The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.0.22c should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- recommend a product to friend link
- mail to shoppers who bought the product

OTHER
- debugging tool

Report Extension

 

 

2010-06-23
Reviews: 11
Last update on Oct 16, 2009... this has long been the problem with VM. They rarely update, and never drastically update their extension.

VM is still a decent component offering more features than most competitors, and the community is still active enough that questions are getting answered.

But their promises of an upgrade are becoming a joke.

So here I review the 'latest' release of VM:

Configuration: Not as bad as people suggest. It takes some time, and some youtube tutorial videos.

The problem lies in trying to make any changes once it's live. You can very easily 'break' it. So if you are setting this up to be managed by someone else, make sure they know what not to touch, unless you want to be looking up default settings on the forum.

Management: A breeze. People who imply adding/changing items, taking and changing order statuses, and accepting payments isn't easy are full of it.

UI: Not terrible, but leaves much to be desired. The short answer - it isn't very intuitive. Nothing seems to be where one might expect to find it. Also, many of the settings (configuration issue as well) seem to be poorly labeled - and it's not clear what certain things are for, so you try to leave much of it alone.

Features: Probably more features than any other Joomla eCom Component. The Shipping Modules are fantastic (again - youtube tutorials on the set up), and the attributes (ex: +$20 for XXXL) is great. There are a ton I don't use though. It's well rounded for almost any type of eCom Site.

A bitter-sweet aspect is third party developer extensions. For the most part, I love the stuff people are out there producing, but for things like SEF!... this should have been built in as an option from the beginning of 1.5 native.

Look: Templates and other setting allow much flexibility in the look. I have found and reported some bugs which didn't seem to gain much attention. Oh, well.

The total of this bring me to 4 stars, but with its dwindling community, invisible development team, and the rise of valid competition, it could easily fall to a 3 star rating.

On the flip side, if they release a completely retooled version in the very near future with a slue of new options, easier configuration and a generally improved User Interface, I could give it a 5 star rating.

I'm going to get booed for suggesting this, but I'd be alright with VM going commercial (for a very reasonable price, of course) IF they ever get their shtuff straight!
2010-06-20
Reviews: 5
I can not imagine anyone having any issues with this program. It works as advertised usually with a minimal of fuss. Yes the configuration can be a b it confusing for a noob, but most of the configuration is mere common sense. I highly recommend this to anyone.

I'll leave it at this I personally have used it over fifty times.
2010-06-20
Reviews: 1
We have developed commercial shopping cart sites for many large clients.

Virtuemart is highly configurable and powerful.We have had it running 12,000 products over 766 categories with ease. You can stock the system via CSV in minutes and export data into all major accounting packages. We have had it configured to recieve realtime stock information from shop floor POS systems.

The real beauty of this extension is the amount of people developing for it. Including us. Search google and you will find pretty much anything you need. Clients love the administration as once configured it is a breeze for them to use.

Do not under estimate virtuemart. We still do not understand why this software is free but glad it it is.
2010-06-18
Reviews: 2
I have recently installed and setup VirtueMart on two websites for my clients, both wanted a simple catalogue setup for their businesses and this component provided just that.

1. Easy and simple setup
2. One module to handle
a) login
b) product listing
c) product search
3. Easy to use in the backend

you may visit te sites under development on the following url's

http://sitsemo.com/index.php
and
http://globalmedicalsz.com

I would recommend anyone intending to setup an online catalogue and or shop to consider this Open Source solution before they opt for expensive options.

Great job
2010-06-06
Reviews: 1
If you want a real store I would suggest Opencart or Magento. We have tested this application multiple times over the last few years to see if anything has improved.

The bottom line is that this application doesn't work properly. It is almost impossible to configure. You will spend days trying to configure it and will only end up in dissapointment. Do yourself a favour and stay away.
2010-06-05
Reviews: 4
Just want to start with saying, even though it may sound harsh, but... Anyone who states this is not a good extension for Joomla is simply a noob and should probably not work in the Joomla CMS alone, and comment on programming you hardly can comprehend how came about. You probably need professional help with creating your own website.

This extension makes a lot of extensions look like kids games, and it is free. sure it needs you to understand how computers work to be able to operate it, well that is why you are here in the first place, because you think you are the top notch programmer who have useful stuff to share with the community and would like to use some great and almost complete functions that other programmers/developers has been so kind as to share with you so that you don't have to invent the wheel all over again.

This extension beats them all.

I am just saying. be happy when the functionalities are free and share some useful stuff with us.
2010-05-26
Reviews: 5
If you need a free shopping cart for joomla this is a good choice. Otherwise I suggest magento or oscommece.
2010-05-21
Reviews: 2
Love this great free shopping cart extension. I was able to create a shopping cart in a few minutes with it. Thanks to developer.
2010-05-19
Reviews: 2
Virtuemart is just not as good as it is cracked up to be.
Use it only for small business and never professionel! The forum is slow and without much help from anyone and the manual is a joke.

If I had the choice I would have choosen some other system 1½ year ago when I started my Virtuemart journey....
2010-05-15
Reviews: 2
Well this extension may sounds nice, tons of features at the first glance. But... don't EVER try open any one of the gazillion files for your mind's sake.
It's so messy (MVC definitively not a clear concept for the authors), some hard coded design/layout/images in html/php elements, files all over the places, no human understandable logic) that you may you loose your time trying to change anything in it.
The masterpiece is, IMAO, the "module list" that is supposed to grant mysterious permissions. If you have time and want to read fun stuff, have a look at the documentation for this part...
It would have been a good extension, but I think that authors tried to do too many things, and thus they failed to make it right.
2010-05-11
Reviews: 5
Anyone who doesn't want to look like an amateur pos should not ever use this extension. It is filled with bugs, it is never up to date and internet explorer hates it. After over a year of messing with it I finally pulled the plug. I tried seber cart with less than stellar results, and now I have moved on to magento. Magento is not joomla based, but definitely some professional software (albeit much harder to setup for the developer).
2010-05-10
Reviews: 1
I would NOT recommend this extension to any one. It has some great potential at first glance, really extensive back-end with lots of nice configuration settings. But there are a lot of bugs and a lot of areas that simply need more work. If you need to get under the hood and try fix / change things yourself you will find that the file structure is messy and a total nightmare to work with.

I have no idea how this managed to get editors pick.
2010-04-25
Reviews: 2
Excellent shopping extension.

Thx to the developer that makes this great extension.
2010-04-09
Reviews: 1
Great Extension for shopping cart.I want to know whether payment method paypal pro(recurringbilling) is supporting for this.
2010-03-23
Reviews: 1
Tried and most of the basic function works properly

just some feature don't work properly specially some shipping plug-ins
2010-03-19
Reviews: 2
Although it seems sometimes a bit difficult to understand (especially in the first times you are using it), with experience it becomes something perfect to implement e-commerce in a website - the simple way. Thanks!
2010-03-09
Reviews: 8
Everyone had me scared to try this extension, but I installed it and got it configured easier than I expected. I did actually add a virtuemart theme which helped me immensely. Great extension, not that difficult, but a must for a store. I am happy I gave it a try, and find I am very impressed with this extension!
2010-02-23
Reviews: 2
Now that I've finished my first Joomla site, I'm going back and reviewing all the extensions I've used.

I give VirtueMart 4 out of 5 stars because you can create a free, functional store pretty quickly. Just know that you will have to edit some of the code yourself if you're doing more than the most basic store.

If you're willing to go hunting on the internet to find fixes for the problems with this component and aren't afraid of coding, I'd say the all of the nice features that it includes are worth the trouble.
dlm
2010-02-19
Reviews: 12
If a month goes by that I don't have to fix or work around a bug in this system, it's fabulous. Shopping carts can be incredibly complicated but if your application is simple, find another extension. If you go with VM, you'll be spending hours searching the forum for solutions or recoding around the bugs. VM has incredible scope but you have to consider whether it's worth your time.
FPS
2010-02-17
Reviews: 5
I use virtuemart with a lot of categories and about 18 000 products in the catalogue. So far it has a lot of features and works without bigger problems. But it does not conform to the w3c coding rules.
Page 12 of 22