The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.10 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, Realex(and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling

Report Extension

 

 

2010-05-15
Reviews: 2
Well this extension may sounds nice, tons of features at the first glance. But... don't EVER try open any one of the gazillion files for your mind's sake.
It's so messy (MVC definitively not a clear concept for the authors), some hard coded design/layout/images in html/php elements, files all over the places, no human understandable logic) that you may you loose your time trying to change anything in it.
The masterpiece is, IMAO, the "module list" that is supposed to grant mysterious permissions. If you have time and want to read fun stuff, have a look at the documentation for this part...
It would have been a good extension, but I think that authors tried to do too many things, and thus they failed to make it right.
2010-05-11
Reviews: 5
Anyone who doesn't want to look like an amateur pos should not ever use this extension. It is filled with bugs, it is never up to date and internet explorer hates it. After over a year of messing with it I finally pulled the plug. I tried seber cart with less than stellar results, and now I have moved on to magento. Magento is not joomla based, but definitely some professional software (albeit much harder to setup for the developer).
2010-05-10
Reviews: 1
I would NOT recommend this extension to any one. It has some great potential at first glance, really extensive back-end with lots of nice configuration settings. But there are a lot of bugs and a lot of areas that simply need more work. If you need to get under the hood and try fix / change things yourself you will find that the file structure is messy and a total nightmare to work with.

I have no idea how this managed to get editors pick.
2010-04-25
Reviews: 2
Excellent shopping extension.

Thx to the developer that makes this great extension.
2010-04-09
Reviews: 1
Great Extension for shopping cart.I want to know whether payment method paypal pro(recurringbilling) is supporting for this.
2010-03-23
Reviews: 1
Tried and most of the basic function works properly

just some feature don't work properly specially some shipping plug-ins
2010-03-19
Reviews: 2
Although it seems sometimes a bit difficult to understand (especially in the first times you are using it), with experience it becomes something perfect to implement e-commerce in a website - the simple way. Thanks!
2010-03-09
Reviews: 8
Everyone had me scared to try this extension, but I installed it and got it configured easier than I expected. I did actually add a virtuemart theme which helped me immensely. Great extension, not that difficult, but a must for a store. I am happy I gave it a try, and find I am very impressed with this extension!
2010-02-23
Reviews: 2
Now that I've finished my first Joomla site, I'm going back and reviewing all the extensions I've used.

I give VirtueMart 4 out of 5 stars because you can create a free, functional store pretty quickly. Just know that you will have to edit some of the code yourself if you're doing more than the most basic store.

If you're willing to go hunting on the internet to find fixes for the problems with this component and aren't afraid of coding, I'd say the all of the nice features that it includes are worth the trouble.
dlm
2010-02-19
Reviews: 13
If a month goes by that I don't have to fix or work around a bug in this system, it's fabulous. Shopping carts can be incredibly complicated but if your application is simple, find another extension. If you go with VM, you'll be spending hours searching the forum for solutions or recoding around the bugs. VM has incredible scope but you have to consider whether it's worth your time.
FPS
2010-02-17
Reviews: 5
I use virtuemart with a lot of categories and about 18 000 products in the catalogue. So far it has a lot of features and works without bigger problems. But it does not conform to the w3c coding rules.
2010-01-26
Reviews: 1
Probably one of the best shopping cart apps I have ever come across. I would have given it 5 stars but one problem that I am facing is sometimes when I am testing my site on the local server for some extensions like - Ask a question about a product, update the shopping cart, continue shopping, etc I get a 404 error. Is this a usual problem on the local server or something wrong with VirtueMart. Rest all seems to work absolutely fine. Thanks to Virtue Mart developing my first ecommerce site became just a lot easier :)
2009-12-24
Reviews: 1
This extension is one of the best I have ever used. 5/5
2009-12-17
Reviews: 4
VM solve the problem of our client for a shopping cart, but it need some work to put it just in the way we need, personally I think this is normal in a so complex extension, many people maybe will not change .php file and .tpl files, but I'm happy with it it works and let customize a lot, really a lot, something that you will never find a paid extension with compile code, I think that it's usable like it comes if you need a on-line shopping cart, and works too for people like us that need to customize as lot as we can
2009-12-16
Reviews: 12
Good Points
(1)nice graphics that make you think the interface is easy to use
(2)It has everything you need :
manufacturers admin,products admin with a multi reference system and more...
(4)In its basic version, allows the distribution and selling of downloadable Products. With order processing and customer login and profile features,

Bad Points
(1)the code is messy.
(2)forum support can be better

Conclusion
The Virtuemart project can be improved but, using Virtuemart on my website is making me money, so I'm happy with it :)
2009-12-15
Reviews: 1
I am just one of the happy and grateful users who use Virtuemart for online stores. I feel very guilty if I do not give excellent review for the fact that my online store is successful because of Virtuemart. while I make a lot of money because of Virtuemart, Virtuemart itself got a lot of bad reviews, most likely from competitors who disguise as if they were Virtuemart users.

To eiger, with all due respect, I have to totally disagree with you. It's true that we have to do a lot of setups, but in the end it's not nothing. It's definitely something.

To pacc, not sure how you configured the coupon, but coupon feature does work on my site. Although it's not quite shopisticated, but it's enough to be either as a one time use or permanent use (percentage or dollar). Also, I guess you might have made mistake when configured the shipping option. Shipping option does work if you configure correctly. About loop, there might something wrong with your Joomla setup.

To sputnikweb, it's weird when you said that you've been with VM for couple years but yet could not resolve a very simple problem where Virtuemart didn't appear in the Components menu. That made me asked myself, did you really play around with VM for couple years? If you really have been with VM for couple years, you should have become a VM expert rather than complained for a very very minor problem! Unbelievable! I have been with VM for about one year and am already able to solve many of VM problems by myself!

To weatherfront, same as above.

To vujsa, instead of posting your errors here, you should have posted it in VM forum. Or you should have searched VM forum because your errors were not unique. I found those kind of errors have been discussed tons of times in VM forum. Please do not be lazy. If you want a free product, you must be diligent enough to search the forums. If you do not want to be diligent enough, then you have to be willing to spend a lot of money (hundreds or thousands of dollars for commercial shopping cart softwares).
2009-12-13
Reviews: 6
I have used other CMS eCommerce software and they are all easy to configure but the client will invariably want it styled to fit into whatever template they are using.

Using VirtueMart with Joomla is by far the best solution for any online store. They are made for each other.

I recommend VirtueMart to anyone who wants an online store...
2009-12-11
Reviews: 1
checked out some other products xtc, epages but from my point of view virtuemart and joomla is a strong and good combination. I can handle it even if site building is not my profession.
The site offers free downloads, to pay downloads, shipping products with direct manual download and only content, everything goes well or was solved by own.

And the best, it's not looking like a typical "web shop". Of course, everything can be done better but this is great for me and therefore thank you Soeren and team. If somebody is interested send an e-mail or look via my e-mail extension to the site.

Two languages are implemented but only used at hts moment for all terms, the menue an some content.

joomla 1.5.14
virtuemart 1.1.3
joomfish 2.0.3
2009-12-09
Reviews: 10
I have been using VM for years now, patiently dealing with all the bugs and features that don't actually work - hoping the next upgrade will make it better. Eventually I am giving up. Before you decide to use this extension in any meaningful way - first ask what your time is worth because although Virtuemart is free - you only get what you pay for - and in the end its nothing. If your time is valuable like mine, then you will not invest any in this messy extension. Your data is not portable, many features do not work or are linked to others in inexplicable ways let alone the fight you will have on your hands trying to get it to display consistently within your website. Sorry guys, start over.
2009-12-09
Reviews: 1
You can't sneeze at this cart without breaking something. Great features like coupons that calculate at double your intended value, Tax rates that can't distinguish between states, Shippers that simply won't show up in checkout. Login to make adjustments to your configuration and then login again because it loops. Fixed permissions to stop the looping and now the save and apply buttons have vanished. This version should be downgraded to alpha. I'm going back to OsCommerce.
Page 13 of 23