced of joomla admins to set up. I would (and do) use this but only if my client requires its features.
2010-12-20
Reviews: 1
It works as what I expected for a shopping cart system. Thanks to the developers.
2010-12-12
Reviews: 2
Had a reputation of being a defacto standard, but having recently tried it for myself found it a very disappointing and frustrating experience.

Another reviewer elsewhere used the words 'has started to show signs of age' and I concur with that conclusion.

If you are starting a new project from scratch like me there are better options out there.
2010-11-26
Reviews: 2
Like many others reviewing on this site, my install of virtuemart was not bug-free. I was able to get everything working with a custom template in about 12 hours, which in my book is not too bad considering how complicated the program is and what it does.

Luckily, since virtuemart has been out for a while all of the bugs were listed on their website forums. With a little seaching I was able to correct all my issues and even got paypal payments working.

I also wanted to add google checkout, but I had to buy another plug from a 3rd party because that payment method was not included.

Overall, I am very pleased with virtuemart. It does nearly everything that I needed a shopping cart software to do. Like all things, it might not be what everyone needs, but it was a good choice in my opinion.
2010-11-20
Reviews: 2
I used this component and see a brightenterprise level shopping cart competitor.. this is an added advantage to the joomla cms as well...
One page checkout option can be integrated and will be greatly appreciated. This can be put as an option only..
2010-11-11
Reviews: 25
I love it! - It provides a full-featured shopping cart and the best thing is that it integrates with Joomla. You need to know/understand how Joomla works to appreciate how useful this integration is. Suffice to say that the two complement each other perfectly and you can get very good SEO results if you implement this combination properly. Virtuemart has flaws, glaring ones like the child product attributes and the poor and limited shipping structure. It also does not compete with the dedicated shopping carts like OSCommerce which are more fully featured. It is no good for very simple carts because it requires a lot of configuration - it is like having a site within a site and takes just as much work to implement. However, it is pretty well perfect for the small to mid-range shop as long as you are prepared to put the hours in. Only choose Virtuemart for your shopping cart after you have fully checked to see if it corresponds to your requirements. The combination of Joomla and virtuemart is perfect.
2010-11-01
Reviews: 1
Best opensource shop solution .. with the unlimited amount of addons and joomla extensions based for virtuemart we have all we need it.
I have used virtuemart in all of my shop projects. thankyou guys
Hats off to you
2010-10-27
Reviews: 2
When I decided to open a store on my site, I was a bit excited. I had seen and heard great things about Virtuemart and was very excited to start using the component, but after beginning to use it, I began to wonder why I had heard such great things about it. In fact, I know wonder why I've ever heard good things about it and I have no idea why it's an Editor's Choice.

To say that this component is buggy is an understatement. I ran into dozens of fields that simply wouldn't work. For example, I couldn't edit any of my User's Details and I couldn't get pricing attributes to ever save. Most times I had just gave up and had to edited the databases manually. Lots of times, the pages wouldn't load properly when I was configuring it, spitting out tons of errors.

Their documentation is actually rather good, but documentation only goes so far. The rest of the time, you need some good support and there simply is no support for this component. All of my threads on their forum went completely unanswered. From what I saw, most threads on their support forum go completely unanswered. They like to point out that their forum for community support, but that community needs to be lead by the devs which I didn't see at all.

You may like what this component offers; you might think that this or that feature is a killer that you can only get from this component, but trust me, it's not worth it. Don't even waste your time installing it. Try out some of the other great alternatives.
2010-10-24
Reviews: 2
I use virtuemart and i must say it's almost close to worthless because of couple reasons.
1. VM it's all hard coded - allot of functions is not possible to change unless you hack the php(requires some advnaced php knowledge)
2. The support on the forums is worthless i rather wold post on some other random forum and i would get more decent help

The other is indeed good coded - it have very nice features but if yo want to only use it out of the box.. it REALLY requires improvements - it lacks flexability.
2010-10-22
Reviews: 1
VirtueMart is very good in the backend setup with extensive hints on each field setting, the developers really put in much efforts in making the configuration more self-explanatory to the users. They should deserve a salute from us.

Unfortunately, the default layout and design of VirtueMart had daunted many potential customers.

Try to to see this

1.) demo.virtuemart.net

and compare it with

1.) demo.opencart.com
2.) demo.tomatocart.com
3.) prestashop.com/demo

What do you think at first? Everything looks cluttered and primitive without proper organization on the VirtueMart Demo shop. The product listing, image, description, pricing, specifications, reviews and almost all elements are NOT well aligned and structured into a proper display format, but scattering on the page like a dustbin.

Bear in mind, the 1st impression is very important and many customers don't like extensive layout redesign from the default. Once they look at the pathetic VirtueMart Demo shop, their confidences had been fully devastated with a stereotype that VirtueMart can be any better than opencart, tomatocart and prestashop.

What's more, Ikea Shop is just another frustrating example. Most customers will think that Ikea can't even come out a good design with VirtueMart, what can I do with it ?

In fact, OpenCart is still lacking a lot of core features and its popularity and well acceptance lie in its striking and more organized default layout. You don't have to think too much and can simply use the default template with little or no changes at all. The same goes to the TomatoCart and PrestasShop, already presentable after installation.

What about the presentation of VirtueMart by default ? It's just a dustbin or the most ugliest creature which requires extensive cosmetic surgeries before it becomes presentable to the public, honestly.

I'm still figuring out how to make VirtueMart as structured and presentable as the demo shop of opencart, tomatocart and prestashop. Frankly, I'd NOT use VirtueMart if integration with Joomla is not in consideration unless they come out with a more presentable default layout and showcase it on the demo.virtuemart.net.
2010-10-16
Reviews: 4
classic and professional! with huge community and many extensions. the team still active since five years。but the update is too slowly, hope they can go fast...
2010-10-14
Reviews: 1
The most complete one around.
Of course, you may feel a bit overwhelmed with so many available configuration options, but then again, that's exactly what makes it so good.
2010-10-06
Reviews: 3
On the outside VirtualMart is an excellent component for e-commerce with lots of functionality and many addons. But once you get past that and start to customize it, it can be very frustrating. On one site I created, I had to completely redesign all of the modules I used, mainly because the modules didn't use Joomla's template which meant I had to keep track of my themes in multiple places. That and the fact HTML was mixed with backend logic was just maddening. And then there's the component itself. My main problem was still with the templates not conforming to Joomla standards. Having to modify flyout pages to me is a problem. If I upgrade and don't remember which flyout pages I modified, I'd have to start over. And mixing HTML inside classes is just wrong. It got so bad on one site, I had to modify VirtualMart's core functions just to provide more flexibility in the design. The problem with that is now, there's a new version, I'm designing a new site, and I have to start over. After creating a new VM Login module, I've decided I need to review other shopping cart solutions and if need be, help that developer to enhance their work before being locked into one shopping cart. I hope VirtualMart developers will understand the problem and work to fix it, because it wouldn't be as hard as it sounds.
2010-09-28
Reviews: 16
I am a VM team member but i have no direct access to JED reviews management so i reply with my own review.
I noticed reviews about Virtuemart tends to be of the "love it or hate it" kind. Either "it doesn't get any better" or "it's very bad".
I use Virtuemart for many sites and its main advantage is that it works. It has a lot of history and community support, and many people ARE making business with it.
Now, there still is a lot of space for improvement. That is why i won't give it 5 star rating myself. I can only hope that we we will be able to keep improving it.
2010-09-28
Reviews: 2
I have used virtuemart for a number of my sites. It just doesn't get any better. My appreciation, admiration and profound thanks to the developers
2010-09-24
Reviews: 4
I know I'll be hated on for saying so... but in most cases Virtuemart is just too much. I appreciate detail as much as the rest of you probably do, but there seems to be a gap between "hard-core" sellers & "I want to sell this one t-shirt" types. Since the developers obviously have the technology - ever think about publishing a "virtuemart light"? Besides the sure mass of fields to fill in, a good product. If you want to sell on a daily basis - no doubt, this is the way to go.
2010-09-21
Reviews: 9
This is a good cart for someone who wants to just grab and go, or an advanced user who wants to customize. There is a bit of a learning curve to install, but following the instructions for installation gets the cart up and running quickly.

I plan to use this mostly for downloads and digital usage. So far, the test runs have managed to produce a nice setup. Only problem I am having is getting images to show as I want them, and I maintain that is learning curve, not the software.

Nice job development team. Keep it up!
2010-09-19
Reviews: 9
Easy solution would have been to download a slightly older version that is under the 2mb limit then use the upgrade package - common sense. As for Chinese, Did you look in the language file or try searching for one?

As far as I'm concerned, the mere fact that this is a free component that works brilliantly for 99% of the people out there who have used it since version 1 is a miracle in itself. It has helped many people earn money online and does NOT deserve a poor review from someone who couldn't even think of a simple solution (like your first problem).

Common sense goes a long way, so does spending time to search for things, or using forums to ask for things, or paying minor amounts for customisations like Chines Language files or compatibility. I'm giving VM a top rating to counter your very unfair low rating.
2010-09-18
Reviews: 6
If I could marry a piece of software, this would be the one!!!
2010-09-10
Reviews: 1
1) it spent me a couple of time in the installation process due to the fact that the installation file exceeded the default limit of 2M of the hosting server. I searched through the forum, and found out such issue, and then I need to unzip the file and upload to the server manually and then run the installation manually. --- Not user-friendly.
2) the issue of displaying ?????? for Chinese characters made me drop using VirtueMart. (while the chinese character showing correctly in my joomla, the ?????? just happened in VM, both front end and back end) I search through the forum and tried all the solutions suggested, but finally, still, the problem couldn't solve, therefore, I dropped the programme. I tried installing the language packs, I tried changing the character set to utf-8 in the language files, I tried creating a config.web under the web directory that suggested by an user in forum, I tried creating a .htaccess file and I tried adding a mysql script in a suggested file to force the sql to record in utf-8 .... but all I tried were useless, it couldn't record correctly my shop name in Chinese character ..... it spent me a week to find solution and to do trials.... but finally I dropped the programme.
Page 11 of 23