The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.10 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- r

Report Extension

 

 

2009-12-02
Reviews: 2
VirtueMart is a great e-Commerce solution, I have used it on several sites and have been pleased with the outcome, however I havent been able to access their website in quite a while so Im not sure if this project is still moving forward.....
2009-11-30
Reviews: 4
I've been a Virtuemart user for a couple of years using it in anger on several websites very successfully. Even having read the reviews below I decided to try VM again on a new project we're working on... call it product loyality, if you will.

I have just downloaded and attempted to install in a dev environment. My first attempt at installing seemed to go just fine but VM simply didn't appear in the Components menu. I had little choice but to overwrite my files with a fresh copy and delete the appropriate chunks of the database before trying again. This time I get instructed to install the extensions manually. So I try a fresh install and still get the latter error. This does not bode well so, based on this experience and the comments below, I am giving up!

Whilst I appreciate that this is Open Source, and I have enormous respect for anyone and everyone choosing to contribute to the well-being of the project, when you are at the helm of such an important (one may even say "industry standard") extension such as this one you really do have an obligation to release versions that work properly. Part of me wants to install a version I've got in archive from last year sometime but that would be a bad retrograde step!

Never mind... I'm off to find another extension that'll do the job I need! Thanks VM - it's been good :-) Perhaps we'll catch up again soon once you've worked through your issues!
2009-11-28
Reviews: 4
I am not live yet, but so far no major issues. I love it. Although i wish there was better more extensive support built in for digital downloads via subscription based payments. My implementation of this extension includes selling of a digitally distributed application as well as a subscription based service for gaining plugins and extension packs for my software. I am quickly finding that support for the subscription system i require is limited. I am a programmer myself, but not well versed in PHP otherwise i would create and share a plugin for it myself.

so i have resorted to using this for the sale and download of the software (great system, love this) then for the subscription process and download management i am currently setting up AEC and DocMan. Although i would prefer one solution (plugins and extensions for virtualmart are good hint hint :P )

i do realize though the scope of this application , i have create a few custom shopping cart systems in the past for clients on asp and asp.net so deff. hats off on a excellent product so far. once i get some free time from my other projects i will take some out and maybe make a really good plugin for this.

cheers. nice job
2009-11-26
Reviews: 1
The product might be good. We started using 18 months ago with a view to extending it to our main ecommerce sites. However the inordinate time 1.1.14 took, poor support and lack of response in the forums decided us against using VM and we have now gone with Magento. My guess is that if the heads of the dev team decided to go full time and support the product I and many other would have paid a reasonable market rate annual fee for the service.
egp
2009-11-13
Reviews: 4
VirtueMart is the big player for ecommerce in the Joomla world and I like it; I just wish it included things like multi-currency transactions (being able to set item prices in a specific currency, then use some open source data to calculate totals based on current exchange rates, etc.

It gets a little frustrating at times when configuring authorize.net, but its is still worth the effort.

I'd like to see a lot more in the way of reporting and tools that are of more use to a larger ecommerce site. Processing orders is still a little cumbersome from the back end.
2009-11-13
Reviews: 1
After looking at the ratings and considering this is an editor's pick, I figured it was a stable product waiting to be used. Another reviewer stated it best, "more bugs than a rain forest"! Really been a problem since I installed this for a client and the cost that they have incurred because of the time it has taken me to track down and fix the endless supply of bugs has been high. The support forum is disorganized and not very helpful. Many of the problems I encountered simply couldn't be fixed. My client is looking to use a stand alone cart or a commercial extension.
Just a few issues:
- Thumbnails and images don't upload correctly.
- The user sessions don't work well with the rest of Joomla.
- Various error and warning message may be encountered prior to patching both Joomla and VirtueMart core files.
- Very limited options for shipping

PHP and MySQL version seem to be a factor on some servers. Not sure how there is such a high rating for this component or positive reviews. Perhaps some users didn't fully configure and execute VM prior to rating the product.

If you weren't running a complex or large shopping cart, then this might work for you but I doubt it.
2009-11-08
Reviews: 3
I have been trying to get this working for over a year now with Joomla, but I still get the same error in admin as others have seen.

Supposed to be fixed in this new version but its the same, I have to admit defeat and I am somewhat annoyed by this as it used to be (back to 1.12) very good but this one still no good.

Sorry all
2009-11-07
Reviews: 2
I am so happy with the component.
I gives me the possibility to combine Joomla and my shop.
Everyone talks about magento but for me, virtuemart is the killer shop system.
For Gods sake there was the update. I already thought that the project sleeps although of thousands entries in the forum.
BEAUTIFUL!
2009-11-05
Reviews: 1
I can't believe this product. I've been playing around in the open source software community for a number of years. But I can honestly say I've never found software that is so difficult and unstable to work with. The support form is a play on words. There is very little support offered. I see many of the posts ignored completely, and the few that do get replies, it's like the blind leading the blind. It certainly isn't ready for prime-time in my books.
2009-11-04
Reviews: 3
I have used VM on and off now for some time with various sites and have to say overall for me anyway that it installs and runs without to many major problems. Reading the help doc explains pretty much everything and for msot people getting your store online should be a good experience. As pointed out postage seems to be a bit of a nightmare to sort.

But the biggest problem to me now seems to be that questions are not being answered on the forums by the developers. I realise it is open source and people dedicate time to it but it did seem to have so much promise. Not getting answers gives the impression at least that the project is not very active!

For me duplication of images is a major issue especially when you are talking 900 images. An ongoing issue that still is not resolved and one which could have a major impact on someones hosting account.

Customisation of certain areas is not always to straight forward either.

The product overall does the job but I do not feel I can't give to higher mark based on the points raised above.
2009-10-16
Reviews: 13
I'd like to be the first one to thank for the new version(which has been delayed). It's (by far) the most feature rich shopping cart system for Joomla! and their support is good.

Thanks Soren! and other suys behind this project...
2009-10-07
Reviews: 1
First of all I would like to thank the people behind this project.

I have been playing with Virtuemart for a few months and I have only recently gone live with my first shop.

With in a month I have managed to get a few sales and I am now busy working on traffic.

Only real issue I have had was getting some proper checkout templates. I ended up using templates from a template site that was modifiable to my taste.

Would be nice to see a add on what gives you the capability to work with multiple orders at once and to do shipment track.

But all and all I very,very happy with Virtuemart!!!
2009-10-04
Reviews: 1
Really like the features. If worked well I would definitely buy it/donate. But keep getting Operation Aborted error in IE. Spent days trying to fix it - problem would go away in one place but appear in other, can't afford to waste more time and risk user experience. According to forums, this issue may be fixed in 1.1.4 release.
2009-09-22
Reviews: 8
This component is excellent, but it has a disadvantage, there is no very much information in Spanish, on the part of his creator, since they can be demos or examples a better use is able to give him, but excellent this one and especially that this within reach of every munco Thank you for sharing your wisdom
2009-09-20
Reviews: 3
Yes! There is always a BUT. This software is great and I'm using it to set up my online business. I have tried and search for other solutions, but I like Virtuemart the best! Especially because it runs on Joomla! Please continue developing this software to become the best on the markt. Make more possibilities to the software, good documentation and please listen to the people who are using it. In short: The product has a lot of nice features, but I guess I'm not the oly one missing a lot functions....

Thanks again for providing us with this beautifull piece of work!
2009-09-07
Reviews: 4
I have uploaded all the images correctly but they don't show on the front page of the store (for the featured products below the categories) and inside the category, no images for products

I was breaking my head for 2 days now, trying to fix it.
I asked this question at the VirtueMart forum but did not get an answer...
I tried to contact the developer but the "contact us" form on VirtueMart site does not work..!?

My impression is: very poor coding and no support.
2009-08-28
Reviews: 1
First off, I'd like to say I've been using this for several years now. It's definitely the best Shopping cart system I've found that integrates with Joomla.
Before this, I was using OSCommerce and Zen Cart, which are great shopping carts, but aren't designed for Joomla.

That being said, there are a few bugs in it that seem to me the developers didn't thoroughly test everything they updated. Most notably, there is an error in the code that essentially breaks the ability to add a shipper. There is a fix for this on their forums, but the last update for VirtueMart was 8 over months ago.
2009-08-26
Reviews: 1
I was here giving a review and felt I couldn't log off and never right a reqview about VM. Great and easy product. Thank you co much!
2009-08-25
Reviews: 1
Hi,

I have no idea how to do all these things but I must say that after my friend set them up I can at least do the basics. You who made this program did a very nice job. Keep up the good work and I will donate some money for it. Thank you for making it easy for the rest of us.
2009-08-08
Reviews: 1
Let me first qualify this review. I'm not super technical - my forte is design. Recognizing this limitation when I wanted to install VM for my client (2nd time to use VM - first time went well but limited item store) I went to Joomlancers and hired someone with VM background to take care of it. They came highly rated but VMart has been a problem since day one on this install, uninstall, reinstall.

Getting shipping set up works only if you use a major carrier. Canada Post isn't an option.

Log in problems - yup we have those too. Clients log in to their accounts/create accounts and have to log in several times to try to buy their items many just give up. Some will call the client or email to get their order.

Forums - no one answers.

I think this product has so much potential. It's a darn shame the developers haven't paid more attention to feed back. Once a product with a great reputation now questionable.
Page 14 of 23