The Joomla! Extensions Directory ™


VirtueMart Popular ComponentModulePlugin

Everyone using a version lower than 2.6.10 should update as soon as possible for security reasons.

Please read our full list of features here
http://virtuemart.net/features/all-features


Based on Joomla MVC framework with all its advantage:
- Template overriding,
- Implementation of Joomla Plugins for: payment, shipment, coupons, calculation rules, custom product fields, ...
- Simple installation and integration of other joomla extensions.
- Joomla 2.5 ACL

CATEGORIES
- nested categories
- with meta tags for seo
- with description and media

PRODUCTS
- with meta tags for seo
- short and long description
- dimensions (weight, size)
- multiple media
- variants, attributes
- unlimited child products and derivated levels
- product pattern (Parent product used as pattern for child products)
- related products
- reviews and ratings

SHOPPERGROUPS
- pricing depending by shoppergroups
- price display depending by shoppergroups
- payment/shipment depending by shoppergroups

SHOPPERS
- customizable shopper input form
- input form depended on registration, checkout or shipment
- recaptcha
- adressbook
- default Bill-to and Ship-to address
- default payment and shipment method

INVENTORY/STOCK
- stocking/inventory
- stock warning
- virtual stock (ordered but not finally bought)

PRICES
- various type of prices to display depended by shoppergroup
- prices adjusted by shopper choosen currency
- different currency format per currency
- unit price
- quantity based pricing

REAL MULTI CURRENCY
- auto updating rates
- add your own currencies for fixed currency rates

SEF/SEO
- default SEF/SEO integrated

DYNAMICAL CALCULATOR
- discounts based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- tax based on time, category, shoppergroup, country, and state
- discounts, tax per product and/or order
- discounts, tax have their own currencies (for duties)

PAYMENT
- based on plugins, already onboard:PayPal, Paypal Pro, Paypal Express Checkout, Klarna and Klarna Checkout, Sofort Banking and Sofort iDeal, Skrill, Heidelpay, Authorize.net, (and a lot more in the net)
- minimal amount / maximal amount to use a payment
- transaction fees
- by countries
- by shopper groups

SHIPMENT
- based on plugins
- by shopper groups
- by countries

CHECKOUT
- guest checkout; completly anonymous checkout
- option to register at begin of checkout
- cart is an object, competly overridable by template
- cart is stored in the session
- multi-page checkout
- one page checkout
- SSL

ORDERS
- payment/shipment workflow
- history
- modifiable
- order tracking for anonymous users
- order editing
- pdf invoice, delivery note

PRODUCTS DISPLAY
- latest
- topten (most sold)
- newest
- featured
- sortable
- searchable
- shipment/payment

MULTILINGUAL
- native with joomla 1.7
- with extra joomla components (joomfish) for joomla 1.5

MARKETING PROMOTION AND TOOLS
- coupon handling
- r

Report Extension

 

 

2009-08-04
Reviews: 2
I have been using virtuemart for a long time and I felt that given that it is by far the most utilised shopping cart for Joomla I should share some of my experiences.

Virtuemart is an extremely powerful shopping system, you will find lots of positive things about it all over the place so I am going to focus on the bits you may not find elsewhere. Virtumart is far from perfect, there are a number of weird bugs (such as adding a shipper, select lists accepting empty values when marked compulsory and breaking when you add items to them, the width on custom fields not being respected on the front end the list goes on). If you are working with a picky client be prepared for a lot of bugfixing on stuff you would expect to work straight up. It is also very complex to hack as pointed out by others below. Sometimes you will have to follow 5 or 6 files to find one bit of echoed HTML.

There are also some glaring ommissions such as insufficient options for handling Australian GST (hack available buried in the forums for this) the inability to set shipping rates per product (once again there is a 3rd party module that I found buried in the forums away that does this see http://forum.virtuemart.net/index.php?topic=58784.0

This brings me to another issue which is the fact that the forums are used for extensions much more than the actual extensions area so you have to trowl through the forums and if you are lucky you will find hacks and extensions buried in there with very little quality control and an unsuitable structure for handling extensions. The forums are also loaded with people who have had exactly the same problems as you but whos posts have had hundreds of views but no responses.

I will continue using virtuemart of course and I think now I have probably worked out the majority of the bugs but I wanted to post this so others are aware of it and hopfully the developer will respond.
2009-07-23
Reviews: 2
I've been using Virtueumart for two years I like I'm sure many others was attracted to it for two reasons. One, it's free and two it integrates into Joomla. The problem as the saying goes "you get what you pay for".

The idea of virtuemart is very nice but the actual use of the system is far from "polished". Those that are interested in running anything serious will quickly find out they will end up having to pay for some custom programming or spend long hours customizing the functions yourself.

Support for the program has been in decline since I started to use the program and is now non existent. However, visiting the forum and asking for help you are sure to find programmers eager to do custom work for you for a price.

There also seems not to be much forward momentum in keeping the product up to date with whats available on the market. By the time you're done paying for custom modules, programming, or templates you may as well buy a commercial product.
2009-07-22
Reviews: 3
I have spent about three months getting a Virtuemart site up from stratch. I knew nothing about it before that so there is a learning curve. My site is almost ready to go up so I feel now qualified to make some comment.

The first is that Joomla and Virtuemart are a wonderful and powerful combination. It is possible to make them work essentially seemlessly together and this overcomes many of the limitations of the other systems. There seems to be no limits of extensions available, so it would seem to be able to do whatever you have a mind to do.

On top of this, Virtuemart has more than enough optons and configeration possiblites (I would think)to handle most shop needs. They have in planning a Virtuemart 2.0 but I do not know the specifications for this and I wonder what more it could offer, given that Virtumart 1.1.3 seems to do all I need.

So Joomla Virtuemart is my pick - except for one thing. The current version of Virtuemart is essentially inoperable. Having been extensively in the forums, what they do not tell you on their front page is this.

1. They acknowledge that the current version is buggy. I alone have run into several; I get the feeling that the issue is quality control, not the capactity of the development team.

To counter this, they are planning a new update called RC 1.1.4 and this has been promised for a number of months but we are still waiting the release.

2. One of the major bugs (acknowledged by Virtuemart) is that it works poorly on Internet Explorer Version
cwk
2009-07-18
Reviews: 1
Lots of potential here, but as noted, support is next to nil. Questions go unanswered in the forums, newbies help each other out with hacks on modules that handle money or shipping. E.g. the USPS hack that lets you display a shipping method with more than a single character, the ongoing, problem of the Authorize.Net module simply not working without a hack.

I'm ready to chuck the whole thing and go with a commercial product.

The potential is there. I read somewhere that only two developers are supporting the whole thing. That would explain a lot.
2009-07-06
Reviews: 4
Thanks for sharing this powerful shopping cart extension. I sure will make a donation.
2009-06-29
Reviews: 54
I am a developer and have used Virtuemart on my clients sites about a hundred times. Yes 100.

I have nothing but praise for this extension. It is feature ric, easy to install and setup and works with all Joomla versions that I know off.

I speak from solid experience using this.
Thank you!
2009-06-22
Reviews: 3
This shopping cart is much more than just an extension to help you sell your products but also very integrated complete sales, shipping, payments, users, orders, more more more management system. So many features had been included into it that it is becoming number one shopping cart on the web (imo). Because of complexity of code and lack of volunteers project was a bit weakened for a while, but now it is back and rocks better then ever.
Some of my favorite feature are easy and extensively complete administration of all customers, orders, shipping options, payment modules, coupons!, product types and attributes, etc...
Remember, that it was created mostly by a single person and new joining developers have to learn tons of code that is why updates are not too often but improvements are tremendous!
Thank you for COMPONENT #1!
2009-06-20
Reviews: 1
I use Virtuemart with Joomla 1.5.

Yes the support for this shop component is indeed very very poor. In a bind months down the road, forget about support (or support on the forums) it just aint there!

Ive been using Virtuemart now for almost a year, and everything seemed good until ver 1.1.3 was released. Then things got very weird!

For instance, cannot upload your products (like downloadables, zips etc). This sorta puts a big "unusable-label" on my entire site right then and there!!!

The reason why there are so many bug reports on their forums, is because nobody has the answers. Goes to show just how many of us there are that are having probs.

Oh by the way, the last time I checked (or tried to check on possible fixes for the no upload for "downloadable files - to be sold), meaning your products, there were possible server errors for their developer portal.

Save yourself lots of grief, plus not to mention countless hours lost due to the zero support thing - be aware of Virtuemart 1.1.3 (security release).

PS: Also don't know how to downgrade.
2009-06-15
Reviews: 1
I have used OS-Commerce, Zen cart, and Magento and I like them all but I like the VM more than the others it is easier, faster and short to the point also it is integrated with the main CMS (Joomla) of my websites. I found that it is easier for my clients to use VM than other leading shopping carts, or at least I found it this way, just I think needs a bit more updates and more abilities like Discount based on the category. (Mean time we need to juggle around with code and make it to work for our need :) )
Over all I think it a good and reasonable Shopping cart for the small to Medium websites (I have used it for the big projects too!! :) )
Cheers
2009-06-08
Reviews: 2
Installed from scratch 2 times, spent 3 days trying to make a simple paypal order work. For those of you who made it work, congrats. My 10 years of web development didnt get me through a basic install that would work. Good Luck.
2009-05-22
Reviews: 3
I don't usually take the time to put out bad reviews on extensions but this is one that I had to take time for. I've uninstalled and reinstalled this twice and even though setting up seems to go very easily it's continues to pop up with error. It seems as soon as I figure out one problem another one comes up. If you want to spend the time working out all the kinks then I'm sure this extension would be great. I like the comment below of how this has more bugs then a rain forest...I have to agree!
2009-05-14
Reviews: 1
Excellent component!
2009-05-14
Reviews: 1
good extension !
2009-05-11
Reviews: 6
Honestly I love VM, and spending time configuring it and so on...it would be nice if the documentation was improved and even better if someone really cared about the users in the forum.
2009-04-17
Reviews: 2
I have set up two online shops based on Virtuemart and want to say big "thank you" to all developers that built it. VM is definitely the most mature e-commerce solution for joomla and with some additional work one can create quality, well functioning online shops with it.
2009-04-16
Reviews: 1
I am a novice to Joomla and extensions and I found this a very good extension !!. Easy to install and configuration was intuitive and easy to use and configure. A few issue's with changeing currencies and address formats for non US configuration, when it keeps over writing the address and currency, but I finally figured out how to overcome it !!.

Thanks for such a great extension !!!
2009-04-05
Reviews: 1
I always used oscommerce if customers asked for a shop solution. since a couple of time i changed to virtuemart. i suggest to all to do the same. depending on the template engine of joomla it is much easier to build a shop with virtuemart.
2009-03-29
Reviews: 6
I would give this a 5 star rating except for the support is severely lacking. I will continue to struggle with Virtuemart because I like that it integrates with Joomla! 1.5 and I love Joomla 1.5. But it is very frustrating to try to find solutions to the many bugs that you will run across. In the forum everyone is always referring to "read the manual" ... I can tell you I am a HUGE fan of manuals and thought VM was one of the best out there for an opensource project like this BUT - the manual does not address many many issues! For example, there is no place to help you with what correct permissions are - everyone says 755/644 and "make sure your ownership permissions are correct" but no one mentions that SOME files need 777 permissions (images will not work right unless I set them to 777) and when I asked what the ownership settings should be I was told "same as Cpanel... umm excuse me what if I don't know what those are? It's like the people involved in writing this stuff really don't want "joe noobie" to have a chance at it - I know a lot, but I've had to learn it from people that know more than me! If you treat me like I'm an idiot because I don't know something you think is "basic knowledge" then how am I going to improve my skills and help others that are trying to be a part of this community? And if you do not want to share your knowledge why are you working in Open Source? I share my knowledge freely and have helped many people over the years I used LiteCommerce from X-Cart - I was always happy to help the new person not have to struggle with the same issues I had struggled with. Also, in the VM posts they are always talking about the fact that it's "free" so we should not expect decent support - excuse me but I DONATE -- I think that counts as "not free". Like I say, I will continue to use VM but if you are new to all of this you may want to choose a shopping cart solution that has better/paid support because you will get a lot of attitude from the VM forums and not very timely responses to questions if any answers at all.
2009-03-19
Reviews: 6
this product is HUGE. it does SO MUCH, BUT..
its like jack-of-all trades and master of none.
this has more bugs in it than a small rainforest. If it worked, it would be the best thing ever.
be prepared to to sink a day into JUST learning. i have spent 2 additional days trying to fix the bugs and just to find out, they arent. **this might be a great for joom1.0.X Im using 1.5.9
2009-03-14
Reviews: 1
I don't agree with the guy below about ZenCart, I run a website on it that does extremely well (http://www.avsl.co.uk).

For an addon to Joomla though, VirtueMart is amazing. It installs easily and provides the average joe a quick way to get a shop online.

Good work guys!
Page 15 of 23